Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Generic RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

Generic RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

Entertain your back seat passengers with the RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player. This system comprises of one 9" LCD screen with built-in DVD Player and one 9" LCD monitor that can be connected to the DVD player's AV output (AV cable included). Once attached to the headrest, passengers can watch the same movie on both screens or attach the 9" LCD monitor for video game systems, camcorders and other AV products. For private listening, this RCA mobile DVD player features headphone jacks. Equipped with electronic skip protection to prevent playback from being disrupted due to bumps or jarring of the vehicle, this device provides smooth delivery of the media being played. For convenient control from a distance, one remote control (with battery) is included. Also included with this RCA Dual-Screen DVD Player is a dual car output adapter, as well as a mounting kit for easy installation.
Average Customer Rating:
3.81 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(100 Reviews) 99
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
49
4 stars
22
3 stars
6
2 stars
7
1 star
16
Customer Recommendation78%78 out of 100reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
54 Questions | 78 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
49
4 stars
22
3 stars
6
2 stars
7
1 star
16
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

Same problem with pwr cord length, way its pwred.

12/02/2012
By ,
Buckeye, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just as I expected. Same problems with power cord not being long enough. Would reengineer the way the power cord goes to the monitor then to the player. It should be the reverse. Also the on/off switch on the player should turn the power off of both units. It is great that both units have a volume control. We kept the player in the front seat where we had control and placed the monitor on the headrest in front of our 2yo grandson. Worked great for us.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
GA
Poor product
Posted 09/05/2013
I got this at Christmas 2012 by Sept 2013 it was not working. The power cords are not well thought our and the volume isn't great quality. I would not purchase this for myself.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

Lifesaver

02/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this so my kids would have something to do on an eight hour drive to Disneyland. It worked better than I could have imagined. The only thing I heard from the back seat was "The movie's over". Since that was about bathroom stop time, it worked out great. We stopped for the bathroom, changed the disc and got another 2 hours down the road. No "Are we there yet?" or "I'm bored!". Best of all, no fights. I would recommend this for any family with kids going on a long drive. The hard part is the kids want me to hook it up just to go to the corner store now. Oh well, nothings perfect.
It was easy to hook up, easy to use, and easy to see even when the sun was the brightest. A great product that made for a great trip. I can't wait for the next one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+54points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

Great product!

08/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This portable DVD player did not disappoint! I have a 3rd row seat in my car. The cords were long enough that we were able to have one screen attached the front seat for the middle row to watch and one screen attached to the middle seat for the 3rd row to watch. Each screen has a headphone jack which was also a plus when the driver did not want to listen to the movies. It was easy to set up and take down. The movies did not skip and the picture and sound was great. Great buy and great price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
From RCA Audio Video09/12/2014
Thank you for being an RCA customer. Glad to hear you are enjoying your Portable DVD Player.RCAAV
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

Best Quality for the Money, but Small Issues

07/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been a fan of RCA electronics for decades and found this item to be worthy of their reputation for good quality products. I bought this for a long car trip with my grandchildren, and the videos played flawlessly with no technical problems. The remote control worked great. Very pleased! However, despite this excellent quality, I was surprised that the company was so stingy with such minor things as cord lengths. The power cord is surprisingly short, and so was the audio/video cables between the dual units. Just a couple more feet would have made a big difference. Also, the velcro straps that are supposed to attach the monitors to the back of headrests, were virtually useless in my 2014 Hyundai Santa Fe. Instead, I purchased 1/8" ELASTIC cord at a craft store, which held the monitors in place from the headrests nicely and firmly. Also, it came with no earbuds or headphones. Really? Does RCA think that the adults are going to join the kids in listening to Buggs Bunny or Spiderman for a thousand-mile round trip? The wholesale cost on a couple cheapo earbuds is not much, so they couldn't toss a couple of those in the box? Oh well, after buying earbuds, the elastic cord for the monitors, and adjusting the cable lengths... it all worked out... and in fact is still better quality than many of the other products out there. Despite these minor issues, this is still an excellent product, and with only a few small additions/revisions by the manufacturer, it could be darn near perfect!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
From RCA Audio Video09/12/2014
Thank you for being an RCA customer. Glad to hear you are enjoying your Portable DVD Player.RCAAV
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

Waste of money

11/07/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this because of the screen size and the fact that it was dual screen, and the price was fair... however, I was quickly disappointed by how many times it skipped in the car. I've now discovered that it is scratching our dvd's. We only have bluray in our home (so we always buy the dvd/bluray combo's). The dvd's are only played in the car. Brand New dvd opened fresh out of the store, played once for 30 minutes has SEVERAL perfect circle scratches. I even have 1dvd that will no longer play/is not recognized on other devices due to the scratches. I should've took them back after the first day of using when I noticed the skipping, but I assumed it was the fact I was in an old SUV. The skipping would sometimes be accompanied with long pauses (over 1 minute before the movie starts playing again). I've used these in 4 different vehicles to test to see if it was just my primary vehicle causing them to skip (a car that is only 6 years old). WRONG. I used them in a brand new car with excellent shocks - very smooth riding and they STILL skip. Wish I would've spent the extra money and got a better quality or not purchased a portable dvd player at all. After writing this review I'm going to write to RCA. So disappointed in this product.
Recommends this product? No
From RCA Audio Video11/10/2014
We apologize for the inconvenience, and it will be our pleasure to assist you. Please reach out to our support team at support@1800customersupport.com .RCAAV
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

Works well

06/08/2014
By ,
Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this to keep the kids company on a trip from Ohio to Florida and back.
Fairly simple to set up and use.
Good Value at $99.00.
Like I have read before...the power supply cable is too short.
If you purchase this, do yourself a favor and buy a 12v extension cable at the same time.
The volume level is ok but it could use a bit more...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

Worth the purchase

07/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband & I bought this for our family vacation. Our girls loved it. The picture is very clear & very easy to use. My favorite feature of this item is when you turn the car off it turns the tv's off automatically so that it doesn't run down your car battery. When you turn the car back on the movie comes right back where it stops. It was perfect for our vacation.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
From RCA Audio Video09/12/2014
Thank you for being an RCA customer. Glad to hear you are enjoying your Portable DVD Player.RCAAV
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

constantly skips

11/09/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Any DVD I put into it skips at the smallest bump in the road while driving. This is very frustrating for my daughter who watches it. I thought at first it may be the DVD but it does it with every one so far. Then I thought maybe it was the way I installed it but I went by the instruction book. I will be returning it for either an exchange or refund. I will try an exchange as I may have just gotten a defective one. If it does the same thing I will return for a refund.
Recommends this product? No
From RCA Audio Video11/11/2014
We apologize for the inconvenience, and it will be our pleasure to assist you. Please reach out to our support team at support@1800customersupport.com.RCAAV
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

Skips

09/12/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this for two year old great grandson for his birthday on August 14th. In the last few days it has started skipping and messing up. My granddaughter will take it back to Walmart tomorrow hopefully they will make it right. It's a lot of money to last less than a month. I bought it because it was an RCA brand which I have always trusted.
Recommends this product? Yes
From RCA Audio Video09/16/2014
We apologize for the inconvenience, and it will be our pleasure to assist you. Please reach out to our support team at support@1800customersupport.com or 1-800-506-5746.RCAAV
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

Great DVD for the Kids

08/15/2014
By ,
Yucca Valley, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This purchase was to replace a dual RCA set that got damaged during a trip. We upgraded to the 9 inch screen and it is so nice. The remote for this model offers many options for setting up the DVD. The only drawback is that the power cord barely reaches to the power plug in an older vehicle (that does not have a power plug in the back seat area). But the kids were happy with their movies on a very long trip and love the pause feature and the individual earphone jacks. Happy with the repeat purchase of an RCA product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
From RCA Audio Video09/05/2014
Thank you for being an RCA customer. Glad to hear you are enjoying your tabletRCAAV
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

skips constantly

11/08/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I reviewed/researched this item before I bought it and it seemed like a good buy. After installing it I find that every "little" bump you hit the movie skips. I understand a big bump would do this but I'm talking about "little" bumps that go along with every day driving. I thought it may be the DVD but it does it with every one I have tried. It's very frustrating for my daughter. I will be contacting Walmart to see about either exchanging it or returning it all together.
Recommends this product? No
From RCA Audio Video11/10/2014
We apologize for the inconvenience, and it will be our pleasure to assist you. Please reach out to our support team at support@1800customersupport.com .RCAAV
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

Love the ease of set up!

06/02/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this to go on vacation with and it exceeded my expectations in all things, it was easy to set up, great picture, good sound and I like the way it sits behind the bucket seats in our Jeep. It also has individual jacks for headphones which was nice s
for the kids to be able to watch and hear the movie while my wife and I enjoyed the car stereo.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

Great Product

11/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a good product at an affordable price, and this is just that. I have had it for about a month now and I have not had any problems with it. I did have one problem when I first hooked it up. One of the screens was just blue and making a noise. I switch the yellow cord to the white hole and the white to the yellow and now it works just fine. Not sure why that happened, maybe the colors were put on the wrong hole or something. But overall its a great product for a great low price!
Recommends this product? Yes
From RCA Audio Video11/14/2014
Thank you for being an RCA customer. Glad to hear you are enjoying your Portable DVD Player.RCAAV
From RCA Audio Video11/14/2014
Thank you for being an RCA customer. Glad to hear you are enjoying your Portable DVD Player.RCAAV
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

DVD for 2

11/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was as described. The kids enjoy it.
Recommends this product? Yes
From RCA Audio Video11/21/2014
Thank you for being an RCA customer. Glad to hear you are enjoying your Portable DVD Player.RCAAV
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

Good mobile DVD player for the price.

06/01/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's a good mobile DVD player for the price. But it doesn't strap well to the headrest. The screens tilt back causing it to appear dark and hard to view the movie playing. We had to wedge things behind the screens so the kids could see better.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

Works well on trips

06/20/2014
By ,
Red Fox, KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We are just getting back from vacation and this product has worked really well. We also use it for just short trips around our community. The remote that comes with it is very handy when going down an interstate and the kids want the DVD player to start.... So far so good
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
From RCA Audio Video09/12/2014
Thank you for being an RCA customer. Glad to hear you are enjoying your Portable DVD Player.

Thank you for your comments and concerns about the portable DVD players, as we appreciate your suggestions, on how we could improve on the next generation of portable DVD players.RCAAV
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

Not a great buy

08/12/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unless you find it on sale don't bother. The only "good" thing about this product is that both my kids get their own screen.
the image quality is barely ok. if you hit a bump on the road, it skips. it doesn't hold a charge so if you turn off the car, say to pump gas, it turns off. it is not wireless, [there's a wire between the screens and one for power source].
I recommend that instead of wrapping it around the front seat head rest, you wrap it twice around the bars holding up the head rest. it is much steadier that way.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
From RCA Audio Video09/12/2014
We apologize for the inconvenience, and it will be our pleasure to assist you. Please reach out to our support team at support@1800customersupport.com or 1-800-506-5746.RCAAV
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

Short cables, non-sensical controls

11/15/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I use units like this in a crossover SUV for my three year old and four year old on long trips. There are several features that make these units a very poor value:
- power cabling is daisy chained (in the wrong order)
- cables are too short
- volume controls are on the units, not the remote
- the player-unit is not slot-loading
With the daisy chained power cabling, the power cable *must* run from the non-player unit first, and then the linking cable provides power to the player unit. We put the non-player unit in the back row of our three-row vehicle, however. So, the power cable is not long enough for us to reach from the second row to the non-player unit. Therefore, we can't easily unplug the power from the parents' seats in the front row.
Second, the cables are too short and can not reach across rows. The "linking" cable will be up in the air ready to snag kids when they climb in, or annoy them by always brushing them when they are sitting. As a side effect of the daisy chain, you can not turn the on-off switch to off and de-power both players; you have to physically unplug from the power outlet.
Third, the volume controls are on the unit not the remote. As a result, the parent can not control volume for the kids in the back. Instead, the kids will have to learn how. Worse still, the volume control on the non-player unit is two of three buttons. Good luck to our daughter to change volume and not video settings.
As a last point, the CD is not slot loading. The flip down door is a nuisance and quite likely to break (as happened on our first player).
I wonder if the engineers ever watched a family use their units in real-world tests?
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
From RCA Audio Video09/12/2014
Thank you for your comments and concerns about the portable DVD players, as we appreciate your suggestions, on how we could improve on the next generation of portable DVD players.RCAAV
+83points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

Great DVD Player

07/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Finally found a DVD player that doesn't skip with every bump in the road! Bought this for the grandkids to take on their 10 hr beach trip. It kept them all happy and their parent sane. :) I did a lot of research and read a lot of reviews before deciding on a dual screen player. RCA had the best reviews of them all. I got the 2 yr warranty b/c I know how tough little ones can be on gadgets.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
From RCA Audio Video09/12/2014
Thank you for being an RCA customer. Glad to hear you are enjoying your Portable DVD Player.RCAAV
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

Great Product

06/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought them prior to a long road trip and couldn't have been happier with them. They were easy to set up and to wrap around/attach to headrest. Easy to take down at night so we didn't have to leave them in the car. Quality of sound and picture was really good as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
From RCA Audio Video09/12/2014
Thank you for being an RCA customer. Glad to hear you are enjoying your Portable DVD Player.RCAAV
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 100 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next