Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Gateway Gateway River Black 10.1" LT4010u Netbook PC with Intel Atom N2600 Processor and Windows 7 Starter

Gateway Gateway River Black 10.1" LT4010u Netbook PC with Intel Atom N2600 Processor and Windows 7 Starter

You're spontaneous, social. Your on-the-go life needs an ultra mobile PC: The Gateway Intel Atom N2600 Netbook, LT4010u. Get noticed with the Gateway 10.1" Netbook PC in River Black that keeps you connected to the Internet so you can surf the Web, tweet at the local coffee shop, Facebook over lunch and enjoy non-stop fun all while flaunting personal style. With a 10.1" LED-backlit display, comfortable typing keyboard and great battery life you can accomplish more everyday wherever you are.
Average Customer Rating:
4.082 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(147 Reviews) 110
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
74
4 stars
41
3 stars
13
2 stars
8
1 star
11
Customer Recommendation85%125 out of 147reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
45 Questions | 172 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
74
4 stars
41
3 stars
13
2 stars
8
1 star
11
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Gateway River Black 10.1" LT4010u Netbook PC with Intel Atom N2600 Processor and Windows 7 Starter

Great Deal for the Money

01/02/2013
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If all you are doing is using it for the internet, its great!!!
If you want to use it as a regular Notebook and run some office programs, or watch DVD's you might want to add another Gig of RAM to it for it to perform adequately. This is not a problem, I bought a 2 GB ram upgrade from Kingston for $13.99 and added a 4GB SD card to use as Ready Boost. This improved performance significantly.
The only complaint I had was the short battery life it has before requiring recharging. This is not a problem either since you can upgrade from the 3 cell battery to a 6 cell battery at the Gateway online store for $49.99.
Kingston also offers some flash drive upgrade options for this machine that will greatly improve performance and use less power than the standard HDD.
I liked this machine so much that I bought a second for my family. Overall, I don't think you can go wrong with this machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+98points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Gateway River Black 10.1" LT4010u Netbook PC with Intel Atom N2600 Processor and Windows 7 Starter

Much faster than expected.

01/29/2013
By ,
Rockton, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just needed something to check several e-mail accounts. So i was looking for a 10" screen and low cost. I did not need speed. When i got it i was not expecting much for speed as i have had 2 10" ones in the past that were slow like molasses. When I fired it up i was shocked at just how zippy this actually is. I never thought in a million years that anything with 1Gb ram could be so zippy. Wireless signal was very good for how far away i was from the router compared to other devices i have. I liked it so much that i wanted to see just how far i could push the envelope and even get more from it, not that it needed it. I threw a 2GB stick in it and a SSD SATA hard drive.
Slapped Win7 32Bit Pro on it. Boots in under 5 seconds ready to go. I then threw Win8 32bit on it. I just love this little thing with either OS on it. For anyone looking for a low cost unit dont let the cost and 1GB ram scare you off. I think you will be pleasantly surprised at this.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Gateway River Black 10.1" LT4010u Netbook PC with Intel Atom N2600 Processor and Windows 7 Starter

Nice second portable PC

01/12/2013
By ,
Near Philadelphia PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a nice second portable unit for travel or home use. This will not take the place of a regular laptop, but is great for someone that just wants to do email, home work, school. You can add an external USB CD drive. Would have given it 5 stars and excilent rating if Gatway would have provided directions for getting to the memory bank so you can install the 2GB MEMORY. If you are going to use it for school or working on papers at home I would suggest purchasing the unlock key for MS Office home and student. The upgrade to the full version of windows7 (the next one up) if you want to play with photos or have a better OS abd suport for memory is a nice idea. Windows starter is ok for email and social networking. Gatway keeps changing their mind on Windows starter supporting 2GB memory. Documents indicates it does, but support from Gatway said you need to upgrade OS.
Other than that this is a nice little unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Gateway River Black 10.1" LT4010u Netbook PC with Intel Atom N2600 Processor and Windows 7 Starter

Better than an iPad

12/26/2012
By ,
Central Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THIS is actually more powerful than an iPad which costs $700. This notebook holds 320 gb space with 1 gb memory. a $700 iPad holds 64 gb, also with 1 GB ram memory. The notebook IS a computer so it does a of a lot more than an iPad. I got mine for $220 (on sale) at Wal-mart and it's very good! and is JUST AS PORTABLE. I really like this for portable work, studying, and writing papers and the keyboard is attached :-)
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+163points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Gateway River Black 10.1" LT4010u Netbook PC with Intel Atom N2600 Processor and Windows 7 Starter

Excellent Value in a Nice Little Netbook

01/23/2013
By ,
MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a very compact computer to easily carry around with me. I didn't need a powerhouse as I have a desktop and a very powerful Asus laptop for when I need a workhorse.
I wanted something that I could use for email, to surf the net, save photos on and create documents. I also wanted something light and small to keep a version of Bible Explorer on, so I could keep my library or Christian books at my fingertips.
I looked at many, many, netbooks and found that for the price you couldn't do much better than this little Gateway LT 4010u. Even with its little Intel Atom Intel Atom N2600 processor & just 1GB of RAM I find it to be plenty quick (for comparison my Asus has an Intel Core i7 processor & 8GBs of RAM). I should mention for those who want more RAM that the 4010u is expandable to 2GB RAM, but I wouldn't attempt to disassemble to get to the card. I also found the 320G hard drive a pleasant surprise. I'm sure the fact that the 4010u comes with just the (non-power sapping) Windows 7 Starter (of which I'm not a huge fan, but it is fine for a netbook) part of the reason I don't find this little netbook to be slow at all.
I find the 10.1" display excellent, especially for a netbook at this price point, and the fact that it comes equipped with niceties such as 3 2.0 USB ports, a webcam, and a 6-in-1 memory card reader all pluses. The 3-cell lithium-ion battery is said to provide up to 4 hours of battery life, however you can purchase a 6 cell (which should provide about 8 hours per charge) from Gateway Accessories for just $49.99 plus tax & shipping.
In short, for the money, this is a very nice little value-packed netbook and I am very pleased with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Gateway River Black 10.1" LT4010u Netbook PC with Intel Atom N2600 Processor and Windows 7 Starter

This little pc is a workhorse

01/05/2013
By ,
pdthing
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I tried out everything from the Surface RT to a Galaxy Not 10.0. The Galaxy Note is just a glorified smart phone. The Surface wasn't compatible with any other Windows based system. In my opinion, don't waste your money on anything but a Windows based laptop or netbook or ultrabook. If you want a little laptop, get this Gateway. LOVE IT ... and you will too.
(I bought an extra 32 gig usb to store large files. I spent $13.00 when it was on sale at Best Buy.)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Gateway River Black 10.1" LT4010u Netbook PC with Intel Atom N2600 Processor and Windows 7 Starter

Perfect for quality, economy and function.

01/13/2013
By ,
Porter, Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After reading the other reviews i would agree the performance suffers a little but i will try the memory upgrade as some have suggested. Thats proven to be tha answer to poor performance i've had on other computers. Other than that, its a nice little laptop and is a great alternative to a tablet PC. I needed the traditional keyboard and this one is nice. The keys are large enough for my'fat fingers' and the function keys are intuitive. All the necessary functions like volume, screen brightness and wireless access are clearly labled and work prpperly. They could have relocated the 'Pg Up' _ 'Pg Dn' keys away from the directional arrow keys but nothings perfect. This little laptop feels solid and looks nice and clean. I needed a travel notebook to access the internet for personal business and research as well as to store business files and for the 228 dollars spent at Wamart, this turned out to be the best solution. I coupled mine with an AT&T wireless hotspot. The setup was simple and effortless and works flawlessly. I dont like touchpads so I also got a wireless, usb "mini mouse". If you really like the Touch Screen style of navagation, this is not your alternative. Otherwise...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Gateway River Black 10.1" LT4010u Netbook PC with Intel Atom N2600 Processor and Windows 7 Starter

Disappointing to say the least!

01/30/2013
By ,
Tulsa, OK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I did quite a bit of research to decide on a bare boned netbook to simply use for some work tasks. I finally chose this one with confidence because most of the reviews I read online for this netbook were great. I was so excited since I planned to upgrade to Windows 7 premium and to 2GB of RAM. I got the netbook home and opened it right away.
The first thing I noticed was that the battery compartment was warped and it was difficult to get the battery on. Next, I turned on the power and instead of booting up, it said "No bootable device" and would not boot up.
Got on chat with Gateway and they said I could mail in for repair. Are you kidding me? So then I asked if I could just return to Wal Mart and they said that was fine. :(
I cannot tell you how disappointing it is, but their customer service was good at least. I will go to the store and exchange and I will try out the new one while I am still in the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Gateway River Black 10.1" LT4010u Netbook PC with Intel Atom N2600 Processor and Windows 7 Starter

perfect vacation companion

01/12/2013
By ,
Chicago, IL.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Even though a vacation is for fun sometimes you still need to have access to your non-vacation everyday life. This netbook is light weight & easy to use but acts like a heavy weight carrying all the information & connections you could need on the spur of the moment. I wanted something that could work along with my everyday & also stand on its own. This answers all my demands, light & easy to use, an excellent value for the price, adaptable & useable along with my current equipment & no hassles when I'm on the go.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Gateway River Black 10.1" LT4010u Netbook PC with Intel Atom N2600 Processor and Windows 7 Starter
01/01/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this for our 12 y/o son for Christmas. He's only had it for a week but so far he loves it. It works as good as our regular laptop but the size is great. It would be great for travel. The price was good. So far we are very pleased with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Gateway River Black 10.1" LT4010u Netbook PC with Intel Atom N2600 Processor and Windows 7 Starter

exactly what I was looking for

01/29/2013
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looked around for quite awhile for a small and inexpensive laptop. I'm too cheap to buy an Ipad. Great little PC for checking e-mail, social networking and watching missed TV shows on Hulu. Was slow at first so I removed allot of the "bloat". Seriously, why do they feel the need to install SQL 2005? Be careful if you install 2 mg of ram. Best left to the professionals with great eyesight, the keys easily break. Love this little netbook.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Gateway River Black 10.1" LT4010u Netbook PC with Intel Atom N2600 Processor and Windows 7 Starter
12/31/2012
By ,
Phoenix AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to take along where ever you go.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Gateway River Black 10.1" LT4010u Netbook PC with Intel Atom N2600 Processor and Windows 7 Starter

very good

01/01/2013
By ,
brooklyn ny
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bough this item for my niece and love it,it is very light and portable and perfect for her because it fit on her school bag..
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Gateway River Black 10.1" LT4010u Netbook PC with Intel Atom N2600 Processor and Windows 7 Starter

Glitches when plays MP3s

12/09/2013
By ,
LA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this computer to house my mp3s and be an mp3 player attached to my stereo. However 50% of the time songs that play have little glitches. It's TERRIBLE. I transfer the files to my other computer and it plays no problem. It's the sound card. Sorry but it's 2013, a computer should be able to play a simple audio file without troubles. I cannot use this computer for what I bought it for. VERY disappointing. You get what you pay for.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Gateway River Black 10.1" LT4010u Netbook PC with Intel Atom N2600 Processor and Windows 7 Starter

pleasantly surprised

02/02/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At first I thought this was too slow. After removing alot of the extras that were preloaded, I am now pleasantly surprised. I am able to link this netbook to my tablet hotspot. So much nicer to have the regular internet anywhere I go and be able to play MSN games. No more apps to crash. The tablet I was going to get cost $500 or more. For $178, I know I made the right purchase. I am able to do my wireless eprints and having the USB, HDMI is a huge plus. Battery life is very good.
I am only using the netbook for entertainment. I have not tried or needed Excel, Word or any other Windows 7 programs. I use a regular desktop or Notebook for that.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Gateway River Black 10.1" LT4010u Netbook PC with Intel Atom N2600 Processor and Windows 7 Starter

Super Slow

02/21/2013
By ,
MA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I am just beyond annoyed with this netbook. It is my first ever computer, and I just hate it. I am probably the most patient person I know, and I just cannot stand how. slow. this. computer. is. It's just too slow for me. I find myself getting frustrated using it. I am bringing it back to the store and spending $50 more to get a $300 computer, that hopefully won't dissappoint me so much. Also, another thing that really annoys me is the fact that you can't change the desktop background... it is one of the "limitations" of Windows 7 Starter. It's not that HUGE of a deal, but it's something that you look at everyday... so seeing the stupid windows logo is just annoying. Good bye, computer!! The reason I am giving it 3 stars, is because it is a pretty computer... I love the "river" design on the front, it was easy to set up and everything.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Gateway River Black 10.1" LT4010u Netbook PC with Intel Atom N2600 Processor and Windows 7 Starter

Product did not work

02/22/2013
By ,
Hudson, WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was looking for an inexpensive small laptop to do mostly word processing and basic internet access- check and send email, bill pay, basic google/information searches. I thought this would be a good fit. I had read the reviews about the computer being slow, but figure for what I needed it for, it wouldn't matter. I was wrong. This computer was SO slow it didn't even work. You could type a few things and then it would stop, the cursor would circle and then I would get program not responding. The same thing happened when ever I tried to go online. I could pull up a web page, type in what I was looking for or the site, and then once in the site, I would get the circling cursor and "program not responding" I tried removing a lot of unneeded programs, etc. but nothing helped. Ended up returning the computer after a week. Do not recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Gateway River Black 10.1" LT4010u Netbook PC with Intel Atom N2600 Processor and Windows 7 Starter
01/02/2013
By ,
ma.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am very unhappy with this item. I wasn't expecting it to be top of the line for the price (I know you get what you pay for) however I was expecting with a name like Gateway for it to be decent. It is beyond S L O W...and decides to shut down for no apparent reason. I wanted something small and portable (my regular laptop is heavy) it does fit that bill however you can't depend on it to stay up and running (that is if you have the time to wait for it to get going) all in all NOT HAPPY !!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Gateway River Black 10.1" LT4010u Netbook PC with Intel Atom N2600 Processor and Windows 7 Starter

Screen developed blue tint

01/02/2013
By ,
Ottawa, KS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Thinking this would be a great gift for my stepson for Christmas, it has been a real let down. He's 12 and we got it so he could do homework, facebook, download music etc. After less than one week the screen has developed a blue tint. Can still see everything, just in blue now. And of course me being the typical male, threw away the receipt. We're going to attempt taking it back to Walmart anyway for an exchange, but not sure if they will accept it. Other than that it is powerful enough for what he needs.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Gateway River Black 10.1" LT4010u Netbook PC with Intel Atom N2600 Processor and Windows 7 Starter

This netbook is so much better than a Kindle Fire

02/06/2013
By ,
Toledo, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so glad I purchased this Gateway netbook. After reading some of the other reviews I expected this to be a rather slow computer, but I was almost shocked at how quick this is with the dual core processor. I do recommend an upgrade to 2gb ram -- paid a total of $35.00 for the memory and the installation to my local computer shop.
Also, I purchased a Sound Logic clip on netbook speaker from Walmart.com and the sound is even better than mentioned in its reviews.
I'm waiting on a 6 cell battery from Gateway. This will enable 8 hours use before charge rather than the 4 hours use with included 3 cell battery.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 111 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next