Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for HP HP Bright Purple 15.6" Pavilion g6-2279wm Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core A4-4300M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

HP HP Bright Purple 15.6" Pavilion g6-2279wm Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core A4-4300M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8

The HP 15.6" Pavilion g6 Laptop PC gives you everything you need to keep in touch, get it done and have some fun, all in a distinctive design. It delivers the HP innovation you expect for a whole lot less. Load up your music and download pictures with room to spare and built-in protection from bumps. Watch HD movies on a brilliant widescreen display with Dolby Advanced Audio. Turn heads with the g6's distinctive curvature, chrome speaker accent and textured touchpad. Update your Windows 8 PC to Windows 8.1 for free through the Windows Store
Average Customer Rating:
4.316 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(196 Reviews) 141
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
120
4 stars
48
3 stars
10
2 stars
6
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation87%171 out of 196reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
120
4 stars
48
3 stars
10
2 stars
6
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for HP Bright Purple 15.6" Pavilion g6-2279wm Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core A4-4300M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8

No problems and Im a tough critic

12/16/2012
By ,
Fort Worth, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I debated on this computer several times. went back and forth from computer to computer before I decided to finally try this one. I heard all the negative reviews about Windows 8 and wanted something with windows 7 but every time I tried to purchase a windows 7 computer it would be sold out. S I finally said forget it I am going to stick with my first mind. To my surprise I bought it Thursday and got it yesterday (Saturday). Set up was easy. Windows 8 is so easy to understand and I love still having the desktop flexibility. I heard that windows 8 wouldn't let some things be installed like mp3roclet and windows media player, but I easily installed it on my computer. Everything is set up and I am very pleased with the speed and ease of the computer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+87points
Review 2 for HP Bright Purple 15.6" Pavilion g6-2279wm Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core A4-4300M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8

Great computer for basic use.

12/25/2012
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this computer for my daughter but I am enjoying its user friendly applications and instructions. Not only is the computer sleek and cool looking but the screen is great and clear. The speed on the internet (pnline games) is wonderful. We do not play PC external disc games so not sure how that is. Though we were not used to the new operating system, my young one and I are learning together and the computer is easy to understand. Also, the side numeric keypad is great! So happy with the purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 3 for HP Bright Purple 15.6" Pavilion g6-2279wm Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core A4-4300M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8

Maybe I just got a dud

12/02/2012
By ,
California
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was so excited to get this computer at what seemed like a fantastic deal. I think I must have just got a bad one. I only had the opportunity to use it for basic web browsing before I had to return it. It froze up repeatedly, took forever to load pages and the camera was painful to try to use. The image was so blurry and choppy that it was unusable. Finally while trying to load a page the screen went black for about 10 minutes before I manually turned it off. That was when I knew it had to go back. It was a very pretty purple and the Windows 8 was kind of cool but this particular item needs to be worked on. Since others had good reviews I assume it's not the model that is bad- just the one I got.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+35points
Review 4 for HP Bright Purple 15.6" Pavilion g6-2279wm Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core A4-4300M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8

Great Computer

12/02/2012
By ,
Lancaster, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the laptop, It doesn't overheat easily, it's quick, runs programs smooth and is an overall steal for me with the deal I got on it from Walmart. The only thing I'd say they should have added is a back lit key board, but I won't take points off because not even more expensive one have those.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+31points
Review 5 for HP Bright Purple 15.6" Pavilion g6-2279wm Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core A4-4300M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8
12/29/2012
By ,
Glendora, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this computer for my 16 year old for Christmas. I shopped other stores for an HP computer and they were out of my price range for the specs I wanted. When I saw this bundle pack at Walmart.com the price was too good to be true. It had all the specs/features necessary for not only a 16 year-old, but for me too! And it came in purple. So far it has proven to be a great computer at a reasonable cost, along with the case and flash drive! And I had extra money left in my Christmas budget to spend on more gifts!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 6 for HP Bright Purple 15.6" Pavilion g6-2279wm Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core A4-4300M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8

Excellent laptop!

01/13/2013
By ,
Earlville, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The laptop on a whole is a good experience. The ease of access to the internet and facebook and games is a joy. I have also added an office word program which is a breeze on this computer. Finding printer drivers for the Windows 8 was difficult. The Windows 8 isn't as easy as I expected.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 7 for HP Bright Purple 15.6" Pavilion g6-2279wm Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core A4-4300M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8
12/01/2012
By ,
Massachusetts
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I love that the laptop is light weight and I love the color and style. Only down side is when I first started to set up the laptop the screen went black. I had to take the battery out to restart it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+20points
Review 8 for HP Bright Purple 15.6" Pavilion g6-2279wm Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core A4-4300M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8

DO NOT BUY THIS COMPUTER

01/13/2013
By ,
San Jose, Ca
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had nothing but issues trying to connect to the internet with this piece of junk!! Right out of the box, it did not work. I was out of town and could not fire this up until after the 14 day return policy, so I'm stuck with this junk bucket. I've spent hours on the phone with HP and then my internet provider to try to fix the issue. I will probably have to send this in for repair, as I suspect the WI FI adaptor is bad.............but HP has not agreed to that yet. I guess they want to continue torturing me first!! I definitely would not buy this cheap low end computer.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 9 for HP Bright Purple 15.6" Pavilion g6-2279wm Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core A4-4300M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8

perfect

12/29/2012
By ,
bayville, nj
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nice computer for the price. would highly recommend. another win for HP
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 10 for HP Bright Purple 15.6" Pavilion g6-2279wm Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core A4-4300M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8

Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core A4-4300M Accelerated

12/26/2012
By ,
Stockton, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Order online a Laptop that did not function at all. Keyborads were not working. No aps showing. Teck support reentered the basic program TWICE. I was on the phone 3 hours 38 minutes trying to get this laptop to work and it still isn't acting correctly. The screen goes black at any time, after a few seconds it pops back up in the same screen. So far it looks like I have lost no info but can't e sure. Very dissapointed since it is my first laptop.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 11 for HP Bright Purple 15.6" Pavilion g6-2279wm Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core A4-4300M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8

HP online support worked great

12/29/2012
By ,
St. Louis, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Seems just fine. Only problem was that keyboard stopped working a couple times. Restarting the computer was a temporary fix. —enough that I could work with HP support on-line —very responsive! That was easy enough, and the problem hasn't recurred. Windows 8 is tricky at first, but fun. I'm happy with the product. The window button toggles between the desktop where all your open programs are accessible and the start page with icon-links to other applications you could open.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 12 for HP Bright Purple 15.6" Pavilion g6-2279wm Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core A4-4300M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8

Great product for a great price

01/27/2013
By ,
04043
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to use. Would certainly recommend this laptop. Love the color!! Original email showed a delivery date of Friday, actually arrived the following Tuesday. Delivery person was very thoughtful as the box had been put inside a plastic bag to help protect contents from the elements!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 13 for HP Bright Purple 15.6" Pavilion g6-2279wm Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core A4-4300M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8

Awesome Christmas gift

12/27/2012
By ,
Montreal QC CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this for my daughter for christmas to replace her old laptop. The speed and function of this one is amazing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 14 for HP Bright Purple 15.6" Pavilion g6-2279wm Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core A4-4300M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8

Locked up 4 times within the first 24 hours.

12/25/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The computer locked up 4 times in24 hours. Had to hard boot to get it back. Mouse was also unresponsive several other times for no reason. Really poor quality laptop. I returned it and spent $40 more for a dell that had better specs and so far has been more reliable. I have to say I wasn't a big fan of windows 8 either and had to look hard to find a machine with 7 on it. Buyer beware this laptop has major problems right out of the box.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+4points
Review 15 for HP Bright Purple 15.6" Pavilion g6-2279wm Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core A4-4300M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8

Wouldn't recommend it

01/25/2013
By ,
Pennsylvania
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I read so many reviews on so many laptops before making my decision and this laptop had a lot of good reviews, and it was very similar to my last laptop so I went with this one after much careful reviewing. It is a really nice purple color and some features are pretty neat but overall I'm disappointed with this computer. Windows 8 wasn't hard to get used to at all (I'm 19 and in college, a lot of experience with computers) but I do not use the new set up, I mainly stay on the desktop. All of the "apps" that comes on this laptop with Windows 8 did not work for me. It could not connect me into my email account or log me into any other account I had so I just deleted all the apps. I even had problems telling me I couldn't use a program because it needed to be updated, but when I went to update it it said it was up-to-date. So overall Windows 8 is pretty disappointing. Something else I don't like is that this computer is very slow and I have problems with my internet connection almost daily. I am really not satisfied with this laptop and I would not recommend it. This was not worth the 400$ I spent. My previous laptop which was half the price and had smaller memory capacity ran faster and worked better than this laptop. I'm really disappointed :/
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 16 for HP Bright Purple 15.6" Pavilion g6-2279wm Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core A4-4300M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8

Fair

01/14/2013
By ,
Pompano Beach, FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I give this product only a fair rating not because of the HP hardware itself, which is very good, but because of the Windows 8 confusing interface on a traditional PC. Windows 8 appears to have been designed to function on tablets PC rather than on traditional PCs. Consequently, navigating instructions are geared first to tablet PC users, and folks who use keyboards seem like an afterthought. Maybe Microsoft should have developed separate Windows 8 interfaces for traditional PCs and tablet PCs and not combine the 2. I returned this product and will await for Windows 8 version 2 and attendant favorable reviews before considering a traditional PC with Windows 8.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 17 for HP Bright Purple 15.6" Pavilion g6-2279wm Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core A4-4300M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8

Bought for my daughter

01/09/2013
By ,
Hunt, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter broke her previous computer last semester. The choice was to pay to repair it, or get her a new one. The price differnce between this computer and repairing the old one was miniscule, so she got a new comptuer. At first she did not like Windows 8, but within a day, she was fine with it. My mother-in-law came to visit, and when she saw the price, she decided to buy the same one. She was already preparing to buy a new one since hers was around 8 years old. She loved the price and features, so she ordered one. Great computer for a great price! 97cent shipping is a great value too! We live 20 miles from the nearest WalMart, and you can't drive around the block for 97 cents, so we saved a few dollars that way too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 18 for HP Bright Purple 15.6" Pavilion g6-2279wm Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core A4-4300M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8

Hardward Fine Software Horrible

02/17/2013
By ,
Spain
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Being a regular computer user, I took the complaints about Windows 8 with a grain of salt. I figured far more experienced, advanced users hate it, but that regular, everyday users like me would be fine with it.
Windows 8 is absolutely hideous. I'm pretty sure it was made this way to compel us to all buy Windows 7. On top of the ridiculous "apps style" start up that makes it weirdly difficult to find anything, complex layout that makes it hard to figure out how to do simply tasks like turning it off, and the insanely irritating pop-out charms you can't shut off, Windows 8 deletes all your stuff with updates. No, I'm not kidding.
If you get ANY product with Windows 8, I highly recommend just buying Windows 7 right along with it. Otherwise, in 2-3 days, you'll want to throw your new laptop out a Window.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 19 for HP Bright Purple 15.6" Pavilion g6-2279wm Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core A4-4300M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8
02/16/2013
By ,
MN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worked for three days than would not power on had to return and get a different computer
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 20 for HP Bright Purple 15.6" Pavilion g6-2279wm Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core A4-4300M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8

Wonderful!!!!

02/06/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love my new computer. It took me a little time to get used to using Windows 8, but I love it. It gets easier everyday and it is perfect for me to do my school work on.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
1-20 of 104 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next