Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Melitta Melitta Pour-Over 1-Cup Brew Cone, Black

Melitta Melitta Pour-Over 1-Cup Brew Cone, Black

Average Customer Rating:
4.87 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%23 out of 23reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 9 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Melitta Pour-Over 1-Cup Brew Cone, Black

You'll Have the Best Coffee Ever...

12/04/2013
By ,
Columbus, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
if you take your time and do it right! If you always have to have your coffee brewed and ready to go when you first walk in the kitchen, go elsewhere. This is truly "hand crafted" coffee that can't be beat. Even though it takes some time to make (takes me about 10 minutes for the whole process), it works out great for me. When I get up, we have an automatic coffee maker ready to serve. I'll have just one cup of the "automatic" stuff at home to get my brain firing on all cylinders, and then make another cup with the Melitta "pour over" device when I get to work. I get to work early, and making the coffee is actually a nice way to "settle in".
I read a number of reviews (many elsewhere) to get tips and advice on how to get the best results. This is what I do:
1. Heat water to boiling in your coffee cup (about 1.5 minutes in a strong microwave).
2. Place Melitta cone filter in the cone and set it on the cup (no coffee yet), letting it warm the cup and the cone/filter.
3. Bring to boil about 8 ounces of water in a glass syrup dispenser and let set a minute or two.
4. Pour out hot water from cup over cone to heat/wet filter and cone, emptying cup of hot water.
5. Add 2 tablespoons of coffee to the cone (Of course amount/type/grind to your preference. This part may take a little experimenting to find "your" favorite taste.)
6. Pour a very slight amount of water from the dispenser onto the coffee, just wetting it.
7. Pour a little more water into the cone. I pour in a VERY small amount. Probably just a few tablespoons, at most. Do not fill the cone with all the water at once (will make weak coffee)! I like to pour the water down the side of the filter, rather than right in the middle, keeping all the coffee centered.
8. When the dripping stops (you'll hear it), add a little more water.
9. Continue until all the water has gone through. Take your time. In my experience, the coffee is plenty hot enough.
Clean up is a cinch. Throw the filter/grounds away and rinse out the cone. Yes... this method takes time, but I get satisfaction knowing I'm creating a great cup of coffee... kind of like therapy? LOL Which I probably need! BTW... I read that letting the water cool slightly is a good idea before pouring over the coffee, as boiling water will make the coffee bitter. Price? What can I say? It doesn't get any cheaper! If other reviews say it makes weak coffee (I've read "tea like", etc.), then they are cutting corners and trying to speed up the process. You can make it as strong as you like. The coffee I make with this is far superior than any I've had from any automatic coffee maker.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Melitta Pour-Over 1-Cup Brew Cone, Black

Excellent Product!!!

12/23/2012
By ,
Isleton, California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This surpasses the ceramic ones on the market...
Those take the heat from the water poured and
you end up with lukewarm coffee...
Excellent Product...It can travel with me and go
camping with me , no worries...I love it..
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Melitta Pour-Over 1-Cup Brew Cone, Black

Excellent product for brewing 1 cup of coffee

06/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product for brewing 1 cup of coffee at a time. The price was incredibly low. What a bargain! Thanks, Walmart.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Melitta Pour-Over 1-Cup Brew Cone, Black

Great product.

07/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product, meet my expectations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Melitta Pour-Over 1-Cup Brew Cone, Black

This is the best way to make fresh coffee

07/19/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use it with Melitta's natural brown #2 filters, I boil water in a kettle, let it sit for about 5-10 mins (boiling water gives a burnt taste), pour over coffee in filter, and voila the best coffee is ready to be served. Don't be fooled by imitations, this Melitta is the best.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Melitta Pour-Over 1-Cup Brew Cone, Black

I AM IN LOVE!

02/10/2013
By ,
Tampa, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I didn't know about this product until I searched for a coffee maker at the Walmart site.
I saw the cheap artifact and ordered out of curiosity. IT WORKS!
Now I can enjoy the pleasant taste of a cup of real coffee for very little money and no complicated gadgets.
The only thing is comes with only 6 Melitta filters so I soon will have to buy some.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Melitta Pour-Over 1-Cup Brew Cone, Black

Makes great coffee

08/30/2013
By ,
Kennebec County, Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great gadget. It is better than my old Melitta brew cone which I also love. Tip: Don't pour boiling water over coffee. Let it cool a bit or the coffee will taste burned. I had to laugh when the package arrived. That little box was the only item in a huge cardboard box almost 3 feet tall full of bubble wrap!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Melitta Pour-Over 1-Cup Brew Cone, Black

Convenient, inexpensive

11/13/2013
By ,
Diamond Bar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is so convenient! Cheaper than buying a single cup coffee maker.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Melitta Pour-Over 1-Cup Brew Cone, Black

Travel coffee

02/09/2014
By ,
Riverside CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great to have when you travel. I've found places that have a microwave but no or limited coffee.
This unit is ideal for a few cups of quality coffee to get the morning started.
If you just like one or two cups of coffee in the morning at home this beats having a $150 Kuerig machine taking up counter space.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Melitta Pour-Over 1-Cup Brew Cone, Black

Great kitchen gadget

05/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Coffee made with this Melitta Pour-Over 1-Cup resulted in a great cup of coffee.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Melitta Pour-Over 1-Cup Brew Cone, Black

perfect

04/07/2014
By ,
Wyoming
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just what I expected and just what I wanted. I can have fresh brewed coffee anytime without waiting for my coffee pot
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Melitta Pour-Over 1-Cup Brew Cone, Black

Great for the simple life

10/31/2013
By ,
International
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My family really enjoys these brew cones because we can make coffee with or without electricity and without the same residues as you get with a press. We also like these because they are less likely to break and easy to toss in a suitcase or bag for travel.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Melitta Pour-Over 1-Cup Brew Cone, Black

as expected

03/31/2014
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
everything was perfect
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Melitta Pour-Over 1-Cup Brew Cone, Black

Great design

02/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is our second melitta coffee cone. The updated design makes it easier to discard used coffee grinds. This product makes an excellent cup of coffee
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Melitta Pour-Over 1-Cup Brew Cone, Black

Great for larger diameter cups!

02/06/2014
By ,
Miami, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Delivery was the only disappointment - for two reasons:
- delivery charge was too high, and
- pick up took 2 days, and
- delivery was further delayed significantly due to snowy/icy weather (no one's fault, of course)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Melitta Pour-Over 1-Cup Brew Cone, Black

Great product

12/24/2013
By ,
Apex, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product, esp if you want to make a single cup of coffee and don't want to invest or have space for a machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Melitta Pour-Over 1-Cup Brew Cone, Black

Need to tweak how you use it

12/07/2013
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pre wet the filter, pack down the grounds tight, pre-wet the grounds ... then slowly pour. I think the metal filter version works WAY better but this is cheaper ..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Taste
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Melitta Pour-Over 1-Cup Brew Cone, Black

I bought TWO!!

10/08/2013
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I couldn't believe this little thing was for real. It makes a fresh, great tasting cup of coffee every time! I was worried they would quit making them, as they usually do the the good things that actually work well these days, so I bought two. Glad I did too. I boil a full pot of water. Save the hot water in an insulated carafe to use throughout the day so as to conserve energy. Works wonderfully. Buy with confidence.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Melitta Pour-Over 1-Cup Brew Cone, Black

Great and compact for limited space.

11/18/2013
By ,
La Porte, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product works well but filter comes apart when wet.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Taste
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Melitta Pour-Over 1-Cup Brew Cone, Black

Quick and easy for 1 cup of coffee

11/16/2013
By ,
Chippewa Lake, Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quick and easy for 1 cup of coffee.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Taste
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 22 total reviews
1 2 Next