Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Gateway Gateway 17.3" NE71B06u Laptop PC with AMD E1-1200 Processor and Windows 8

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Gateway Gateway 17.3" NE71B06u Laptop PC with AMD E1-1200 Processor and Windows 8

The Gateway 17.3" NE Laptop PC exists to fulfill one goal: To be just what you need. This any day, everywhere laptop boasts a stunning 17.3" LED-backlit display and is simple to use, letting you focus on your tasks at hand. And it delivers the time-tested technologies you desire even as it offers the kind of efficiencies you love. Update your Windows 8 PC to Windows 8.1 for free through the Windows Store
Average Customer Rating:
3.925 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(80 Reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
40
4 stars
20
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation76%61 out of 80reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
40
4 stars
20
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Gateway 17.3" NE71B06u Laptop PC with AMD E1-1200 Processor and Windows 8

Please don't.

11/10/2012
By ,
USA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this laptop last week. I thought it was a great value for the price/equipment I got. When I got home and tried to use the computer the mouse was incredibly frustrating. It did not follow what I was "telling" it to do. IE: moving to different areas of screen and/or being from one extreme to another in responsiveness. At first I tried to tell myself it was me just getting use to a new touch pad. but after a few days it got worse.
Then the network connection started to act up. For no reason I will lose my internet access and have to manually reconnect.
So I brought the comp back and exchanged it for another one, thinking I got a lemon. Eh...it happens, no big deal.
Well, I was wrong. the exact same thing is wrong with this "new" one.
So I looked "deep" into reviews and sure enough...bad reviews almost all around. I found several with the exact same problems.
So beware: looks like a great deal price wise, but unfortunately, not so much.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+42points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
USA
It's not the computer's fault
Posted 05/25/2013
It problem is Windows 8. It's built to interface with a touch screen. This computer doesn't have a touch screen and windows 8 interface with the mouse is terrible.
+1point
Customer Avatar
palm beach fl
great laptop
Posted 05/24/2013
at first the laptop was kinda horrible but then when it got its updates and others stuff it started to be more faster and great for
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for Gateway 17.3" NE71B06u Laptop PC with AMD E1-1200 Processor and Windows 8

Excellent value, and efficiency.

10/17/2013
By ,
Crestline, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this laptop today. I am the network administrator for our business, and we've had pretty good luck with the gateway units in our office. We use them every day. One had a failed Motherboard recently and Gateway replaced it free of charge and did so quickly. So I bought this one for myself for both home and the office. I paid just 350 dollars for it as the price has been rolled back on it. The AMD E-1 processor has surprising speed for such a low power unit. Don't get me wrong, it's no Intel i7, but it's more than quick enough for daily and professional applications that don't require a lot of graphics. Also for first day usage the battery has been operating for 3 hours and I am still at 45%. Impressive, simply impressive. Gateway's are built/owned by Acer, and the quality of that really shows. Excellent product, and the Walmart service folks were great. Looking forward to several years of reliable operation.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 3 for Gateway 17.3" NE71B06u Laptop PC with AMD E1-1200 Processor and Windows 8

New Windows version is extremely non-user friendly

02/08/2013
By ,
sc
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My husband and I were excited to get a new laptop with a bigger screen, but the new Windows 8 is extremely frustrating. At first look I thought it would operate a lot like my Windows smart phone apps on the screen. But once you get into something it is almost impossible to get out. The invisible menus disappear and don't want to reappear and seem to be in a different place all the time. It is difficult to manuver. And right click menu is not much help either. Worst of all it came with no instruction book. It came with a small sheet of paper with about four cheats to go by. What a change from our other computers at home and work. There should be more visible and less hidden. Even minimizing a program to go back to another is not a simple task. It is crazy. Finding apps and even manuvering the screen was a little bit of a challenge. The screen resolution is great though. I really wish I had bought a Windows 7 computer. Sometimes change is not a good thing.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 4 for Gateway 17.3" NE71B06u Laptop PC with AMD E1-1200 Processor and Windows 8

I love it

11/25/2012
By ,
MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I only spent 398 so I was not expecting the best but it is awesome. Windows 7 gives it a very modern look. My pictures are in one of the squares and it scrolls. I can hit the window sign button and it takes me back to the start page in case I get lost. I can watch a movie on netflex and be online at the same time. You will have to buy the word package. The movie I watched was very clear and large. I have all my favorites in each little square and it is always up to date with the latest news and weather. I have had it for one week and I am very pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+79points
Review 5 for Gateway 17.3" NE71B06u Laptop PC with AMD E1-1200 Processor and Windows 8

Best laptop for the price!!!

02/23/2013
By ,
Lumberton, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I tried two other laptops in the last 3 weeks both were terrible. I gave it one last shot with this one because my last computer was a gateway and it lasted 5 years and is still going strong but, I wanted to get something newer. Processor is lightning fast. I just upgraded internet to time warner ultimate which gives up to 50mbs download speed and this laptop is able to break 28mbs even connected wireless. Our desktop doesn't go that fast and it is direct connected. Everything is fast and windows 8 wasn't impressive on the other two computers but, on this one I love it. Definitely buy this as I have never seen this good of a computer for under $400 and you will not find a better deal!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+16points
Review 6 for Gateway 17.3" NE71B06u Laptop PC with AMD E1-1200 Processor and Windows 8

Annoying keyboard

03/03/2013
By ,
SoCal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The big screen and 500GB memory are great, and it seems to work well now.
However, the first day or so I was using it, it crashed several times (message was something about "SYSTEM_EXTENSION_" possibly because of Firefox?). It hasn't crashed since, though.
One drawback is the Windows 8 software. First of all, it's very different from XP, Vista, or Windows 7. The other problem is that Windows 8 is really meant for a touchscreen, and this computer does not have that. For anyone who finds the new system hard to master, I strongly suggest downloading classicshell (http://www.classicshell.net/), which you can tweak to make Windows 8 like XP or Windows 7.
What annoys me is the keyboard: to use the f1-f12 function keys, you have to press the Fn key, otherwise they're mapped to special functions like the Gateway manual, or switching display output to an external monitor, or disabling the computer’s communication devices, things I never need. And you need to press Fn for the "home" and "end" key (they are repurposed to left and right arrows). In the height of uselessness, the keyboard also has dedicated keys for the $ and € symbols.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 7 for Gateway 17.3" NE71B06u Laptop PC with AMD E1-1200 Processor and Windows 8

Nice Bright 17" Lcd

11/23/2012
By ,
EAST COAST
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Laptop is perfect especially the bright lcd screen. I bought this 2 weeks ago not one problem with it! everything works great. I usually do not write feedbacks on purchases I make but after reading the reviews I felt I should. The large screen and the large keyboard function fantastic. I have watched a few dvd movies and the picture was very sharp and vibrant looking this is the best laptop I have ever owned and believe me the price is hard to beat for all it offers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+61points
Review 8 for Gateway 17.3" NE71B06u Laptop PC with AMD E1-1200 Processor and Windows 8

Buy it.!!!

12/06/2012
By ,
Arlington VA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great laptop for the price of $398.00, 17".3 the processor is really quick. I like windows 8 and it will take some time to get used to after coming from windows xp. Love the web cam great pictures and video. I've had a Gateway before and it lasted 8 years. Great product and Great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+42points
Review 9 for Gateway 17.3" NE71B06u Laptop PC with AMD E1-1200 Processor and Windows 8

Nice Computer

02/05/2013
By ,
home
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My somewhat trusty Toshiba finally crashed and had to be replaced after 5 years. I purchased a very nice acer from Walmart last year for my wife but they didn't have any Acers for around $400 so I opted for this computer. I finally have all my files and pictures transferred and life is good. The computer is better than expected and I haven't had any of the problems with the mouse as others who rated this item 1 star have indicated. Also, windows 8 is just great after you get accustomed to it. Windows 8 and the computer both work much faster than my previous system. I'm old and not very tech savvy so if I can get the hang of 8 anybody can. Love it! Knock on wood.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 10 for Gateway 17.3" NE71B06u Laptop PC with AMD E1-1200 Processor and Windows 8
12/23/2012
By ,
Fort Mohave, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second of this laptop that I've bought as gifts in the past month. My grandson is still raving about this laptop. He's a freshman in high school. I'm counting on this laptop getting him through college.
i highly recommend and so does he.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 11 for Gateway 17.3" NE71B06u Laptop PC with AMD E1-1200 Processor and Windows 8

DO NOT BUY!

02/28/2013
By ,
Cumberland,KY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I just bought this computer about 4 days ago, I loved it at first... I thought for sure that I had gotten my moneys worth and chose a great computer, until today when it started saying that windows has encountered a problem and needs to restart. I can't remember exactly what it said the error name was but it was something like: SYSTEM_EXTENSION_..... I have tried doing updates on it and restoring it, nothing works. It seems to be working fine one second and then the next second it is doing the error thing. It has done it at least 6 times in just this one day, needless to say, I am returning it ASAP and getting myself a real computer, a TOSHIBA!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
topeka,ks
Similar Error
Posted 08/25/2013
Mine shuts down and restarts without warning then it gives me a Blue screen error saying DPC WATCH DOG ERROR. I'm going to try updating drivers or firmware and hope it doesn't do it again because if it does i have no other option then to return it.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Gateway 17.3" NE71B06u Laptop PC with AMD E1-1200 Processor and Windows 8
02/02/2013
By ,
SW Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the price, this computer meets my expectations and beyond!! Received it from my husband for Christmas. I LOVE the large screen and comfortable keyboard. Had a few minor issues when first started using it. Like the wifi turning itself off at random. But I went in and manually ran the updates and PRESTO, problem solved!! Love, love, love it!! Could not have chosen better myself. I definitely recommend this computer!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 13 for Gateway 17.3" NE71B06u Laptop PC with AMD E1-1200 Processor and Windows 8
03/02/2013
By ,
Johnston, R.I.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this laptop on 3/1/2013. One thing, it wouldn't accept my phone connection. I have a AT&T USB Connect Momentum 4G. I also own a Gateway NV59C Windows 7 and that computer accepted the phone system right away. So in order to connect this computer , I have to use Wi Fi through my Windows phone, internet sharing. While putting the programs in, the computer started freezing. The computer had so many re-starts and then it frozed completely. I took it back to Walmart and got a refund. I have 2 Gateways, one is Windows Vista and the other is Windows 7. No problem with either computers. My girlfriend's daughter has the Windows Vista and that computer is 5 years old and it is staring to show its wear. My Windows 7 works great but there is a slight scratch inside the lense of the screen and one key doesn't work. I use a separate keyboard which is a Logitech. I was looking for new laptop so I can give the Windows 7 to my girlfriend's daughter in case the Windows Vista goes. Right now, I might get another Windows 7, same make Gateway.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 14 for Gateway 17.3" NE71B06u Laptop PC with AMD E1-1200 Processor and Windows 8

Great deal

02/05/2013
By ,
Jay, ME
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really enjoy this laptop. We live off the grid and the computer runs a long time on the battery. We use it to watch movies and I loaded office 2010 in it and turbo tax and it does every thing I need.
I trust Gateway computers. We have used them for years without troubles.
I bought a Dell laptop in Sept and have had to have the motherboard and battery replaced already. I wanted to give them a try. The wifi never worked correctly and when the tech switched out the internal parts he noticed a wire to the wifi hadn't been connected at the factory.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 15 for Gateway 17.3" NE71B06u Laptop PC with AMD E1-1200 Processor and Windows 8

Gateway 17.3 " $398

12/28/2012
By ,
Roseville, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My current laptop died right before Christmas so I needed something right away that was affordable. I bought the above mostly because of the price and it was available immediately in store. I was extremely disappointed when I plugged it in and there was a constant humming. I exchanged same and so far so good BUT thank goodness for the extended return policy!!! I now have until Jan. 10th to check the new one out....
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Review 16 for Gateway 17.3" NE71B06u Laptop PC with AMD E1-1200 Processor and Windows 8

Great Features But Poor Quality

03/17/2013
By ,
New Hampshire
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is my first Gateway laptop, and I regret every minute I have to use it. I have never had a computer where I had to bang the keys so hard to get the letters to show up on the screen. It's ridiculous!
In addition, the mouse pad is so off-center that I am still trying to adjust to the keyboard letter locations. The computer also kicks me off of Internet Explorer on a regular basis.
This Gateway looks great and has good features for the price, but looks can be deceiving.
Since I purchased this Gateway, and didn't really use it much until after the 15 day Walmart return policy had expired, I am now stuck with this expensive paper weight/door stop/boat anchor.
I won't even mention the insanity of Windows 8, since Gateway can't be blamed for that abomination.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 17 for Gateway 17.3" NE71B06u Laptop PC with AMD E1-1200 Processor and Windows 8

Awesome for the price!

06/02/2013
By ,
Federal Way, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My old acer simply died on me right in the middle of the school quarter. I needed something reliable that I believe will last me for a while and that I can use for multiple tasks. This computer is amazing. Windows 8 isn't as bad as people make it seem, but my advice is read the manual. it helps A LOT! The screen is huge, clear and amazing! I would definitely recommend spending a little extra money and investing in this laptop.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 18 for Gateway 17.3" NE71B06u Laptop PC with AMD E1-1200 Processor and Windows 8

Sweet

07/25/2013
By ,
Philadelphia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A nice laptop for price. Kind of 'touchy"...large keys, plus extra keypad on side which makes it nice when calculating a lot of numbers.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 19 for Gateway 17.3" NE71B06u Laptop PC with AMD E1-1200 Processor and Windows 8

Would not have bought it

08/13/2013
By ,
US
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This laptop had constant problems and would shut itself down in the middle of what I was doing a few times daily. I wasn't expecting the best for less than $400, but you should be able to trust it to stay on. Maybe it was just a lemon, but as frustrating as it was I didn't feel it was worth finding out. I will avoid Gateway in the future; that might be rash, but my experience fostered mistrust.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 20 for Gateway 17.3" NE71B06u Laptop PC with AMD E1-1200 Processor and Windows 8

great laptop

12/15/2012
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Use for mostly E-Mail, E-bay , shopping on line. Not sure how it would be for fast and graphic gaming. But it does fine for what I need. Love the large screen.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
1-20 of 63 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next