Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nook NOOK HD 7" Tablet 8GB Memory

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Nook NOOK HD 7" Tablet 8GB Memory

The best in reading - now with the best Android apps, games, movies, music & more New! Over 700,000 Android apps & games on GooglePlay New! YouTube, Google Maps & Gmail New! Use Chrome for super-fast web browsing Millions of books & magazines to choose from Thousands of popular movies & TV shows Highest-resolution display on any 7" tablet Register your new NOOK and receive $5 credit to spend on NOOK Books, apps, movies and more in the NOOK Store.  Credit expires 5 days after registration.
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(104 Reviews) 82
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
60
4 stars
29
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation88%92 out of 104reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
60
4 stars
29
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for NOOK HD 7" Tablet 8GB Memory

A Really Great All-in-One tablet...

11/01/2013
By ,
NC, USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased two of these to fulfill birthday obligations to a 10-yr-old and 12-yr-old (both girls). I chose this for reading books (in this age of AR points) and because it is Android driven. Set up was a breeze. Quite frankly, the battery power has been phenomenal. Both devices have held up really well for hours on end (including streaming many episodes of Woody Woodpecker through Netflix with only one charge).
The only thing I didn't care for initially was the inability to change the "desktop" or "screen" background picture - but as the saying goes, "There's an APP for that."
I was quite pleasantly surprised overall - as this device is, for all intents and purposes, a Nook, therefore an eBook reader. However, it rivals my own Nexus, as it is built for being the eReader, and also has the ability to download apps from Google Play, thereby allowing you to do nearly anything and everything.
One more bonus: Streaming movies from Netflix or Starz Play is real smooth. Netflix plays smoother and clearer on this Nook than it ever did for our iPad.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+59points
Review 2 for NOOK HD 7" Tablet 8GB Memory

Nook HD + Google Play= Winning Combination!

07/14/2013
By ,
Hornell NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been looking for a low-cost 7" tablet for some time now. My ideal was something that would be well-built, multi-functional and easily portable. I have a MacBook Air and an iPad, but wasn't interesting in investing in an iPad Mini. I tried the Kindle Fire HD when it was on sale for $159, but wasn't thrilled by it. Its limited app ecosystem turned me off. I tried a couple of "off-brand" tablets, but immediately returned them. Then I tried the Nook HD. I have been thrilled with it. Like many others, I have been thrilled by the decision to update to include Google's array of services, including gmail, Google+ and (most importantly) the Play Store. So, amazingly, on this B&N tablet, I can install an Amazon Kindle app for my Kindle books, while also benefitting from Nook's array of media. It's a win-win- all of which is achievable without rooting the device. Even though this is a secondary device for me, I have been using it consistently and I highly recommend it whether you are in my position or simply looking for a solid, multi-functional tablet device!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+46points
Review 3 for NOOK HD 7" Tablet 8GB Memory

Thumbs up from an IT guy

10/26/2013
By ,
upper midwest
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had my 8GB Nook HD for two weeks and I have a very favorable impression. The battery life is fairly good - 8 to 10 hours on a full charge - and the bundled applications work well. It's not a general purpose computer - I have an iMac and a Macbook Air that are the workhorses. The Nook is what I take with me when I just want email and web access on the road or in a coffee shop. It's much easier to carry than my old 1st Gen iPad (I sold the iPad a couple of years ago because it wasn't really useful). I gave the Nook HD a four-star rating overall only because B&N is dropping support for it. That doesn't matter much since it's still got a 1-year warranty and it now has access to Google Play so that most Android apps are available. I'm happy to recommend the Nook HD to friends.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Review 4 for NOOK HD 7" Tablet 8GB Memory

Wow! What an amazing tablet

12/09/2012
By ,
Burlington, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I spent a bunch of time reviewing 7" tablets. I went to every possible online site and read most of the reviews. After all that research, i decided to buy the Nook HD. This tablet has the best screen of any 7" tablet....and you can really see it side by side other products. It was amazing for watching movies, and my subscription to US weekly looks great.
Other pros: Has expandable memory (most others do not), easy to hold in one hand (much better than the Fire), has a ton of great kids books (I have a 9 and 5 year old) and I used the "read to me" feature to record a story for my daughter when I went on a trip. Really fun - it could read any book to her in Dad's voice. Lightning fast web (only tried on my home wifi but was great there). Email works great.
I highly recommend the Nook HD.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+214points
Review 5 for NOOK HD 7" Tablet 8GB Memory

Great product for my kids

07/27/2013
By ,
Taunton, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a teacher who utilizes a Bring Your Own Device policy to classroom learning. In the past year I have seen students bring a range of devices to class for research, free time, and assigned reading. The Nook was a popular device last year. My daughters had wanted tablets and Walmart had a sale. i bought two.
They are lightweight, have bright screens, decent screens, and speakers. Most Playstore apps work with them. The battery life is good with the screen brightness set at 50%. I got the chance to use one for the day and it did most things very well. Reading on it was very comfortable, holding it was a breeze, and I was able to watch video from the web that looked great on it.
There are no cameras on this device, but that in my estimation makes it an excellent device for kids. Would buy again.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Review 6 for NOOK HD 7" Tablet 8GB Memory

Great Tablet

11/06/2013
By ,
Somerset, Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can't say anything negative about this tablet, Everybody uses this tablet daliy weather its me, my wife or grandchildren when they visit, I am not a technical person but this tablet is not hard to learn to operate,
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+23points
Review 7 for NOOK HD 7" Tablet 8GB Memory

Fantastic Value with Family Profiles

12/11/2012
By ,
New York, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I spent a good deal of time looking for the right tablet for me - but also my family. NOOK HD has a terrific capability for profiles so I can set it up for my spouse, our niece and nephew, and makes it possible for me to not have to see all the stuff I own that I dont want to see. Its like several devices in one!
And you can beat the quality of the screen - its beautiful. I love the catalog and magazines. Nevermind that it has a great catalog of books.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+96points
Review 8 for NOOK HD 7" Tablet 8GB Memory

Nook is Great!

01/01/2013
By ,
Edinburg, Va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this Nook HD for my wife for Christmas. Little did I know that it would be a family gift, I have a 6 and 4 year old and they love it, they can load books and it will read it to them, or they can play games, etc. My wife loves the clarity of the hd screen, and how quick it works compared to her old Simple Nook. This is an excellent buy for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Review 9 for NOOK HD 7" Tablet 8GB Memory

I love it!

01/07/2014
By ,
Greenland, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I play with my nook all the time. I get on the internet and check facebook, listen to pandora and check my email. I listened to a ball game on it last night. I used it at church on Sunday to take notes and look up scriptures. I love having the internet anywhere there's wifi and not be tied down to a computer. I've read a little bit on it, but I wanted one because I can't afford a data plan for an Iphone. The battery life is good. I charge it up each night when I go to bed because I use it so much. I'm using it to put in this review. I recommend getting a bulb stylus for it, because the smaller buttons are hard to push. I highly recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 10 for NOOK HD 7" Tablet 8GB Memory

HD - CRISP & CLEAR GREAT TABLET!

12/24/2012
By ,
SOUTH FLORIDA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful tablet. The graphics are so crisp & clear. Easy to operate!! Bought this for my son for reading book. Great for surfing the web, playing games, netflix app is great as well!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+48points
Review 11 for NOOK HD 7" Tablet 8GB Memory
03/19/2013
By ,
Onyx, California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product...after charging, set up was a snap...I read books, surf the net, play games, check email...downloading apps etc. takes less than a minute...really impressed with overall performance
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 12 for NOOK HD 7" Tablet 8GB Memory

solid tablet for $99

12/20/2013
By ,
Wilmington, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bought this tablet for my mom just so she can pretty much do Facebook and keep up with pictures of kids. Best Buy had the tablet for $99 so Walmart does price matching and I bought it from there. The setup was a breeze and the display, software etc. is awesome for the price range (under $100).
With the google play store on there it makes it easier to download apps.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 13 for NOOK HD 7" Tablet 8GB Memory

Great tablet.

01/15/2013
By ,
Saint Pauls, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My family and I really enjoy using this tablet. I have used other tablets and was not really impressed. This one impressed me because of the reading that my family and I do. Being able to download epub, and to be able to read, highlight, and write notes with such beautiful display makes you fall in love with it. And really that was my main goal for buying it. Sure the lack of the Android market is disappointing but there are programs to use that won't mess up the warranty. That is the only reason why I didn't give it an excellent on meets expectations. Overall great tablet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 14 for NOOK HD 7" Tablet 8GB Memory

Very good product.

11/13/2013
By ,
ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Can get slightly heavy after holding for a while. Touch screen is responsive. Apps and books load fast. It's very good that they added the play store, because the apps from the BN store are kind of lame. It says it won't charge from a computer, but it does, albeit slowly. It doesn't show that it is charging from computer, but it is. Charges much faster from an outlet. Battery life is good. Gave 4 stars for that because of the slow charge from computers. The downside is a lack of a camera, but that doesn't bother me since my phone has one anyway.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 15 for NOOK HD 7" Tablet 8GB Memory

Nook HD

11/22/2013
By ,
Sugar Creek, MO.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received one of these for Christmas last year and my Girl friend and I like it so much that I had to get her one this year so I could get mine back.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 16 for NOOK HD 7" Tablet 8GB Memory

A great upgrade

03/08/2013
By ,
Columbia, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my Nook HD. The picture is so vivid and the colors are so bright! I loved my Nook Color but I really love my Nook HD and I highly recommend it to anyone considering the purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 17 for NOOK HD 7" Tablet 8GB Memory

Wonderful Tablet

06/20/2013
By ,
york,pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I originally purchased the Emantic funtab for my 7 year old. It had so many problems so I returned it and then I saw this tablet. I just purchased it yesterday and I think this is a great tablet. My 7 year old loves it and it is better than the other one he had.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 18 for NOOK HD 7" Tablet 8GB Memory

PERFECT!!!

07/16/2013
By ,
carmi, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little baby is great! Make sure to download the upgrade to have Android Google Play apps here: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/u/Software-Updates-NOOK-HD/379003802/
Such a wonderful little fella and fun to play with.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 19 for NOOK HD 7" Tablet 8GB Memory

Not worth the money

07/25/2014
By ,
orem, utah
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Doesnt stay charged. Powers itself off. Difficult to turn on. People should buy something different.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
0points
Review 20 for NOOK HD 7" Tablet 8GB Memory

More than just an ereader!

07/04/2013
By ,
Moody AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this as a gift for our daughter. I never thought I'd want an ereader but after seeing hers we bought the 9" Nook for ourselves the very next day. Since it's an Android device you can download tons of free games from Google Play. You can surf the internet, read, play games and even shop. If you find things in a magazine you'd like to save it's very easy to do. Much easier than looking for things you've clipped from paper magazines. It's great to take to the doctors office, they almost always have free wifi so you can do things online or read things you like instead of reading whatever reading materials they have in the waiting room. It's thin and easy to fit in a purse to read while waiting in line at the store. While there will always be a place in our lives for books the Nook will now have a place, too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
1-20 of 83 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next