Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for SentrySafe SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

SentrySafe SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

Compact and versatile, the SentrySafe Fire Chest 1200 is popular worldwide. The 1200 Fire Safe Chest protects your family's most important paper documents, media and valuables from fire damage. This fire-safe lock box carries the UL fire endurance seal to protect documents from fire for a half hour at 1550F. It also comes with an ETL-verification for half-hour fire protection for CDs, DVDs and other media. The privacy key lock on this fire safe chest is used to keep unwanted viewers away from the chest's contents and to prevent the lid from opening in the event of a fire. The SentrySafe Fire Chest 1200 also comes with two keys and a convenient carrying handle for easy transportation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.468 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(126 Reviews) 109
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
88
4 stars
23
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation94%118 out of 126reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 35 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
88
4 stars
23
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

fell apart in a week

01/25/2013
By ,
cleveland, oh
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased three of these since for the price you couldn't beat the storage capacity. Had them delivered and promptly filled them with a few items. Set them aside and a week later went to open again to add more items and the top lock section pulled out (see picture). I wasn't forcing it, didn't drop it, just pulled right off. Noticed another of my three is about to do the same thing. Now seeing the construction, you can tell it wouldn't have been really hard to break into. Though it keeps the honest people out.
Other than this issue I was pleased with the item. Good amount of storage. I wouldn't say they are water proof, since there is no gasket. However probably wouldn't be hard to add.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

Very Good

08/26/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good chest for the money. However, please note that you will NOT be able to lay an 8 1/2 x 11 sheet of paper FLAT. Very disappointed in this.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

Exceeds Expectations

07/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had been putting off this type of purchase for too long. When I came across the ad at a great price, I acted. Actually, I was unaware of how much it would hold; so I was surprised when I could not only put in business envelopes, but also 9x12. It even has room for some mementos.
The real surprise was learning that if it is in a fire, it will seal itself and have to be pried open: and Sentry will send you a new one. Cannot get better than that.
It is rather heavy, but manageable. Probably not a good idea to put it on an upper floor if you need to carry other items in a hurry. I think it is one of the best on the market for important documents.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

Great deal

10/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a nice Starter safe.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

nice little guy

10/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All black and pretty. Look amd feels dueable. Comes with warranty
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

Good value

10/18/2014
By ,
Oceanside Ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was surprised..it was bigger than I thought.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

Great Product

10/18/2014
By ,
Ozark, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect size to add my important papers
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

Good

09/15/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ipayed $18.00 but needed more keys and they cost me $15 for two more keys.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

sentry safe

10/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this product was ordered and shipped to my favorite store in a few days. I was treated with respect upon pick up. Thanks Walmart for another great experience in shopping!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

Good product

10/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good fire safe. Just like described. Perfect size for essentials to be safe in case of fire. Def worth It for the low price of 16!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

Fireproof safe

10/10/2014
By ,
Lombard, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good value.
It is something I needed for a long time & was surprised at the cost.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

even better

10/04/2014
By ,
Pensacola, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's a newer version than one I bought many years ago. It's much heavier and up to date. But, at the same price. That is rarely seen nowadays. It's a no lose deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

It was more than I expected. It serves my purpose.

09/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was more than I expected. It serves my purpose to store medications and keep others from accessing prescriptions medication. Once I no longer need the medication I will use this as a place to store my hand gun.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

Nice FIRE box

12/29/2013
By ,
Ar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good little fire box. For those of you that say it's worthless because it lacks in security.. It's not a safe. Keep in mind, this is a $20.00 box. Don't expect Fort knox. Also it's totally portable which means no one would even attempt to open it in a home invasion.. they would just take the whole box. It is exactly what it's advertised to be. If you want security.. buy an actual safe.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

Perfect for singles

09/14/2014
By ,
Greensboro, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is exactly what I was looking for. Strong & sturdy with a carrying handle so that if I have to scoop and run in the middle of the night, I'm not trying to balance this thing. It is just the right size for me as I don't have a large family with lots of different documents to be secured.
And the price was perfect as well.
I could not be happier.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

This is a great home safe!

11/24/2012
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good value for the price! Lots of room for all my important papers, and I know they will be protected in the event of a fire. Safe is well made, good quality.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

Well Made Safe

09/17/2014
By ,
Starke,FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a fireproof safe that would hold important documents. The price was very reasonable and it is good and heavy which gives me great confidence in its ability to protect the items should there ever be a fire.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

better than I expected

09/13/2014
By ,
IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent safe! bigger than I thought and very durable. also saved a lot of $ ordering online instead of getting in the store. quick and easy pick up. very happy with everything!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

good product for small items

07/16/2014
By ,
Suffolk, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I got the safe to store important documents I dont want my dogs to get a hold of and destroy. I ordered it to be delivered to the store, my nearest Wal-Mart. It arrived ahead of schedule which was great. I opened it up and it only stores small items like passports and keys. Not bad if you don't mind folding your important docs. Cant say much about the ruggedness of the product, I hope to never have to rate it on its fire resistance. I am hopeful it will hold up to the manufacturers specs.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

Different types and defective and small

09/01/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was happy with the original in store purchase. Except for being small it meets the objective. However, I recently ordered one of these on site-to-store for $16.26. It was an extremely good deal, as so it seemed. Until I went and picked up the safe and it had a huge warp on the bottom of the top cover. The safe is already small but now with the warp dropping down it is even smaller. Also, the site to store purchase has a different label than the ones in store. Definitely unhappy :(
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 110 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next