Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Vizio Vizio E291-A1 29" 720p 60Hz Class Edge LED (1.97" ultra-slim) HDTV

Vizio Vizio E291-A1 29" 720p 60Hz Class Edge LED (1.97" ultra-slim) HDTV

Introducing the E-series slim frame design. The Vizio Class LED 720p 60Hz HDTV, E291-A1 is shattering the mold in a way only Vizio can, with high-quality design and picture at the best value. With a stunningly slim outer frame design and ultra thin profile — this beautiful 29" 720p LED HDTV gives you the best picture at the best value. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Vizio Class LED 720p 60Hz HDTV, E291-A1. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.237 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(131 Reviews) 111
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
75
4 stars
36
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation87%114 out of 131reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
40 Questions | 114 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
75
4 stars
36
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Vizio E291-A1 29" 720p 60Hz Class Edge LED (1.97" ultra-slim) HDTV

never worked

12/18/2012
By ,
boston, ma
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The TV never worked. I called Vizio and they wanted me to send it to them so they could repair it. I told them it was a new TV(less than an hour old) and that I paid for a new TV not a rebuilt one. They said it is not their policy to recommend that I return it. I laughed and brought it back to Walmart and got a different TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Houston, TX
why it is not policy to return TV
Posted 11/18/2013
When I worked for a major (now defunct) computer company tech support we were told that "it was not company policy to return the computer" even if you bought it defective. The reason: any hint that a customer could return the product would result in immediate termination. This is the kind of nonsense telephone support personnel are subjected to, you have to use your own common sense (which you did) and just take the broken TV back. Walmart takes everything back, even stuff not bought in their stores, their return policy is very liberal... and great for customers!!!
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Vizio E291-A1 29" 720p 60Hz Class Edge LED (1.97" ultra-slim) HDTV

Piece of junk

04/03/2014
By ,
Sebring, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This TV was a big disappointment. I needed it quickly so drove an hour away to pick it up the same day. When it was brought out I could tell the box had been opened and re-taped. I told the associate I did not want a display or otherwise used TV. She un-taped it and showed me everything was in the box. She told me to take it home and try it and return it if not satisfied. Well, that is exactly what I had to do. The batteries were already in the remote and were dead; the TV had a very dim picture which could not be adjusted to a satisfactory level. Also, I did not like the way the stand tilted the TV back; I much prefer a level stand. There were a couple of pieces missing from the box as well (the rubber bumpers for the bottom of the stand), so it was quite clear that someone had used the TV and then returned it. Perhaps a new one would have been fine, but I was not willing to take another chance on it. Ended up returning it to my local store and choosing a different brand.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Vizio E291-A1 29" 720p 60Hz Class Edge LED (1.97" ultra-slim) HDTV

29 " diag only 13.3lbs fits in a 27" wide space

02/17/2013
By ,
CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
None of the VIZIO TVs have the option where CC comes on when mute is selected as my old TV did. Must go into a menu and select from a dozen CC options every time.
No signal strength indicator in this model which is necessary to tell which way to turn antenna for best reception.
No manual (printed or on CD) came with this only a quick start guide. I had to download the manual to see how to get to some of the options.
No RCA audio outputs. The 1/8 jack turns off the speakers.
Tuner is not as strong as the old converter box I was using but it is close.
Fits in a 27 inch space and sports an very nice 29 inch diag screen and only 13.5 lbs
The stand is not conventional as the TV is not raised up but rests on its bottom edge with the stand sticking out the back for support. I did not use it but mounted TV to bedroom wall since it is so light. I used the VideoSecu TV Wall Mount model ML10B 1E9 for 14.99 from Amzn which worked great.
Overall a great TV for the bedroom
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Vizio E291-A1 29" 720p 60Hz Class Edge LED (1.97" ultra-slim) HDTV

Vizio 29" LED HDTV

11/14/2013
By ,
DFW
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great picture, good sound, easy set up, very thin and light weight. You could spend more, but why?
I did shop the price on Amazon and found it for the same price. However, I purchased it from Walmart on the ship to store free shipping offer. It was ready for pick up within a couple of hours. Where with Amazon I would have received it in two days and again shipping would have been free. But, with Amazon I would be at the mercy of UPS or FedEx leaving a boxed TV on the front porch until I either found it there or found out it had been delivered, but was no longer mine.
I went with the more secure route. Also, if there was any problem with the TV my local Walmart store is closer to the house than a UPS/FedEx drop off location.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Cokato MN
to the commentor
Posted 01/21/2014
I bought a 37inch and they serviced that one at home, around 3 years ago still have it and it works great, I am thinking of looking into a 32inch and we will have to see about that.
0points
Customer Avatar
Big Rapids Michigan
Not worth the money!
Posted 11/24/2013
I bought this 29" tv less than a year ago, it does not work now and I have to pay shipping to California to get it repaired at no charge and it may take a month! I paid for the 3 year extended warranty too... but it is still within the manufacturer's warranty so I have to deal with Vizio's repair system & rules.
Never again will I buy a tv under 42 inches because you have to "ship" small tv's versus tv repair at home!
Do your homework!
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 5 for Vizio E291-A1 29" 720p 60Hz Class Edge LED (1.97" ultra-slim) HDTV

Don't be a brand name snob

11/16/2013
By ,
Monument, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you are looking for a nice looking TV set which gets a GREAT picture, look no further. The big brand names are also nice, but pricey. This set is the perfect size for our kitchen since it fits on the counter and beneath the upper cabinets. Love the stand since it takes virtually no space. The only weakness for this set (if there is one) is the sound quality. We have it connected to external speakers, so that problem is solved. The price for this TV is reasonable. I would recommend it to anyone who wants a small TV for bedroom, small living room, or kitchen ...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Vizio E291-A1 29" 720p 60Hz Class Edge LED (1.97" ultra-slim) HDTV

Quit working after a year. Piece of junk.

09/23/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
So I should have paid attention to the high percentage rate of failure with these TV's and I learned my lesson. It quit after 18 months. Stick to Samsung for sure next time...
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Vizio E291-A1 29" 720p 60Hz Class Edge LED (1.97" ultra-slim) HDTV
12/22/2012
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this for my bedroom and I love it. Nice picture, good sound, and I love the sleep timer feature. Now I can fall to sleep and let it turn itself off. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Vizio E291-A1 29" 720p 60Hz Class Edge LED (1.97" ultra-slim) HDTV
01/01/2013
By ,
texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall, very satisfied. There are a few quirks I am still learning (old guy). I sit slightly below picture level, so picture is not quite as good as it could be. However, I am going to purchase a wall mount for the tv and will be able to angle the screen to a more ideal position. Over all, great buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Vizio E291-A1 29" 720p 60Hz Class Edge LED (1.97" ultra-slim) HDTV

TV has died after 5 months

12/12/2013
By ,
North Carolina
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Only had TV for 5 months and it has died. Appears that power supply may be bad. Power indicator comes on but no picture. Called VISIO and comfirmed TV was only 5 months old (registered on their website when purchased) but now to cover under warranty they want me to mail it to them in California from North Carolina after receiving a box from them. I have to pay for shipping to them and they will repair and mail it back. I asked if they have a service center closer and they informed me NO! Saving a little money didn't save me anything. Will not buy another VISIO product EVER!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Vizio E291-A1 29" 720p 60Hz Class Edge LED (1.97" ultra-slim) HDTV

Just right.

12/06/2012
By ,
Westfield, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TV was perfect size for my bedroom. Excellent value for the money, would recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Vizio E291-A1 29" 720p 60Hz Class Edge LED (1.97" ultra-slim) HDTV

Very loud static

10/21/2013
By ,
Bangor
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The picture on this tv is great, but about two weeks after purchasing this model it began to give off an extremely obnoxious static sound that can definitely kill whatever you are doing on the tv(especially games.) For the price you're paying, it's a good deal, Just better hope your audio doesn't go screwy otherwise you're basically out $250. Better get a protection plan, you will more than likely need it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Dakota, USA
Posted 11/14/2013
I apologize to hear you are having difficulties with your VIZIO product. Here at VIZIO we offer best in class technical support. This type of issue would be best discussed over the phone or chat so that we can properly help you determine the problem once we get more information about the product and the devices/connections you are working with. Please contact us at our Toll Free Tech Support line at 1-877-878-4946 or chat at chat.vizio.com so that we may better assist you.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Vizio E291-A1 29" 720p 60Hz Class Edge LED (1.97" ultra-slim) HDTV

A good tv for the money.

01/27/2013
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tv is all I expected it to be and more. It has excellent sound quality and great picture quality for the money. It was easy to set up and has a sleep timer which is a must for me. I would definitely reccomend this television to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Vizio E291-A1 29" 720p 60Hz Class Edge LED (1.97" ultra-slim) HDTV

Pretty Good

12/09/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The picture quality falls-off quickly when you are viewing off center. This is more of a problem when watching at close distance.
Front speakers give good sound but there is no adjustment for Base & treble.
Stand is nicely engineered - better than most.
Biggest picture for the overall size.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
South Dakota, USA
Posted 12/15/2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, we value hearing from all of our valued customers. We’re happy to hear you’re enjoying your TV! Should you ever have any questions or need assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact us through chat: chat.vizio.com, e-mail: techsupp@vizio.com, or by phone: 877-698-4946.
-2points
Customer Avatar
South Dakota, USA
Posted 12/15/2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, we value hearing from all of our valued customers. We’re happy to hear you’re enjoying your TV! Should you ever have any questions or need assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact us through chat: chat.vizio.com, e-mail: techsupp@vizio.com, or by phone: 877-698-4946.
-2points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 14 for Vizio E291-A1 29" 720p 60Hz Class Edge LED (1.97" ultra-slim) HDTV

A Good Secondary Television

01/27/2013
By ,
Pinehurst, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had a 40" HDTV in a small room which was too large for the space. Moving it to a larger room, I bought this model to fit the smaller. It's basically the size I wanted with two caveats: 1. It has no base, only a support bar on the back and thus sits on your stand or table, etc, setting slightly lower than eye level; 2. due to its LED technology and thinness, the display appears smaller than other TVs of the same "class." Love the svelte design but where the previous TV looked too big, this one can look to small for the room. On a higher stand or wall mounted, it may be a better fit. Neither are dislikes, just considerations to make when buying for your space.
Connectors: 2 HDMI, 1 component, PC, coaxial/antenna, USB. There is also analog (yellow, red, white) support using three of the five component connectors. This is a nice space saving solution, however, it means you can't have an AV device connected at the same time as a component.
I find the display not quite as crisp though my other TV is 1080p, so it may just be the difference between resolutions (despite difference in screen sizes). I think there's a bare hint of ghosting of images. Hasn't been a problem when watching frenetic action, but noticed, on solid colors like text on a solid background (think categories introductions on Jeopardy!). No real issue though I haven't watched any action movies or played any video games on it. Terrestrial programming looks good on it and I found that it's built in converter picked up more channels using the same aerial than previous TVs tried. Speakers are nice though not a stellar feature. They are loud enough and, maybe because of the thin casing, do not rattle and reverb at high volumes.
I didn't expect much. I needed a cost effective TV in my smaller room. Vizio is a lesser known name but one I've heard nothing but good things about. It was an impressive price and the set looks really, really good, stylish. In fact, one person seeing it for the first time thought it was a computer monitor, not a TV (size and price, you may want to consider using it as one). If you're on a budget, this is a something to consider. For the majority it probably isn't the best for your main viewing but it's fine for a guest room, bedroom, a bit too big for kitchens. I truly have no regrets in this investment.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Vizio E291-A1 29" 720p 60Hz Class Edge LED (1.97" ultra-slim) HDTV

Great TV for the price

12/27/2012
By ,
Schenectady
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ordered this TV as a Christmas present from Walmart.com. They promised delivery by December 24th so I figured that it would show up on Christmas eve. I was surprised when the shipment arrived two days later. It was in good condition and kudos to Wal-Mart for exceeding expectations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Vizio E291-A1 29" 720p 60Hz Class Edge LED (1.97" ultra-slim) HDTV
12/20/2012
By ,
Minnesota
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm using this tv in my dining room. Good value for the price. Only thing I have found so far on the negative is the stand tilts the tv back, so will have to find an alternative mounting system. Don't have my HD connected yet, but looking forward to seeing the difference.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Vizio E291-A1 29" 720p 60Hz Class Edge LED (1.97" ultra-slim) HDTV

Nice picture, mount requires some though

01/28/2013
By ,
Houston TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Attaching the mount a minor difficulty (helps to read instructions). Good value for the money, lightweight, easy to move around. Adding a small stand is probably a good idea. Will probably get a second one.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Vizio E291-A1 29" 720p 60Hz Class Edge LED (1.97" ultra-slim) HDTV
01/21/2013
By ,
San Antonio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TV is working great. This is the largest TV that will fit under a kitchen cabinet (normally 18"). TV is slightly under 17" high.
Rated features as only "good" because some of our older TV's have "on" timers that turn the TV on at a set time, we use one as our alarm clock. TV's now only seem to have off timers as this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Vizio E291-A1 29" 720p 60Hz Class Edge LED (1.97" ultra-slim) HDTV

Good TV for the cost.

02/07/2013
By ,
Grand Bay, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have two other Vizio televisions, a 50" and 55" 1080p. While this is a 720p, it cost was 85% less than the other two - it definitely serves it purpose. Plus it fit perfectly in the space in which it was intended. All three Vizio televisions are worth their costs.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Vizio E291-A1 29" 720p 60Hz Class Edge LED (1.97" ultra-slim) HDTV

Overall, very good.

03/20/2013
By ,
Georgetown, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Got this 29 inch because it was going to work perfectly in the space we had for it. Overall, pleased with it. Sound is pretty good and picture is as good as can be expected on a 720p t.v. My only complaint at this point is that the picture gets poor from any angle other than straight on. The other Vizio and the JVC we have keep good picture even pretty far off to the side. Overall, a good value.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 112 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next