Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Generic RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

Generic RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

Entertain your back seat passengers with the RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player. This system comprises of one 9" LCD screen with built-in DVD Player and one 9" LCD monitor that can be connected to the DVD player's AV output (AV cable included). Once attached to the headrest, passengers can watch the same movie on both screens or attach the 9" LCD monitor for video game systems, camcorders and other AV products. For private listening, this RCA mobile DVD player features headphone jacks. Equipped with electronic skip protection to prevent playback from being disrupted due to bumps or jarring of the vehicle, this device provides smooth delivery of the media being played. For convenient control from a distance, one remote control (with battery) is included. Also included with this RCA Dual-Screen DVD Player is a dual car output adapter, as well as a mounting kit for easy installation.
Average Customer Rating:
3.79 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(81 Reviews) 80
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
37
4 stars
21
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation77%62 out of 81reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
40 Questions | 63 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
37
4 stars
21
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

Same problem with pwr cord length, way its pwred.

12/02/2012
By ,
Buckeye, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just as I expected. Same problems with power cord not being long enough. Would reengineer the way the power cord goes to the monitor then to the player. It should be the reverse. Also the on/off switch on the player should turn the power off of both units. It is great that both units have a volume control. We kept the player in the front seat where we had control and placed the monitor on the headrest in front of our 2yo grandson. Worked great for us.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
GA
Poor product
Posted 09/05/2013
I got this at Christmas 2012 by Sept 2013 it was not working. The power cords are not well thought our and the volume isn't great quality. I would not purchase this for myself.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

Great product!

08/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This portable DVD player did not disappoint! I have a 3rd row seat in my car. The cords were long enough that we were able to have one screen attached the front seat for the middle row to watch and one screen attached to the middle seat for the 3rd row to watch. Each screen has a headphone jack which was also a plus when the driver did not want to listen to the movies. It was easy to set up and take down. The movies did not skip and the picture and sound was great. Great buy and great price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

Works well

06/08/2014
By ,
Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this to keep the kids company on a trip from Ohio to Florida and back.
Fairly simple to set up and use.
Good Value at $99.00.
Like I have read before...the power supply cable is too short.
If you purchase this, do yourself a favor and buy a 12v extension cable at the same time.
The volume level is ok but it could use a bit more...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

Lifesaver

02/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this so my kids would have something to do on an eight hour drive to Disneyland. It worked better than I could have imagined. The only thing I heard from the back seat was "The movie's over". Since that was about bathroom stop time, it worked out great. We stopped for the bathroom, changed the disc and got another 2 hours down the road. No "Are we there yet?" or "I'm bored!". Best of all, no fights. I would recommend this for any family with kids going on a long drive. The hard part is the kids want me to hook it up just to go to the corner store now. Oh well, nothings perfect.
It was easy to hook up, easy to use, and easy to see even when the sun was the brightest. A great product that made for a great trip. I can't wait for the next one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

Best Quality for the Money, but Small Issues

07/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been a fan of RCA electronics for decades and found this item to be worthy of their reputation for good quality products. I bought this for a long car trip with my grandchildren, and the videos played flawlessly with no technical problems. The remote control worked great. Very pleased! However, despite this excellent quality, I was surprised that the company was so stingy with such minor things as cord lengths. The power cord is surprisingly short, and so was the audio/video cables between the dual units. Just a couple more feet would have made a big difference. Also, the velcro straps that are supposed to attach the monitors to the back of headrests, were virtually useless in my 2014 Hyundai Santa Fe. Instead, I purchased 1/8" ELASTIC cord at a craft store, which held the monitors in place from the headrests nicely and firmly. Also, it came with no earbuds or headphones. Really? Does RCA think that the adults are going to join the kids in listening to Buggs Bunny or Spiderman for a thousand-mile round trip? The wholesale cost on a couple cheapo earbuds is not much, so they couldn't toss a couple of those in the box? Oh well, after buying earbuds, the elastic cord for the monitors, and adjusting the cable lengths... it all worked out... and in fact is still better quality than many of the other products out there. Despite these minor issues, this is still an excellent product, and with only a few small additions/revisions by the manufacturer, it could be darn near perfect!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

Worth the purchase

07/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband & I bought this for our family vacation. Our girls loved it. The picture is very clear & very easy to use. My favorite feature of this item is when you turn the car off it turns the tv's off automatically so that it doesn't run down your car battery. When you turn the car back on the movie comes right back where it stops. It was perfect for our vacation.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

Love the ease of set up!

06/02/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this to go on vacation with and it exceeded my expectations in all things, it was easy to set up, great picture, good sound and I like the way it sits behind the bucket seats in our Jeep. It also has individual jacks for headphones which was nice s
for the kids to be able to watch and hear the movie while my wife and I enjoyed the car stereo.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

Great DVD Player

07/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Finally found a DVD player that doesn't skip with every bump in the road! Bought this for the grandkids to take on their 10 hr beach trip. It kept them all happy and their parent sane. :) I did a lot of research and read a lot of reviews before deciding on a dual screen player. RCA had the best reviews of them all. I got the 2 yr warranty b/c I know how tough little ones can be on gadgets.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

Works well on trips

06/20/2014
By ,
Red Fox, KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We are just getting back from vacation and this product has worked really well. We also use it for just short trips around our community. The remote that comes with it is very handy when going down an interstate and the kids want the DVD player to start.... So far so good
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

Great DVD for the Kids

08/15/2014
By ,
Yucca Valley, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This purchase was to replace a dual RCA set that got damaged during a trip. We upgraded to the 9 inch screen and it is so nice. The remote for this model offers many options for setting up the DVD. The only drawback is that the power cord barely reaches to the power plug in an older vehicle (that does not have a power plug in the back seat area). But the kids were happy with their movies on a very long trip and love the pause feature and the individual earphone jacks. Happy with the repeat purchase of an RCA product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

Works Fantastic/Great deal for Price.

08/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this for a road trip with my twin daughters who were 5. (Last minute decided with 9 hours in the car over two days, we needed to spend the money for dual DVD players.) These were a huge hit. Screens were big, allowing girls to watch the movies easily. Sound was loud enough (also could have plugged in earphones) and you could use the remote to hit pause, etc.
This is a great deal at $99 - looked at other sites.
We have no complaints, not sure why others have negative reviews. You can also purchase a 2 year waranty from Walmart for around $10, which given used by young kids, I think is a great deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

Good mobile DVD player for the price.

06/01/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's a good mobile DVD player for the price. But it doesn't strap well to the headrest. The screens tilt back causing it to appear dark and hard to view the movie playing. We had to wedge things behind the screens so the kids could see better.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

A must-have for a car trip with 2 kids

08/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Initial set up was a bit tricky; no sound coming from the second screen at first and both the manual and RCA website were zero help. I was in the verge of returning it but then my husband figured out the (non-labeled) buttons on top, that the manual said were for image adjustment, actually adjusted sound too. Power cord length was perfect in a 2014 Chevrolet Traverse due to the cigarette lighter for the second seating row. Very easy to install and take down as needed. We experienced no skipping or other problems on a 6-day car trip with daily use. Strongly recommend comfy headphones so the front passengers can hear the car radio. Kept kids (and parents) very happy; best $98 spent on the trip (and hopefully future trips too).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

Great Product

06/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought them prior to a long road trip and couldn't have been happier with them. They were easy to set up and to wrap around/attach to headrest. Easy to take down at night so we didn't have to leave them in the car. Quality of sound and picture was really good as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

Get'em before their sold out!

08/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yes, I was one of those people who thought, "why do you need a DVD player in the car". Well, I have crossed the line into parenthood (with twins, no less), and I now get it. I have had 3 different versions of portable DVD players over the last five years, and this one is by far the best. Lightweight, individual controls on each monitor, large screen, VERY loud (if you want it to be). In fact, I am searching for a second one right now, because it is that good!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

dual dvd player for kids

06/23/2014
By ,
texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have bought one before and really like this item so I bought another one for my other grandson its every entertaining for the kids on rode trips and the price is just right thank you
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

Good product

08/24/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Better then I expected. The sound is great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

Not a great buy

08/12/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unless you find it on sale don't bother. The only "good" thing about this product is that both my kids get their own screen.
the image quality is barely ok. if you hit a bump on the road, it skips. it doesn't hold a charge so if you turn off the car, say to pump gas, it turns off. it is not wireless, [there's a wire between the screens and one for power source].
I recommend that instead of wrapping it around the front seat head rest, you wrap it twice around the bars holding up the head rest. it is much steadier that way.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

great for kids

07/22/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
we had to stop on our trip and buy headphones for the kids, because too loud for the front passengers
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for RCA 9" Dual Screen Mobile DVD Player

great DVD player for auto

08/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
grandkids love it, works good, good color. and sound
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 81 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next