Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for SentrySafe SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

SentrySafe SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

Compact and versatile, the SentrySafe Fire Chest 1200 is popular worldwide. The 1200 Fire Safe Chest protects your family's most important paper documents, media and valuables from fire damage. This fire-safe lock box carries the UL fire endurance seal to protect documents from fire for a half hour at 1550F. It also comes with an ETL-verification for half-hour fire protection for CDs, DVDs and other media. The privacy key lock on this fire safe chest is used to keep unwanted viewers away from the chest's contents and to prevent the lid from opening in the event of a fire. The SentrySafe Fire Chest 1200 also comes with two keys and a convenient carrying handle for easy transportation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.377 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(77 Reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
52
4 stars
14
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation91%70 out of 77reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 24 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
52
4 stars
14
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

fell apart in a week

01/25/2013
By ,
cleveland, oh
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased three of these since for the price you couldn't beat the storage capacity. Had them delivered and promptly filled them with a few items. Set them aside and a week later went to open again to add more items and the top lock section pulled out (see picture). I wasn't forcing it, didn't drop it, just pulled right off. Noticed another of my three is about to do the same thing. Now seeing the construction, you can tell it wouldn't have been really hard to break into. Though it keeps the honest people out.
Other than this issue I was pleased with the item. Good amount of storage. I wouldn't say they are water proof, since there is no gasket. However probably wouldn't be hard to add.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

Excellent protection for valuable documents.

02/08/2014
By ,
memphis
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I knew I needed a better container than the old metal lock box I bought many years ago. I looked at several fire safe lock boxes and ordered the SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest. It was delivered quickly to my local WalMart and was economically priced. It has sturdiness and weight but is not too heavy for me to easily lift. It was slightly larger than I expected and held all my valuable papers with room for more. I would recommend this as a fire safe box that is very helpful for documents you need to protect, such as car titles, life insurance information, immunization records, birth certificates, wills, and other important papers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

Nice FIRE box

12/29/2013
By ,
Ar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good little fire box. For those of you that say it's worthless because it lacks in security.. It's not a safe. Keep in mind, this is a $20.00 box. Don't expect Fort knox. Also it's totally portable which means no one would even attempt to open it in a home invasion.. they would just take the whole box. It is exactly what it's advertised to be. If you want security.. buy an actual safe.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

Garbage Lock

02/15/2014
By ,
Havelock, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this box a few months ago and had items locked in it since then. Today I try to unlock the box to add something to it and the lock freezes up and will not move with the key in it. Cannot remove the key and the lock will not move. Finally got it to lock and tried to unlock again and the key broke off inside the locked box. Now I have to ruin a drill bit to drill out the lock and remove my things so I can throw this box in the garbage. Do not buy. You get what you pay for. It gets a "one" for value because I would not take this box for one dollar and a "one" for meets expectations because its a lock box that doesn't have a working reliable lock. If I could give it a zero I would.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

Totally insecure

12/01/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This safe is easily pried open. The hinge is plastic tabs. Pops back together after. Totally worthless for security.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

Surpassed expectations

04/04/2014
By ,
Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a well built, ruggedly solid, hefty, clearly capable safe for important paper security within a house. The weight alone speaks to its durability. Very happy with this product. Recommend. As advertised. Thank you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

Product exceeds expectation

02/01/2014
By ,
San Diego
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is more than adequate for the need.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

This is a great home safe!

11/24/2012
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good value for the price! Lots of room for all my important papers, and I know they will be protected in the event of a fire. Safe is well made, good quality.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

great

03/30/2014
By ,
indiana
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The safe is great, heavy when full. The lock is tricky had to work with it for a while almost took it back because of the lock but it work out
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

Great Product

03/29/2014
By ,
falls church, Virginia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just like this stuff, for the price you can't beat with the protection it have, a little heavy, but it's pretty sturdy and meets my expectations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

Good small safe for the price.

03/26/2014
By ,
Dearborn,mi
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The safe is fire proof and does the job for the small items I need to store. The price was right for online. Too bad they could not give me one right of the shelf and I had to wait 5 days for it to come.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

Great Box....

08/29/2013
By ,
USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This chest totally exceeded my expectations. I initially purchased the SentrySafe chest with the handle that is both waterproof and fireproof. Unfortunately, that one did not seal well around the edges, so I returned it and ordered this one. This one actually seems like it has larger interior dimensions, and is just as sturdy as the waterproof one. That said, it's not big inside; it's good for smaller items. It is black and sleek looking, and you can discreetly hide it anywhere in your home or office. Despite some negative reviews about the lock, my lock works just fine and feels secure. I like this fire chest so much, I am now looking into buying the matching file box to hold larger papers. I highly recommend this chest...it great for what it's intended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

Great quality for price

03/21/2014
By ,
los angeles
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The quality of box is great for safekeeping important items in the home/business
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

Excellent product

02/03/2014
By ,
Hayward, Calif.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Low price, some fire protection and enough room to hold my check, credit cards etc.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

light weight

02/03/2014
By ,
Kane, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the money, definately worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

Wow! What a deal

12/25/2012
By ,
NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The best price I found everywhere I looked was in the mid to high $30 range
Walmart at $19.95 and 97-cent shipping blew everything else away
And this isn't some cheap little safe.
It will serve my needs perfectly as a "grab and go" box, and the fact that it is fire resistant is a bonus.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ohio
not a good safe at all
Posted 04/13/2013
i purchased one of these safes and my girlfriend picked the lock within 5 minutes with a bobby pin . she was picking the lock behind my back and taking money .
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

Great for the price!

03/12/2014
By ,
Bell Buckle, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My grandson got a safe like this for Christmas, and he loves it. So I bought this for my daughter's birthday. Great for zip drives, small items, etc. She wanted something she could just pick up and carry easily.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

for the price it's worth it

03/12/2014
By ,
Katy, Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
must be opened and closed using the key as there is no other easy open latch.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

Perfect for my needs

03/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I can't say it's excellent because I haven't been in a fire, thank God, but for what I needed it for, it's Perfect!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

portable chest to keep papers safe

03/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adequate to keep important papers safe from fire and water. Met my expectations for the price. Is more portable than a full size home safe.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 61 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next