Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Gateway Gateway DX4380G-UW308 Small Form Factor Desktop PC with AMD A6-5400K Processor, 6GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 8 (Monitor Not Included)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Gateway Gateway DX4380G-UW308 Small Form Factor Desktop PC with AMD A6-5400K Processor, 6GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 8 (Monitor Not Included)

The Gateway DX Desktop PC makes a stylish statement with its gentle curve characteristic and simple functional design. Expand your creativity with this streamlined PC that packs robust processing power and has a ton of convenience features to make connecting easy! With the DX, you can watch high-definition movies, whip up multimedia presentations, check in with your favorite social networks and more. You can do just about anything using the DX. Update your Windows 8 PC to Windows 8.1 for free through the Windows Store
Average Customer Rating:
4.322 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(90 Reviews) 70
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
55
4 stars
23
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation88%79 out of 90reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
55
4 stars
23
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Gateway DX4380G-UW308 Small Form Factor Desktop PC with AMD A6-5400K Processor, 6GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 8 (Monitor Not Included)

Excellent value for price paid.

12/25/2012
By ,
Estero, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used this as a purchase to replace my mother's aging and ailing small form e-machines basic computer. I ended up replacing the HDD 1 Terabyte drive with an SSD Kingston 120 GB Hyper X solid state drive and replaced the wired mouse and keyboard with a Desktop 5000 Microsoft wireless mouse and keyboard. With the Windows 8 and SSD drive, the boot up time is approx. 5-10 seconds and shut down time approx. 3 seconds. There is no comparison between this computer and her retired computer-kind of like comparing a Ferrari against a Yugo.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 2 for Gateway DX4380G-UW308 Small Form Factor Desktop PC with AMD A6-5400K Processor, 6GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 8 (Monitor Not Included)
12/22/2012
By ,
Rhinelander, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always liked Gateway Computers, so I ordered this one. It was very easy to set up. Going from Windows XP to Windows 8 is taking a little time to get used to, but I'm enjoying it. I kept my old 20"monitor, so I don't have the touch screen stuff, which is fine, I'm used to using the mouse. The computer is very fast and so quiet to run. I'm pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Review 3 for Gateway DX4380G-UW308 Small Form Factor Desktop PC with AMD A6-5400K Processor, 6GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 8 (Monitor Not Included)

Great Mid-Level PC

11/05/2012
By ,
Waynesboro, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the money this PC is hard to pass over. It's a great mid-level PC for your everyday computer tasks (ie web, HD video, pictures, and games). The integrated AMD graphics do a really good job.
This computer is very responsive and snappy and comes with Windows 8. If you do a lot of video encoding or converting the AMD A6 isn't the processor for you which isn't a fault of the A6, it just wasn't intended for that purpose.
Definitely a great PC overall.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+54points
Review 4 for Gateway DX4380G-UW308 Small Form Factor Desktop PC with AMD A6-5400K Processor, 6GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 8 (Monitor Not Included)

A lot of PC for the price; caution on Windows8

01/26/2013
By ,
Everett, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This DX Gateway is a lot of PC power for the price. Keep in mind that is a full size desktop, unlike the slimmer but less powerful SX line. Any complaints I have are with Windows8 - be sure you read about this operating system; the user interface is a lot different. I was able to get up and running quickly, but find the "Start" page to be clunky to use and wish Microsoft had stayed with the standard desk top and start button. Another caution: the built-in MS email doesn't accommodate email services using a POP3 protocol such as Comcast/Xfinity; but if you are using hot mail, yahoo, etc., you'll be fine. If you buy MS Office and use its Outlook for email instead, you can use POP3 but can not convert your old email files from Outlook Express mail in Vista/XP to Outlook or the new Windows email software. Procedure on MS help pages doesn't work as written. This is classic MS arrogance. Even their replies to consumer questions smack of arrogance.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 5 for Gateway DX4380G-UW308 Small Form Factor Desktop PC with AMD A6-5400K Processor, 6GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 8 (Monitor Not Included)
02/09/2013
By ,
St. Paul MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Value, Easy setup, Not much bloatware, Quiet. I am running 2 monitors. Windows 8 is easy just remember all of the screen corners have associated actions. Right click the bottom left for familiar Windows 7 computer management
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 6 for Gateway DX4380G-UW308 Small Form Factor Desktop PC with AMD A6-5400K Processor, 6GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 8 (Monitor Not Included)

Great for WoW

03/03/2013
By ,
mableton, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i purchased this computer 80% for World of warcraft then for everyday use, i have an iMac also and i can say its probably almost as fast. Playing WoW i get up to 40fps on high settings. Love this computer. I love windows 8, its amazing. This computer is a great buy for i the price i bought it wile it was only 400 though. The warranty also comes with a 1year virus protector so buy it. Computer is silent and efficient. I would definitely recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 7 for Gateway DX4380G-UW308 Small Form Factor Desktop PC with AMD A6-5400K Processor, 6GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 8 (Monitor Not Included)

LOVE IT!

02/09/2013
By ,
MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this computer for playing The Sims 3. It runs great! You are def. getting a bang for your buck with this one!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 8 for Gateway DX4380G-UW308 Small Form Factor Desktop PC with AMD A6-5400K Processor, 6GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 8 (Monitor Not Included)

Good computer for the money

11/15/2012
By ,
Stevieo2012
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great computer for what I need. I ran Dirt 3 on it which did stress it out a bit but the game still played flawlessly. Other than that it's all good. Happy I purchased it and would recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Review 9 for Gateway DX4380G-UW308 Small Form Factor Desktop PC with AMD A6-5400K Processor, 6GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 8 (Monitor Not Included)

Fast, Quiet, Efficient

01/31/2013
By ,
Smithfield, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had a Gateway before and needed another. The price is very good for the specs, it meets my expectations, and actually cost less than the one we purchased four years ago. Windows 8 takes a bit to get used to, but we like it and can navigate the apps and desktop easily.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 10 for Gateway DX4380G-UW308 Small Form Factor Desktop PC with AMD A6-5400K Processor, 6GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 8 (Monitor Not Included)

Just what I needed.

03/14/2013
By ,
Dallas, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a computer that had a large memory for my music and photos but also not hard to figure out to use. I have this computer for a week and a half now, I am still learning it. It did not take long to assemble as the instructions were simple and to the point. With all the Windows 8 apps available, it is a ongoing thing to find out which ones are useful. But the apps for search engines I ignored, as they made it difficult to go from page to page when you click on a link on a email. I solve that by downloading mozilla firefox for yahoo and Chrome for google and left Internet Explorer for Bing and MSN. When I first turn it on, it went to a screen where I was able to register the computer with Gateway. This I did not expect at all. This computer also solved a problem with my old computer and my printer as I was not able to print anything from my computer. I did not know which device was the culprit for not able to print(It was able to print by itself) from my old computer. As I connected the printer to my new Gateway, I had no trouble.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Gateway DX4380G-UW308 Small Form Factor Desktop PC with AMD A6-5400K Processor, 6GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 8 (Monitor Not Included)

Lots Of Bang For The Buck!

03/18/2013
By ,
Princeton IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was looking at another brand of desktop computer at Wal-Mart with similar specs but the price was over $100 more for fewer features. Compared them and this Gateway just had more. I figured the worse that could happen is I would have to return it if I didn't like it.
Works like a charm, love that it has Wi-Fi and Bluetooth, the fastload for adding a second hard drive is pretty darn neat
Plenty of processor speed and ram for most needs. USB 2 and 3 ports are nice, more available than most other brand computers.
Windows 8 was easy to get setup and running right from the start and is a nice enhancement for the machine. Gateway added some features to Windows 8 that makes shutting down/restarting so much easier and faster. Computer took about 10 minutes to hook everything up, about 15 minutes or less to load and go thru setup. Up and running. Wi-Fi found and connected to my home network and internet immediately and has strong signal strength; 20+ feet from wireless router and one wall between.
Very little "bloat ware" and it was all easy and fast to remove. Every bit of my old software and programs setup and run; either from disks or just went to sites on line and installed drivers.
Wireless printer that was on Windows 7 installed quickly and works perfectly just by going to website and installing latest drivers from there.
I would say that within an hour of opening the box, the computer was running with everything, a little tweaking for personal tastes and habits and it's running great.
Down side, I don't care much for wired keyboard and mouse and this is what comes with computer, so hooked up wireless keyboard and mouse I already had. No problems; plug & play
If you already have a good monitor or don't mind buying one separately, this is a good, very good deal on a desktop computer.
For me, it was a pretty good deal, I'm one who will return something pretty quickly if I don't like it or something about it, or at the first hint of problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 12 for Gateway DX4380G-UW308 Small Form Factor Desktop PC with AMD A6-5400K Processor, 6GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 8 (Monitor Not Included)

Average

12/24/2012
By ,
St. Louis, MO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Came from an inexpensive, older "E-Machine", so, wasn't used to much. This computer seems fast, and so I am wondering if the problem isn't Windows 8 instead of the PC. All I know is, wish it had W.7 instead. Otherwise, computer is fast. Please note, it is called "small form" in the description, but it is indeed FULL SIZE. I was disappointed simply because space it at a premium in my "PC" area. Lots of extras. Couldn't get the HDMI to my tv/monitor to work properly, so using the vga plug. Quality seems fine with the VGA, just disappointed again. Hence, the "average" rating. My bet is the problems are in Windows 8.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 13 for Gateway DX4380G-UW308 Small Form Factor Desktop PC with AMD A6-5400K Processor, 6GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 8 (Monitor Not Included)

So disappointed!

02/27/2013
By ,
Virginia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I biught this computer a few days ago and i was so excited to get it home and start it up. Set up was very simple. The computer came on very quickly, graphics were great but that is where the good stuff ends. The very first apps i tried to use said that they needed updating from the Store before i could use them, but guess what the store would not load. When I click on the Store app it tells me there is no internet connection even tho I was browsing the web at the same time (so I know the internet was working). Because the Store did not work I was unable to use any apps because they all needed to be updated before use and I, of course, could not download any new apps. Besides the trouble with the Windows 8 apps this computer was SO slow, it was unreal slow, my 3 year old laptop with 1/3 the memory of this computer is faster. Needless to say I am back on my laptop writing this review (because I could not even get the walmart web page to connect without locking up on the Gateway) and the Gateway is back in the box to be returned tomorrow. I have seen lots of good reviews for this product so maybe I just got one that is defective but I think I will stick the HP's I know and love from now on.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 14 for Gateway DX4380G-UW308 Small Form Factor Desktop PC with AMD A6-5400K Processor, 6GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 8 (Monitor Not Included)

Best bang for your Buck.

06/17/2013
By ,
Plano, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This computer is my first PC purchase in over 13 years. The reason for the upgrade is a need for speed and anything you can buy nowadays is going to be significantly faster than what I have been using. It did not take me long to realize that unless you're a gamer or interested in the most current showroom models, PCs are cheap. I'm use to building my own computers but at today's prices its cheaper to buy than to build. With a budget of $500, two things were certain. I wanted a PC with extra room, inside the case, for any future expansion and be able to integrate it with my home media center. The features I wanted built-in: Window 8 OS, 6GB to 8GB Memory (expandable), 1TB Hard Drive, High-Definition graphics with a HDMI or DVI port, Media Card Reader, 3.0 USB Ports, WiFi Certified, and Bluetooth.
After shopping around, the majority of PCs in my price range either came with an AMD A4 or Intel i3 processor and included many of the features I wanted but not all. The PCs with faster processors (AMD A6 and AMD A8) in my price range came with much less features. Trying to find a PC with USB 3.0, Wifi, and Bluetooth at a reasonable price was a challenge. So, you can imagine my delight when I found this (discontinued) Gateway DX4380G-UW308 still being sold online at Walmart. Like for like, it easily saved me over $200. The best part about this PC is the set-up. Unpack it, attach an HDMI cable to your 55" LCD TV, turn it on, and connect it to your wireless network from anywhere in your house. By the way, the 3.6GHz AMD Dual Core A6-5400K Trinity (3.8 Turbo) Processor in the PC is on Amazon's Top 25 Best Sellers in Computer CPU Processors. Excellent PC with many convenient features at a great price. Absolutely, the best bang for your buck.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 15 for Gateway DX4380G-UW308 Small Form Factor Desktop PC with AMD A6-5400K Processor, 6GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 8 (Monitor Not Included)
01/31/2013
By ,
HOUSTON
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
personally I don't consider this a small size pc, as the sx series;very good every day use starter w8 pc .easy to get on board with windows 8. I have been using w7 and xp. good price point online, tho I wish local stores would accept online prices.. I ordered online after seeing pc in store and picked up very quickly same day as ordered...great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 16 for Gateway DX4380G-UW308 Small Form Factor Desktop PC with AMD A6-5400K Processor, 6GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 8 (Monitor Not Included)

great value for price

04/26/2013
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Watching streaming videos with this computer makes me feel like a kid seeing color TV for the first time...no choppiness, no stuttering, no blurry fight scenes.............
The processer is about twice the speed of the lowest end computers they sell at Wal-Mart, and therefore well worth the extra $100.
Windows 8 takes some getting used to, but the main thing to know is that you can click on "desktop" and things go back to normal. If you get back to their new "Start Screen", just mouse over to the bottom left of your screen and a desktop thumbnail pops up...click on it to return to the desktop.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 17 for Gateway DX4380G-UW308 Small Form Factor Desktop PC with AMD A6-5400K Processor, 6GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 8 (Monitor Not Included)

Good Deal

12/30/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Learning windows 8 is no fun but I'm getting used to it now my wife hates it. This computer is super fast for me but I'm not a gamer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 18 for Gateway DX4380G-UW308 Small Form Factor Desktop PC with AMD A6-5400K Processor, 6GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 8 (Monitor Not Included)

Walmart Gateway unbeatable deal

02/15/2013
By ,
NW Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This computer rocks, setup is simple and flawless, works as expected and the price/value ratio was like 1 to 10.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 19 for Gateway DX4380G-UW308 Small Form Factor Desktop PC with AMD A6-5400K Processor, 6GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 8 (Monitor Not Included)
12/30/2012
By ,
wilmington, de
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
plugged it in, transferred, updated -- all going smoothly -- finding Windows 8 a bit of a challenge but I'll adapt
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 20 for Gateway DX4380G-UW308 Small Form Factor Desktop PC with AMD A6-5400K Processor, 6GB Memory, 1TB Hard Drive and Windows 8 (Monitor Not Included)

Great Computer for a Great Price

11/17/2013
By ,
Bloomsburg, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this computer in January of 2013. I mainly bought this for gaming, and, for the price, I didn't find a better deal. It runs older games such as Portal, Just Cause, and the Splinter Cell series without a problem. It can run some newer games like Just Cause 2 and Skyrim with some lag. Really, the one thing I would upgrade would be the graphics card.
Hope you found this helpful
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Compatibility
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
1-20 of 71 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next