Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for SentrySafe SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

SentrySafe SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

Compact and versatile, the SentrySafe Fire Chest 1200 is popular worldwide. The 1200 Fire Safe Chest protects your family's most important paper documents, media and valuables from fire damage. This fire-safe lock box carries the UL fire endurance seal to protect documents from fire for a half hour at 1550F. It also comes with an ETL-verification for half-hour fire protection for CDs, DVDs and other media. The privacy key lock on this fire safe chest is used to keep unwanted viewers away from the chest's contents and to prevent the lid from opening in the event of a fire. The SentrySafe Fire Chest 1200 also comes with two keys and a convenient carrying handle for easy transportation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.437 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(135 Reviews) 118
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
92
4 stars
26
3 stars
8
2 stars
2
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation93%125 out of 135reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 36 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
92
4 stars
26
3 stars
8
2 stars
2
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

fell apart in a week

01/25/2013
By ,
cleveland, oh
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased three of these since for the price you couldn't beat the storage capacity. Had them delivered and promptly filled them with a few items. Set them aside and a week later went to open again to add more items and the top lock section pulled out (see picture). I wasn't forcing it, didn't drop it, just pulled right off. Noticed another of my three is about to do the same thing. Now seeing the construction, you can tell it wouldn't have been really hard to break into. Though it keeps the honest people out.
Other than this issue I was pleased with the item. Good amount of storage. I wouldn't say they are water proof, since there is no gasket. However probably wouldn't be hard to add.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

Very Good

08/26/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good chest for the money. However, please note that you will NOT be able to lay an 8 1/2 x 11 sheet of paper FLAT. Very disappointed in this.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

Good safe

12/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice safe for the price. Does not quite fit 8x11 but you can make it work with out folding and it's still a decent size. Other reviews talked about the lock and the safe not being water proof.... It doesn't claim to be waterproof (different safe) and the lock works just fine for its purpose (for me, to keep the kids out). I use it for a few important papers, hand gun, and a few other important articles. And it's light enough that it's not a hassle to move around.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

Exceeds Expectations

07/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had been putting off this type of purchase for too long. When I came across the ad at a great price, I acted. Actually, I was unaware of how much it would hold; so I was surprised when I could not only put in business envelopes, but also 9x12. It even has room for some mementos.
The real surprise was learning that if it is in a fire, it will seal itself and have to be pried open: and Sentry will send you a new one. Cannot get better than that.
It is rather heavy, but manageable. Probably not a good idea to put it on an upper floor if you need to carry other items in a hurry. I think it is one of the best on the market for important documents.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

WONT KNOW UNTIL I HAVE A FIRE..

12/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Its a nice secure box...i bought it b/c it was on sale for less than $20. I wont pay any more for it...its just a box with a lock on it..serves a purpose..
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

great

12/10/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love this safe!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

damaged

12/08/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I returned them when I picked them up. They were scratched badly.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

perfect!

12/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We just wanted to keep our petty cash and important documents safe and the 1200 is perfect!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

he loves this

11/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bought for my son. he loves it
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

Bang for the buck

11/22/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Impressive product for the price. I hope to never find out if it REALLY works or not. :)
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

perfect compact safe box

11/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
5 star protection box if it fits it's safe
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

Nice FIRE box

12/29/2013
By ,
Ar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good little fire box. For those of you that say it's worthless because it lacks in security.. It's not a safe. Keep in mind, this is a $20.00 box. Don't expect Fort knox. Also it's totally portable which means no one would even attempt to open it in a home invasion.. they would just take the whole box. It is exactly what it's advertised to be. If you want security.. buy an actual safe.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

This is a great home safe!

11/24/2012
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good value for the price! Lots of room for all my important papers, and I know they will be protected in the event of a fire. Safe is well made, good quality.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

To Small For Important Documents, esp Legal Size

11/10/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Several legal documents are typically on Legal Size paper. This safe is too small for those types of documents, unless you fold them.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

Totally insecure

12/01/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This safe is easily pried open. The hinge is plastic tabs. Pops back together after. Totally worthless for security.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Pennsylvania
Cheapskapes
Posted 05/29/2014
Its meant for fire and water safety. its $20 you get what you pay for if your wanted theft protection than you should have forked out a little more for the ones that actually state theft protection. Not just fire and water.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

Good

09/15/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ipayed $18.00 but needed more keys and they cost me $15 for two more keys.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

Great Box....

08/29/2013
By ,
USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This chest totally exceeded my expectations. I initially purchased the SentrySafe chest with the handle that is both waterproof and fireproof. Unfortunately, that one did not seal well around the edges, so I returned it and ordered this one. This one actually seems like it has larger interior dimensions, and is just as sturdy as the waterproof one. That said, it's not big inside; it's good for smaller items. It is black and sleek looking, and you can discreetly hide it anywhere in your home or office. Despite some negative reviews about the lock, my lock works just fine and feels secure. I like this fire chest so much, I am now looking into buying the matching file box to hold larger papers. I highly recommend this chest...it great for what it's intended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

Wow! What a deal

12/25/2012
By ,
NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The best price I found everywhere I looked was in the mid to high $30 range
Walmart at $19.95 and 97-cent shipping blew everything else away
And this isn't some cheap little safe.
It will serve my needs perfectly as a "grab and go" box, and the fact that it is fire resistant is a bonus.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ohio
not a good safe at all
Posted 04/13/2013
i purchased one of these safes and my girlfriend picked the lock within 5 minutes with a bobby pin . she was picking the lock behind my back and taking money .
-2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

Great deal

10/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a nice Starter safe.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

Ideal for full size sheets of paper.

05/27/2014
By ,
Port Jervis, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like the size because you can put full size sheets of paper in it. We wanted something to put our wills etc in and this is just ideal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 119 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next