Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Generic RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

Generic RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

Entertain your back seat passengers with the RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player. This system comprises of one 9" LCD screen with built-in DVD Player and one 9" LCD monitor that can be connected to the DVD player's AV output (AV cable included). Once attached to the headrest, passengers can watch the same movie on both screens or attach the 9" LCD monitor for video game systems, camcorders and other AV products. For private listening, this RCA mobile DVD player features headphone jacks. Equipped with electronic skip protection to prevent playback from being disrupted due to bumps or jarring of the vehicle, this device provides smooth delivery of the media being played. For convenient control from a distance, one remote control (with battery) is included. Also included with this RCA Dual-Screen DVD Player is a dual car output adapter, as well as a mounting kit for easy installation.
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation69%18 out of 26reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 19 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

Same problem with pwr cord length, way its pwred.

12/02/2012
By ,
Buckeye, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just as I expected. Same problems with power cord not being long enough. Would reengineer the way the power cord goes to the monitor then to the player. It should be the reverse. Also the on/off switch on the player should turn the power off of both units. It is great that both units have a volume control. We kept the player in the front seat where we had control and placed the monitor on the headrest in front of our 2yo grandson. Worked great for us.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
GA
Poor product
Posted 09/05/2013
I got this at Christmas 2012 by Sept 2013 it was not working. The power cords are not well thought our and the volume isn't great quality. I would not purchase this for myself.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

Lifesaver

02/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this so my kids would have something to do on an eight hour drive to Disneyland. It worked better than I could have imagined. The only thing I heard from the back seat was "The movie's over". Since that was about bathroom stop time, it worked out great. We stopped for the bathroom, changed the disc and got another 2 hours down the road. No "Are we there yet?" or "I'm bored!". Best of all, no fights. I would recommend this for any family with kids going on a long drive. The hard part is the kids want me to hook it up just to go to the corner store now. Oh well, nothings perfect.
It was easy to hook up, easy to use, and easy to see even when the sun was the brightest. A great product that made for a great trip. I can't wait for the next one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

Great sound and picture

03/22/2014
By ,
Circleville, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great sound and picture. Very easy to set up. Cords connecting two screens could be a bit longer but do the job.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

babies are enjoying!

04/15/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have an 18 mo and 2 1/2 year old and they are really enjoying watching dvds while we are one the road!! The only thing that I don't like are the cords. They are too short and my little ones can almost reach them to pull them, so I have to try really hard to tuck them so that they cant reach but they easily come out. But so far we are loving them! :)
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

Looks great and works well!

03/13/2014
By ,
WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We got this for our 1 year old! He loves it and so do we. We have only had it for a couple of weeks but we are very happy! It keeps him entertained in the car! Great for the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

Horrible

11/14/2013
By ,
NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've bought two. The first one a year ago, it just stopped working after a few months. bought another one and it skips a lot, think it's scratching DVD's. Not happy at all. It's a disgrace to the RCA name.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

good enough to wow the toddlers!

03/21/2014
By ,
Tampa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
the resolution wasn't as great as expected but then again the words (HD or Blue Ray) aren't mentioned in this item description. but overall they are nice looking and a blind man could put it together so it's simplicity n functionality make it worth the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

Short cables, non-sensical controls

11/15/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I use units like this in a crossover SUV for my three year old and four year old on long trips. There are several features that make these units a very poor value:
- power cabling is daisy chained (in the wrong order)
- cables are too short
- volume controls are on the units, not the remote
- the player-unit is not slot-loading
With the daisy chained power cabling, the power cable *must* run from the non-player unit first, and then the linking cable provides power to the player unit. We put the non-player unit in the back row of our three-row vehicle, however. So, the power cable is not long enough for us to reach from the second row to the non-player unit. Therefore, we can't easily unplug the power from the parents' seats in the front row.
Second, the cables are too short and can not reach across rows. The "linking" cable will be up in the air ready to snag kids when they climb in, or annoy them by always brushing them when they are sitting. As a side effect of the daisy chain, you can not turn the on-off switch to off and de-power both players; you have to physically unplug from the power outlet.
Third, the volume controls are on the unit not the remote. As a result, the parent can not control volume for the kids in the back. Instead, the kids will have to learn how. Worse still, the volume control on the non-player unit is two of three buttons. Good luck to our daughter to change volume and not video settings.
As a last point, the CD is not slot loading. The flip down door is a nuisance and quite likely to break (as happened on our first player).
I wonder if the engineers ever watched a family use their units in real-world tests?
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+67points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

Great product, good picture and sound.

01/10/2013
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We used his product for a road trip for Thanksgiving and it worked well. Unlike the earlier version of this product, this dvd player will allow you to push stop, turn the machine off, and resume at the same spot where you pushed stop when you turn the machine back on. The sound was great although I would recommed headphones. The picture quality was excellent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

Piece of Junk

06/30/2013
By ,
Somewhere in Upstate New York
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
OK, I like never leave reviews for anything, but I feel I have to at this point. Do not buy this piece of garbage. Bought one, and within a month it just stopped working, returned it and dummy me, got another. after a couple months it stopped working as well.
Also power cord, way too short.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

broken

03/13/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this product arrived cracked and broken.
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player
11/30/2012
By ,
Harrisburg pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Simple, effective and reasonable quality overall, though the way they wires connect to each unit are a bit odd and causes screen location difficulty inside vehicles.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

I expected better

11/29/2012
By ,
CO.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We should have stuck with the original plan and went to Best Buy.
Right out of the box they didn't work. The screen said "open" even when there was a disc in and the cover closed. They look cheap, feel cheap, are cheap.
Do NOT waste your time or money!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

Horrible!

01/30/2013
By ,
Akron, oh
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My son got this as a gift for his first birthday. He loved watching it on long car rides and it worked well for a few months. It started freezing up and then just stopped working. Didn't even last 8 months!! I would NOT buy this product. Spend a few more bucks and get a better brand!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

Great dual DVD for kids

11/29/2013
By ,
Ho Ho Kus, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would have liked volume control on the remote. Helps make it easier in the car than finding the buttons (especially when one kid falls asleep and it's loud and might wake him up!).
Also would be easier for changing DVD's if it was the DVD behind the passenger side. Atleast for the driver. Easier to get access (when the car is stopped of course) when it was behind the passenger side.
Very happy with it though.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
New Orleans, LA
i found the volume control...
Posted 02/07/2014
press the arrow buttons left or right to control the volume from the remote. i found this out accidentally! :)
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

car dvd

01/03/2014
By ,
Easton, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far this is great. Only have it for 2 weeks and use it almost every car ride!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

Awesome gadget for those stuck in a car seat.

12/18/2013
By ,
Del Valle, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of the best purchases i`ve made in a while. Worth ever penny. Very simple to use.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

everything is working great

11/02/2013
By ,
stoneham, ma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
product is working great and shipping was on date promised
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

GOOD CHOICE FOR THE PRICE

08/09/2013
By ,
BROCKPORT,NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I HAVE 3 KIDS AND THE DOUBLE SCREEN WAS A PLUS. GOOD PICTURE AND SOUND QUALITY. ON THE DOWNSIDE IT DOESNT COME WITH HEADPHONES. BOTH SCREENS COME WITH A HEADPHONE JACK INLET SO I WAS ABLE TO SPLIT IT INTO 4 HEADPHONES..
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

A++

12/09/2013
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 26 total reviews
1 2 Next