Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk LG Optimus Zip Cell Phone

Straight Talk Straight Talk LG Optimus Zip Cell Phone

Connect on the go with the Straight Talk LG Optimus Zip Cell Phone. Surf the web, talk to friends, text and more with this full feature LG Optimus Zip Phone. Your Straight Talk Cell Phone features Android 2.3 (Gingerbread) OS, 3.2" touchscreen and a slider QWERTY keyboard. Take photos and video of friends and family with the 3-megapixel camera/video recorder. The LG Optimus Zip Phone also comes with Bluetooth wireless technology, GPS, 3G WiFi connectivity and an MP3 player (cable not included) so you can play all your favorite tunes on the go. Get access to over 450,000 apps on Google Play and fun features such as gravity sensor and tilt and shake with your Straight Talk LG Optimus Zip Cell Phone. This phone will ONLY work with the Straight Talk $45/30-Day Unlimited Service Plan or the $60/30-Day Unlimited International Service Plan.
Average Customer Rating:
3.294 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(102 Reviews) 91
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
35
4 stars
22
3 stars
7
2 stars
14
1 star
24
Customer Recommendation60%61 out of 102reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
58 Questions | 95 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
35
4 stars
22
3 stars
7
2 stars
14
1 star
24
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Zip Cell Phone

Proof is in the pudding.

02/19/2013
By ,
Corinth New york
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is verizon, sometimes storm clouds in New york block the service. it says CDMA V right on the box guys!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Zip Cell Phone
12/22/2012
By ,
Lucky Charm RV Park, Old Town, Florida 32680
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got my LG Optimus Zip phone 12/20/12. I upgraded from a Samsung slide 2.4" screen w/$45./30day plan. So this Zip phone 2.3 ANDROID w/3.4" screen. What a difference in resolution & clarity. The slide is still nice bc its what I learned with, but also having the virtual keyboard too, it's fantastic & Verizon Service in my area is fabulous~! I can't understand these poor reviews! This is a great phone to start with an Android!! Use screen protector & I'm hoping I can find a case for it. If you have any suggestions where I could get one, please let me know, bc I plan to have this phone a long time... Keep ur charger handy, but you can still be on the phone while it is charging, the online things drain it pretty fast, but other than that, the phone is more than I expected!!! Buy it, it's a great starter phone for everyone and it's not the 4.0 android, but you find out what to expect from the 4.0, when you do decide to get one!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Columbus Indian
LG OPTIMUS ZIP CASE
Posted 05/06/2013
You can find a case for the LG Optimus Zip on Amazon.....
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Zip Cell Phone

My 1st Andriod & on Verzion Network

10/16/2012
By ,
Portsmouth, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am soo happy to own my 1st Andriod & on Verzion Network. I been with Straight Talk since late 2010 & every 1 of my Straight Talk phones ran on Verzion. I kept my same #. I wouldn't buy the other Straight Talk phones that ran on another Network. I couldn't believe Straight Talk finally came out on an Andriod phone that works on Verzion Network. I always wanted a slide keypad with a touch screen. At 1st I was going 2 get the LG Optimus Q b4 the LG Optimus Zip came out. If I got the LG Optimus Q, I wouldn't like it because of it being on Sprint Network. My husband told me the same. I love my LG Optimus Zip. This phone does everything I wanted 2 do. I get coverage everywhere I go. And its under $200. Its only $179.98. Not bad 4 the price with a better Network :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+90points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
WI
Posted 11/24/2012
Im currently with U.S. Cellular and want to go bk to Straight talk, I want to keep the same number how do they go about doing that? Do I have to keep my phone activated so Straight talk can transfer my number to the straight talk phone? Help. Please.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Zip Cell Phone
11/11/2012
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a newbie to the android world and I just received the phone recently, but I will say that so far I am extremely impressed. I love the pull out keyboard with the touch screen. I love that it uses Verizon towers, no contract, and 45 dollars a month unlimited talk, txt and data. Our budget minded family has been with straight talk for nearly 2 years and have had no issues. If there is an issue, customer service contacts you same day with help.
Some other perks of this phone that I have discovered thus far are the sync with my google accounts, google voice command (I spoke a txt to my daughter and wrote it and send it.
I will update my review in a week.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Zip Cell Phone

Worked for first 2 months!

04/09/2013
By ,
16830
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was so excited to get this phone because it has all the android features at half the price. I've had the phone for 4 months now and it worked normal for about the first 2 months and then the phone started to black out and the buttons stopped working. Also, this phone has very poor service and cuts out when I'm talking on it from time to time. The past 2 months I have continued to use it because I already had airtime on it and didn't want to spend money on a new phone considering I just bought this one not long ago. The buttons have pretty much stopped working and I have to slide the phone keyboard out and back shut 5 times or more before the screen comes on and I can text or make a call.
I do not recommend this product for the money that it costs. Its great for the first few months but I do not want to spend $150 every 2 months for a new phone so... I would think before buying this phone and maybe look into something else from Straight Talk. In my opinion this phone does not live up to the basic standards of a phone!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Zip Cell Phone

Better choices unless you need Verizon network

10/26/2012
By ,
Punta Gorda, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I had this for about 11 days and it was o.k. I found the screen to be a bit small and not always responsive. Sometimes scrolling was difficult and jumpy. The images are o.k., but not overly sharp and clear as compared to the ZTE Merit. Slide out keyboard is nice and easy to use. And keyboard lights up which is great at night or in a darkened room. Annoying feature is that it kept alerting to a new e-mail or message when there were none. Kept beeping (or playing tune, depending on the setting). Voice was clear, but did not get a signal in an area where the map shows it should have had a very strong signal (Verizon). So, switched to AT&T based ZTE Merit and love that phone! The LG is o.k., but for $180, I think there are much better choices, but if you need to use Verizon on Straight Talk and want an Android phone, well... you are pretty much limited to this one. Also had an LG 511c... very nice phone, slider keyboard, not an Android, but seemed to get online as fast as the Zip and did pretty well overall. And it's now only $99 on ST website.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Zip Cell Phone

Horrible phone, not worth it

01/19/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this phone last December it was fine when I first got it, but the storage memory is horrible on it, you can only download like 2 maybe 3 apps. And i can say after a year it keeps telling me storage is full when i only have 1 app on it, its annoying because when the storage is full you cant text anyone. And as of now I'm currently ordering a new phone, because with this phone it keeps freezing on me and when I'm on facebook or texting someone it will close out of it and say this stupid message that you could either close out or report and if you try and report it doesn't do anything. If I would have known this phone was this bad I definitely wouldn't of spent that much on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Zip Cell Phone
11/08/2012
By ,
Georgetown, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone is great! I live in SC and it works on the Verizon Towers here. Make sure you check with the Straight Talk website before ordering because the Wal Mart website stated that this phone would not work in my area code but Straight Talk said it would and it does.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+68points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Zip Cell Phone

Internal Memory is HORRIBLE!

12/04/2012
By ,
Leesville, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was so excited that Straight Talk had come out with a smart phone that worked on Verizon Towers that had the physical QWERTY keyboard. I have had numerous phones, even larger ones, that didn't have the physical keyboard and hated the touch screen texting, so I was willing to pay $180 for this phone just because I knew it would be easier to have for as much texting as I do on my phone. I initially downloaded all of the social media apps, games, etc, that I have always had on my smart phones, but over time my phone has FORCED me to delete things from my phone because the internal memory is so low. Now, here I am, having moved everything possible to my SD card, missing a lot of the usual apps that I was used to having, and having to delete my text messages and call logs EVERY day just so my phne doesn't have internal memory overload and completely lock up on me. There is nothing else I an move to the SD card, and nothing else I can afford to delete. Basically, Facebook, Twitter and Weather Channel have completely taken up my internal memory, so I'm disgusted that now I'm having to look for another phone because this one can't even handle SIMPLE applications. Please dont pay the money for this phone!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Mayfield KY
agreed. this phone locks up
Posted 09/27/2013
not enough memory. All I have is pictures and its too much for it. Phone is getting sooo slow.. Had it for a year and a half now. Also, a lot of times inet wont work on it.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Zip Cell Phone

LG Zip or Samsung Proclaim?

05/01/2013
By ,
Steubenville, Oh
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a replacement from the Samsung Galaxy Proclaim. (I broke it)
Main reason why I ended up getting this phone was the sliding keyboard because I sometimes type out emails lengthy. Don't get me wrong, touch screen works good on the Proclaim, but it seemed to get confused on the predictive words because of how much short hand I do, so the LG was the better choice. I did have to get used to the placement of the B N & M keys on the keyboard. Don't get too excited about the directional keys because some apps don't know how to utilize them correctly. Typing is faster on this phone.
As far as other features when considering if to buy an LG Optimus Zip or the Samsung Galaxy Proclaim are:
- Both run on the same network, Verizon
- LG camera has auto focus which dials in a crisper photo
- LG has physical keys for menu, home, back & search, which is also another way to turn on the screen
- Samsung has a taller screen
- Samsung processor is a 1ghz, LG only has 800mhz.
The amount of memory is a big difference for both of them. They both come with a microSD card which can be upgraded. However, internal memory is a big difference. LG only has about 150mb but the Samsung has 1gb. BIG difference when you like downloading a lot of apps. Some apps are able to move onto the SD card but not all of them. When I bought the LG, I had to down size how many apps I had on it, where as the Samsung didn't have that issue.
In conclusion, if you like physical keys and descent camera, LG does a pretty good job. App happy and want the processing speed? Go with the Samsung.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Zip Cell Phone

Not a good device for the price

02/05/2013
By ,
Ashdown, AR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've had this phone for a few months now, and I'm very dissatisfied with it. First, let me say that I am an over the road truck driver, so coverage is very important to me. That being said, this phone uses Verizon's prepaid CDMA network, so coverage in areas that I frequently travel is terrible compared to my old Motorola ST phone that used AT&T's GSM network. Another huge minus is the internal memory. It has 256 MB internal memory, which a good portion of that is used for the Android OS, so you're left with less than 200 MB to play with. And almost half of that is used up by the useless bloatware that you cannot get rid of, so you're stuck with only being able to download and install a small handful of apps. Even moving apps to the SD card does not help. To top things off, I have lots of issues with apps force closing themselves after running them for several minutes, text not showing up when I type them, causing me to manually force close the app and restart it to get it to work, frequently dropped calls, and periodically restarting itself. In short, if you have Verizon coverage where you live, do no travel, and only talk on it, it might be fine, but for those that travel or like to watch videos, play games, or surf the web on a phone for any length of time, I would recommend avoiding this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Zip Cell Phone

The Best Lg Optimus Ever

10/29/2012
By ,
Selma,Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have brought this phone on October 05,2012. I love this phones,because it runs off Verizon. It gives me great service and this is my 3 straight talk android phone. I only had 2 straight talk phones that work great the merit, and lg optimus zip. The samsung galaxy precedent do not will work as it should,because it runs off sprint network. So I recommend this lg optimus zip too every1 looking for a verizon phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Zip Cell Phone

Love the Querty, BUT

01/26/2014
By ,
nd
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I love texting with a Querty keyboard, that is why I chose this phone. However, I only have one app on this phone and whenever I have attempted to update the phone, it says I am out of memory. So I have disabled almost every app that I could to make the phone run, and now do not run any updates so I don't run out of memory. So, if all you need the phone for is to text and make calls, this is a great phone. But, if you need to use apps and the internet, this is not the phone for you. Can Verizon please come out with another querty phone that actually allows more than one app at a time?
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Zip Cell Phone

No Storage Space

03/19/2013
By ,
Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this phone just a few months ago. The thing that attracted me the most was the full qwerty keyboard (becasue I'm terrible at texting on the touch screens). But after adding the Facebook app and a Rhapsody app, my phone is pretty much full. I am deleting texts everyday just to recieve new ones without the text app force closing, and I can't even update the apps I have without being alerted that my storage space is low, and having to go through and delete more things. I am so fed up with this phone at this point. I love the straight talk deal, but this phone is not worth the price! I am currently looking for a new phone and willing to give up the qwerty keyboard and even pay more each month for a more reliable phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Zip Cell Phone

My daughter loves this phone

01/02/2013
By ,
Rhode Island
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was purchased as a christmas gift for my 13 yr old daughter replacing her AT&T GoPhone. internet worked thru our wireless before I even bought the calling plan for it (unlike AT &T who even though we were using our own internet they made us buy a plan for $15 more per month). Easy porting of her old number. Functions are great and user friendly. Only issue was customer service rep had very heavy foreign accent difficult to understand, but it was only a message they were leaving with instructions if we had trouble with the porting, and we didn't, so we didn't need to talk to them again.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Zip Cell Phone

great phone easy to use

12/10/2012
By ,
herkimer ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first phone i have used on straight talk i switched from verzion and kept my number easy to switch over 45 dollers a month is great same service as verzion.As long as you download the app for the advance task killer which will make room and keep your phone able to move faster.It as a faster web then my verzion phone had the camera is not the greatest but easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Zip Cell Phone

Great phone

04/15/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first smart phone so I don't really have anything to compare it to other than what I've experienced playing around with other people's phones. This is a great phone! I had it activated yesterday and it is on Verizon towers. The touch screen works very well which is surprising to me. I actually chose this phone because it has a key pad which was a must after trying to type a message on my friend's droid. That was a disaster. This phone's touch screen is much easier to use. It is also pretty user friendly. Didn't take long at all to learn the basics. Downloaded apps for FB and Iheartradio without any problems and they work very well. Have also watched youtube videos without any pausing. I think it is probably faster than my home computer. Anyway, I'm loving it so far. The reception is great. No dropped calls. Great deal!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Zip Cell Phone

JUNK DO NOT BUY!!!!!!!!

05/26/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
What they DON'T tell you about this phone is it only has 512mb of internal memory!!!!!!
Yes it comes with a 4 gb card, but the card doesn't do you much good.
ALL contacts, OS, and all apps that come with the OS will ONLY be on internal mem, can not be moved to SD card!!!!!!!!!
After 3 downloads and putting 12 names in contactys, sys mem was SO LOW I could not add another contact!!!!!!!!!
Brought this junk back and got Samsung Galaxy Centura: $50 cheaper and actually works... has 4gb of system memory AND 512 mb of ram!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Zip Cell Phone

no memory

02/23/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone has no memory at all. Do not get this phone unless you just want to call & text. The Apps will not save to the sd card. Very overpriced phone for what it offers. I hate it! Extremely disappointed !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Zip Cell Phone

Awesome Phone & Easy to use

11/24/2012
By ,
Lochbuie, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been a Straight Talk Customer for about 3 years now & I was afraid to update my current phone because the new ones seemed so complicated. But not with the LG Zip. I was very impressed with the features & how easy it is to use. I was able to transfer my current phone number through the Straight Talk website and it took less than a minute for my new phone to be active.. Just love this phone!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 84 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next