Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Duck Brand Duck Brand Attic Stairway Cover

Duck Brand Duck Brand Attic Stairway Cover

Help make your home more energy efficient with the Duck Attic Stairway Cover. This attic cover is made from polyester and spandex, so it is flexible enough to fit a variety of stairways, sealing them up and blocking drafts. Keep the cold air from the attic up where it belongs when you install this attic stair insulation. Each package includes one cover and two flexible rods and can be installed in just a few minutes. When you need to enter the attic, just reposition the cover, so it is out of your way until you are done. Save energy and money with the Duck Attic Stairway Cover.
Average Customer Rating:
4.438 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
31
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation92%44 out of 48reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 17 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
31
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Duck Brand Attic Stairway Cover

Very well made

12/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was thinking about building an insulated box around the attic stair door, but at $35 this thing cannot be beat. It took about 3 minutes to put together. The skirt does a good job of sealing at the base of the tent. If your attic floor is very irregular, and most are, you may have some air gaps that you could block off with some rigid foam or at least a piece of cut Styrofoam, but the skirt is nice and flexible so it will accommodate for a lot of situations. The difference in temperature between the attic and the inside of the tent is very noticeable so it's doing it's job. The attic access door is no longer cold.
I simply don't understand the people that gave the product a bad review because it didn't fit. It says the dimensions of attic stairs that it supports right on the box and website. I also put together the tent inside of the house and got it right into the attic. The material is high quality especially for this price and I would definitely recommend it. I consider myself very handy but $35 beats spending time measuring, designing and cutting out a rigid foam box that would probably be only slightly cheaper when its all said and done.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Duck Brand Attic Stairway Cover

Does the job

12/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This insulated tent does a good job of helping lose warm energy up into the attic. It is easy to assemble and install, and the price was great at Walmart.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Duck Brand Attic Stairway Cover

attic insulation cover

12/09/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
the only issue was it could be little bit longer & wider to cover the attic hole a little better
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Duck Brand Attic Stairway Cover

So much warmer

12/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this. It really made a difference.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Duck Brand Attic Stairway Cover

Eazee Peazee

11/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've tried a solid insulation board and a foil covered insulation "tent". The board would lift up when the folded stairs closed and the " tent" started collapsing after a couple of months along with the insulation always shredding off the edges. The Duck cover is light, keeps it shape and doesn't lift up when the stairs are closed. Easy assembly that took about 60 seconds. Works well and good fit too! Wish I new about this years ago.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Duck Brand Attic Stairway Cover

Exactly What we needed.

11/16/2012
By ,
Spencerport, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Attic cover is perfect. What a difference. It has a heavy material with extra flaps on the bottom that makes it fit perfectly, and it really keeps the cold out. We've tried all sorts of plastic and tape, and nothing worked. This was so simple to assemble and put up. It's exactly what we needed. I just can't believe how great it is. Thank you so much.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Duck Brand Attic Stairway Cover

Fits my opening, but too small for the stairs

11/11/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The product is a great concept. However, it doesn't fit all stairs, even if the attic opening is less than the specified 25.5 x 54 inches. My stair has a handrail and when folded it extends beyond the extent of the blanket dome tent. The tent fits perfectly within the opening frame but becomes dislodged once the stairs are folded. Your stairs must fit within the dome of the tent for this product to work. If your stairs when folded extends more than a few inches beyond the stair opening or rises several inches above the attic floor, this product is not for you.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Duck Brand Attic Stairway Cover

I still can't believe this works......

11/13/2013
By ,
Brooklyn, New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For years, going up to my second floor, I used to feel such a draft coming from somewhere, then realize it was probably the attic since it's in the Hallway by the stairs. Did my research, found the cover on line from Walmart, read their reviews, just had to buy. Well, It works very well!!! NO more drafts!!!!! When putting the cover in place, which is very easy.... I put some thumbtacks on the inner flaps so it doesn't move when I close the attic door... I'm so pleased with this product and I do promise you, you will not be disappointed with the results...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Duck Brand Attic Stairway Cover

Great product

12/15/2012
By ,
No. Reading, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had a wooden cover for attic stairway that was heavy to move. The Duck Attic Stairway. Cover is so easy to use. With the Duck attic stairway cover in place, I can easily move it to gain access to the attic. I would recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Duck Brand Attic Stairway Cover
11/14/2012
By ,
new yorki
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
fits the need to save expensive heating costs, I have priced other covers a twice the price and half the convience
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Duck Brand Attic Stairway Cover

Excellent flexible attic cover

05/06/2013
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfectly fit over the opening to the attic. Very easy to assemble. Very satisfied.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Duck Brand Attic Stairway Cover

Love it

10/15/2014
By ,
louisville,ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this product. It is a must have.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Duck Brand Attic Stairway Cover
02/04/2013
By ,
Albany,NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Immediate difference in the air temperature around the opening to our attic.....much warmer, and so easy to assemble! I would recommend this to anybody who has an attic openeing, whether it be for cooling or heating puropses. P.S.: I live in the Northeast, and it's been darned cold here this winter so far, and the Duck has kept that part of the house much warmer than it's been in years!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Duck Brand Attic Stairway Cover

Extremely efficient

09/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been pricing attic door insulation for quite a while now. I didn't want to spend almost $100 at the big box stores. I was so happy to stumble across the Duct brand at Walmart for under $40. I was reluctant at first but once installed there was a drastic difference in the heat coming from the door. Great investment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Duck Brand Attic Stairway Cover

Better than those costing much more.

11/09/2013
By ,
Drexel Lake South Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm glad I found this and read the reviews before I pulled the trigger on much higher prices items. This seals better than most and costs less. Instantly noticed the draft was gone. Now my son and I are laying another layer of R-30 to make it even more worth while.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Duck Brand Attic Stairway Cover

Does the job nicely.

01/18/2014
By ,
Strongsville, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With the onslaught of the polar vortex, I needed to do something about the draft emanating from the attic fold-down stairs. I saw the stair cover advertised on TV, ordered it and really couldn't wait until it arrived to see if it worked. In the highest of ironies, the cold weather actually delayed arrival of the product by one day. It took me about two minutes to assemble, another 15 seconds to put in place and around 10 minutes to notice the difference in the hallway temperature beneath the attic stairs. It works as advertised and I will be ordering another one for my Mother-In-Law. A good buy and worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Duck Brand Attic Stairway Cover

Very good product.

08/01/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A fairly inexpensive way to aid in insulating a standard drop stair. It was fairly obvious once this was in place my HVAC wasn't working as hard. I would recommend this product to others. I wish that the product came with Velcro strips as my opening, all four sides, isn't perfectly flat due to beams and insulation. Nonetheless, very good product at a fair price. Nice job guys.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Duck Brand Attic Stairway Cover

Eliminates Unwanted Heat/Cold

07/21/2014
By ,
Lafayette, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product for the price. I immediately felt a difference in temperature when we installed this attic stairway cover. If you have a small draft or can feel a small amount of heat exiting from your attic stairs, highly recommend this product. Just ordered a second for my second attic access.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Duck Brand Attic Stairway Cover

Better Than I thought

03/05/2013
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My attic access is right next to my return air vent! I had managed to make my own attic stairway insulator using insulation material framed in wood. That worked for about eight years, mending it with duct tape. I was so happy to find this. It is a great replacement, easy to assemble and place, lightweight and easy to move out of the way when accessing the attic. My ladder has a rail that folds up and extends a little higher than the attic door frame, and this fits easily over it. I live in Texas so the insulation it provides is enough. I haven't noticed the heater having to cycle on more often, and it has been around 40 degrees at night.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Duck Brand Attic Stairway Cover

Attic stair insulation kit

07/13/2014
By ,
Brick nj
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble and works well
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 39 total reviews
1 2 Next