Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for RCA RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

RCA RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

For a Limited Time Offer Movie Bundle Click Here Entertain your back seat passengers with the RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player. This system comprises of one 9" LCD screen with built-in DVD Player and one 9" LCD monitor that can be connected to the DVD player's AV output (AV cable included). Once attached to the headrest, passengers can watch the same movie on both screens or attach the 9" LCD monitor for video game systems, camcorders and other AV products. For private listening, this RCA mobile DVD player features headphone jacks. Equipped with electronic skip protection to prevent playback from being disrupted due to bumps or jarring of the vehicle, this device provides smooth delivery of the media being played. For convenient control from a distance, one remote control (with battery) is included.
Average Customer Rating:
3.811 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(143 Reviews) 142
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
73
4 stars
29
3 stars
7
2 stars
9
1 star
25
Customer Recommendation78%111 out of 143reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
82 Questions | 119 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
73
4 stars
29
3 stars
7
2 stars
9
1 star
25
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

Same problem with pwr cord length, way its pwred.

12/02/2012
By ,
Buckeye, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just as I expected. Same problems with power cord not being long enough. Would reengineer the way the power cord goes to the monitor then to the player. It should be the reverse. Also the on/off switch on the player should turn the power off of both units. It is great that both units have a volume control. We kept the player in the front seat where we had control and placed the monitor on the headrest in front of our 2yo grandson. Worked great for us.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
GA
Poor product
Posted 09/05/2013
I got this at Christmas 2012 by Sept 2013 it was not working. The power cords are not well thought our and the volume isn't great quality. I would not purchase this for myself.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

Excellent product.

05/17/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to set up. Loved that it had the remote. Thought we were going to have an issue plugging it in to the power source in the car because my grandaughter's carseat still faces to the back and there was no outlet in the back. Problem solved- since the monitors were connected with a foot or so of cables, we simply laid the second monitor on the back seat as far forward as we could, and the wires then reached the outlet in rhe front of the car.
It definitely made a long drive tolerable for an active 2 yr old. Won't take long trips without it in the future!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

Lifesaver

02/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this so my kids would have something to do on an eight hour drive to Disneyland. It worked better than I could have imagined. The only thing I heard from the back seat was "The movie's over". Since that was about bathroom stop time, it worked out great. We stopped for the bathroom, changed the disc and got another 2 hours down the road. No "Are we there yet?" or "I'm bored!". Best of all, no fights. I would recommend this for any family with kids going on a long drive. The hard part is the kids want me to hook it up just to go to the corner store now. Oh well, nothings perfect.
It was easy to hook up, easy to use, and easy to see even when the sun was the brightest. A great product that made for a great trip. I can't wait for the next one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+95points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

RCA dvd mobile player

05/22/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for the grandchildren on long trips. They love watching movies. Great buy.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

Absolutely Amazing

05/21/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exactly what I needed
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

Works well

06/08/2014
By ,
Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this to keep the kids company on a trip from Ohio to Florida and back.
Fairly simple to set up and use.
Good Value at $99.00.
Like I have read before...the power supply cable is too short.
If you purchase this, do yourself a favor and buy a 12v extension cable at the same time.
The volume level is ok but it could use a bit more...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

works great

05/09/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It works great the kids enjoyed watching movies on our 3 hour trip.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

Plays well but operational issues

05/03/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a nice player. You can't beat the price. However controls are near Impossible to see or use contrast in labeling would have been nice. You need fingers the size of pencils to be accurate. Remote is not full function. Straps to mount are Velcro and are a joke. But when player is on it plays well. It is not a unit that the kids can operate on their own.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

Grandkids love it

05/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
They work excellent keeps the grandkids occupied oblong trips. The Saul screens are nice so that nobody is fighting that they can't see. Great to have
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

Love the ease of set up!

06/02/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this to go on vacation with and it exceeded my expectations in all things, it was easy to set up, great picture, good sound and I like the way it sits behind the bucket seats in our Jeep. It also has individual jacks for headphones which was nice s
for the kids to be able to watch and hear the movie while my wife and I enjoyed the car stereo.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

Great DVD for the Kids

08/15/2014
By ,
Yucca Valley, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This purchase was to replace a dual RCA set that got damaged during a trip. We upgraded to the 9 inch screen and it is so nice. The remote for this model offers many options for setting up the DVD. The only drawback is that the power cord barely reaches to the power plug in an older vehicle (that does not have a power plug in the back seat area). But the kids were happy with their movies on a very long trip and love the pause feature and the individual earphone jacks. Happy with the repeat purchase of an RCA product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
From RCA Audio Video09/05/2014
Thank you for being an RCA customer. Glad to hear you are enjoying your tabletRCAAV
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

Short cables, non-sensical controls

11/15/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I use units like this in a crossover SUV for my three year old and four year old on long trips. There are several features that make these units a very poor value:
- power cabling is daisy chained (in the wrong order)
- cables are too short
- volume controls are on the units, not the remote
- the player-unit is not slot-loading
With the daisy chained power cabling, the power cable *must* run from the non-player unit first, and then the linking cable provides power to the player unit. We put the non-player unit in the back row of our three-row vehicle, however. So, the power cable is not long enough for us to reach from the second row to the non-player unit. Therefore, we can't easily unplug the power from the parents' seats in the front row.
Second, the cables are too short and can not reach across rows. The "linking" cable will be up in the air ready to snag kids when they climb in, or annoy them by always brushing them when they are sitting. As a side effect of the daisy chain, you can not turn the on-off switch to off and de-power both players; you have to physically unplug from the power outlet.
Third, the volume controls are on the unit not the remote. As a result, the parent can not control volume for the kids in the back. Instead, the kids will have to learn how. Worse still, the volume control on the non-player unit is two of three buttons. Good luck to our daughter to change volume and not video settings.
As a last point, the CD is not slot loading. The flip down door is a nuisance and quite likely to break (as happened on our first player).
I wonder if the engineers ever watched a family use their units in real-world tests?
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
From RCA Audio Video09/12/2014
Thank you for your comments and concerns about the portable DVD players, as we appreciate your suggestions, on how we could improve on the next generation of portable DVD players.RCAAV
+110points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

Great product, good picture and sound.

01/10/2013
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We used his product for a road trip for Thanksgiving and it worked well. Unlike the earlier version of this product, this dvd player will allow you to push stop, turn the machine off, and resume at the same spot where you pushed stop when you turn the machine back on. The sound was great although I would recommed headphones. The picture quality was excellent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+60points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

I expected better

11/29/2012
By ,
CO.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We should have stuck with the original plan and went to Best Buy.
Right out of the box they didn't work. The screen said "open" even when there was a disc in and the cover closed. They look cheap, feel cheap, are cheap.
Do NOT waste your time or money!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
From RCA Audio Video09/12/2014
Thank you for your comments and concerns about the portable DVD players, as we appreciate your suggestions, on how we could improve on the next generation of portable DVD players.RCAAV
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

Horrible

11/14/2013
By ,
NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've bought two. The first one a year ago, it just stopped working after a few months. bought another one and it skips a lot, think it's scratching DVD's. Not happy at all. It's a disgrace to the RCA name.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
From RCA Audio Video09/12/2014
We apologize for the inconvenience, and it will be our pleasure to assist you. Please reach out to our support team at support@1800customersupport.com or 1-800-506-5746.RCAAV
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

Worth the purchase

07/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband & I bought this for our family vacation. Our girls loved it. The picture is very clear & very easy to use. My favorite feature of this item is when you turn the car off it turns the tv's off automatically so that it doesn't run down your car battery. When you turn the car back on the movie comes right back where it stops. It was perfect for our vacation.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
From RCA Audio Video09/12/2014
Thank you for being an RCA customer. Glad to hear you are enjoying your Portable DVD Player.RCAAV
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player
11/30/2012
By ,
Harrisburg pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Simple, effective and reasonable quality overall, though the way they wires connect to each unit are a bit odd and causes screen location difficulty inside vehicles.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

Good mobile DVD player for the price.

06/01/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's a good mobile DVD player for the price. But it doesn't strap well to the headrest. The screens tilt back causing it to appear dark and hard to view the movie playing. We had to wedge things behind the screens so the kids could see better.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

Works well on trips

06/20/2014
By ,
Red Fox, KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We are just getting back from vacation and this product has worked really well. We also use it for just short trips around our community. The remote that comes with it is very handy when going down an interstate and the kids want the DVD player to start.... So far so good
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
From RCA Audio Video09/12/2014
Thank you for being an RCA customer. Glad to hear you are enjoying your Portable DVD Player.

Thank you for your comments and concerns about the portable DVD players, as we appreciate your suggestions, on how we could improve on the next generation of portable DVD players.RCAAV
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

Not a great buy

08/12/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unless you find it on sale don't bother. The only "good" thing about this product is that both my kids get their own screen.
the image quality is barely ok. if you hit a bump on the road, it skips. it doesn't hold a charge so if you turn off the car, say to pump gas, it turns off. it is not wireless, [there's a wire between the screens and one for power source].
I recommend that instead of wrapping it around the front seat head rest, you wrap it twice around the bars holding up the head rest. it is much steadier that way.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
From RCA Audio Video09/12/2014
We apologize for the inconvenience, and it will be our pleasure to assist you. Please reach out to our support team at support@1800customersupport.com or 1-800-506-5746.RCAAV
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 143 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next