Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Augason Farms Augason Farms Emergency Food Vegetable Stew Mix, 2 lb

Augason Farms Augason Farms Emergency Food Vegetable Stew Mix, 2 lb

Augason farm puts a focus on the great taste of its preserved products. The Augason Farms Vegetable Stew Mix, 2 lb, is crafted with a focus on health, as well as taste. The Vegetable Soup Stew does not contain MSG, and it is great for daily usage or just to have on hand. The Augason Farms Vegetable Stew Mix, 2 lb, is a nutritious blend of cabbage flakes, potato dices, chopped onions, celery slices, carrot dices, red and green peppers. All ingredients are dehydrated and mixed for use in any stew or even soup. The Augason Farms Emergency Food Stew makes 40 servings and is easy to prepare. The Augason Farms Emergency Food is packaged for long-term storage and no refrigeration is needed. This Vegetable Soup Stew is perfect for camping or even for everyday use.
Average Customer Rating:
4.2 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation88%22 out of 25reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 30 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Augason Farms Emergency Food Vegetable Stew Mix, 2 lb

Veggie Stew!

02/08/2014
By ,
Southern California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With (40) servings per large container, I highly recommend this product. I'm a vegetarian so I made this with vegetable broth, & diced potatoes for a lite (cup of soup) dinner the other night. I added some warm crusty bread & butter as a side too. It was so good! It's low calorie & good for you. When you remove the lid from this container, you can smell the freshness of the stew mix. It's a generous amount of product for the price too. I will be buying more of this product in the future. Thank you Augason Farms for such good quality foods.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Midlands, SC
Thanks for the pic!!
Posted 06/05/2014
Thank you for including the picture of your review! Sometimes we order mushroom slices and it ends up just being tiny bits and pieces (not even close to being slices), and this happens with other foods, so it's really helpful that you thought to put a pic up, too!!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Augason Farms Emergency Food Vegetable Stew Mix, 2 lb

Good but veggie pieces are too small

06/19/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Having purchased and using this Veggie Blend for over a year I will make my first review on this product. I find the veggie blend to be very useful when making soups, but the veggie pieces are too small, the flavor is great and does contribute to the soup taste. The veggie pieces will hydrate usually in 15 minutes, after hydrating the pieces will be reduced in size to almost nothing. I have contacted Augason Farms and asked if any changes are forthcoming regarding a larger size on the Veggies. It has been over 6 months and Augason Farms has not answered my email question. So after depleting my two cans of Veggie blend I will look elsewhere for a better product.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Augason Farms Emergency Food Vegetable Stew Mix, 2 lb

Love, love, love

07/04/2014
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Absolutely love this mix! So much flavor, I make an awesome potato veggie soup by adding some instant mashed potatoes, milk and a little butter and seasonings to taste. Such great taste and so nutritious. Will be a regular on my grocery list from now on!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Augason Farms Emergency Food Vegetable Stew Mix, 2 lb

Not what you expect - TINY particles

07/15/2014
By ,
Georgia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was a great disappointment. The particles are practically pulverized with the majority being powder. It's OK for sprinkling flavor into something, but don't expect any vegetable chunks to materialize. The can is about 2/3 full, and there are a few onion particles and a few bits of something red in the top of the contents, but that's about all. You certainly couldn't make vegetable stew out of it! You may put some in your stew for flavor, but you better have your own vegetables, because they certainly aren't in this can. It reminds me of Ranch dip mix and Knorr soup mix that people sometimes put into sour cream to make a dip, but the particles are smaller. The flavor is quite heavy on the onions and is very salty.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Augason Farms Emergency Food Vegetable Stew Mix, 2 lb

Excellent

10/24/2012
By ,
Near Morgantown, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so pleased I ordered this Vegetable Stew Blend!
Just 15-20 ish minutes of simmering and it's ready. I was expecting big hunks of hard to hydrate vegetables, but this is not the case. It is small cuts, some might call it very small cuts. But that means it hydrates thorougly and quickly. That can come in handy when the electric goes out etc.
The flavor is great. The ease is great, no cutting, chopping, no leftovers rotting in the fridge to throw away. Use the amount you need. But remember as they hydrate they increase a little in size. It's easy to make more than you may need.
I hydrated mine in a broth instead of plain water. EXCELLENT. I did not use it in a stew. I used it once as a side dish and once in a skillet dinner mix. Very pleased with it overall.
And the price is very good and you can get free shipping( by meeting the $45 requirement#, and these weigh 2 lbs each#slightly over in fact) especially for 40 servings!
Want to make sure you family is getting some veggies they may not know about, throw a handful in some pasta, a macaroni and cheese dish etc.
After I initially open the can and use some, I pour the rest in a plastic bag and put it back in the can to help it stay fresh. Or I vacuum seal it in jars.
And kept at a coolish temperature it can last decades if unopened!
Couldn't be more pleased.
Will be ordering more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+64points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Augason Farms Emergency Food Vegetable Stew Mix, 2 lb

10 year shelf life dehydrated Veggie Stew Blend

01/17/2014
By ,
Iowa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I opened and tried this to see if I'd like it. The flavor contains a lot of cabbage, so with a can of corned beef, and a few cut up potatos, it is great! Just with corned beef, it is great! Next I'll try it with fresh corned beef! (So fast and easy to make!)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Augason Farms Emergency Food Vegetable Stew Mix, 2 lb

Bought on a lark

01/19/2014
By ,
Bronson, Tx.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was browsing one day and saw these products. Thought I would give it a try as I live alone and had to throw out quite a bit of leftovers. When the product arrived I made some meatball stew using this vegetable mix. Excellent flavor and I was able to make just enough for two meals with no waste. Glad I decided to buy this product "on a lark". I recommend this for at home, camping, tailgating or whatever. Give it a try.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Augason Farms Emergency Food Vegetable Stew Mix, 2 lb

Flavorful, economical soup!

02/17/2013
By ,
Muskogee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for emergencies and only opened it because can was dented and I didn't want to store it long term. I cook for one, but this is how I make it. I use about a quart of water and add some noodles and extra peppers flakes, salt, black pepper and chili peppers. I bring it to a slow boil, cover and reduce to simmer for 30 minutes. This makes two good sized servings for one person...adjust for more servings. It is low calories but tasty. It is worth the money and very tasty made this way.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
WA state
Posted 10/25/2013
YOU BDIDN'T SAY HOW MUCH STEW VEGGIES TO THAT QUART OF WATER.
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Augason Farms Emergency Food Vegetable Stew Mix, 2 lb

Good value - no waste

01/11/2014
By ,
midusa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These products Walmart supplies fro Augason Farms are wonderful. There is no waste with this. The product last a long time and comes in handy for those emergency situations. I have many product from this company.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Augason Farms Emergency Food Vegetable Stew Mix, 2 lb

Good as a base for soup.

03/08/2013
By ,
OKC, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The pieces are diced small which helps with rehydrating but makes more of a soup base than a "stew". Mixed with beef broth and meat it made a very good vegetable beef soup. I'd definitely use this while camping or when I need an easy menu item.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Augason Farms Emergency Food Vegetable Stew Mix, 2 lb

I am looking for more specials

12/16/2013
By ,
Lake placid Flotida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am looking for more specials of the same and for more products. It is by far the best value for emergency food. and with taste that kids will eat.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Augason Farms Emergency Food Vegetable Stew Mix, 2 lb

Recommend

06/27/2014
By ,
winterville nc
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shipping was fast, price was good, we haven't tried yet, but I was told it tasted pretty good. But if times get that bad, I don't think we will care about taste. But overall shipping, and the amount, and price, I cannot complain.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Augason Farms Emergency Food Vegetable Stew Mix, 2 lb

Great for long term

11/12/2013
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good for meals in a jar, soups or any cooked meal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Augason Farms Emergency Food Vegetable Stew Mix, 2 lb
06/28/2013
By ,
mountain home, ar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This veg stew mix makes for a handy quick mix of veggies, or long term storage. They rehydrate well following directions, and taste good. I make my own jar meals and mixed veggies work greet in them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Augason Farms Emergency Food Vegetable Stew Mix, 2 lb

Vegetable Mix

02/12/2014
By ,
Memphis
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have found this product to be very good, good tasting and a good value. I have been using it to make soup, along with the imitation chicken, it goes a long way because it plumps up when you put it in water. I always add some chicken bullion too for added flavor.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Augason Farms Emergency Food Vegetable Stew Mix, 2 lb

Quality Products

05/18/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Augason Farms products are great for everyday as well as storage. We like vegetable soup with chicken and mushrooms; quick, easy, and delicious.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Augason Farms Emergency Food Vegetable Stew Mix, 2 lb
12/15/2012
By ,
Sopkane, Wa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best prices I could find. Fast, free shipping. I haven't tasted because it's food storage, but I've tasted other products by this company and they were high quality. No complaints.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Augason Farms Emergency Food Vegetable Stew Mix, 2 lb

good value for the money, esp. for long term

04/19/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would be great for a long term storage item. Tastes good, and would be great added to other things, or with other things added to it. Was shipped quickly and at no cost to me, as I bought the min. for free shipping.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Augason Farms Emergency Food Vegetable Stew Mix, 2 lb

Stew mix

04/14/2014
By ,
Trion, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Arrived quickly and undamaged. Good buy for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Augason Farms Emergency Food Vegetable Stew Mix, 2 lb

Excellent

04/09/2014
By ,
virginia beach, va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Long time user of Augason products.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 25 total reviews
1 2 Next