Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Virgin Mobile Kyocera Rise Cell Phone

Virgin Mobile Kyocera Rise Cell Phone

The Kyocera Rise Cell Phone features the fast and intuitive Android 4.0 operating system, giving you the power, reliability and speed you need for any task. You can text easily and efficiently with the slider QWERTY keyboard. The Kyocera Android Phone, 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich, has a 3.2 megapixel camera that lets you document your life on the go. Navigation is a breeze with the intuitive and reliable operating system on this slider QWERTY phone.
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(74 Reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
19
3 stars
10
2 stars
4
1 star
15
Customer Recommendation69%51 out of 74reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
181 Questions | 151 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
19
3 stars
10
2 stars
4
1 star
15
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Kyocera Rise Cell Phone

Only Two Faults

03/21/2013
By ,
Camden County, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had a few Kyoceras before and they were average - not so for the Kyocera Rise! I love this phone, and I really love Virgin Mobile's service. The main point with Virgin Mobile and this phone is that you get more than what you pay for. There are much better phones and services out there, but for an extremely competitive price, you get a phone and service that is above average in quality, and exceptional overall considering the outstandingly low price. If you're on a budget and are looking for a functional smartphone, definitely go for this one, or at least Virgin Mobile's service - the price is unbeatable. They offer 300 minutes, unlimited text, and unlimited 3G web for only $35 + tax a month.
Postives: this phone has AMAZING battery life, in my opinion. For today, example - it has been off the charger for seven hours and I have used it moderately throughout those seven hours - I listened to music, texted for quite some time, called someone, posted to my blog, emailed someone, and was on Facebook, and I still have 80% of my charge. Last night I tried to drain the battery before charging it and eventually gave up and put it on the charger anyway. I'm really pleased with how I managed to lay out my home screens and it's a drastic improvement over the LG Optimus V I was using. The amount of bloatware Virgin Mobile piles on this phone is way less than what they used to put on, too - just one single app the use of which I have not ascertained yet. The physical keyboard is average - easier to use than a too-small software keyboard like my last phone and the buttons are easy on the fingers compared to the one I had before it.
Negatives: the aforementioned keyboard is missing a few characters, but closing the phone and putting them in with the software keyboard fixes that - the percent symbol and angle brackets (<>) are missing. While irritating to do, it's a problem that can be fixed. What can't be fixed is the absolutely horrible sound quality on the lower end of the scale - certain songs with loud bass sound horribly scratchy and I need to turn it way down or put in headphones. Also, setting up the homescreens is a little iffy.
Some useful things to know - again, any missing characters you need can be put in with the software keyboard. The buttons at the bottom - they come defaulted to Phone, Contacts, Messaging, etc., can be customized with multiple items on each button - for example, I grouped the Phone, Voicemail, Messaging, and Contacts into one, put Browser, Email, and Maps into another, my social media apps into a third, and all of my music apps into the fourth, leaving my homescreens open for widgets and shortcuts to apps that couldn't be grouped together. If the phone malfunctions - sometimes I can't get a connection, or my music doesn't show up - turning it off and back on almost always fixes it. Lastly, Android 4.0 introduces the option to take screenshots - simply hold Power and Volume Down simultaneously.
The few issues this phone has are forgivable, and when compared to the things it DOES do right, I'd definitely recommend this phone.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+149points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Vermont
Just wondering...
Posted 12/20/2013
5 people have voted this as unhelpful. This review was very detailed. What made it not so helpful? Is there other questions you may have that we may want to know about as well? Just wondering...
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Kyocera Rise Cell Phone

Great Starter Smart Phone

12/27/2013
By ,
Pontiac, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone is great for the price and gets you a smart phone for a relatively low cost. This is my first smart phone, I am 36 and I am not having any problems using it. I love the little slide out keyboard, though when texting I tend to to use the touchscreen more. I actually bought it to have the keyboard, but the swype feature where it fills in the words for you is very simple and makes sending messages quick and easy. I love the personal dictionary, this little phone already remembers all the words I use most often and family member's names without me having to type out the entire word. There are many ringtones pre-loaded on the phone, but all are very electronic sounding so I downloaded an app called Zedge and have been customizing tones to all my favorite people. I haven't played much with the phone's other features yet. The camera/video is nice though I wish that it had a camera on both sides of the phone. I like that it has wifi, I am home a lot so able to use the wifi instead of using any of my data, though I have unlimited data & text with my $35 a month plan from Virgin Mobile.
Great little phone~!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kyocera Rise Cell Phone

Surprised by the Value

11/11/2013
By ,
Burlington, Wa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was very impressed. The phone came with videos pre-loaded into it that taught me a bit about how to use it. I only had to use the manual to learn how to use the camera. The slide-out keyboard is a little stiff and tires out my spoiled thumbs that are used to only a touch-screen but oh well. The swipe-typing on the touch screen face is VERY handy. Make sure you don't switch into Spanish accidentally. The button is right in a bad spot. I had a lot of trouble activating it but that is probably based on Virgin's coverage rather than on anything to do with this phone model itself. If you have this coverage already and it's fine, this phone shouldn't effect it. It was super easy to keep my last phone number. Just change it online. I've had $320 phones, $150 phones and now this phone. Honestly the most expensive one was the most problem prone. For the cost of this phone it is pretty awesome. You can change out the micro-SD card and use it as a music player as well, works just fine. Doesn't come with a music player though (That's a pain, I had to download a 2-week trial). MY ONLY REAL COMPLAINT---- that I have about this phone is that it's constantly rearranging my home screen! Really annoying, I like having everything where I leave it! Over all though, I would recommend it, especially to a student who wants a smart phone for a lower cost.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NC
Posted 12/13/2013
The rearranging of your home screen is most likely the Mobile ID app. Sprint forces you to do this. You can switch IDs whenever you want to, just use the app.
All Androids come with a music player. It is called Play Music.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Kyocera Rise Cell Phone

A Waste of money twice!

04/15/2014
By ,
Charleston, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was excited about this phone when I first saw it. I read the specs and figured it would be a great "smart enough" phone. I liked the real keyboard and the operating system which were the main selling points for me. I purchased my first rise in September 2013...it only lasted for 7 months and then abruptly the screen went black and couldn't be fixed. I was already on the Virgin Mobile plan so I gave in and bought another rise In April 2014. From the moment I got the new phone my 3g did not work at all. I called customer service and did a factory reset and everything to no avail. The call quality on this phone is hardly clear and makes it difficult to hear or have a conversation. I am beyond disappointed in this phone. The 3g is still unable to be fixed. Do yourself a favor and bypass this phone altogether.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kyocera Rise Cell Phone

Great economical smart phone

01/26/2013
By ,
Grand Blanc, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was not sure about buying a smartphone that was only $79. My previous phone was $300+ and the provider stiffed me on the $100 rebate. So I was unhappy and ready to switch to a cheaper provider.
However, this phone has far exceeded my expectations.
It works much better than the $300 phone I had. It accesses the internet much faster even at only 3G, and when a message or voicemail is recieved while the phone is off, it tells me the actual time the message/voicemail was recieved. My previous phone did not. It would just give the time received as the time I turned the phone on, so I had no idea when this person actually tried to contact me.
The only irritating thing about it is that it tends to want to lock onto my wifi in my home when I don't want it to. It searches for wifi connections wherever I go. There doesn't seem to be a way to turn that feature off, but I'm still looking. Obviously, I don't want to be hooking up onto public wifi at random times. I want to control when wifi is accessed instead of having to turn it off every time it switches to wifi.
All told, I'm very happy I got this phone and switched providers, and would recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+60points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Ohio, USA
Connections Optimizer - turn it off!
Posted 05/12/2013
The reason your phone tries to connect to wifi everywhere you go is due to the Connections Optimizer. Go to Settings, More, Connections Optimizer. You should be able to turn it off there. I never agreed to the disclaimer thing so I never have it on. But reading through that disclaimer that is what it does, it always tries to find a wifi network wherever you go. :) That should fix the battery drain with wifi and it'll stop trying to look for and connect to free hotspots.
+1point
Customer Avatar
LA
Wi-Fi
Posted 03/29/2013
If you go into the settings you can turn the wifi on/off. The option should be the first thing in settings.
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 6 for Kyocera Rise Cell Phone

Heads it's bearably bad, tails it's useless.

02/08/2014
By ,
Greensboro, NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I first got the Kyocera Rise a little over a year ago. I'm both klutzy and absent-minded, so there was no way I was going to spend $200+ on something easily breakable and easily misplaceable. For the first few months it worked OK, aside from its utter disregard for my turning off wifi or turning on airplane mode, which I figured I deserved for going cheap. I'd say it was about 8 months in when it started randomly rebooting and announcing that my SD card had been unexpectedly unmounted. It did it for a couple of months, then was relatively well-behaved for another couple of months. When it started doing it again, completely trashing the SD card in the process, I finally filed a warranty claim. I ordered a replacement phone, but the new Rise did the same things my old one did, right out of the box. I ended up taking the new-but-equally-useless phone back to the store and exchanging it for a ZTE Awe, which so far is a MUCH better experience. If you do decide to go with this one (which I don't recommend), do yourself a favor and keep a backup of you SD card at all times.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kyocera Rise Cell Phone

Better than most phones three times the price.

01/22/2013
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had many android phones as well as an iphone. The rise doesn't compare to high end phones, but does hold it's own with the $149 crowd. Hilarious because I paid 59.99. After six months of use the only real issue I can see is the camera. It's ok, don't plan on selling your camera. I made hd videos on on my iphone that's the only thing I miss.
Pros.
-Keyboard rocks. Big buttons with space in between.
-Operating System is faster than any phone I've ever had. It really is a lean mean fighting machine.
-Feels heavy and well built. Not cheap like other $149's.
-Battery Life, out of the box lasted 6-8hrs., after optimizing the settings it lasts a day and a half.
-Have yet to find an android app that wont work on the rise.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+203points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kyocera Rise Cell Phone

Not a very good phone...

09/02/2013
By ,
Anderson, IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was told this phone was going to be awesome, and at first it was awesome. The camera was good, I love the keyboard and I loved how fast it was. After awhile it began to slow down tremendously (And it had nothing to do with service because where I live I have perfect service.) I've already had to have Virgin Mobile send me a new one because my first on froze up one day and just wouldn't turn back on. I was beyond irritated. I don't have a lot of apps, and I don't have hardly anything even saved on my phone. I try to keep the SD card free so that it will run faster, but apparently that has nothing to do with the speed. It still freezes up on me and shuts off for no reason and it's beginning to delete stuff that I don't want deleted. I wish I would have saved my money and bought a nicer phone. I love Virgin Mobile because it is cheap, but I wish the phones were cheaper too. I wouldn't recommend buying this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kyocera Rise Cell Phone

Terrible everything

03/08/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone really doesn't have any redeeming qualities other than it's cheap.
The camera is terrible, it overheats, it doesn't hold a charge for very long, it freezes constantly when trying to do even basic phone functions (like texting or calling)
It randomly shuts off and turns on and if it's plugged in you can't use it as it won't charge.
Bottom line, don't buy this unless you absolutely 100% need a phone that very second and only have fifty bucks.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kyocera Rise Cell Phone
11/12/2012
By ,
west central illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am not a tech savy person at all, but this phone is awesome. It does everything I want, which is take the place of an aging computer that will not be replaced. Battery life isn't bad, but have never had an android so I don't have experience to compare to. Does not shut off on me or change screens as I have read some other brands do. It is great !!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+300points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kyocera Rise Cell Phone

Great phone for a great price

11/21/2012
By ,
Tacoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this phone, it does every thing I need and more, it is easy to get lost playing around in it, it has easy access to Facebook and other apps, and I love the plans, for $35 a month you get endless internet and text and 300 voice minutes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+407points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kyocera Rise Cell Phone
01/04/2013
By ,
Canton, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this as a replacement after I dropped and broke my LG Optimus Elite :-( . But this phone works just as great, has the same features I love, and the battery life is great as well
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+114points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
29611
i am a straighttalk customer
Posted 11/03/2013
hi
can i use this phone with my straighttalk account?
thanks
jeanne
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Kyocera Rise Cell Phone

love it

01/12/2013
By ,
westerly, RI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my first smart phone, and I love it. A slight learning curve as I'm not a techie, but easy enough to figure out with a little effort. The Virgin Mobile service has been excellent for me and the best value I've found that includes web & text. I highly recommend the phone & service for anyone that wants to break into this century with minimal cost or headache.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kyocera Rise Cell Phone

Great little phone!

03/16/2014
By ,
Bowling Green, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone works off CDMA technology (it's considered to be a lower standard, but this thing is working amazingly well for me). It accesses 3G wireless data speeds. And as far as I've seen, you cannot uninstall any of the apps that come pre-installed on it (I only tried a couple of the pre-installed ones...but the ones I installed myself can easily be removed). I was hoping to cut out the apps I didn't want, and that's why I marked down a bit on the "Meets Expectations" rating. Other than that, I'm fully loving this phone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kyocera Rise Cell Phone

Do not buy this phone!!!

12/21/2013
By ,
Desloge, MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It is a Piece of JUNK! I bought it early in November and started having problems with it very soon thereafter. Walmart directed me to call the company. The company replaced the phone and the battery because the phone would shut itself off and restart and the battery time is non-existent! I have had to recharge the battery twice a day even using the battery saver apps that are recommended. Don't waste your money or time on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kyocera Rise Cell Phone

Great touch phone for a middle school student.

03/09/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We like the touch screen with the qwerty keypad. It is excellent for a middle school student.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kyocera Rise Cell Phone

Horrible Phone

11/13/2013
By ,
Punta Gorda, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this phone online. No where does it say 14 day return policy. Phone was bad from the start. Kept turning off for no reason and would not turn on unless plugged in. called the manufacturer they don't honor the warranty and send you through virgin mobile. they won't honor the warranty either unless it is activated. Why would I activate a broken phone! phone it self was new but the battery was used. it was all scratched up and covered in sticky tape like residue. spent $65 for this phone and now out my money plus more money to buy a new one!
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kyocera Rise Cell Phone
05/17/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I do not have much experience with phones but based on the reviews I seen before I purchased the phone, I am slightly disappointed. The phone is GREAT for music and Facebook but freezes quite a bit and just doesn't operate accordingly to my busy lifestyle. When I make a call the screen will go whacko. Either it hangs up on whoever I am talking to or it doesn't hang up at all. Also the auto correct is so dysfunctional. It auto corrects everything when I use swipe. I spend more time editing than I do texting and honestly texting was much faster on my old flip phone Hah. Also for a 3G i never have service.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kyocera Rise Cell Phone

perfect android

12/24/2013
By ,
niagara falls, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this particular purchase was for my boyfriend because Ihighly recommended this product &wireless service. I love everything about this phone. From the sliding keyboard, to the durability. It has plenty of memory, a long charger chord, android ics, long battery life.. the plans are highly affordable, the coverage is great, &the customer service is more dependable than any other wireless carrier I have ever used. Well worth the buy. The only con about this product is that it doesn't have screen capture.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kyocera Rise Cell Phone

Everythings good except no front camera

12/21/2012
By ,
i think the name handles that
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love everything about this phone the desighn the features,battery life COULD be longer...but over all its good, i just hate that theres no front facing camera thats all
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+68points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 66 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next