Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for TomTom TomTom START 50M 5" Vehicle GPS with Free Lifetime Map Updates

TomTom TomTom START 50M 5" Vehicle GPS with Free Lifetime Map Updates

The TomTom 5" GPS, START 50M Vehicle GPS is here to ensure your journey is smooth from start to finish. The TomTom 5" GPS, START 50M Vehicle GPS includes our TomTom Maps with IQ Routes and Map Share technology, which keeps you informed with dynamic road changes on a daily basis. Enjoy easy driving with Free Lifetime Map Updates. For the life of your the TomTom GPS With Lifetime Map Updates you can download four or more full map updates on your device every year. You receive updates to the road network, addresses and Points of Interest, to ensure that you always have the industry's most up-to-date map. Never miss your exit or turn with Advanced Lane Guidance. The TomTom Start GPS shows you exactly which lane to take before you approach an exit, turn or difficult intersection so you can stay on the right path. Choose from over 7 million Points of Interest in over 60 categories and find the nearest restaurants, hotels, shops and more wherever you go.
Average Customer Rating:
4.209 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(354 Reviews) 226
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
197
4 stars
93
3 stars
28
2 stars
13
1 star
23
Customer Recommendation87%309 out of 354reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
49 Questions | 319 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
197
4 stars
93
3 stars
28
2 stars
13
1 star
23
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for TomTom START 50M 5" Vehicle GPS with Free Lifetime Map Updates

EXCELLENT PRODUCT FOR THE PRICE!!

12/17/2012
By ,
Marco Island, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This TomTom was my first GPS. I owned it for 2 years. I loved it but it was stolen out of my glovebox. So I am getting ready to purchase my second one. (the first was a gift to me)
It was very easy to learn how to use it. The free updates are a big deal. My mom has a different brand and she has to pay for her updates once a year.
I love the window mount. It's easy to put on and take off. One other feature that I love is when you are driving it shows the roadway ahead so if you aren't sure which lane to stay or which way to turn ahead it shows you in arrows. It also tells you way ahead stay to the right/left and how far ahead to the next way your are going.
It is very well lit at night also. You can change the volume & mute.
I didn't have any problems using the screen that shows you store/business locations in the area you are in.
I used my TomTom so much when I was going on long distance road trips by myself and never got lost. It also shows the toll roads & other routes without tolls.
It tells you your speed you are driving and many other things.
EXCELLENT PRODUCT ESPECIALLY FOR THE PRICE.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+83points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for TomTom START 50M 5" Vehicle GPS with Free Lifetime Map Updates

Great for my needs - easy to use

07/15/2013
By ,
Northwest Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although I haven't read the manual to see what all it does, it's easy enough to use just by typing in an address. I'd like to know about all of the 'IPO' features, but probably need a 'young person' to show me the ropes. Still haven't mounted it because I can't figure out how it releases from the suction cup. But love the fact that it's portable. I use it in my older vehicles thru the cigarette lighter; the newer vehicle thru the USB port. I chose the carrying case as my 'free gift' and really glad I did. It fits in my purse - rather than leave it in the car. The most difficult thing was updating the map for the first time - on my computer. Just finding the download was confusing for me and then - it took hours. My computer kept going into 'sleep' mode - and the download would abort. Finally I played music from my computer's media player - which kept the computer from going to sleep. So, most of my trouble was from 'ID10t' error - and I have nothing but good feelings for the TomTom.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for TomTom START 50M 5" Vehicle GPS with Free Lifetime Map Updates

Better GPS option

12/21/2012
By ,
Foster City, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a GPS after my old Garmin Nuvi was stopped working when I went to a road trip. I got the great deal from walmart.com on this TomTom GPS with 5'' and lifetime map updates. I am using this from past 2 weeks and I like the advanced lane guidance option and it is great product to use for road trips.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for TomTom START 50M 5" Vehicle GPS with Free Lifetime Map Updates

Outstanding GPS

01/14/2013
By ,
Delaware
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this TomTom the day after Christmas for the online special price $69. The unit arrived with its own mount for the windshield or dash and its own charger cord. I plugged it in and it worked immediately. I followed instructions to set up the free map updates on my pc - no problems or issues - it updated the maps and added several additional features free of charge. Couldn't ask for beter - highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for TomTom START 50M 5" Vehicle GPS with Free Lifetime Map Updates

Good bang for the buck!

01/19/2013
By ,
North Olmsted, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had several gps units over the years but this is my first Tom Tom unit. My previous unit had traffic, but I didn't get much use out of that feature. This unit calculates and recalculates routes fairly fast, the screen is bright and you don't have to press the screen very hard when communicating with the unit. The lifetime map feature is always useful. I find the spoken directions/street names to be fairly clear and loud. As your traveling speed increases, the volume also increases. If you exceed the specified speed limit, the screen color in the corner of the screen where the actual and local speed are displayed turns red. When you approach an intersection where a turn is involved the unit does a good job of zooming in on the intersection and also the oversized directional turn arrow gives clarity to the turn ahead. Every gps device has its plus/minus points. On this one, I think the windshield mount is ok, but if the unit could be mounted with one hand rather than two that would be nice. A quick mount/release with a built in power cord connection would be great. The points of interest feature is good. But when your looking for the poi and typing in the letters, the unit should speak the letters back to you as they are entered. For some reason it can't locate my local Home Depot store yet it can find McDonals without any problem. The Home Depot has been located there for many many years but maybe it can't be found since it is located in a shopping center rather than as a standalone store. My old gps does find The Home Depot without any problem. I also like the fact that when driving a route, the street currently being traveled on is displayed towards the bottom of the screen and the next turn or street is displayed towards the top of the screen. Note that if you loose the spoken street names, check your voice selection. Not all supplied voices will speak the street names. This unitl also allows the input of long/lat coordinates if that feature is useful to you. The unit is suppose to show the speed cameras but I haven't come across any of them yet. I also haven't used the gas pricing (1-year trial) feature yet. I found the unit/map computer interface to work fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for TomTom START 50M 5" Vehicle GPS with Free Lifetime Map Updates

Great GPS

01/17/2013
By ,
Connecticut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently used this to navigate through the Brooklyn and the Bronx to avoid traffic on the highway. It was amazing, it never lost the signal between buildings.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for TomTom START 50M 5" Vehicle GPS with Free Lifetime Map Updates

$120 worth of GPS for (now almost) half that

02/18/2013
By ,
Knoxville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Be sure to enable all three free service codes (lifetime maps, one year of fuel pricing updates, one year free roadside assistance). The one for free roadside assistance uses a different website than the others. The gas price database is extremely useful and could save you a lot on your fuel bill. The "lane guidance" feature is nice and assures you you're not in an exit only lane at the wrong time. It has a lot of options to configure things to your tastes and its POI database is of excellent quality. Their customer support was quick and resolved an complex problem (beware the free recorded voices, at least one has a bug). I gave it 4/5 on expectations because usually you can select UK English as a computer voice (one that speaks street names) as well as US, but on this model only US "Susan" is provided. Overall an excellent value. This unit sells for $120 on other online stores and is a good deal even at that price vs. competing models.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for TomTom START 50M 5" Vehicle GPS with Free Lifetime Map Updates

good size and arrangements. cable too short

01/04/2013
By ,
michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Everything seems to be good, just like my old Tom Tom (3.5in, which stopped receiving signals after a few years). The USP cable is quite short.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for TomTom START 50M 5" Vehicle GPS with Free Lifetime Map Updates

Great Buy!

02/21/2013
By ,
Orlando
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am from the UK and come to the US a lot for travelling. The cost of this GPS is about the same as renting one for a week so it's easy to justify the cost. It has all I need and more. To those who say that it does not do some things, I say, look at what you have got, press some buttons and look at the options!! You CAN select the type of journey (avoid highways, avoid tolls) and you can ask it to do that at the start of each route planning task. There's no problem sticking to the windscreen (if you look at how to lock it on with the turn screw) and the display is bright, large and clear. You can change the voice (and get loads more online downloaded from Tom Tom). The free map updates are fantastic and I have already downloaded the latest (but it did take 1.5 hours). I have used the unit quite a lot most days since I bought it and it has never failed me. The number of built in POI's are huge and easy to access. The lane assist function works great for the huge US roads and shows you exactly the lane layout ahead at traffic lights for example so you know well in advance what lane to be in. All, in all, I am delighted with the purchase and the service I received from Wal Mart. Eleven out of ten so far....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for TomTom START 50M 5" Vehicle GPS with Free Lifetime Map Updates

Can't beat it fior the price

01/17/2013
By ,
Clinton Township MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It took a while to update it online ,but it works great so far. Easy to see screen , turn by turn voice directions. The route adjusts itself if you miss a turn. Good value for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for TomTom START 50M 5" Vehicle GPS with Free Lifetime Map Updates

Nice GPS for the price

12/19/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice GPS but, the website should list box contents. I bought this as a bundle w/my choice of a case or dash mount. Well since the box contents weren't listed a chose the dash mount and after I received it I learned it is too big and will not work on my dash. Disappointing to me that had I known there was a window mount in the box I would have chose the case instead.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for TomTom START 50M 5" Vehicle GPS with Free Lifetime Map Updates

The TomTom Start 50M 5" Vehicle GPS is a good buy.

01/22/2013
By ,
Portland, OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The voice is mostly clear and understandable. The picture is great. You cannot beat the lifetime map updates for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for TomTom START 50M 5" Vehicle GPS with Free Lifetime Map Updates
12/20/2012
By ,
Clarkston, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this as a gift and the person i got it for loves it. Price was fair and order came within like 2 days.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for TomTom START 50M 5" Vehicle GPS with Free Lifetime Map Updates
12/09/2012
By ,
Goldsboro, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this is as good as any other GPS. Great price. Just be sure to check your invoice. My case was supposed to be free as part of the bundle but I was charged $6.00 for it on my invoice.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for TomTom START 50M 5" Vehicle GPS with Free Lifetime Map Updates

LOVE it !

12/20/2012
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lifetime maps are a necessity with all the road changes. Speech is good. Shows upcoming crossroads quicker than other gps when run at same time to compare. Used on a foggy day on familiar roads. Would have been lost without it. Display is large and clear.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for TomTom START 50M 5" Vehicle GPS with Free Lifetime Map Updates

Not what I expected

02/02/2013
By ,
WEST MIFFLIN, PA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Although this model has improved features which I like over my old Tom Tom (more bells and whistles), for the life of me I can't get used to to changing positions of the directional arrow, it's all over the place (sometimes my new unit has the directional arrow indicator going up the screen where left is left and right is right but then it may be coming down the screen and left is right and right is left or then maybe across the screen. I can't focus or orientate my mind to keep up the proper relationship of my vehicles position in regards to the direction of travel. I've changed the menu position option from vertical to horizontal several times withonly slight improvement. On my old Tom Tom, left was always left, right was always right, up the screen was going forward where it always remained, screen view was constantly adjusting to stay in alignment with the directional arrow thus I always knew my vehicles position relative to direction of travel. I'm wondering if there are others out there experiencing the same problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for TomTom START 50M 5" Vehicle GPS with Free Lifetime Map Updates

Great buy on this GPS

02/13/2013
By ,
N.C.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'd been thinking about finally getting a GPS. I'd looked at GARMINS AND TOM TOM's primarily. After doing comparisons on price,features and reading reviews, I choose the TOM TOM. It was actually very simple to set up.While it came with basically no instruction manual, just go to TOMTOM.COM and set up an account and download your maps etc from there. Once all is downloaded, the actual set up in easy, just go to settings and walk through it you can't mess up but if you do, just redo it. I even found a "vehicle" that looks like mine. It's pretty accurate as fair as directions go. So for my "money" I think it's a good choice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for TomTom START 50M 5" Vehicle GPS with Free Lifetime Map Updates

Dollar for Dollar, Better Than a Garmin

02/19/2013
By ,
Austin, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had 2 Garmins (4 inch) in the past and have loved them both. I have been looking for a Garmin 5 inch model but had not seen any good deals. I saw this unit for sixty bucks and decided to give it a try. After all sixty is a steal and Walmart's return policy is pretty good. Well after a few days with the unit, I will NOT be going to customer service for a refund.
It is a very nice unit. Nice clear display. Good feel...solid and well made. Audio is clear and for sure loud enough. Operation (trip planning and execution) is accurate. Windshield mount is good and the cable is long enough for positioning of the unit almost anywhere. Software and the update process for maps and firmware is good. Voices are limited (compared to Garmin) but I am not dating the thing, just get me from A to B. A pleasant surprise is the voice guidance in this unit is not as annoying as the Garmin's. It does not bark out "recalculating" every minute if you change the route on your own. It just recalculates and displays new directions.
This would have been a 5 star all the way around, but it only includes maps of the USA. No Canada, which I would have liked to have since I fish there a lot.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for TomTom START 50M 5" Vehicle GPS with Free Lifetime Map Updates
01/15/2013
By ,
altoona pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought the TomTom start 50M 5" because my other tomtom ( refurlished) quit working on my favoites and some other settings and I was getting ready to take a trip so bought this tomtom wow much better then the old one and what a deal on the price, lots more features glad I made this choice
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for TomTom START 50M 5" Vehicle GPS with Free Lifetime Map Updates

awesome piece of equipment. easy for anyone to use

04/14/2013
By ,
Northern California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am thrilled with my Tom Tom and would never be without one aagain ever. It is very easy to use, easy to see, gives great directions has more than enough information available for even a person who has to know everything about his excursion. Plus you can tailor what information you want on the screen including all points of interest restraunts gas stations etc or you can remove everything if you just want a stark display. The ONLY problem I had waas in the initial set up. It tells you to plug your tom tom into your computer and turn it on and it automatically connects you with tom tom home where all your downloads etc are located. What it doesn't tell you is you have to FIRST download tom tom home onto your computer before you try to connect your tom tom and computer. Other than that somewhat small problem I wouldn't use a different GPS unit if it were given to me for free.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 227 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  12 Next