Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zebco Zebco 808 Magnum Spincast Reel, 2.58:1, 25 lbs, 125 yd, 808Mag-BX

Zebco Zebco 808 Magnum Spincast Reel, 2.58:1, 25 lbs, 125 yd, 808Mag-BX

The Zebco Spincast Reel is an excellent companion to help you reel in the big fish. Featuring pre-spooled 25 lb line, this magnum reel in the 125 yd, 808Mag-BX model offers an auto bait alert function, which makes a clicking noise so you will know when to reel in your big catch. Built for durability, the Zebco Spincast Reel offers a tough ABS body, all-metal gears and a stainless-steel front cover. A built-in hook keeper in the Zebco 808 Reel 2.58:1, 25 lbs, gives you a convenient place to store lures when you are done for the day. This reel also offers a changeable right- or left-hand retrieve and a ball bearing drive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%15 out of 15reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 5 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Zebco 808 Magnum Spincast Reel, 2.58:1, 25 lbs, 125 yd, 808Mag-BX

Easy to Use, Heavy Duty Reel

12/20/2012
By ,
Lebanon, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you fish for catfish or other large species, this is about the best bang for your buck you are going to find. The reel is smooth casting and on the retrieve, with a good drag and plenty of pulling power due to the low gear ratio. A great reel for beginners or occassional fisherman. Just push the button and throw it out, day or night. As to line, I would go with a quality line like Berkley Big Game or Stren in a 15-17 lb weight. The line that comes with it is OK, but it is very stiff, heavy and will not cast that well. A great product from Zebco!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:A few times per month
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Zebco 808 Magnum Spincast Reel, 2.58:1, 25 lbs, 125 yd, 808Mag-BX

Love It!

03/21/2013
By ,
Sistersville, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second purchase of the Zebco 808. I bought the first one 2 years ago and I'm still using it. I grew up using a spincast reel, and I just love them. This one is great for saltwater fishing. I have no problem at all reeling in the big fish. Would highly reccommend!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Zebco 808 Magnum Spincast Reel, 2.58:1, 25 lbs, 125 yd, 808Mag-BX

Great reel for any fisherman

03/28/2014
By ,
Omaha
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I do a lot of river fishing for catfish. The Zebco 808 is a great baitcasting reel. It holds up to a lot of abuse. Would recommend this reel to anyone, and the price you just cant beat. Good luck on the fishing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Zebco 808 Magnum Spincast Reel, 2.58:1, 25 lbs, 125 yd, 808Mag-BX

Great reel for the money.

09/02/2013
By ,
Versailles, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Had this same model of reel many years ago. This new reel is made much better and looks better also. The all metal gears are very smooth and the line that came on the reel is very useable. Great buy for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Zebco 808 Magnum Spincast Reel, 2.58:1, 25 lbs, 125 yd, 808Mag-BX

Great reel, good price

09/17/2013
By ,
Owensboro: Ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love zebco 808 magnum reels. The reel has a very smooth retreive and good pulling power from the low gearing. It casts like an absolute dream. I would prefer the bait alert switch to be metal but its not that big of a deal. Re-spool it with 50 or 65lb powerpro braid and put it on a berkley big game rod and you've got a very nice catfishing setup. Can't beat this reel at this price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Zebco 808 Magnum Spincast Reel, 2.58:1, 25 lbs, 125 yd, 808Mag-BX

best price you can find

08/07/2013
By ,
east texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
as good as any out there
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Zebco 808 Magnum Spincast Reel, 2.58:1, 25 lbs, 125 yd, 808Mag-BX

This is a very sturdy Reel Shipped fast

01/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I haven't got to use this yet but it is all metal and by the looks of it will last a long time. It comes lined with 25 lb. test. Lord willing I will use this for Catfishing this year. If you do not have a rod for it I would use a Catfishing rod 7+ feet and Heavy action. I got this as a replacement reel and the only thing that bothers me about it is when you put the reel in it fits but part are the reel that connects to the rod is sort of arched so the center of where is attaches sort of stands off the rod but when you twist it down the ends fit just right so I do not think its a problem and Its in there pretty tight though and doesn't look like it is going anywhere
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Zebco 808 Magnum Spincast Reel, 2.58:1, 25 lbs, 125 yd, 808Mag-BX

So far, so good!

06/29/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have read the other reviews and thus far I have not had any of those issues. I have used it in Saltwater and reeled in a 30-50lb ray with no problem. The drag worked like it was supposed too. I will this reel is large and heavy, and is better suited for either a larger MH rod or a H rod.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Zebco 808 Magnum Spincast Reel, 2.58:1, 25 lbs, 125 yd, 808Mag-BX

Zebco 808 Mag Reel

03/24/2014
By ,
Wichita, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have used the regular 808 and decided to give this magnum a try. Have not caught anything substantial with it yet but I am sure it will do fine with the larger (25# and up)fish I fish for in the spring.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Zebco 808 Magnum Spincast Reel, 2.58:1, 25 lbs, 125 yd, 808Mag-BX

Boat or shore reel

10/25/2013
By ,
Gautier, Ms.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It doesn't matter if you are casting from the bank or from your boat this reel will to the job. It is smooth and powerful. This is my second one and the other is 15 years old and still working.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Zebco 808 Magnum Spincast Reel, 2.58:1, 25 lbs, 125 yd, 808Mag-BX

Awesome product and service.

09/12/2013
By ,
Mannington, WV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great fishing reel and the fast service from Walmart was exceptional. The best part was shipping was cheap and extremely fast, quicker than expected.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Zebco 808 Magnum Spincast Reel, 2.58:1, 25 lbs, 125 yd, 808Mag-BX
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5