Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Black & Decker 20-Volt Matrix Drill, BDCDMT120

Black & Decker Black & Decker 20-Volt Matrix Drill, BDCDMT120

This Black & Decker 20-Volt Matrix Drill features the Matrix Quick Connect System that allows quick and easy drill attachment changes, saving you time and energy during a big project. With a 20V motor, this Black & Decker Matrix, BDCDMT120, provides enough power for a full range of applications and attachments. A compact, lightweight design allows this Black & Decker drill to be used almost anywhere, such as confined spaces, with ease. Featuring a lithium-ion battery and charger, this Black & Decker 20-Volt Drill has 10 clutch settings and a chuck size of 3/8", and the battery can hold its charge for up to 18 months while in storage. With RPM from 0-800, this Black & Decker 20-Volt Matrix Drill can handle almost any project. There are six attachments available for this Black & Decker Matrix, BDCDMT120, which are sold separately.
Average Customer Rating:
4.493 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(69 Reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
47
4 stars
16
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation94%65 out of 69reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
22 Questions | 50 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
47
4 stars
16
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Black & Decker 20-Volt Matrix Drill, BDCDMT120

Got it for my Hubby!!!

12/28/2013
By ,
Mulberry,AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
That is the only thing my hubby wanted for christmas, and now I get to get all the attachments for it for him. He loves it and tells everyone they need to get one to its very handy to have.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Black & Decker 20-Volt Matrix Drill, BDCDMT120

A LOT of bang for the buck

01/03/2014
By ,
Calhan, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm a locksmith by trade and I bought this drill because the matrix system is real convenient and it's also a very comfortable drill. I like that I can buy all the heads and keep them in one small tool bag which saves TONS of room in my van. By the way, this drill is mechanically identical to the Craftsman version, so all the heads are interchangeable. It's a great light/medium duty drill. No, it's not a powerhouse torque monster, but anytime you want to compare it to your $400 Dewalt, just remember this thing is on sale right now for $60....not $400. If I am cutting a hole in a steel door I grab my $550 snap-on drill. For everything else, I grab this little guy. If the battery had a LED power indicator I would go 5 stars. Lithium batteries don't warn you when they're getting low...they work and work, then die suddenly. With no indicator on the battery you have no way of knowing the battery charge state until it's too late. That can get real irritating if you're in the middle of a project.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Black & Decker 20-Volt Matrix Drill, BDCDMT120

For a lite duty B&D drill it does very well.

06/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This drill worked better than I gave it credit for. I used it to rebuild our back stairs and it had no problem driving 2.5" deck screws for the top. It did get a little temper mental driving 3.5" screws. Then again when I switched drills I noticed the B&D was hot and so was the battery. I did notice that there was a little movement in the chuck (a little loose) nothing for the "weekend DIY'er" to worry about. The chuck on the unit had no problem holding on to drill bits. A couple +'s, it's a light weight unit that can get into tough places, with good battery life. This drill cannot be of poor quality OR Craftsman would not have had B&D privet label the same drill motor and accessories for them. This is only the 2'nd product I've seen Craftsman use from the B&D line. I know they are compatible I picked up a Craftsman battery pack today, and yep it works great. I have also picked up the driver attachment, That works way better than expected. Good addition to my tool box..
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Black & Decker 20-Volt Matrix Drill, BDCDMT120

Just finished my first project. Wow!

06/06/2014
By ,
Benson, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a set of VERY old, very heavy, self-powered speakers (John Bower Active Ones) in my garage that I listen to as I do my glasswork . The speakers were sitting on part of my workspace and took up a lot of room. I decided to "convert" them to bookshelf speakers, and build a set of shelves to suspend them up off my bench. Now, these are VERY heavy guys, and I needed to over-do the shelves I was making. I lagged 2x4's to the corner wall at each end of my bench, and then set a piece of triangular MDF on the 2x4's to create the shelf. I used heavy duty, three-inch bolt-headed screws. I was astonished at the ease with which the B&D 20V drill handled the job! Being able to snap the drill head on, pre-drill the hole, then snap the driver head on and drive in the heavy screws, was too cool for school! SO easy! I am getting my second drill ... mostly for the battery (like the other gentleman listed in these reviews) ... although I worked 5 hours with the one battery and didn't have a problem. I have used the circular saw attachment and it works great, too! I am now anxious to try ALL the attachments!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Black & Decker 20-Volt Matrix Drill, BDCDMT120

Best tool I own so far

12/07/2013
By ,
Tama, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've owned many battery powered hand tools over the years, and this one is the best so far. And the versatility makes many of my others, even purpose built, obsolete. This one can get into places my others can't. is very powerful, and works a long time on a charge. The available fast charger is an absolute must if you are doing many projects, or working on a big one, because it will recharge the spare battery faster than the drill will discharge one. And it is so much lighter than the 18v NiCad equivalent B&D unit. And much more powerful. I love this unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Black & Decker 20-Volt Matrix Drill, BDCDMT120

great drill -- great price

07/24/2014
By ,
sumter sc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
when it comes to prices and value you cannot beat the walmart price, this is a great drill and it comes with a charger, ion battery and it has power, it is so nice to work without tripping over cords, or the cord is not long enough, you'll like this drill.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Black & Decker 20-Volt Matrix Drill, BDCDMT120

great over all

06/01/2014
By ,
killeen tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great for everything at home.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Black & Decker 20-Volt Matrix Drill, BDCDMT120

Love it

03/29/2013
By ,
Durand, MI.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like this drill because it's pretty light weight, and you can change to heads so you can go from drill to impact driver instead of having to carry a drill and the impact driver. Great idea.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Black & Decker 20-Volt Matrix Drill, BDCDMT120

Great Value

06/06/2014
By ,
Port Townsend Washington
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have both owned and use many drill/Drivers and this one is the strongest and best one that I have ever used and exceeded my expectations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Black & Decker 20-Volt Matrix Drill, BDCDMT120

my 2nd. one,great buy.

12/12/2013
By ,
Nice,Califorina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have already bought this drill a few months ago and needed another battery. so this whole drill is cheaper than the cost of just the battery!Now i have 2 drills and 2 batteries,cool! Charge lasts a long time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per week
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Black & Decker 20-Volt Matrix Drill, BDCDMT120

Perfect for household repairs

03/17/2013
By ,
Medina, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great battery life last for hours and no need to recharge all the time!! Highly recommend to buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Black & Decker 20-Volt Matrix Drill, BDCDMT120

PERFECT Gift for the husband that loves to build

01/10/2013
By ,
Montoursville, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is all my husband kept asking for for Christmas and now my kids have a new bunkbed, my husband has built himself a workbench and he is now moving onto making us a new headboard. All of this without tripping over extension chords. I LOVE IT!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Black & Decker 20-Volt Matrix Drill, BDCDMT120

My New GoTo Toool

11/18/2013
By ,
Lafayette Ore
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I held off getting a cordless drill for a long time but I finally decided to try this one. I added the Router, Trim Saw and Jig Saw and it has become my Primary tool for most projects. Lightweight but Powerful enough for most projects and has a very good battery life. Friends that have borrowed it are impressed as well...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Black & Decker 20-Volt Matrix Drill, BDCDMT120

Great Drill

06/30/2013
By ,
North Dakota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used the drill outside putting up spring/summer decorations around the yard. I am a woman and it is not heavy but yet it is powerful to drill a screw easily into the siding of the house to hang a sign etc. I have not used the three attachments I purchased to go with the drill so cannot rate how easily they exchange out. The battery is easy to take on and off and it is the platform that the drill can sit upright on. It also does not tip easy when standing upright. I am glad I spent the money and purchased the drill. I will try to update this review once my husband "borrows" it and see how well he likes to use it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Black & Decker 20-Volt Matrix Drill, BDCDMT120

Great

06/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Black & Decker 20-Volt Matrix Drill, BDCDMT120

A great around the house drill/driver

06/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not what you would want for a lot of heavy duty use. A fine tool for around the house needs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Black & Decker 20-Volt Matrix Drill, BDCDMT120

Phook

05/27/2014
By ,
Rowlett ,Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's cool pretty light spark. Please wear safety class.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Black & Decker 20-Volt Matrix Drill, BDCDMT120
06/25/2013
By ,
Arlington, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My favorite tool. Not a carpenter or anything, but I do like to work on projects constantly, and this tool delivers beyond what I'd ever need. Torque is strong enough to get a screw to strip the plywood. Got the oscillating attachment and the sanding is doing a great job too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Black & Decker 20-Volt Matrix Drill, BDCDMT120
06/03/2013
By ,
bay city, michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased for doing light jobs it seems to be a good product. The compact size is great.
We'll see how the chuck holds up over time. For REAL drill work I still like a corded 1/2"
Craftsman I own with a heavy duty chuck though. Otherwise the price and quality are good.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Black & Decker 20-Volt Matrix Drill, BDCDMT120

Great drill, bad chuck.

03/09/2014
By ,
Syracuse, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this recently and returned it after one use. The drill seemed to work great, was pretty powerful, got some tight screws out of wood (though it stalled out if they were really stuck and I had to switch to a hand screwdriver). Overall I'd say it's probably a good buy if you're only using it once in a while for a one-shot task.
However, the chuck was awful...I tightened it as hard as I could, and it still loosened up and let the bit fall out after EVERY screw I used it on. I took out a few dozen screws that day and it was so irritating having to reinsert the screwdriver bit and retighten the chuck every time. So not good for long, repetitive tasks.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 59 total reviews
1 2 3 Next