Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for StarTech StarTech HDMI to VGA Adapter Converter for Desktop PC/Laptop/Ultrabook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

StarTech StarTech HDMI to VGA Adapter Converter for Desktop PC/Laptop/Ultrabook

The HDMI to VGA Adapter/Converter actively converts an HDMI video source from your laptop, ultrabook or desktop computer onto a VGA HD15 projector or display. With no need for an external power source, and support for resolutions up to 1080p (1920 x 1080), this active HDMI to VGA HD15 adapter offers a compact and portable solution.
Average Customer Rating:
3.2 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
4
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation60%6 out of 10reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
4
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for StarTech HDMI to VGA Adapter Converter for Desktop PC/Laptop/Ultrabook

Might work for someone else

12/10/2012
By ,
Arlington TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was excited to find this adaptor as I need to connect an Apple MacBook Pro to a 3M MP160 pocket projector, and I thought the price was reasonable. It was shipped promptly and arrived in good condition. However, when I tried to connect it to the VGA connection of the 3M projector, the small screws that hold the connection together wouldn't seat properly. Without that, it won't maintain a good connection, and is inoperable. I had to return the item to WalMart for credit and I will try to find another solution to my problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 2 for StarTech HDMI to VGA Adapter Converter for Desktop PC/Laptop/Ultrabook

Could have saved $500 if I'd bought this first...

02/12/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This adapter works great (even though the Geek Squad said no such thing could work)!!! I present training sessions in companies that may not have an HDMI connection but my ultrabook only has an HDMI video output.
I bought a projector for a class after the GS said nothing like this existed nor would it work. I ordered the adapter and received it a week later. I've used it many times since and it works for both projectors and TV (as a second monitor or presentation screen).
If you own have a laptop with no VGA output, this adapter is a must!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 3 for StarTech HDMI to VGA Adapter Converter for Desktop PC/Laptop/Ultrabook

Good for dual monitor setups

11/06/2012
By ,
Orangevale, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this adapter specifically to match a Starview KVM switch recently purchased. Getting the switch installed wasn't the issue, but I did note that once I turned everything on and tried seeing if it worked with my dual monitor setup, it took a little while to 'wake up'. It wasn't 'instantaneously' read by my 2 monitors, but after a cold re-boot everything has worked fine. I'm glad I got this when I did. And I'm glad I stuck with my choice of matching the adapter to (the maker of) my KVM switch. Sometimes mis-matching components don't work with each other, if at all. I learned this a long time ago.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 4 for StarTech HDMI to VGA Adapter Converter for Desktop PC/Laptop/Ultrabook
01/06/2013
By ,
Fayetteville, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this adapter hoping to connect my vga(analog) laptop to my hdtv(digital) and nothing ever appeared on my television screen at all and yes i did have all the right cable connections but it just doesn't work. So I im giving up on trying to connect the two. This was the 3rd cable i bought and had to return.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-3points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Shelton, WA
Wrong Way!
Posted 05/24/2013
The problem that you're having is that you bought the wrong kind of connector. You bought an HDMI-to-VGA; you should have bought a VGA-to-HDMI. Both kinds are sold by Walmart.
That's also why your review got such a low "helpful" rating.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for StarTech HDMI to VGA Adapter Converter for Desktop PC/Laptop/Ultrabook

Great product, AWESOME speed on ship to store

01/16/2013
By ,
Lincoln, NE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used it several times and for a hard to find device it is a good size, and works very well.
The Site-to-Store delivery estimate needs some work. I was supposed to get it Tuesday and had made other plans for the Saturday before. Lowe and behold it arrived Friday and I could use it on Saturday! Yea.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 6 for StarTech HDMI to VGA Adapter Converter for Desktop PC/Laptop/Ultrabook

the adapter did not work tryed on three units.

02/14/2013
By ,
wright city mo.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
was forced to buy a roko unit so my tv would work...
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 7 for StarTech HDMI to VGA Adapter Converter for Desktop PC/Laptop/Ultrabook
02/09/2013
By ,
Madera, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It was not what they needed and return it
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 8 for StarTech HDMI to VGA Adapter Converter for Desktop PC/Laptop/Ultrabook

It works. No Issues.

12/02/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just what I needed for a decent price.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for StarTech HDMI to VGA Adapter Converter for Desktop PC/Laptop/Ultrabook
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5