Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for SentrySafe SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

SentrySafe SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

Compact and versatile, the SentrySafe Fire Chest 1200 is popular worldwide. The 1200 Fire Safe Chest protects your family's most important paper documents, media and valuables from fire damage. This fire-safe lock box carries the UL fire endurance seal to protect documents from fire for a half hour at 1550F. It also comes with an ETL-verification for half-hour fire protection for CDs, DVDs and other media. The privacy key lock on this fire safe chest is used to keep unwanted viewers away from the chest's contents and to prevent the lid from opening in the event of a fire. The SentrySafe Fire Chest 1200 also comes with two keys and a convenient carrying handle for easy transportation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.431 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(146 Reviews) 129
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
99
4 stars
28
3 stars
9
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation92%135 out of 146reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 38 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
99
4 stars
28
3 stars
9
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

fell apart in a week

01/25/2013
By ,
cleveland, oh
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased three of these since for the price you couldn't beat the storage capacity. Had them delivered and promptly filled them with a few items. Set them aside and a week later went to open again to add more items and the top lock section pulled out (see picture). I wasn't forcing it, didn't drop it, just pulled right off. Noticed another of my three is about to do the same thing. Now seeing the construction, you can tell it wouldn't have been really hard to break into. Though it keeps the honest people out.
Other than this issue I was pleased with the item. Good amount of storage. I wouldn't say they are water proof, since there is no gasket. However probably wouldn't be hard to add.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

Best LITTLE Safe

06/17/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a conveniently-sized safe which fits just about anywhere. Perfect size, keeps my valuables safe. Best purchase I have made in a long time and well worth the small amount of money for peace of mind.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

Great Product

06/11/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very secure item that will keep my valuables safe.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

Exceeds Expectations

07/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had been putting off this type of purchase for too long. When I came across the ad at a great price, I acted. Actually, I was unaware of how much it would hold; so I was surprised when I could not only put in business envelopes, but also 9x12. It even has room for some mementos.
The real surprise was learning that if it is in a fire, it will seal itself and have to be pried open: and Sentry will send you a new one. Cannot get better than that.
It is rather heavy, but manageable. Probably not a good idea to put it on an upper floor if you need to carry other items in a hurry. I think it is one of the best on the market for important documents.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

This is a great home safe!

11/24/2012
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good value for the price! Lots of room for all my important papers, and I know they will be protected in the event of a fire. Safe is well made, good quality.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+50points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

Safe bet.

06/01/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price was right.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

Nice FIRE box

12/29/2013
By ,
Ar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good little fire box. For those of you that say it's worthless because it lacks in security.. It's not a safe. Keep in mind, this is a $20.00 box. Don't expect Fort knox. Also it's totally portable which means no one would even attempt to open it in a home invasion.. they would just take the whole box. It is exactly what it's advertised to be. If you want security.. buy an actual safe.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

Very Good

08/26/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good chest for the money. However, please note that you will NOT be able to lay an 8 1/2 x 11 sheet of paper FLAT. Very disappointed in this.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

Great Box....

08/29/2013
By ,
USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This chest totally exceeded my expectations. I initially purchased the SentrySafe chest with the handle that is both waterproof and fireproof. Unfortunately, that one did not seal well around the edges, so I returned it and ordered this one. This one actually seems like it has larger interior dimensions, and is just as sturdy as the waterproof one. That said, it's not big inside; it's good for smaller items. It is black and sleek looking, and you can discreetly hide it anywhere in your home or office. Despite some negative reviews about the lock, my lock works just fine and feels secure. I like this fire chest so much, I am now looking into buying the matching file box to hold larger papers. I highly recommend this chest...it great for what it's intended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

Security in the home.

05/14/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hasn't been tested against fire and water. But, for securing small amounts of cash and other small personal keepsakes it's perfect.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

Totally insecure

12/01/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This safe is easily pried open. The hinge is plastic tabs. Pops back together after. Totally worthless for security.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Pennsylvania
Cheapskapes
Posted 05/29/2014
Its meant for fire and water safety. its $20 you get what you pay for if your wanted theft protection than you should have forked out a little more for the ones that actually state theft protection. Not just fire and water.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

Wow! What a deal

12/25/2012
By ,
NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The best price I found everywhere I looked was in the mid to high $30 range
Walmart at $19.95 and 97-cent shipping blew everything else away
And this isn't some cheap little safe.
It will serve my needs perfectly as a "grab and go" box, and the fact that it is fire resistant is a bonus.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ohio
not a good safe at all
Posted 04/13/2013
i purchased one of these safes and my girlfriend picked the lock within 5 minutes with a bobby pin . she was picking the lock behind my back and taking money .
-2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

just junk

12/23/2012
By ,
athens ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
when i lock it there is a gap you can see right in the safe so that isnt gonna help during a fire or water i wouldnt use this for anything i wanted to keep during a fire go with first alert
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Never
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

wow

04/25/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
way better then i expected. its heavy locks great and easy to hide. I love it
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

no room at the inn

01/31/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
volume not enough for 8 1/2" X 11" standard document......
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

Excellent protection for valuable documents.

02/08/2014
By ,
memphis
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I knew I needed a better container than the old metal lock box I bought many years ago. I looked at several fire safe lock boxes and ordered the SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest. It was delivered quickly to my local WalMart and was economically priced. It has sturdiness and weight but is not too heavy for me to easily lift. It was slightly larger than I expected and held all my valuable papers with room for more. I would recommend this as a fire safe box that is very helpful for documents you need to protect, such as car titles, life insurance information, immunization records, birth certificates, wills, and other important papers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

very nice for the money.

05/24/2014
By ,
daniels,wv
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
worth the money.Great for all your documents.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Houston, Texas
Don't waste your money
Posted 06/02/2014
I've had this lockbox for a short time and was burgularized a week ago. I immediately went to this box and saw that it was open; I had the keys on my key ring. Obviously, all they did was twist the top part and it unlocked and all of my extra cash and jewelry was taken.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

Great Fire Proof Chest

05/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Affordable, easy, basic lock box to keep valuables safe from fire.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

Ideal for full size sheets of paper.

05/27/2014
By ,
Port Jervis, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like the size because you can put full size sheets of paper in it. We wanted something to put our wills etc in and this is just ideal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for SentrySafe 1200 Fire Safe Chest

Garbage Lock

02/15/2014
By ,
Havelock, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this box a few months ago and had items locked in it since then. Today I try to unlock the box to add something to it and the lock freezes up and will not move with the key in it. Cannot remove the key and the lock will not move. Finally got it to lock and tried to unlock again and the key broke off inside the locked box. Now I have to ruin a drill bit to drill out the lock and remove my things so I can throw this box in the garbage. Do not buy. You get what you pay for. It gets a "one" for value because I would not take this box for one dollar and a "one" for meets expectations because its a lock box that doesn't have a working reliable lock. If I could give it a zero I would.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 130 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next