Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for HP HP Ruby Red 17.3" Pavilion g7-2289wm Laptop PC with AMD A6-4400M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

HP HP Ruby Red 17.3" Pavilion g7-2289wm Laptop PC with AMD A6-4400M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8

The HP 17.3" Pavilion g7 Laptop PC gives you everything you need to keep in touch, get it done and have some fun, all in a distinctive design. It delivers the HP innovation you expect for a whole lot less. Load up your music and download pictures with room to spare and built-in protection from bumps. Watch HD movies on a brilliant widescreen display with Dolby Advanced Audio. Turn heads with the g7's distinctive curvature, chrome speaker accent and textured touchpad.
Average Customer Rating:
4.436 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(62 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
40
4 stars
14
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation92%57 out of 62reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
40
4 stars
14
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for HP Ruby Red 17.3" Pavilion g7-2289wm Laptop PC with AMD A6-4400M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8

I got a GREAT deal!

12/10/2012
By ,
San Jose
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's fast, smooth, gorgeous, and has windows 8! I especially like how it was pretty much set up for me already. I've hated getting a new machine in the past because of all the complicated set up, not in this case. I didn't have to call my son for help! I know I'm going to get compliments at my meetings.....great buy, zero complaints
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+30points
Review 2 for HP Ruby Red 17.3" Pavilion g7-2289wm Laptop PC with AMD A6-4400M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8

works gr8 for everything

12/05/2012
By ,
savannah, ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This computer is a gr8 value for the money. It runs very smooth for a windows operating system and meets or exceeds my expectations for all my computing and gaming needs in a unique ruby red case and large led screen that is sure to turn heads.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+48points
Review 3 for HP Ruby Red 17.3" Pavilion g7-2289wm Laptop PC with AMD A6-4400M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8

Excellent Purchase

02/10/2013
By ,
San Diego, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this computer on Walmart.com and I must say that I am thrilled with the purchase. First off walmart was great at delivering before the expected delivery date. Also, this computer is everything I needed and more. My old laptop died after 6 years of use, so I needed a new one. I found this one on sell and HP is a brand I thoroughly trust. I needed the computer for school, work, and to hold a ton of music. This comp has excellent speed and graphics and does everything I need it to. Windows 8 is a bit different to get used to, but sit down with it for a couple hours and it's no sweat....it is set up a bit like a smart phone with apps instead of just a normal windows system. I love this computer. I also purchased an Ape Case Jumbo Size case for it.....not specifically made for laptops but it has more than enough room to house the laptop and power cord, and is fully padded which s important to me. So happy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 4 for HP Ruby Red 17.3" Pavilion g7-2289wm Laptop PC with AMD A6-4400M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8

Well Worth the Money

12/15/2012
By ,
Topeka, Ks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great laptop. I was unsure about Windows 8 at first. Took some time fooling with it to learn all the new stuff. Now, I really enjoy it. The 17" screen is awesome. I am very glad I bought this laptop. The Ruby Red color is a much needed change from all the black, gray, silver computers. It it definitely great to look at. I have not had any complaints so far with this laptop.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 5 for HP Ruby Red 17.3" Pavilion g7-2289wm Laptop PC with AMD A6-4400M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8

great laptop

12/09/2012
By ,
omaha ne
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my new laptop. I will recommend it to everyone I know ! I could not be happier with it. buy, buy buy this product
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 6 for HP Ruby Red 17.3" Pavilion g7-2289wm Laptop PC with AMD A6-4400M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8

Computer AWESOME Windows 8 a headache

12/10/2012
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If I understood how windows 8 works better I would absolutely love this laptop. It took me 2 days to figure out how to turn it off!!!!! But it runs beautifully and the screen size makes picture pop right out at you....I would Definitely purchase this again
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Review 7 for HP Ruby Red 17.3" Pavilion g7-2289wm Laptop PC with AMD A6-4400M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8

quick and complicated.

01/29/2013
By ,
terrell, tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This laptop boots up nearly as fast as my homemade pc running Linux. I not a big fan of windows and I'm sure not a fan of Windows 8. Compared to other window operating systems win8 is stupid. It has all these apps but most you have to pay for. When I come across one I delete it. It has windows office sample but it's expensive. It connects easily to wireless networks. My modem went down once and I finished a emai on a neighbors unsecured network. But as far as a computer goes this one is excellent and is very pretty in ruby red and as far as a operating system Microsoft is the 2 ton gorilla so you don't have much choice.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 8 for HP Ruby Red 17.3" Pavilion g7-2289wm Laptop PC with AMD A6-4400M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8

Very Nice Laptop, but Windows 8 rather difficult..

12/20/2012
By ,
Tobyhanna, PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this laptop for my parents, who are elderly and found the Windows 8 very difficult
to use unfortunately as it is not at all straightforward or logical, in my opinion. I will probably return it, thanks to Walmart's good return policies. I have found the Walmart internet site and the way they operate very good.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+4points
Review 9 for HP Ruby Red 17.3" Pavilion g7-2289wm Laptop PC with AMD A6-4400M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8

I prefer Windows 7 or touchscreen

12/29/2012
By ,
Honeoye Falls, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Windows 8 would be much easier to use if I had a touch screen, so I kind of wish I knew this was not a touch screen. Touchpad is a bit sensitive, so it is a bit of a learning curve on bringing up the "charms" and learning a whole new Windows environment. All the apps are pre-loaded, so I wish I could have chosen the apps instead of them being pre-installed. Again, takes a bit of a learning curve to learn Windows 8. Also, you need to have a hotmail account to set it up. Love the laptop otherwise. Nice, big screen. Pretty color. Numeric keypad is included on this keyboard, so that takes a little getting use to as the qwerty is slightly more left than the laptop I was using that did not have the numeric keypad. I do appreciate the keypad though. It was tough to find where to go to upload the updates, but I eventually found it under the HP tools button on the launch bar. I'd recommend this product, but I would have found it more user friendly if it were Windows 7 or Vista, or if it had a touchscreen to manipulate the tiles and charms. I would say it was a good price for this laptop, but unfortunately, the Microsoft Office Suite is not included, so I will have to invest another $300 to purchase the software.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 10 for HP Ruby Red 17.3" Pavilion g7-2289wm Laptop PC with AMD A6-4400M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8

Except for Windows 8...

02/01/2013
By ,
WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The laptop is fast and I haven't had any issues with the hardware. The only problem I've been having is Windows 8. I'm not a fan of the OS and, unfortunately, it's not one that people are going to have a choice in much longer.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 11 for HP Ruby Red 17.3" Pavilion g7-2289wm Laptop PC with AMD A6-4400M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8

nice

12/13/2012
By ,
nevada city
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Big screen for my wife to use also needs a large screen to read
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 12 for HP Ruby Red 17.3" Pavilion g7-2289wm Laptop PC with AMD A6-4400M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8

Disappointed!

01/18/2013
By ,
Corona, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this laptop based on other reviews. I wanted to replace my 3 yr. old HP. Thank Goodness I didn't get rid of it because I keep having to go back to ol' faithfu anyway. The windows 8 is pretty but this I think I just got a bad one I don't know. It's too soon for it to hang, stall & freeze the way it does. I'll be returning this. My previous HP was dual core so maybe that it why this one seems so slow to me. I don't know but I'm every disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 13 for HP Ruby Red 17.3" Pavilion g7-2289wm Laptop PC with AMD A6-4400M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8

I love the look of this laptop

02/02/2013
By ,
Lancaster, Ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Windows 8 is hard to navigate.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 14 for HP Ruby Red 17.3" Pavilion g7-2289wm Laptop PC with AMD A6-4400M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8

Great computer

02/06/2013
By ,
Pittsford, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first time writing a review for anything. This stylish, ruby red computer is fantastic. I could not be happier with it. No problems setting anything up, especially wirelessly. RAM and HD space is enough for the small business person or home user/student. It is also a fantastic financial deal. In fact, the deal is so good I'm buying another one. I am recommending it to everyone I
know! Don't forget to purchase a 2-year service agreement.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 15 for HP Ruby Red 17.3" Pavilion g7-2289wm Laptop PC with AMD A6-4400M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8

looks great but

01/30/2013
By ,
Gatlinburg, TN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Have no complaints with operating the computer but the case is made out of cheap plastic - flimsy and the edges are very rough. Almost like you can lift the top off the keyboard and where the cd goes in feels very very weak. I am very afraid that this computer will not last very long. Just very sad about the construction.....
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 16 for HP Ruby Red 17.3" Pavilion g7-2289wm Laptop PC with AMD A6-4400M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8

Good Low End Laptop for the Cost

02/02/2013
By ,
NH
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It did not meet my expectations for what I was looking for in a Laptop
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 17 for HP Ruby Red 17.3" Pavilion g7-2289wm Laptop PC with AMD A6-4400M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8
02/08/2013
By ,
Lindenwold, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received my HP laptop a couple of days ago as a gift to myself. It was mailed out to me in 2 days. I am still learning all the apps and Windows 8. So far I love the sleek style, color and light weight of the HP notebook. I gave my fiancé the Acer laptop which I purchased 6 months ago in August 2012 for my birthday. He was happy to received a new laptop until he saw my HP replacement. Now he wants one. I think I am going to enjoy my new HP laptop for many years to come. It will be used to get my degree online. And maybe start a home business. I hope it can withstand the duration. Thanks Wal-Mart for making the price affordable for me to purchase. My next purchase will be the matching cordless mouse. :-)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for HP Ruby Red 17.3" Pavilion g7-2289wm Laptop PC with AMD A6-4400M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8

Great Laptop for the money

01/24/2013
By ,
Roebuck, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this laptop as a gift for myself. I love the big screen and operates very fast. I would recommend anyone to purchase this product. Well worth the money!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for HP Ruby Red 17.3" Pavilion g7-2289wm Laptop PC with AMD A6-4400M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8
02/09/2013
By ,
Reston, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am extremely happy with this machine. I upgraded from a five year old Gateway and the speed of this new machine is incredible. In addition, I was able to connect to Wi-Fi very easily. The major difficulty for me was moving stuff from the old computer to the new one while trying to learn how to use Windows 8. I now have the machine configured the way I want it and am overjoyed. The price was terrific and I love the beautiful ruby red color.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for HP Ruby Red 17.3" Pavilion g7-2289wm Laptop PC with AMD A6-4400M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8

Love it - love the color

02/07/2013
By ,
Greenville, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This laptop is a great size and seems to be very fast. I'm still getting used to Windows 8 but I don't see why everyone is so upset about it. It was tricky to figure out how to turn it off though.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 32 total reviews
1 2 Next