Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for HP HP 17.3" Envy dv7-7247cl Laptop PC with Intel Core i7-3630QM Processor and Windows 8

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

HP HP 17.3" Envy dv7-7247cl Laptop PC with Intel Core i7-3630QM Processor and Windows 8

With a sleek, tapered metal design, the HP 17.3" Envy dv7 Laptop PC is easy to pick up. And with a huge screen along with Beats Audio, quad speakers and a subwoofer, it's tough to put down. Update your Windows 8 PC to Windows 8.1 for free through the Windows Store
Average Customer Rating:
4.324 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(247 Reviews) 243
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
156
4 stars
53
3 stars
15
2 stars
8
1 star
15
Customer Recommendation85%210 out of 247reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
156
4 stars
53
3 stars
15
2 stars
8
1 star
15
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for HP 17.3" Envy dv7-7247cl Laptop PC with Intel Core i7-3630QM Processor and Windows 8

Great Quality Desktop Replacement

01/22/2013
By ,
Bluefield, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this PC. I got it to replace my aging desktop. The graphics are really good. It will run any PC game out there. Windows 8 I have to say I really like. Once you learn the gestures you can use on the touch pad its a breeze to navigate. I find the touch pad much better to use in Windows 8 than previous versions of Windows I have had. I use this for work and with dual monitors, I now have 3 monitors running including the laptop screen. The processor is great. When you need the power it is there and when you don't it runs at slower clock speeds. I have found the Networking to be superior in Win 8 over my Win 7 PC. It is very similar, but picks up all my windows devices. All in all I am very happy with this product. I do have one complaint though. For the price similar mfr's have Bluetooth included. When I ordered I just assumed this one would too, but it does not. I had to buy a bluetooth adapter which now takes up a usb slot. I think for what I paid it should have included Bluetooth. That is only a minor thing though. As always Walmart had fast shipping and great service. I would recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 2 for HP 17.3" Envy dv7-7247cl Laptop PC with Intel Core i7-3630QM Processor and Windows 8

AWESOME!!!

12/26/2012
By ,
Prestonsburg, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Okay, it's Windows 8, it's a little hard to figure out, but come on, any new software is going to be a little hard to figure out, all it takes is a little patience. As for the setup, it's easy and fast, the start screen is a little weird though. You have tap the mouse pad before it takes you to the password screen, just a little FYI so you wouldn't be confused as I was. The picture quality is awesome and as for the machine itself, OMG totally not what I was expecting, it's huge, but the keyboard layout is great. Well, those are my thoughts, when I get the Sims 3 installed, I'll let ya know how it plays with an update, also just bought this machine for Christmas and haven't had time play around with it just yet to it's full potential.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 3 for HP 17.3" Envy dv7-7247cl Laptop PC with Intel Core i7-3630QM Processor and Windows 8

Laptop is doing exactly what I want it to do

03/08/2013
By ,
Chattanooga, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am not a fan of windows 8. If giving the opportunity to replace it with windows 7 I would before I purchased the laptop. I recommend that all future sales of laptops gives the buyer the option to choose the operating system.
Thanks
Mostly satisfied customer
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 4 for HP 17.3" Envy dv7-7247cl Laptop PC with Intel Core i7-3630QM Processor and Windows 8

Lap(not)top - Watch out for the battery

01/04/2013
By ,
Colorado Springs, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a very large laptop - definitely NOT made for laps. It is very heavy, so be ready for that.
The included 9-cell battery is huge! It's one of HP's "oversize" batteries, which means it fills the battery bay and then sticks out about 1 1/2" more, creating a ramp of sorts, or a platform that tilts the computer up permanently. Again if you've got the computer on your lap, the battery digs into your lower thighs and cuts off circulation. I was watching a TV show streamed and had to physically remove the battery after 30 minutes because I couldn't feel my lower legs! Battery life is excellent, however, I didn't run it down, but after playing around with it and streaming TV shows for 3+ hours, it still had plenty left.
The video card is OK, nothing to write home about. The screen resolution is very good, but not the 'knock your socks off' that some of the online reviews stated. It was only slightly better than my Samsung Satellite from a couple years ago - the brightness and detail/resolution was just barely noticeably better.
Other reviewers are correct about Windows 8. Very different, takes a good bit of getting used to, but if you read the enclosed Win 8 start up guide, that will get you going with the basics.
I don't think the speed of the processor was all that great; again compared to my i5 Samsung; which I think sucks WRT processor speed. My photo editing software ran a little better, but still not terribly quickly.
Probably a great computer for someone who will keep it on a table or desk and not travel with it much. As a LAPtop - it's just too big and the battery is too bulky - deal breaker, I returned it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 5 for HP 17.3" Envy dv7-7247cl Laptop PC with Intel Core i7-3630QM Processor and Windows 8

HP has gone way down hill

04/08/2013
By ,
Albuquerque, NM
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought one of these in January. 2 days after I got it I took it to my bedroom, about 20 feet away from the modem. While the computer said I had max signal, and was connected to the modem, it would not allow me to connect to the internet. I went back to the living room, and searched that issue, maybe to find a way to fix it. What I found was pages and pages of how this was an issue with the Envy line of computers. So I go online with HP Tech support. After him doing a "Remote Connect" where they can operate your computer from their end, he determined that the WiFi Card was bad. So, skip forward to the middle of March, I finally get the new card in (you fix it yourself, you just get a card in a static proof sleeve, no instructions, nothing). So, I opened up the bottom, and found what I thought the problem was, the existing card had an antenna connector broken off. So, I replaced the card, and when trying to reconnect the antennas, I found the antenna connector cable was also broken. So, back on the phone to HP. It took about 15 minutes between the automated system, and trying to understand/be understood by the people in India or wherever (they transferred me 4 times to others) before I was transferred to someone in the US. Finally, after talking to her, I get told that I must send my computer in to HP. She tells me that the software I have downloaded and paid for, plus all my pics, etc. should be fine, they only have to replace a part. But, she said, just in case, there is a form you fill out to authorize them to back up your information, and transfer it back in the "unlikely event" that they have to do something that would erase your information. So, I made my own backup copies of CDs with all the pics and documents. Then, I sent my computer off to HP (they sent a box, packing materials, and shipping labels). They got it, did the repairs, and today I got it back. Eagerly opening it, I turn it on. Everything on it is gone. It is like a new, out of the box computer. All the programs, and pics, documents, etc. are gone. So, for the 4th time in as many months, back on the phone with HP. First I try the number that they sent with the computer, a "direct to Tech Service" line to avoid waiting since I just had it repaired. After 45 minutes of waiting, I hung up and called the other number. THen the rigamarole with the automated system and people that don't speak English. Then, when I get through to an English speaking person, I get put on hold several times while they "check the records". Then I am told that their standard policy upon receipt of any computer for repair is to completely erase all user information and return the computer to the "factory default". I tried to explain what I had been told, and was told repeatedly, "That's our policy. Sorry. Have a nice day. Is there anything else I can help you with?" So, out of the 3 plus months I have owned it, I have only been able to actually fully use it for one day. And as for the software that I lost, once again, "Sorry, that is HP's policy". Well, this was my 4th HP. It will also be my last. I recommend before anyone reading this make this purchase, don't just take my word for it, Google (or whatever engine you use) search it. "HP Envy wifi problems". Maybe you will be lucky enough to be one of the few who get a great product. But do you want to risk a thousand dollars?
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 6 for HP 17.3" Envy dv7-7247cl Laptop PC with Intel Core i7-3630QM Processor and Windows 8

It's not the laptop I thought it would be!

01/10/2013
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
For an HP product and the price my husband paid for the laptop, I was disappointed. The first time I used it it just shut off on me. I called HP and ofcourse then the computer wasn't shutting off like it had been, but I've had it for a couple of weeks using it everyday, but each day wondering if I move it just right is it going to shut off by itself again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 7 for HP 17.3" Envy dv7-7247cl Laptop PC with Intel Core i7-3630QM Processor and Windows 8

Build the wrong way

06/27/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this item at a great price, delivery time was fast , as far as i am concern walmart did an awesome job. Package was not damaged and everything was packed correctly. This computer was a great investment and would have replaced my gaming desktop pc. I'm not to sure about windows 8. The hinge on the monitor was incorrectly put together and as I open the monitor it pushed the upper section of the laptop including the keyboard area up causing almost everything to pop out of place. To me this was a refurbish pc placed as a new build, but this is just my opinion. Thanks to walmart upstanding return policy i was able to return this broken pc at my nearest walmart and i am in the process of ordering another.... not a HP.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for HP 17.3" Envy dv7-7247cl Laptop PC with Intel Core i7-3630QM Processor and Windows 8

A superb piece of equipment!

01/01/2013
By ,
Long Island, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This has just about everything you would ever want in a notebook that mainly replaces a desktop.
It's slightly heavier than you might want to lug around all day long. The two most important features are the keyboard, which has a nice, positive, smooth feel and the screen, which is essentially glare-free, brilliant, sharp and true-colored.
If there is one fault I could find with this series of notebooks it is that it appears to lack an activity indicator. Most others have an LED somewhere, which flashes, showing activity.
There is none that I could see on this one. I will be adding a "widget" on the screen for that purpose!
Other than this one minor annoyance, I would highly recommend this notebook.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for HP 17.3" Envy dv7-7247cl Laptop PC with Intel Core i7-3630QM Processor and Windows 8

More than expected.

11/19/2012
By ,
Fayetteville, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Really great computer and very fast. I am a little disappointed in Windows 8 because of the inability to update flash player. This has made it impossible to play some of the internet games that we like. Hopefully this will be corrected soon by Microsoft. The Blu-ray/ DVD player works great and the picture quality is awesome.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 10 for HP 17.3" Envy dv7-7247cl Laptop PC with Intel Core i7-3630QM Processor and Windows 8

Okay, I'm not happy with this.

12/16/2012
By ,
FLORIDA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I had thought that the keyboard would be background lit, and that there was a touch screen.
Not happy with this, thinking of returning this item. The computer it self seems fine, I just need to get used to windows 8.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-9points
Review 11 for HP 17.3" Envy dv7-7247cl Laptop PC with Intel Core i7-3630QM Processor and Windows 8

Questionable computer with horrible HP service

04/16/2013
By ,
Houston, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased the laptop four months ago. The first two months it performed as promised. The third month the system crashed. Could not reload operating system because it could not recognize cd, USB, system restore, etc... I called HP support and they informed me it would take 2-3 weeks to fix the problem. I decided to take it to a local pc repair shop. It costed me $90 dollars and everything was fine. I work with my laptop at customer's location so sometimes I need to turn the Wifi off. I could not use the on/off button (f12). I call HP support and the tech had me to perform some checks. With no fixes, she told me to go to the Bios and reload the "default" setting. My operating system crashed again. She said that I did something wrong and after speaking to her manager and a host of other idiots, they sent me a box to send my laptop in for repairs. I have to keep calling them to obtain a status on my repair for over a week. They would not update the online status check, would never return any of my calls and after my last conversation with the corporate customer service in California, they finally update to online status and notice that I will take an additional 2 weeks. They're going to reload the operating system which I will lose everything, so why not send me another laptop with the same spec. I remember when HP product/service was great. Another example of a company growing too big to think about customer service. I will NEVER buy another HP product again. I would encourage not to buy any HP product because dealing with the service is a nightmare.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for HP 17.3" Envy dv7-7247cl Laptop PC with Intel Core i7-3630QM Processor and Windows 8
05/10/2013
By ,
Denver
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This laptop is great. It's powerful and quiet. Not bad for the price, the only downside is that it doesn't have a Bluetooth and backlit keyboard. Other than that it great laptop
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for HP 17.3" Envy dv7-7247cl Laptop PC with Intel Core i7-3630QM Processor and Windows 8
Based on the average of (235) ratings-only reviews
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5