Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung S950C Galaxy S Prepaid Cell Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung S950C Galaxy S Prepaid Cell Phone

The Straight Talk Samsung S950C Galaxy S Prepaid Cell Phone features a bright 4" WVGA Super AMOLED display, Android 2.3 operating system and a virtual keyboard with Swype for fast, easy and intuitive browsing and messaging. It features a 5MP camera with HD recording so you can document your life on the go. Access to Google Play allows you to customize your phone with access to over 400,000 apps.
Average Customer Rating:
4.432 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation86%32 out of 37reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk Samsung S950C Galaxy S Prepaid Cell Phone

If you have poor reception in a Verizon area, BUY!

11/30/2012
By ,
West Point, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was constantly having dropped calls with my old style phone and went on the Walmart website and looked for a phone that I would stop dropping calls. NO MORE DROPPED CALLS! I am on a fixed income and did not want to spend this much for a phone, but it is worth the expense. I am in a Verizon only area in the country in south GA and this phone does the job. I do not have a home phone and so this is very important for me. I got it 2 days ago and not one dropped call. This is my first smart phone and did not really want to get one, but the smart phones are the only thing that the zip code checks showed would work in my area. The reviews were very helpful and went with this one because of its 5 star rating. Not all phones are the same from what I read in the ratings. I love this phone, now, if I can figure out how to use all the features. What a deal for all of the umlimited access with Straight Talk at a fraction of the cost of what people pay with contract plans.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+49points
Review 2 for Straight Talk Samsung S950C Galaxy S Prepaid Cell Phone

Good phone...the second time

01/05/2013
By ,
SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Got this phone for my child for Xmas. Traveled about 30 miles to a different WalMart to pick it up because it was out of stock locally. Got it home, activated it and thought I was home free. However, it would not program - the very last step in the activation/set up process. Tried several times, talked to customer service at Straight Talk - their advice was wait 24 hours & try again. Tried next day - no luck. Had to drive back to the WalMart store 30 miles away to exchange it. However, the rep at WalMart was super helpful and even activated and programmed the second phone on the spot. No issues with the phone thus far. The second time seems to have been the charm. My teenage child loves the phone - seems to function well. No complaints at all after I got one that works! Would purchase again, but would activate it in-store on the spot after purchase. The 4 star rating is a reflection more so on the fact that the first phone was defective - otherwise would give 5 star rating.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 3 for Straight Talk Samsung S950C Galaxy S Prepaid Cell Phone

Better than expected

10/25/2012
By ,
Dothan, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this phone for just over a week now and I'm very pleased with it. My favorite features are the ability to just speak my text messages and running my finger from letter to letter to type the words...much easier than typing on the tiny keyboard.
The sound options are great and the camera seems to do a great job. My only gripe was the initial price. $250 is a lot to purchase a phone but, if I don't have to deal with a contract, it should all even out.
By the way, the speed seems relatively good. Definitely not 4G but adequate for what I use it for.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+194points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
mountain view
The Straight Talk Samsung S950C Galaxy S
Posted 11/01/2012
how much was the cell phone?
+3points
Customer Avatar
Barcode scan?
Posted 10/31/2012
I have the Galaxy Proclaim and the only draw back is the app for bar code scanner doesn't work because there is no "auto focus." Does it work on this phone???
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 4 for Straight Talk Samsung S950C Galaxy S Prepaid Cell Phone
11/09/2012
By ,
Martinsville, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this phone in the store about a week ago & I absolutely LOVE IT! It has a lot of Apps & is easy to use. It runs off Verizon towers & works great. I had the Samsung Galaxy Proclaim & it would drop calls, which it ran off Verizon also but this phone is GREAT. The camera is excellent. I would recommend this phone to anybody. Love the 4" screen!!!!!! WIFI works great. Just a great phone!!!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+144points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Dixon Illinois
Whats the difference
Posted 11/13/2012
Whats the difference between the Samsung Proclaim and the new Samsung s showcase? I bought the Proclaim for my girlfriend and so did i but i have not open mine cause i am thinkin of takin it back and gettin the Galaxy s showcase but i dont know the difference really? besides the screen bein bigger or the better camera and 7 home screens instead of the 5 with proclaim,i know some differences but i want to know what ya'll think that have used this one
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Straight Talk Samsung S950C Galaxy S Prepaid Cell Phone

Finally a Straight Talk CDMA Smartphone!!!

11/22/2012
By ,
Sebago, ME
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After buying and then returning the Proclaim because of poor reception, I was a little hesitant about shelling out $250 for another Samsung phone. Well, I was very pleasantly surprised to find that the Showcase is another breed of phone! Great signal, lots of battery life, and easy to use. I liked it so much, I told my brother and he bought one as well. We are in rural Maine with only Verizon towers for the most part and this phone rocks here! I don't understand why it's not on Straight Talks' site, but at least I can tell everyone here to buy, buy buy!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+85points
Review 6 for Straight Talk Samsung S950C Galaxy S Prepaid Cell Phone

First smart phone

12/07/2012
By ,
Naples , FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not only an excellant phone but the google navigation works by telling it where you want to go. If you want to go to Yankee Stadium, all you need to do is say "Yankee Stadium" and you are on your way. My wife is irritated that this Nav. app. isn't available on her Iphone 4s. Camera and video recorder are easy to operate. Comes with unlimited talk, text and data for $45 a month with Verizon coverage.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Review 7 for Straight Talk Samsung S950C Galaxy S Prepaid Cell Phone

LOVE IT!!!!!

12/09/2012
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Me and my husband bought the Galaxy S Showcase at WalMart a few weeks ago and both love them. It runs off the Verizon network so we get coverage everywhere our fellow Verizon friends do =) Access to the GooglePlay store comes preloaded. I have downloaded Amazon Apps and 1Mobile Market (learned of this from my daughter's Nabi2 tablet) and both run great. There is a flash on the phone so pictures always look great. So far I have downloaded probably 20 apps and still have plenty memory left. The micro sd slot is upgradeable to 32gb (which you can buy a SanDisk Mobile Ultra micro sd card for around $25 bucks if you look in the right places) we get 3G almost everywhere, even when it is not 3G the browser is still fast. The navigation system works great in that you can click the voice search app and just tell it what you are looking for (much like another phone with an S at the end of it's name) the voice search will look for anything!! Since it is loaded with GoogleMaps you can also do street view once you map out your destinations. I don't know why people would not get this phone and pay the $45 + tax a month for unlimited EVERYTHING!! the phone will have itself paid for within approximately 8 months compared to other monthly bills. I have sat with my sister (who is an apple fan) and this phone does everything her iphone5 does!! I love the speech to text it makes it much easier and quicker to reply. We are going back and buying one for my mother for christmas. The 4" screen makes internet browsing very easy and not having to worry about download usage we can watch youtube, download numerous apps, and surf the internet all day with no worries!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+28points
Review 8 for Straight Talk Samsung S950C Galaxy S Prepaid Cell Phone

Nice phone

12/17/2012
By ,
Parkman, ME
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The phone has outstanding performance. Good reception in my area that stays connected as I travel and roam. Wi-FI and GPS work flawlessly. I have only one complaint and that is that I cannot find a case to protect the phone. In the store, I asked a sales associate what the difference was between the Showcase S950C and a regular S2 and they told me that they were the same and that the Showcase was just a StraightTalk version of the S2. She even showed me the USCellular version of the S2 and they did look identical from the front and the specs were identical. The problem came when I shopped for a case. I noticed that the camera on the back of the S2 is centered, whereas the Showcase camera is off-center. Back at the store, the sales associate told me that the phone is too new and that there are no cases yet for the Showcase. Bad move, WalMart! Why do you sell phones that nobody makes protective cases for? At $250 for the phone, I'd really like to protect the investment. Other options, such as Amazon and Best Buy also list nothing for the Showcase S950C.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 9 for Straight Talk Samsung S950C Galaxy S Prepaid Cell Phone

Killer Phone

11/21/2012
By ,
Berkeley, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Samsung Galaxy S Showcase is a GREAT lower cost smartphone. It’s sleek looking with gorgeous, vivid color on the screen. So far, all calls have been crystal clear and it seems pretty fast and easy to navigate once you get used to it. (I’m loving the ‘voice to text’ feature to compose messages…)
No, it’s not an iPhone, but given the price of the Showcase with unlimited calls & texts and no contract (on Verizon no less!), I doubt you can find a better deal out there?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+39points
Review 10 for Straight Talk Samsung S950C Galaxy S Prepaid Cell Phone

Love, love, love it!

10/18/2012
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently bought this phone from my local Walmart store. I love it! Haven't found anything about it that I dislike...Yet.
I entered my zip code up top and it said that this phone wouldn't work in my area, but it does. Woot!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+176points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
Oxford, NC 27565
What's the price?
Posted 11/07/2012
How much this phone cost?
0points
Customer Avatar
Virginia
Price
Posted 11/05/2012
It was $250.00 at my store.
0points
COst
Posted 10/22/2012
In my local Walmart store, this phone costs $250.00
-6points
Customer Avatar
Illinois
How Much $...
Posted 10/21/2012
How much does the phone cost??
-2points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 11 for Straight Talk Samsung S950C Galaxy S Prepaid Cell Phone

Super phone

11/03/2012
By ,
Orange, T.X.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is a really nice phone, has a really good speaker and good call quality.
The display is nice and bright. You will not regret buying this phone....................
The downside is the data speed capped @ 1 megabit per second but is fast enough to do
anything you would like to do but for 45 dollars a month what do you expect.
" Runs on Verizon's network " I love it so far..................................
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+111points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
@zipman34
Posted 11/09/2012
would you say this was a really good phone? has it overheated or froze or anything, because there are not many reviews on this phone at all. I'm taking it that it's new.
+5points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Straight Talk Samsung S950C Galaxy S Prepaid Cell Phone

Excellent phone

11/27/2012
By ,
Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had originally bought the Samsung Galaxy II, horrible mistake. It uses AT&T and my area is terrible for that. I took it back and the in store rep recommended the Galaxy S showcase. This phone is better than I could have ever imagined, great signal, can do tons of stuff on it. I highly recommend this phone
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+37points
Review 13 for Straight Talk Samsung S950C Galaxy S Prepaid Cell Phone

My first smart phone!

12/17/2012
By ,
Eatonton, Ga.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my very first smart phone as I was hesitant about how hard it would be to work with. I am so very pleased with my Galaxy S! Easy to use, all the features any one could want and the fact it works on Verizon is a big plus in my area. I am still discovering all the things this phone can do! Sound is so clear, and the sleek design is awesome. I did not want to enter into a contract so for $45.00 month unlimited it`s a great deal any way you look at it! **Highly recommend**
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 14 for Straight Talk Samsung S950C Galaxy S Prepaid Cell Phone

Great Straight talk phone!

12/03/2012
By ,
Ohio and Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The phone has exceeded my expectations so far. Easy set up. Easy to navigate through. The battery life is great! Phone is a little pricey, but if you need to be on Verizon and don't care to pay the high monthly cost of Verizon's plans. This is a great alternative! Phone performs great! Not sure why Straight talk is not carrying on web and all Walmarts. No issues with Straight talk service. If you need Verizon and can afford to buy phone, don't hesitate. It more than pays for itself over a few months. This phone works talk, text and data anywhere there is Verizion service. Plain and simple. Have traveled.....no problems!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Review 15 for Straight Talk Samsung S950C Galaxy S Prepaid Cell Phone

Very pleased

01/20/2013
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My previous phone was the Samsung Galaxy Proclaim, then I decided to upgrade to this phone.
What I was looking for in the smart phone choices usually were very high in price or not offered in my area. I happen to find this on Walmart's website (not sure why Straight Talk doesn't offer it on their website). The cost of this phone is $250 and very well worth it. It's not the cheapest, but there are alot more expensive phones out there. My price limit was $250 and this phone great.
The 4.0" screen is so much better than the Proclaim's 3.5". I was having difficulty texting on the smaller screen and this is perfect. I also like how there is a slight vibration when you touch to text. The 2.3.6 Android OS is very good! It's fast, responsive and no glitches. Having 7 home screens is nice as well. The processor is fast, so the internet and apps run very well. The display is very good. The signal (which this phone is a CDMA-V; runs off Verizon towers) is fantastic.
The phone is also built very well, doesn't feel cheap or even look cheap. My husband has an iPhone 4 and is completely jealous of this phone.
I recommend this phone to anyone. If you want a nice, but not pay huge amounts of money for a smart phone, this is yours!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 16 for Straight Talk Samsung S950C Galaxy S Prepaid Cell Phone

Great upgrade, Galaxy S phone runs on Verizon!

11/17/2012
By ,
Bronx, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Has most features I need while still saving cash. Halved my phone bill and a sweet phone to boot!
Just wish it had a front facing camera :( Verizon gets great service compared to others (who shall remain nameless :) in NYC, so this was a no-brainer.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Review 17 for Straight Talk Samsung S950C Galaxy S Prepaid Cell Phone
01/06/2013
By ,
Appomattox,VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned this phone for approximately a month and I am extremely pleased with this phone. I am impressed with the ease of operation and everyday seem to find something new with this phone. Also you can easily put all apps in alphabetical order without buying an app you just have to play with the settings. The camera is excellent the call quailty is great. The phone so far is a great value. Walmart even has a Trident case for it, just type Trident Samsung Fascinate Case in search engine. The only drawback with this phone is that no service plan is offered which I don't understand. Walmart usually offers a plan with all electronics, so be careful with this phone
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 18 for Straight Talk Samsung S950C Galaxy S Prepaid Cell Phone

If you're a Straight Talker and need Verizon, BANG

01/08/2013
By ,
Seymour, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had previously used the Galaxy Precedent, which is a nightmare in my area since Sprint service isn't very good here. The phone was also severely lacking in terms of memory, performance, etc.
The S950C has been a Godsend. It works and performs as a smartphone should (I'd scrapped pretty much all apps on the Precedent, because it was painfully slow).
The Verizon signal is much stronger here, which is good, and the phone's call clarity is very good.
The only downside is $250 is a bit steep for an older phone, but that's the trade-off we assume for using Straight Talk. At this point, it's the best we can get on the Verizon network.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 19 for Straight Talk Samsung S950C Galaxy S Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone!! walmart should order more on stock!!

01/29/2013
By ,
Murfreesboro, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Husband and I just recently switched to smart phones because of the straight talk plans at walmart!! $45 bucks unlimited everything is AWESOME!! We were looking at phones and def. researched which phone was best for us. Reviews are great when your clueless about something NEW.....that being said .... this phone has worked wonderfully for us...the only drawback is that it does seem like the battery drains fast when using the internet. So keep your charger near by. The service is GREAT!!! No drop calls ..I have definetly recommended this to all of my family members and friends.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 20 for Straight Talk Samsung S950C Galaxy S Prepaid Cell Phone

bad reception central maine Galaxy s showcase

11/27/2012
By ,
farmington maine
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I returned to walmart twice, gave up. I loved the phone and was hoping it would work, my old trac phone worked awesome [ us cellar] but this one drops call all the time [verizon ] if its carrier was us cellar this phone would be amazing, 45 dollars for unlimited everything! But verizon has bad network in central maine maybee if you have a bunch of verizon towers you will be alright wished it had better reception.It would be better then 140 a month through major carriers for same coverage
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
1-20 of 37 total reviews
1 2 Next