Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Melitta Melitta Pour-Over 1-Cup Brew Cone, Black

Melitta Melitta Pour-Over 1-Cup Brew Cone, Black

Average Customer Rating:
4.611 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
29
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation97%35 out of 36reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 14 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
29
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Melitta Pour-Over 1-Cup Brew Cone, Black

You'll Have the Best Coffee Ever...

12/04/2013
By ,
Columbus, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
if you take your time and do it right! If you always have to have your coffee brewed and ready to go when you first walk in the kitchen, go elsewhere. This is truly "hand crafted" coffee that can't be beat. Even though it takes some time to make (takes me about 10 minutes for the whole process), it works out great for me. When I get up, we have an automatic coffee maker ready to serve. I'll have just one cup of the "automatic" stuff at home to get my brain firing on all cylinders, and then make another cup with the Melitta "pour over" device when I get to work. I get to work early, and making the coffee is actually a nice way to "settle in".
I read a number of reviews (many elsewhere) to get tips and advice on how to get the best results. This is what I do:
1. Heat water to boiling in your coffee cup (about 1.5 minutes in a strong microwave).
2. Place Melitta cone filter in the cone and set it on the cup (no coffee yet), letting it warm the cup and the cone/filter.
3. Bring to boil about 8 ounces of water in a glass syrup dispenser and let set a minute or two.
4. Pour out hot water from cup over cone to heat/wet filter and cone, emptying cup of hot water.
5. Add 2 tablespoons of coffee to the cone (Of course amount/type/grind to your preference. This part may take a little experimenting to find "your" favorite taste.)
6. Pour a very slight amount of water from the dispenser onto the coffee, just wetting it.
7. Pour a little more water into the cone. I pour in a VERY small amount. Probably just a few tablespoons, at most. Do not fill the cone with all the water at once (will make weak coffee)! I like to pour the water down the side of the filter, rather than right in the middle, keeping all the coffee centered.
8. When the dripping stops (you'll hear it), add a little more water.
9. Continue until all the water has gone through. Take your time. In my experience, the coffee is plenty hot enough.
Clean up is a cinch. Throw the filter/grounds away and rinse out the cone. Yes... this method takes time, but I get satisfaction knowing I'm creating a great cup of coffee... kind of like therapy? LOL Which I probably need! BTW... I read that letting the water cool slightly is a good idea before pouring over the coffee, as boiling water will make the coffee bitter. Price? What can I say? It doesn't get any cheaper! If other reviews say it makes weak coffee (I've read "tea like", etc.), then they are cutting corners and trying to speed up the process. You can make it as strong as you like. The coffee I make with this is far superior than any I've had from any automatic coffee maker.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Melitta Pour-Over 1-Cup Brew Cone, Black

Excellent Product!!!

12/23/2012
By ,
Isleton, California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This surpasses the ceramic ones on the market...
Those take the heat from the water poured and
you end up with lukewarm coffee...
Excellent Product...It can travel with me and go
camping with me , no worries...I love it..
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Melitta Pour-Over 1-Cup Brew Cone, Black

This is the best way to make fresh coffee

07/19/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use it with Melitta's natural brown #2 filters, I boil water in a kettle, let it sit for about 5-10 mins (boiling water gives a burnt taste), pour over coffee in filter, and voila the best coffee is ready to be served. Don't be fooled by imitations, this Melitta is the best.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Melitta Pour-Over 1-Cup Brew Cone, Black

Good for the occasional coffee drinker

04/01/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I find this to be a good option for home use if a drip coffee maker isn't for you. To brew you need this item and #2 cone filters, and a kettle. If you're making less than 12oz it's easy enough to fill the cone to the rim and let it do it's thing. But if you;re using this in the office, or to make anything more than 12 oz it’s quite the process. What I don't like is dealing with some of the extras steps, such as being chained to the break room's hot water dispenser, the noise it makes when pouring into an insulated mug, and making sure to have a supply of my own filters on hand.
Final word, great for home use if you don't want to use a drip or peculating maker or don't drink a lot of coffee. Not the most convenient option of you want to make your own coffee at the office.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Melitta Pour-Over 1-Cup Brew Cone, Black

Perfect Alternative to Pricier Versions

10/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a plastic beehive dripper at a third the cost. As far as I can tell, it's built the same, just plastic instead of ceramic. Most of the produced coffee's flavor is just in the freshness of the coffee and the skill of the barista. I recently bought 4 of these in addition to the one I already had to cater a wedding's coffee. I prepared every single cup a custom pour-over, and everyone was very impressed with the efficiency. Again, it's mostly in the skill of the barista, so don't jip yourself into buying something more expensive if you're not sure of the quality/flavor differences, or if you're new to making pour-overs. The Hario V60 is a preferred cone-dripper, but for a fraction of the cost, this should be everyone's entrance-dripper into pour-overs. Been using this for over a year, and still enjoy it almost every day.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Melitta Pour-Over 1-Cup Brew Cone, Black

Melitta, 1 cup pour over brew cone

05/16/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use. Each cup may be brewed to taste, strong or weak. Easy to clean up, just remove, discard paper filter and rinse the brew cone. Finished.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Melitta Pour-Over 1-Cup Brew Cone, Black

Easy coffee

05/12/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Insert paper filter, add ground coffee, poor boiling water and you have a great cup of coffee without waste and a whole pot to clean. Very basic, but totally functional
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Melitta Pour-Over 1-Cup Brew Cone, Black

Melitta Pour over

05/13/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for making single cups off coffee without without wasting an entire pot.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Melitta Pour-Over 1-Cup Brew Cone, Black

Makes great coffee

08/30/2013
By ,
Kennebec County, Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great gadget. It is better than my old Melitta brew cone which I also love. Tip: Don't pour boiling water over coffee. Let it cool a bit or the coffee will taste burned. I had to laugh when the package arrived. That little box was the only item in a huge cardboard box almost 3 feet tall full of bubble wrap!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Melitta Pour-Over 1-Cup Brew Cone, Black

I AM IN LOVE!

02/10/2013
By ,
Tampa, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I didn't know about this product until I searched for a coffee maker at the Walmart site.
I saw the cheap artifact and ordered out of curiosity. IT WORKS!
Now I can enjoy the pleasant taste of a cup of real coffee for very little money and no complicated gadgets.
The only thing is comes with only 6 Melitta filters so I soon will have to buy some.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Melitta Pour-Over 1-Cup Brew Cone, Black

not what I expected

05/02/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I don't like this item because it doesn't have a handle like the older ones.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Melitta Pour-Over 1-Cup Brew Cone, Black

Most excellent device.....

09/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've used the Melitta 1-cup brewer for years. I just bought this one for bringing into the office. A hot water source is all you need. Sure beats the plethora of crude oil blends that comes out of a community pot at work!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Melitta Pour-Over 1-Cup Brew Cone, Black

Convenient, inexpensive

11/13/2013
By ,
Diamond Bar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is so convenient! Cheaper than buying a single cup coffee maker.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Melitta Pour-Over 1-Cup Brew Cone, Black

Love this!!

09/18/2014
By ,
ocala, fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This makes a great cup of coffee so easy. Place the cone on top of your favorite coffee mug. Put a #2 filter in the cone. Scoop in a couple tablespoons of coffee, pour in some hot water, and in a minute or so you have a perfect cup of coffee. It is even better if you have a grinder and grind some fresh beans.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taste
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Melitta Pour-Over 1-Cup Brew Cone, Black

Miniature Classic

02/09/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I find this method of making a single cup of coffee to be the best method for me. I simple fill a cup to use with water, pour into a tea kettle, place coffee maker on empty cup with filter, less than 2 min. water is ready simply pour into filter holder seconds later finished.
Years ago I used a bigger model to make a whole pot of coffee and everyone that drank my coffee raved on its flavor.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Melitta Pour-Over 1-Cup Brew Cone, Black

handy little devil!

02/16/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We use these all time to make our coffee. You can make each person a customized cup with half caff, stronger, weaker. And it makes a fresh hot cup each time. Just keep a teapot of hot water handy and you can whip up fresh coffee easily, quickly, and for alot less $ than k-cups!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Melitta Pour-Over 1-Cup Brew Cone, Black

I bought TWO!!

10/08/2013
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I couldn't believe this little thing was for real. It makes a fresh, great tasting cup of coffee every time! I was worried they would quit making them, as they usually do the the good things that actually work well these days, so I bought two. Glad I did too. I boil a full pot of water. Save the hot water in an insulated carafe to use throughout the day so as to conserve energy. Works wonderfully. Buy with confidence.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Melitta Pour-Over 1-Cup Brew Cone, Black

Excellent product for brewing 1 cup of coffee

06/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product for brewing 1 cup of coffee at a time. The price was incredibly low. What a bargain! Thanks, Walmart.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Melitta Pour-Over 1-Cup Brew Cone, Black

great is you do not want go make a whole pot

01/30/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Great coffee maker not only is it handy if you only want a cup or two but what it makes is darn good!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Melitta Pour-Over 1-Cup Brew Cone, Black

Travel coffee

02/09/2014
By ,
Riverside CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great to have when you travel. I've found places that have a microwave but no or limited coffee.
This unit is ideal for a few cups of quality coffee to get the morning started.
If you just like one or two cups of coffee in the morning at home this beats having a $150 Kuerig machine taking up counter space.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 35 total reviews
1 2 Next