Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for SentrySafe SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

SentrySafe SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

Compact and versatile, the SentrySafe Fire Chest 1200 is popular worldwide. The 1200 Fire Safe Chest protects your family's most important paper documents, media and valuables from fire damage. This fire-safe lock box carries the UL fire endurance seal to protect documents from fire for a half hour at 1550F. It also comes with an ETL-verification for half-hour fire protection for CDs, DVDs and other media. The privacy key lock on this fire safe chest is used to keep unwanted viewers away from the chest's contents and to prevent the lid from opening in the event of a fire. The SentrySafe Fire Chest 1200 also comes with two keys and a convenient carrying handle for easy transportation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.443 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(97 Reviews) 80
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
68
4 stars
16
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation93%90 out of 97reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 27 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
68
4 stars
16
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

fell apart in a week

01/25/2013
By ,
cleveland, oh
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased three of these since for the price you couldn't beat the storage capacity. Had them delivered and promptly filled them with a few items. Set them aside and a week later went to open again to add more items and the top lock section pulled out (see picture). I wasn't forcing it, didn't drop it, just pulled right off. Noticed another of my three is about to do the same thing. Now seeing the construction, you can tell it wouldn't have been really hard to break into. Though it keeps the honest people out.
Other than this issue I was pleased with the item. Good amount of storage. I wouldn't say they are water proof, since there is no gasket. However probably wouldn't be hard to add.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

Exceeds Expectations

07/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had been putting off this type of purchase for too long. When I came across the ad at a great price, I acted. Actually, I was unaware of how much it would hold; so I was surprised when I could not only put in business envelopes, but also 9x12. It even has room for some mementos.
The real surprise was learning that if it is in a fire, it will seal itself and have to be pried open: and Sentry will send you a new one. Cannot get better than that.
It is rather heavy, but manageable. Probably not a good idea to put it on an upper floor if you need to carry other items in a hurry. I think it is one of the best on the market for important documents.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

good product for small items

07/16/2014
By ,
Suffolk, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I got the safe to store important documents I dont want my dogs to get a hold of and destroy. I ordered it to be delivered to the store, my nearest Wal-Mart. It arrived ahead of schedule which was great. I opened it up and it only stores small items like passports and keys. Not bad if you don't mind folding your important docs. Cant say much about the ruggedness of the product, I hope to never have to rate it on its fire resistance. I am hopeful it will hold up to the manufacturers specs.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

Ideal for full size sheets of paper.

05/27/2014
By ,
Port Jervis, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like the size because you can put full size sheets of paper in it. We wanted something to put our wills etc in and this is just ideal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

good fireproof box

07/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Don't know how difficult the lock would be to pick. With the right tools I'm sure that the lock could be pried open. I tried forcing it open just with my bare strength and it seems to hold up just fine against that. If you're looking for a fireproof box I would definitely recommend it for the price ($16 or so), if you're looking for something that needs to withstand being picked you might want to invest in something that is perhaps a little more thief proof.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

very nice for the money.

05/24/2014
By ,
daniels,wv
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
worth the money.Great for all your documents.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Houston, Texas
Don't waste your money
Posted 06/02/2014
I've had this lockbox for a short time and was burgularized a week ago. I immediately went to this box and saw that it was open; I had the keys on my key ring. Obviously, all they did was twist the top part and it unlocked and all of my extra cash and jewelry was taken.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

good box for a low price

07/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Seems to be well built.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

Great deal!

07/23/2014
By ,
NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice box at a great deal!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

Totally insecure

12/01/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This safe is easily pried open. The hinge is plastic tabs. Pops back together after. Totally worthless for security.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Pennsylvania
Cheapskapes
Posted 05/29/2014
Its meant for fire and water safety. its $20 you get what you pay for if your wanted theft protection than you should have forked out a little more for the ones that actually state theft protection. Not just fire and water.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

I love it

07/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a awesome deal I love this product
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

Nice FIRE box

12/29/2013
By ,
Ar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good little fire box. For those of you that say it's worthless because it lacks in security.. It's not a safe. Keep in mind, this is a $20.00 box. Don't expect Fort knox. Also it's totally portable which means no one would even attempt to open it in a home invasion.. they would just take the whole box. It is exactly what it's advertised to be. If you want security.. buy an actual safe.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

I liked it

07/09/2014
By ,
Charlottesville, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good for the price. Very useful for keeping small items like passports etc. I am glad I bought it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

Great Fire Proof Chest

05/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Affordable, easy, basic lock box to keep valuables safe from fire.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

gift idea

07/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I plan to use this as a Christmas gift for my daughter and her husband.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

Love my chest!

07/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love and enjoy this chest. Sturdy and compact.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

perfect for what I needed it for.

06/30/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The SentrySafe 1200 is perfect for what I needed it for. It holds all my medicine bottles, but for other uses it is a little small. I like it for that reason. What I put in there it is just right. And it is easily stored away where people will not easily find it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

Exactly what we wanted

07/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The safe chest is more than we expected, for the price. Heavy and large enough for the documents, etc., we wanted to put in it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

This is a great home safe!

11/24/2012
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good value for the price! Lots of room for all my important papers, and I know they will be protected in the event of a fire. Safe is well made, good quality.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

Great value

06/25/2014
By ,
Lake Orion, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Even the expensive fire boxes only guarantee for 30 minutes of protection so why spend a lot of money. This was a great little safe for a very inexpensive price. We love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

Seems to be ok. Cheap. Different color than ad.

06/14/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I've had several firesafe products and the listing at Walmark looked like one I already had, which I bought long ago for ~$20. My original was light gray and the screen shot looked light gray, but the actual product on arrival was jet black, and the machining was not of great quality, and the internal foam packageing was damaged, altho the unit appeared to work ok. For $20 when most suppliers are at ~$40 I can't complain.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 81 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next