Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Compaq HP Off-Lease, Refurbished Black DC5800 Desktop PC with Intel Core 2 Duo Processor, 4GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Professional (Monitor Not Included)

Compaq HP Off-Lease, Refurbished Black DC5800 Desktop PC with Intel Core 2 Duo Processor, 4GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Professional (Monitor Not Included)

The HP Refurbished DC5800 Desktop PC has all the basics you need to compute. Microsoft Windows 7 Professional lets you complete any task.
Average Customer Rating:
3.896 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(115 Reviews) 110
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
55
4 stars
32
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
18
Customer Recommendation82%94 out of 115reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
34 Questions | 84 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
55
4 stars
32
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
18
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for HP Off-Lease, Refurbished Black DC5800 Desktop PC with Intel Core 2 Duo Processor, 4GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Professional (Monitor Not Included)

Biggest bang for the buck

12/10/2012
By ,
Buffalo, MN.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Joysystems does NOT supply a recovery CD for Windows 7 Pro 64bit like the description USE to say. For under $300 I would say this is one monster of a computer! However, things to keep in mind if you are buying and planning on upgrading: This is an ITX computer so if you are planning on switching to a tower you are very limited because the I/O is on the right side not the left like ATX motherboards. There are some HP DC series towers that you can find or the Dell Optiplex that will work. The power supply in this proprietary platform is a 240W and if you are wanting to add a graphics card they usually recommend atleast 300W that won't fit this case (hence the need for a tower). The LGA775 socket CPU can be upgraded to 3.33Ghz Core 2 Duo or 3.00Ghz Quad Core, the 4GBs of DDR 2 800Mhz memory can be upgraded to 16GB but you can not go up to the 1333Mhz, if you add a graphics card you will want a Nvidia low profile pci card, you can add a 3.5inch Memory card reader, I would like to add a pci-e adaptor and put in a mini pci-e WIFI/Bluetooth card from a laptop... The LightScribe DVD/CD burner is nice, I would've liked a DVI port installed (graphics card will give me that or one can be installed (low profile!)), and the 1TB hard drive is big. If you want to do a few small upgrades go for it because all in all if you want it for what it is it is a good buy. If you want to do bigger upgrades you may want something else?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for HP Off-Lease, Refurbished Black DC5800 Desktop PC with Intel Core 2 Duo Processor, 4GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Professional (Monitor Not Included)

Fantastic computer for the price

02/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this computer since February 12th 2014, and I must say that I LOVE it ! I was looking for a desk top PC that would run everything that I do plus have all the space that I would need. This is my first time at having a computer with Core 2 Duo Processor , 4 GB Memory & 1 TB Hard Drive. My older PC before this one, was lagging so much. I'm a photographer and I do a lot of things with photos.. different programs and such, that really take up a lot of space, and memory to run. I also do graphic design, and collect lots of graphics. On top of all of that lol, I also do a bit of computer gaming, chatting online, using web cams/mic. So far, this PC has held up to everything!! This is also my first time of having a Pre-Owned computer, and I was a little scared to buy it. I really wanted something new, however I wasn't finding what I was needing in a PC without having to spend over 300.00 for it .. and with my budget, I really didn't even want to get close to THAT number lol. So, all in all this was the way to go for me. I made a GREAT choice. Also, I had no problems picking it up from the store. I had it shipped, site to store, and everything went great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for HP Off-Lease, Refurbished Black DC5800 Desktop PC with Intel Core 2 Duo Processor, 4GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Professional (Monitor Not Included)

HP Off-Lease,m Refurbished DC5800 Desktop

06/29/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this computer for people on a budget. This computer has replaced a laptop that is no longer working. I think the HP DC5800 is a good replacement.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for HP Off-Lease, Refurbished Black DC5800 Desktop PC with Intel Core 2 Duo Processor, 4GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Professional (Monitor Not Included)

Too Bad...

06/17/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered this unit because it was something I could afford. Once it arrived, however, it would not boot up properly right out of the box. Company's customer service was rude and zero help. Walmart, on the other hand, was stellar! They accepted the return with no hassle at all.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for HP Off-Lease, Refurbished Black DC5800 Desktop PC with Intel Core 2 Duo Processor, 4GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Professional (Monitor Not Included)

I was very happy with the pc's...I bought 4...

09/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very happy with the pc's...I bought 4...for my grandsons. It was a wonderful bargain and we really were pleased with how clean and unmarked they were. The instructions to install the operating system were easy to follow. We wanted Windows 7 (for software we had to work) instead of Windows 8...what a great find this was. We told several friends and they even went online and altogether....5 more bought the same one. Very happy. BTW....BUY the warranty! It is only $50 for 3 years and you have great protection from warranty with Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for HP Off-Lease, Refurbished Black DC5800 Desktop PC with Intel Core 2 Duo Processor, 4GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Professional (Monitor Not Included)

Great upgrade from Windows XP

03/29/2014
By ,
PSL, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's not stylish and sleek like my old desktop and not stuffed with a lot of software I don't need or want. Basically it came with every thing I needed. Lots of storage and speed and expandable. Came with limited set up instructions, but helpful information is available via internet search. Box was slightly used as expected but inside looks brand new.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for HP Off-Lease, Refurbished Black DC5800 Desktop PC with Intel Core 2 Duo Processor, 4GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Professional (Monitor Not Included)

Met expectations.

02/26/2014
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
System arrived as promised; only a minor breakage on corner of keyboard probably occurring during shipping. System came right up. Am in the process of adding apps I require. Easily interfaced with my Belkin router and wireless printer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for HP Off-Lease, Refurbished Black DC5800 Desktop PC with Intel Core 2 Duo Processor, 4GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Professional (Monitor Not Included)

This PC met my expectations

08/04/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This PC met my expectations. The only thing I was disappointed in was the photo shown didn't match what I received. It showed several shots, including the back side which showed both VGA and HDMI ports in the back which I really wanted. I ended up going to Fry's and getting a new video card. But actually I probably would have ended up upgrading it anyway, so I am fine about it. I just want to point out that if the photo is a generic one, make sure you say it might not match the specific PC a person is buying. Also, it was fine to include a keyboard and mouse, but don't bother if the mouse is so unresponsive that it literally can't be used. I just tossed it in the trash. It would be better just to send the unit without the mouse than one that is so useless. We are used to buying our own anyway and they are cheap so no big deal. I have loaded everything I want on it, upgraded it to 8 gig of RAM and am VERY happy with the finished product. Even if you buy a brand new PC there is a lot of stuff to do before you are up and running, so I am delighted with this purchase. There are no unwanted programs pre-loaded which is wonderful, I like to load what I want. The OS was as described the Windows 7 Pro with 64 bit exactly what was advertised and the most important factor for me because of how I intend to use the machine - no other OS will do. Thank you for the excellent deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for HP Off-Lease, Refurbished Black DC5800 Desktop PC with Intel Core 2 Duo Processor, 4GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Professional (Monitor Not Included)

Great Buy

03/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Received this product on 1/15/15. Computer was packed very secure and unit was shrink wrapped. Computer looked brand new inside and out. One minor issued was resolved with a call to Customer Service, received quick response to correct problem. This review was done on 3/20/15, computer has been running great with Windows 7.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for HP Off-Lease, Refurbished Black DC5800 Desktop PC with Intel Core 2 Duo Processor, 4GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Professional (Monitor Not Included)

Very satisfied with my purchase

03/13/2014
By ,
Riverview, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At first I was reluctant to purchase a refurbished computer but it was a great deal for the money. I didn't have any problems and I was so pleased, I bought another. The second dc5800 worked well also and I have had no problems with either.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for HP Off-Lease, Refurbished Black DC5800 Desktop PC with Intel Core 2 Duo Processor, 4GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Professional (Monitor Not Included)

GREAT REPLACEMENT !

01/08/2014
By ,
Sweetwater Tn.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great replacement for my old Dell that die after many years . Arrived well and great job by UPS with all the ice and snow. Easy to set up and transfer data. This would have cost me almout twice as much new and works just as well . Buying this way is also "green" . Now I can give my old PC to recyler.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Compatibility
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for HP Off-Lease, Refurbished Black DC5800 Desktop PC with Intel Core 2 Duo Processor, 4GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Professional (Monitor Not Included)

Great computer w/out excess software installed

05/17/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is exactly what I wanted. A computer with high speed memory, large hard drive, and a OS with nothing more. I already had Microsoft Office 365 and a virus protection program in my possession; therefore, I didn't want all the nonsense software that comes with most new computers. Now, I have a hard drive that has the space for my programs and documents. Thanks Wal-Mart for such a GREAT product and a price that is unparalleled.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for HP Off-Lease, Refurbished Black DC5800 Desktop PC with Intel Core 2 Duo Processor, 4GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Professional (Monitor Not Included)

Great Computer

03/06/2014
By ,
Aberdeen Md
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This computer is fast and has all of the power and speed needed to do anything on the web...
Loaded programs easily and they are also much faster... Couldn't ask for more...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for HP Off-Lease, Refurbished Black DC5800 Desktop PC with Intel Core 2 Duo Processor, 4GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Professional (Monitor Not Included)

Good computer

12/30/2013
By ,
Rochester, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The computer is just as advertised. I have ordered more RAM memory chips, which are super easy to change.
Best thing is Windows 7. If you are like me and HATE windows 8, buy one of these while you still can.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Compatibility
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for HP Off-Lease, Refurbished Black DC5800 Desktop PC with Intel Core 2 Duo Processor, 4GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Professional (Monitor Not Included)

Good desktop for the price

11/30/2012
By ,
Baker, LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Functions well but it doesn't have a lot of the usual HP bells and whistles.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for HP Off-Lease, Refurbished Black DC5800 Desktop PC with Intel Core 2 Duo Processor, 4GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Professional (Monitor Not Included)

preforms very well

02/28/2014
By ,
Bloomington, Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
we are very happy with the new P/C it is a very nice looking P/C and preforms much better than our old one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for HP Off-Lease, Refurbished Black DC5800 Desktop PC with Intel Core 2 Duo Processor, 4GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Professional (Monitor Not Included)

Seems to be great value for the price

07/29/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I needed a replacement for my Windows XP computer and did not want to go with Windows 8. I also needed to get something economical as possible and have always liked the space saving "flatbed" models of PC. This has everything I need and so I ordered it for store pickup with zero shipping and handling fee. It arrived at the store in a few days, far less than the ten days or so that was predicted. I got the email to come pick it up, that was easy too. At home I unpacked it and it was undamaged, does not appear to have any dents or scratches or loose parts on the exterior. I was surprised when I hit something I thought was a power button on the upper front left side, and it did nothing....I looked on the upper front right side and found a matching button..surprise, surprise, surprise, depressing both at the same time unlocks the cover of the case and slides it back slightly for removal/access to the inside of the cabinet without finding and taking out a bunch of hidden screws or turning it around. It appears that the hardest part of the access to the inside is taking the monitor off the top off the top of the flatbed cabinet (where I immediately put mine to save space). Set up was easy and quick, registration numbers were easily found when needed, and all went smoothly. I've been using it for a couple of weeks now and its great so far. Windows 7 is very like XP except a little harder to find things, I think. I really dislike that they found it necessary to do away with XP...why fix what ain't broke? But, this is a good way to get a Windows 7 replacement without spending a fortune if you don't want to go to 8 yet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for HP Off-Lease, Refurbished Black DC5800 Desktop PC with Intel Core 2 Duo Processor, 4GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Professional (Monitor Not Included)

Computer is cool

12/11/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is working fine but comes with nothing installed, so if you want to use Microsoft Word, you have to buy and install it. Be prepared to do this if you need any Word documentation done or if you plan to use Excel. It is fast and has lots of memory. Happy so far!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for HP Off-Lease, Refurbished Black DC5800 Desktop PC with Intel Core 2 Duo Processor, 4GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Professional (Monitor Not Included)

Great Machine!

09/10/2013
By ,
Carlsbad, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've built every desktop computer that I've owned with the exception of two since 1990. With deals like this, it's just not cost effective to build your own. I purchased this after the motherboard in my wife's PC died. It has a spare bay so I was able to put her hard drive in and easily retain all of her old documents and pictures. The on-board graphics are good for her, but it also has a PCI express slot so you can add a dedicated graphics card if you want to. The RAM is expandable to 16GB. Very nice machine for about $280 including tax.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for HP Off-Lease, Refurbished Black DC5800 Desktop PC with Intel Core 2 Duo Processor, 4GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Professional (Monitor Not Included)

Decent PC Upgrade

04/25/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am happy with the performance of this computer. With 4 gig of memory it's fairly fast. It's a nice size, not one of the big boxes. You can put your monitor on top for space saving. It was easy to setup and is excellent for web and email use. A negative is it does not come with any programs (i.e., word processing). Also, remember to buy an antivirus program and install it before going on the web. You can get Norton 360 for under $35 on Amazon (good for up to 3 pc's). Bottom line is if you want to upgrade from Windows XP, this is a good choice that is reasonably priced and comes with a 1 year warranty. Joy Systems, the vendor received a good rating, so I felt confident that any problems would be resolved.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 111 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next