Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nook NOOK HD 7" Tablet 8GB Memory

Nook NOOK HD 7" Tablet 8GB Memory

The best in reading - now with the best Android apps, games, movies, music & more New! Over 700,000 Android apps & games on GooglePlay New! YouTube, Google Maps & Gmail New! Use Chrome for super-fast web browsing Millions of books & magazines to choose from Thousands of popular movies & TV shows Highest-resolution display on any 7" tablet Register your new NOOK and receive $5 credit to spend on NOOK Books, apps, movies and more in the NOOK Store.  Credit expires 5 days after registration.
Average Customer Rating:
4.258 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(97 Reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
56
4 stars
27
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation89%86 out of 97reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
72 Questions | 171 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
56
4 stars
27
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for NOOK HD 7" Tablet 8GB Memory

A Really Great All-in-One tablet...

11/01/2013
By ,
NC, USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased two of these to fulfill birthday obligations to a 10-yr-old and 12-yr-old (both girls). I chose this for reading books (in this age of AR points) and because it is Android driven. Set up was a breeze. Quite frankly, the battery power has been phenomenal. Both devices have held up really well for hours on end (including streaming many episodes of Woody Woodpecker through Netflix with only one charge).
The only thing I didn't care for initially was the inability to change the "desktop" or "screen" background picture - but as the saying goes, "There's an APP for that."
I was quite pleasantly surprised overall - as this device is, for all intents and purposes, a Nook, therefore an eBook reader. However, it rivals my own Nexus, as it is built for being the eReader, and also has the ability to download apps from Google Play, thereby allowing you to do nearly anything and everything.
One more bonus: Streaming movies from Netflix or Starz Play is real smooth. Netflix plays smoother and clearer on this Nook than it ever did for our iPad.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+52points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for NOOK HD 7" Tablet 8GB Memory

Nook HD + Google Play= Winning Combination!

07/14/2013
By ,
Hornell NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been looking for a low-cost 7" tablet for some time now. My ideal was something that would be well-built, multi-functional and easily portable. I have a MacBook Air and an iPad, but wasn't interesting in investing in an iPad Mini. I tried the Kindle Fire HD when it was on sale for $159, but wasn't thrilled by it. Its limited app ecosystem turned me off. I tried a couple of "off-brand" tablets, but immediately returned them. Then I tried the Nook HD. I have been thrilled with it. Like many others, I have been thrilled by the decision to update to include Google's array of services, including gmail, Google+ and (most importantly) the Play Store. So, amazingly, on this B&N tablet, I can install an Amazon Kindle app for my Kindle books, while also benefitting from Nook's array of media. It's a win-win- all of which is achievable without rooting the device. Even though this is a secondary device for me, I have been using it consistently and I highly recommend it whether you are in my position or simply looking for a solid, multi-functional tablet device!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for NOOK HD 7" Tablet 8GB Memory

Thumbs up from an IT guy

10/26/2013
By ,
upper midwest
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had my 8GB Nook HD for two weeks and I have a very favorable impression. The battery life is fairly good - 8 to 10 hours on a full charge - and the bundled applications work well. It's not a general purpose computer - I have an iMac and a Macbook Air that are the workhorses. The Nook is what I take with me when I just want email and web access on the road or in a coffee shop. It's much easier to carry than my old 1st Gen iPad (I sold the iPad a couple of years ago because it wasn't really useful). I gave the Nook HD a four-star rating overall only because B&N is dropping support for it. That doesn't matter much since it's still got a 1-year warranty and it now has access to Google Play so that most Android apps are available. I'm happy to recommend the Nook HD to friends.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for NOOK HD 7" Tablet 8GB Memory

Great Tablet

11/06/2013
By ,
Somerset, Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can't say anything negative about this tablet, Everybody uses this tablet daliy weather its me, my wife or grandchildren when they visit, I am not a technical person but this tablet is not hard to learn to operate,
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for NOOK HD 7" Tablet 8GB Memory

Wow! What an amazing tablet

12/09/2012
By ,
Burlington, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I spent a bunch of time reviewing 7" tablets. I went to every possible online site and read most of the reviews. After all that research, i decided to buy the Nook HD. This tablet has the best screen of any 7" tablet....and you can really see it side by side other products. It was amazing for watching movies, and my subscription to US weekly looks great.
Other pros: Has expandable memory (most others do not), easy to hold in one hand (much better than the Fire), has a ton of great kids books (I have a 9 and 5 year old) and I used the "read to me" feature to record a story for my daughter when I went on a trip. Really fun - it could read any book to her in Dad's voice. Lightning fast web (only tried on my home wifi but was great there). Email works great.
I highly recommend the Nook HD.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+208points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for NOOK HD 7" Tablet 8GB Memory

I love it!

01/07/2014
By ,
Greenland, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I play with my nook all the time. I get on the internet and check facebook, listen to pandora and check my email. I listened to a ball game on it last night. I used it at church on Sunday to take notes and look up scriptures. I love having the internet anywhere there's wifi and not be tied down to a computer. I've read a little bit on it, but I wanted one because I can't afford a data plan for an Iphone. The battery life is good. I charge it up each night when I go to bed because I use it so much. I'm using it to put in this review. I recommend getting a bulb stylus for it, because the smaller buttons are hard to push. I highly recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for NOOK HD 7" Tablet 8GB Memory

Great product for my kids

07/27/2013
By ,
Taunton, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a teacher who utilizes a Bring Your Own Device policy to classroom learning. In the past year I have seen students bring a range of devices to class for research, free time, and assigned reading. The Nook was a popular device last year. My daughters had wanted tablets and Walmart had a sale. i bought two.
They are lightweight, have bright screens, decent screens, and speakers. Most Playstore apps work with them. The battery life is good with the screen brightness set at 50%. I got the chance to use one for the day and it did most things very well. Reading on it was very comfortable, holding it was a breeze, and I was able to watch video from the web that looked great on it.
There are no cameras on this device, but that in my estimation makes it an excellent device for kids. Would buy again.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for NOOK HD 7" Tablet 8GB Memory

solid tablet for $99

12/20/2013
By ,
Wilmington, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bought this tablet for my mom just so she can pretty much do Facebook and keep up with pictures of kids. Best Buy had the tablet for $99 so Walmart does price matching and I bought it from there. The setup was a breeze and the display, software etc. is awesome for the price range (under $100).
With the google play store on there it makes it easier to download apps.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for NOOK HD 7" Tablet 8GB Memory

Fabulous prize for a fundraiser raffle!!!!

04/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This NOOK was purchased as a raffle prize for a fundraiser. It was put in a basket with a gift card to be used to download apps and some other items.
The winner was thrilled with it!!!! And our organization made money on the raffle, also!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for NOOK HD 7" Tablet 8GB Memory

Very good product.

11/13/2013
By ,
ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Can get slightly heavy after holding for a while. Touch screen is responsive. Apps and books load fast. It's very good that they added the play store, because the apps from the BN store are kind of lame. It says it won't charge from a computer, but it does, albeit slowly. It doesn't show that it is charging from computer, but it is. Charges much faster from an outlet. Battery life is good. Gave 4 stars for that because of the slow charge from computers. The downside is a lack of a camera, but that doesn't bother me since my phone has one anyway.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for NOOK HD 7" Tablet 8GB Memory

Nook HD

11/22/2013
By ,
Sugar Creek, MO.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received one of these for Christmas last year and my Girl friend and I like it so much that I had to get her one this year so I could get mine back.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for NOOK HD 7" Tablet 8GB Memory

Fantastic Value with Family Profiles

12/11/2012
By ,
New York, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I spent a good deal of time looking for the right tablet for me - but also my family. NOOK HD has a terrific capability for profiles so I can set it up for my spouse, our niece and nephew, and makes it possible for me to not have to see all the stuff I own that I dont want to see. Its like several devices in one!
And you can beat the quality of the screen - its beautiful. I love the catalog and magazines. Nevermind that it has a great catalog of books.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+97points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for NOOK HD 7" Tablet 8GB Memory

Nook is Great!

01/01/2013
By ,
Edinburg, Va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this Nook HD for my wife for Christmas. Little did I know that it would be a family gift, I have a 6 and 4 year old and they love it, they can load books and it will read it to them, or they can play games, etc. My wife loves the clarity of the hd screen, and how quick it works compared to her old Simple Nook. This is an excellent buy for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for NOOK HD 7" Tablet 8GB Memory

Great Purchase

03/30/2014
By ,
Plainivew, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a replacement for my "simple" Nook, so at first I was unsure. I now love my new Nook. It is a little heavier and that has taken time getting use to, but other than that I have no real complaints.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for NOOK HD 7" Tablet 8GB Memory

great tablet

04/01/2014
By ,
Somerset, Ky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would like for it to be able to.download certain apps that the Kindle Fire can.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for NOOK HD 7" Tablet 8GB Memory

disappointed

02/17/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
if you just want the nook for reading and watching movies its great but if u want up to date apps that are free everywhere else well then you shouldn't buy this because it costs money. it shouldn't even be called a tablet it has none of the popular apps. i got it today and i'm returning it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for NOOK HD 7" Tablet 8GB Memory
03/19/2013
By ,
Onyx, California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product...after charging, set up was a snap...I read books, surf the net, play games, check email...downloading apps etc. takes less than a minute...really impressed with overall performance
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for NOOK HD 7" Tablet 8GB Memory

Buyer beware

03/15/2014
By ,
Minnesota
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this Nook last fall from Walmart. I had trouble from the beginning with it not holding it's charge. I contacted Barns & Noble service department within a month about it and they strung me along for a couple months until I insisted on a replacement. They replaced it, but with a refurbished Nook. And did this without telling me it would be refurbished. So now I have a second-hand Nook that I paid full price for. Not happy. Customer service said that is their policy when you buy from a "third party" (Walmart in this case).
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for NOOK HD 7" Tablet 8GB Memory

HD - CRISP & CLEAR GREAT TABLET!

12/24/2012
By ,
SOUTH FLORIDA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful tablet. The graphics are so crisp & clear. Easy to operate!! Bought this for my son for reading book. Great for surfing the web, playing games, netflix app is great as well!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for NOOK HD 7" Tablet 8GB Memory

Great item for occasional use

12/18/2013
By ,
New orleans , La
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased as hift for my husband who usually just looks at fb, fantasy football and emails. He loves it! I have an ipad and I love this is smaller and easier for me to hold in my hand. Very happy with purchas
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 76 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next