Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for General Electric GE 42-Cup Coffee Urn Coffeemaker

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

General Electric GE 42-Cup Coffee Urn Coffeemaker

This large capacity coffee urn makes 12 to 42 cups and comes with a 2-way dispenser and a ready-to-serve light. It also has easy-to-read interior water level measurements and a twist-lock lid for safety. Pricing only available online.
Average Customer Rating:
3.811 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation78%29 out of 37reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for GE 42-Cup Coffee Urn Coffeemaker

Works great

05/12/2009
By ,
Warwick
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second Urn we have purchased for our business. Another district loved mine so much I gave him the original one and ordered another for our office.
Site to Store was a great way to purchase it because I went to three locations and could not find one.
It makes great coffee, and it stays fresh tasting no matter how long it is plugged in.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 2 for GE 42-Cup Coffee Urn Coffeemaker

GE needs to change its spout handle design

10/29/2008
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this product because I was in a Jam to buy one for bunch of visitors coming over. Later, I realized how difficult it is to dispense the coffee out of this percolator with it highly impractical spout handle where you have to push the cup into it. Well, at that time some people were using the styrofoam cup and it was difficult to push the styrofoam cup against the spout handle to dispense the tea. Also, even after dispensing the coffee, the spout kept leaking the droplets. My recommendation is that GE needs to change its spout handle design and needs to put the handle on tops of spout where it can be pushed down or it can be twisted from side to side just like a water fawcet. This spout handle is an ergonomic nightmare. I gave it after the first use.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 3 for GE 42-Cup Coffee Urn Coffeemaker

good for parties

01/02/2008
By ,
Fort Wayne, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good product for parties. I have used for apple cider at our neighborhood Halloween party and for my daughter's class party, we had a hot chocolate bar. The water gets very hot. I wish it had a way to regulate the temperature. Also the inside steel turns very dark after several uses. The phamplet inside does come with directions for getting rid of the discoloration. But who has time for that? But for the money there is really no other product like this one. I would recommend over all.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 4 for GE 42-Cup Coffee Urn Coffeemaker

A Great coffee URN

07/19/2009
By ,
Bay St Louis, MISSISSIPPI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An excellent Coffee Urn from someone who drinks coffee all day. Now one brewing lasts all day. In addition the coffee does not get stronger as the day goes on. This is the most important aspect.
I did not check the durability because I have only had it for two days, but I can't see any way that I will be disappointed from what I have seen so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 5 for GE 42-Cup Coffee Urn Coffeemaker

Poor design for Spout

04/05/2009
By ,
south carolina
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Using the designed spout is useless for styrofoam cups which bend inward when pressed against the mechanism. The mechanism pushes towards the hot urn resulting in burns from the sides of the urn. Very difficult to use if the drinker has older hands or difficulty with co-ordination. Generally difficult to use and a poor spout design.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 6 for GE 42-Cup Coffee Urn Coffeemaker

Value for the Price

03/22/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've read the reviews and while we all agree that the spot has it's issues I just keep a small glass that easily fits under the spout and use that to spour into taller mugs. The water stays hot and the price when compared to other urns is excellent. I've been using mine for more then a year now and am quite happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 7 for GE 42-Cup Coffee Urn Coffeemaker

Works great but use small cups

10/01/2008
By ,
Centreville, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We make our coffee with the manual hand-pour method and pour into this urn to keep it warm. It works great for that, the only thing I don't like about this urn is that you can use a large cup since the dispenser is fairly low on the urn. So forget about using your 16 ounce cups and plan for 8 ounces...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 8 for GE 42-Cup Coffee Urn Coffeemaker

Love the flavor of my perked coffee

03/21/2008
By ,
Hebron, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Glad to have a good percolator again. Just can't beat the flavor of perked coffee. It only takes about a minute per cup, and works for 12 to 42 cups. I make a large pot and unplug the unit soon after it's done and empty the basket. We reheat in the microwave, so the coffee stays fresh all day.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for GE 42-Cup Coffee Urn Coffeemaker

Poor Design

12/10/2008
By ,
Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this coffee pot for the office. The spout is very poorly designed. This pot is very difficult to use with styrofoam cups. It dribbles after every use. Pot moves backwards when one is trying to press lever to get coffee. I would not recommend this pot to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for GE 42-Cup Coffee Urn Coffeemaker

A basic coffee urn

08/24/2008
By ,
Atlanta, ga
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When this urn is heating up (the first 15- 20 minutes) it moans like a stabbed person. This is truely freaky. I've never heard anything like this in my life. Once it is hot enough it stops doing it and works fine. I don't use for coffee though. Just to have hot water.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 11 for GE 42-Cup Coffee Urn Coffeemaker

Coffee Grounds For Breakfast

05/10/2008
By ,
Nappanee, IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you like coffee grounds in your coffee & a coffee dispenser that is so low to the counter, you often spill your coffee when getting a cup of coffee, than this pot is the one for you.
There's nothing like a mouthful of coffee grounds first thing in the morning!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for GE 42-Cup Coffee Urn Coffeemaker

Great coffee maker

02/14/2008
By ,
Reno
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This coffee maker met and exceeded my needs and expectations.We needed a coffee maker for an office building break room. It gets a lot of use and works well. The clean look and ease of use made it a perfect replacement for our old one!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for GE 42-Cup Coffee Urn Coffeemaker

Good Value

07/18/2008
By ,
Fayetteville, AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was purchased to use to heat up water for tea in the department. We had a similar one for years and it quit working. It will not be used to make coffee, but is excellent for the purpose we purchased it for.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 14 for GE 42-Cup Coffee Urn Coffeemaker

A durable and helpful product

05/12/2009
By ,
Lake Ariel, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this coffe urn on a weekly basis. Every Saturday night I use it to serve customers from 5pm to midnight. It is on continually during those hours. So it is very durable and helps me a great deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
-1point
Review 15 for GE 42-Cup Coffee Urn Coffeemaker

coffee urn

06/21/2008
By ,
Hagerstown Md
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Makes a great cup of coffee using less coffee than usual. Takes a little longer that a drip pot but uses less coffee that way. The spout is hard to use. Otherwise I love it
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for GE 42-Cup Coffee Urn Coffeemaker

Was not satisfied

03/17/2008
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was not satisfied with this product because the first time I used it at a board meeting it leaked from the bottom every where and I had to take it back.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 17 for GE 42-Cup Coffee Urn Coffeemaker
01/14/2008
By ,
Lincoln, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Only used item once so far, but it was great. Some people had a hard time figuring out how to dispense the liquid at first. We used it for hot cider.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 18 for GE 42-Cup Coffee Urn Coffeemaker

Great product

07/02/2008
By ,
Littleton, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased 2 of these coffee urns for a large breakfast meeting at work (& for future meetings) and they worked as promised. Good value for the money!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 19 for GE 42-Cup Coffee Urn Coffeemaker

coffee maker dud!

09/20/2007
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
After about 6 months usage on a weekly basis, the stem which holds the brew basket, came apart at the base rendering this product useless.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 20 for GE 42-Cup Coffee Urn Coffeemaker

A great product to have

10/30/2008
By ,
Sparks, Nevada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this for our company so the employee's could have hot water all the time for their tea and choclate. It's great
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 30 total reviews
1 2 Next