Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Philips Philips BDP2985/F7 3D Blu-ray Disc Player

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Philips Philips BDP2985/F7 3D Blu-ray Disc Player

The Philips Blu-ray Disc Player, BDP2985/F7 provides stunning 3D effects in picture depth and action that both leaps off the screen and draws you deep into the experience. Enjoy the best of the Internet on your TV with Netflix, Vudu and YouTube. Dolby TrueHD deliver the finest sound from your Blu-ray discs. The audio reproduced is virtually indistinguishable from the studio master, so you hear what the creators intended for you to hear. Dolby TrueHD completes your high definition entertainment experience. EasyLink lets you control multiple devices like DVD players, Blu-ray players, TVs and more with one remote. The Philips 3D Blu-ray Player uses HDMI CEC industry, the standard protocol to share functionality between devices through the HDMI cable. With one touch of a button, you can operate all your connected HDMI CEC-enabled equipment simultaneously. Functions like standby and play can now be carried out with absolute ease with the Philips Blu-ray Player With WiFi.
Average Customer Rating:
3.418 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(110 Reviews) 83
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
46
4 stars
16
3 stars
11
2 stars
12
1 star
25
Customer Recommendation63%69 out of 109reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
46
4 stars
16
3 stars
11
2 stars
12
1 star
25
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Philips BDP2985/F7 3D Blu-ray Disc Player

Excellent product

02/20/2013
By ,
Statesville, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a Philips DVD player and a WDTV Live box... This player does all the DVD player did and more; as in it plays more files types, plays Blu-ray and plays 3D. It does what I used the WDTV box for only better. While the WDTV box has more 'apps', we only used it for Netflix and Youtube. This Philips player plays netflix just as well with better video quality! Those having problems with lockups, it is the Netflix app, not the player... I had the same issues with the WDTV box... if your connections is poor, the app will freeze and lock up the box or player. Not the fault of the Philips!
Bottom line, I traded in two older pieces of equipment, two cables, two remotes, etc, for only one. AND got more functionality and better picture quality. I highly recommend this product for anyone wanting to watch DVDs, Blu-rays, video files (plus audio and still pictures), netflix and Youttube..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Review 2 for Philips BDP2985/F7 3D Blu-ray Disc Player

Highly recommend!

12/03/2012
By ,
West Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
--WiFi Set up: Under five minutes, from plug in to WiFi pass code entry. Very fast and simple
--DVD Load time: Less than a minute. Better than any other Blu-ray I've ever owned. No strange loading noises, no phantom opening and closing of the eject drawer.
--Netflix/YouTube access: Effortless and fast. No problems.
--Picture/sound quality: Top notch.
--Freezing: None. Works flawlessly so far.
Overall: I've researched countless Blu-ray players, and I haven't found any that I like better--all things being equal. For the price, the features you get and the quality, you will be hard pressed to find one better.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+52points
Review 3 for Philips BDP2985/F7 3D Blu-ray Disc Player

Priced Right! Excellent movie experience

06/30/2013
By ,
Charlotte, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just love my Phillips 3-d bluray DVD player. I've had this over a year now, and no problems. At first I didn't know how to eject the DVD, but I finally found out with some practice. If you want Netflix, VUDU, USB features and just recently Pandora was added. Yahoo! I just love watching it and the quality for the price is absolutely favorable. When I get some extra money, I will be buying 4 more for every room in the house. I don't know why there are so many negative reviews on this product. I watch netflix with no problem. I just figured out how to enjoy VUDU. I haven't used the 3-d feature yet, whereas, I'm not sure how that works, plus I don't have any 3-d movies. I sure it will be fine. Go online and look at the manual for those that are experiencing problems. If not, take it back and get a new one. This is well worth the money and hours of fun for the family.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+5points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
iOwa
Posted 07/12/2013
I want to warn you. I like this too at first. All went well. BUT this WILL NOT play 3D. 3D looks awful. Unwatchable. Please try 3D on this before keeping it. Try on a friends 3D if you don't have a 3D tv. You will be shocked how bad 3D is and not just bad, but unwatchable.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Philips BDP2985/F7 3D Blu-ray Disc Player

Best deal on a Blu-Ray, hands down!

01/06/2013
By ,
Raleigh, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Firstly to put it into perspective, the next cheapest model Blu-Ray player carried in most Walmart stores is only $10 cheaper at $68 dollars. It's not wireless and has all of the Sony bloatware and runs slow.
This Blu-Ray player has a reliable wireless connection. Keeps up with my TV's refresh rate. Has only the Apps you'd really need (Netflix, Vudu, etc) and no other bloatware. It's response rate to button presses is quite impressive and it has a nifty front display that most other devices don't carry.
Alternatively you can purchase another Wireless 3D Blu-Ray player that cost's twice as much... Kind of a no brainier right?
Quit thinking you've already found a reliable device at the most unreal price. Just go get it. You won't regret it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 5 for Philips BDP2985/F7 3D Blu-ray Disc Player

Freezes Constantly!

12/01/2012
By ,
Sevierville, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this product for the wifi capability and the price, but what I got was a product that freezes constantly and a remote that hardly works. I have to unplug the unit at least once a day (sometimes 2-3 times a sitting) because it keeps freezing! It also has a "standby" mode if you leave a disk on pause or it's inactive for 15 minutes, and it is unusable once there unless you unplug it. The remote, as I mentioned before, is useless unless you are within 5 feet of the unit and even then it is not very responsive. This unit is going to be returned tomorrow!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+26points
Review 6 for Philips BDP2985/F7 3D Blu-ray Disc Player

Aggrevating product!!

01/12/2013
By ,
Ocala, Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Horrible product. Do not waste your money. The remote does not work very well, you have to REALLY press the buttons hard and even that doesnt always work. Constantly having to search for other netflix programs because the sound does not work properly on this device. Works flawlessly on all my other devices in the house. Freezes up constantly on dvd function as well as wifi function. I litterally put my router on top of and next too this device and best singnal strength I got was 80percent. I would not recommend this product to anyone!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 7 for Philips BDP2985/F7 3D Blu-ray Disc Player

BIG MISTAKE

12/09/2012
By ,
CS, Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I originally bought a much less expensive 2900 model but upgraded to the 2985 when I realized it didnt have the built in wifi. Took this one home and worked fine for a few days. Then it started freezing up while I watching NetFlix. I was unable to turn it off or even go to a different menu. I had to unplug it and it immediately did the same thing! I thought maybe it was just NF but it also froze up while trying to load/play a disc. So I took it back a week later and exchanged it for the same model expecting that I just got a bad one. Plugged in the new one and it did the same thing! I am very dissapointed! Taking back yet again and just getting a different brand!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 8 for Philips BDP2985/F7 3D Blu-ray Disc Player

Do not purchase this 3D Bluray player!!!

01/21/2013
By ,
Benton, KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased this unit on 1-20-13 at a local Walmart. Brought unit home and hooked up unit via owner's manual. When unit was turned on the "Philips" logo appeared on the television screen. The unit would go to a black screen on tv and would not play DVD. The Bluray player sounded as if it was working and was showing that it was working on it's led screen. Called a service representative with Philips, tech walked me through several steps trying to reset unit, but to no avail. This is the second time I have tried to buy Philips products with no luck. I would recommend spending a few extra dollars to purchase a better quality product. I will NEVER purchase another Philips product. Please BEWARE of Philips products. The prices of Philips products are cheap, but then again so are the products. Like the old saying.... "Ya get what ya pay for!!" I returned the junk Philips Bluray player to Walmart and spent the extra money to purchase a Samsung 3D Bluray player with no problems at all. Please research items you wish to purchase before you buy. Thanks. Ed
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 9 for Philips BDP2985/F7 3D Blu-ray Disc Player

This is the one for you

11/23/2012
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have been a faithful fan and buyer of Phillips DVD and blu-ray players for many years.
Price is better than any other name brand. Works flawlessly, and you get features only found on much more expensive units, like 3D and divx playback.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+35points
Review 10 for Philips BDP2985/F7 3D Blu-ray Disc Player

Issues from the beginning

12/06/2012
By ,
Baltimore, MD
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Just purchased this evening for my 2nd TV (LG Blu-Ray on 1st TV). Experienced freezing already and not getting audio on Netflix or Vudu only Youtube. Called support they advised me that there's a software update to correct some issues but my player isn't recognizing a need for an update, was advised to buy a USB flash drive and do the upgrade that way. NOT! Player is going back tomorrow, don't need the hassle. No problems with LG, I'll just get another.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+18points
Review 11 for Philips BDP2985/F7 3D Blu-ray Disc Player

My First Blu-Ray Disc Player

12/10/2012
By ,
Alexandria, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I haven't owned one of these before, but I like to get Blu-Ray discs from Netflix, and my laptop won't always play them (I don't know why). Anyhow, the player seems fine. I have only noticed one annoying thing, which is - should I ever lose the remote control - I will not be able to use the player. I might be able to put a Blu-Ray disc in and play from the start, but I won't be able to control any other features. That's weird. Set-up was easy, and I had it connected to my wi-fi and Netflix in little time. It's really small, too.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Review 12 for Philips BDP2985/F7 3D Blu-ray Disc Player

Freezes

12/29/2012
By ,
Moses Lake
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I tried to watch YouTube videos but it froze. Couldn't even power it off so I had to unplug it. This happened both times I tried so I returned it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+8points
Review 13 for Philips BDP2985/F7 3D Blu-ray Disc Player
12/07/2012
By ,
new port richey fl.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
item listed as playing numerous formats, yet when I attempted to do so unit said unknown disk almost every time, Plays store brought disks no problem, but the format listed on site is not correct. unfortunately, I purchased unit for the various formats ( very dissapointed).
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 14 for Philips BDP2985/F7 3D Blu-ray Disc Player

Easy setup, very fast

06/17/2013
By ,
Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased a Sony 3100 last week and returned it because it would not connect to Netflix, which was mainly the reason to purchase a wifi compatible unit in the first place. The store was out of this model when I returned the defective one and I got this Philips for $20 less. I have always had great success with Philips brand products and to no surprise the wifi setup and setting passwords for Vudu and Netflix went surprisingly fast and smooth. I have played discs in it as well and the speed is up to par. I should have bought this one in the beginning. I thought Sony being the creator of Blu Ray technology would have the best player, maybe they do but the software is apparently glitchy. Thanks Philips for another outstanding product, at a great price!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 15 for Philips BDP2985/F7 3D Blu-ray Disc Player

Good machiine, great value for the money

12/26/2012
By ,
spokane, wa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The remote is lacking but the picture and audio are excellent and for the price a great deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 16 for Philips BDP2985/F7 3D Blu-ray Disc Player

Item is being returned tomorrow

03/31/2013
By ,
Lockport, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I guess I should have been alarmed when this player made a very glitchy screen on the very first blu ray I popped in(the blu ray was brand new, out of the case). I had to eject the disc, and put it back in. Halfway through, the brightness dimmed by 50%. Had to eject the disc again. The remote responds when it wants to, even with brand name batteries in it. The straw that broke the camel's back was when I put in a dvd(also brand new, out of the case) and the picture was god awful: just terrible. Distorted, blurred, choppy, and pixelated. I've read reviews of this product where people have had wonderful experiences with this product, which leads me to believe that Philips doesn't perform top notch quality control inspection on every individual device they build if something as bad as I got could have slipped through the cracks. Don't risk your money on this product. Go with a different company. I'm returning this to Wal-Mart tomorrow.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 17 for Philips BDP2985/F7 3D Blu-ray Disc Player
12/07/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Froze up several times the first week requiring us to unplug it. Returned it after 1 week.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Review 18 for Philips BDP2985/F7 3D Blu-ray Disc Player

Easy setup - Works very well

03/21/2013
By ,
Knoxville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First try of this same unit was an out of box failure - the disc tray would not eject or open. Philips tech support was AMERICAN (YAY!) and was VERY helpful with very little if any hold/wait time - such a refreshing change from the norm nowadays. Walmart in store exchange was a breeze - just check online as to which store in my area had the unit in stock, called them, asked them to hold it until I get there (2 left) and walk in the door - swap out the unit and BAM.
The unit itself is very user friendly, the wireless Internet setup is a breeze to perform, and the documentation is very good compared to most products out there today. If you need a wireless Internet ready blu-ray player - this is a must buy at this price - considering the exemplary customer service given by the manufacturer and Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 19 for Philips BDP2985/F7 3D Blu-ray Disc Player

Great value.

12/20/2012
By ,
Oh
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This blue ray player has great quality picture and was a super value, but the load time is slow.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 20 for Philips BDP2985/F7 3D Blu-ray Disc Player

easy to use

12/11/2012
By ,
Fern Park,Fl.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
works great, easy set-up
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
1-20 of 67 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next