Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Brother Brother PED-Basic Embroidery Sewing Machine Software

Brother Brother PED-Basic Embroidery Sewing Machine Software

Brother PED-Basic Embroidery Software brings the art of computerized embroidery and sewing right to your fingertips. This sewing machine software is designed for downloading embroidery designs from the Internet to use with your Brother home embroidery machine. The Brother PED-Basic comes with USB card writer, blank memory card and software compatible with Windows 98 or later. To operate, simply insert the memory card with your downloaded embroidery images into a Brother embroidery sewing machine. All downloaded or imported embroidery data can be previewed or edited on screen. This embroidery designs software comes with an instruction manual too.
Average Customer Rating:
4.319 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(119 Reviews) 95
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
79
4 stars
21
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation89%106 out of 119reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
93 Questions | 151 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
79
4 stars
21
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Brother PED-Basic Embroidery Sewing Machine Software

Great Product (once I figure it out)

12/02/2012
By ,
Columbus, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After I figured out what I was doing wrong, I found I LOVE this product. I am using Windows 7 and could not use the HELP feature on this product, but fortunately I still have a computer with Windows XP and I was able to open the HELP feature to find out how to use this product. Once I got it figured out I went crazy saving all the free designs I can find. I learned how to sew on a Brother when I was 10 years old; later I went to the Singer products with my first embroidery machine; and now I am back to Brother with my third embroider machine (which does MORE than the Singer at 5% of the price...my first Singer embroidery machine cost $1000; second Singer embroidery machine cost $5000 and the Brother cost me $250) I have the SE-400 and love it. Brother just makes a good product that is affordable for the masses and I will continue to buy their products.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Brother PED-Basic Embroidery Sewing Machine Software

Awesome Product !

10/31/2012
By ,
Northern California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love my new PED-Basic software ! I bought a CD with embroidery patterns on Ebay (3000 patterns) and this product has made it's use a breeze. I have been busy embroidering onesies for my neices that are expecting new arrivals, they came out great. I would highly reccomend the PED-Basic system to anyone that has/or is thinking of purchasing a Brother embroidery sewing machine. It's very easy to use and the investment was well worth the purchase price.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Bryant
Can I use with Mac?
Posted 11/13/2013
Was wanting for a gift is it compatible with Mac?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Brother PED-Basic Embroidery Sewing Machine Software

WOW!!

03/17/2012
By ,
Buena Park, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I actually purchased this 2 years ago but just started using it a few weeks ago. I am so loving this piece and even though it was $30 more when I purchased it, it was worth every penny to me! So easy to use, never dreamed my weency machine could turn out such beautiful art!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brother PED-Basic Embroidery Sewing Machine Software

Very helpful info....very!!

12/22/2007
By ,
Garden Grove, California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You are going to LOVE using your new designs. I had a small problem, come to find out it is a very common problem people have in the beginning. When you have downloaded designs and you have PED basic opened, be sure to choose the correct size hoop. I have a 5 x 7 hoop, I measured the space within the hoop. So I am thinking I have the medium hoop. No.....many hours later after reading others reveiws and helpful info like this. My hoop may be 5 x 7, but my design capability is only 4 x 4, which is the small size on your drop down menu.
I hope I have saved you from the hours I took to figure this out.....!!!
So stop reading, and go have fun!!!! And if you don't have it yet......GO GET IT!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+130points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brother PED-Basic Embroidery Sewing Machine Software

Brother software

07/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my Brother software, I also invested in another machine, the Brother Sewing/Embroidery machine, I'm loving it..
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brother PED-Basic Embroidery Sewing Machine Software

caution

12/05/2007
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
If you have Vista as your operating system DO NOT instal from the cd go online and download the Vista drivers from the Brother website for this. I did not know this until I installed the drivers from the cd and then went on line for the Vista link for my computer. It gives you a warning (in red) that it will cause problems if you do use the cd. I had to do a restore on my computer to get rid of it and start over with the download from the website.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+57points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Brother PED-Basic Embroidery Sewing Machine Software

Shop online for embroidery designs & save to card

12/17/2013
By ,
Chalmette, LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
PED-Basic is a program you use with your embroidery machine. When I first received my PED-Basic, I was excited because I KNEW what the program was capable of. It took me a couple of days to figure out exactly how the program worked -- not because the instructions were hard, but because I was too busy with other Christmas projects to sit down for any length of time with the PED-Basic. Once everything clicked in my mind as to how it worked, I was as excited as a child on Christmas morning! Now I not only know what it is capable of doing; "I" have put it to use! Last weekend I went shopping online for all the designs I wanted to embroider on last minute Christmas projects. Love it, love it, love it! Couldn't be happier!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Brother PED-Basic Embroidery Sewing Machine Software

Great Product

10/23/2007
By ,
Denham Springs,LA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The PED-Basic is great with the Disney SE-270D Emroidery & Sewing Machine By Brother. You can load free pes files online and use then in the machine.I have made ballet slippers and baseball designs for 2 of my grandchildren and Disney characters for 3 other grandchildern.Then they helped me frame them,it was so much fun for all of us.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Illinois
PED-Basic software
Posted 12/28/2011
I am awaiting the arrival of my new Brother SE400. I got it on Amazon and it talks about a lot of things but doesn't say (really) what software comes with it. Is this something I'll need to get it running? I've been looking at free embroidery sites for freebies and nothing on my computer will open a .PES file. Does that mean I have to get more computer software too?
Thanks
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Brother PED-Basic Embroidery Sewing Machine Software

Ped Basic

09/10/2007
By ,
Brookfield, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had so much fun with my Embroidery Machine, and the Ped Basic has helped me to download a lot of patterns from the Internet. I would definitely reccomend this product to use with the Brother Embroidery Machine. From a very happy embroiderer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every few days
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Brother PED-Basic Embroidery Sewing Machine Software

Use of product

07/05/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
You think u can load all your patterns and insert into machine. It's not that way. You can load a pattern and use it on machine and when you load another pattern the ones that were previous loaded are erased. Everytime you load something new the ones that were on the card are erased. Does not make since.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Brother PED-Basic Embroidery Sewing Machine Software

Unnecessary Purchase

01/08/2011
By ,
Seattle, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The embroidery machine I purchased had such better options than expected. I thought the memory card was important, but the machine itself acts as plug and play to your computer and thus eliminating the additional software or memory card. Unless you don't have a laptop to be mobile with the machine. Very pleasantly suprised :)
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Brother PED-Basic Embroidery Sewing Machine Software

Exactly what I needed!

06/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Software was easy to install and easy to load new files to the disc. Love that software shows you pictures of files you are opening to load to disc/no more guessing what the file name means! This was a great fix to Magic Box I had previously!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Brother PED-Basic Embroidery Sewing Machine Software

Not worth the headache

03/12/2010
By ,
Beaumont,TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
So I order the PED-Basic expecting easy set up and use. WRONG!!!!! I had to call brother not once but twice and still did not get the right info, glad I can work a computer. I had to figure out on my own to download the program by its self not both of them like i was told to do. Once I finally got my VISTA computer to see the ped basic, i could only get the free samples that came with it, I have yet to be able to transfer the other patterns i downloaded to my computer, so in short NOT WHAT I EXPECTED! would NOT reccomend to ANYONE, Waste OF $$$$$$$$$$$ o and if u have VISTA DO NOT INSTALL THE DISK!!! i know it says it on the box but incase u don't see the fine print. You will need to go to the brother website to get the link to download the proper program so VISTA will run with this dinosaur. Hope my review helps you!!!
P.S. Walmart BRING BACK OUR FABRIC SECTION!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Brother PED-Basic Embroidery Sewing Machine Software

exactly what I expected

10/17/2007
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used ths once to downlosd alot of free designs. It held way more designs than I expected so I haven't needed to download a second time yet. It is extremly easy to use and I have had no problems as of yet. It doesn't have any editing functions though. I am still new to machine embroiding so I am not sure if any of these writer boxes edit or not. It would be nice if they did. This is a easy to use product for even the most illiterate computer user or novice machine embroiderer.Wal Mart has the best pricing for this item and the free shipping to the store made it even better. If your thinking about getting it...HURRY...it opens up so many design options.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Brother PED-Basic Embroidery Sewing Machine Software
01/16/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
If you are thinking about this software save yourself some money and buy the advanced version. The basic doesn't give you many options.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Not understood.
Posted 06/19/2012
MsAlaska,
Hello, what is meant by lack of options? For example, I am thinking all kinds of designs can be downloaded and edited. Thus, maybe the edit/crop is different on this one?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Brother PED-Basic Embroidery Sewing Machine Software

Very Limited

07/29/2009
By ,
Fort Lauderdale, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
As suggested by another review, this item should be sold with the machine. It is VERY LIMITED and most will outgrow quickly. Wish I had purchsed the upgraded versions which will enable me to manipulate my designs. :(
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Brother PED-Basic Embroidery Sewing Machine Software

The Ped Basic machine didn't work

05/21/2014
By ,
New Durham, NH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had problems with this item from the beginning. Having to replace it with brother's company. The PED Basic machine could not read the Card, and therefore was not able to work inside reader. Not sure if it was damaged in travel or not?
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Brother PED-Basic Embroidery Sewing Machine Software

HAVING A BLAST!!!

01/29/2010
By ,
Jennings, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this product to go with my brother se350 and I am having a blast! Have gotten LOTS of free designs and purchased some- completed all sorts of fun projects for bday gifts for friends and family. No one can believe I AM MONOGRAMMING AND APPLIQUEING ALL THIS FANCY PROFESSIONAL LOOKING STUFF MYSELF!!! I have even used it to get myself and family ready to show our support to New Orleans Saints in Superbowl with fluer de lis free downloads!!! I read reviews before I purchased and have been happy that I got what I expected and have used anbd enjoyed the product and features.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Brother PED-Basic Embroidery Sewing Machine Software

HORRIBLE

02/11/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product will not work. I have tried unsuccessfully to download on it. I will NEVER recommend this product to anyone. Wish I could get my money back. What a waste of good money. Also, does not state have to get download off internet if you have Vista. I finally just quit trying to use it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Never
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Brother PED-Basic Embroidery Sewing Machine Software

BETTER VALUE THAN BROTHER MALL

05/27/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you go to brother mall and try to get a spare 4MB card you'll pay $227.99. But at Walmart you get everything for $102.00. Seams like a no brainer plus you will have a backup card reader and software to boot.
I love that walmart puts their old stuff on clearance. I purchase the old model SE-350 three monhts after the se-400 came out for $189.00. So now with the cost of the PED-BASIC being $102.00 I've paid only $291.00 for the same features as the new model I just have download to a card instead of a machine. WALMART YOU ROCK!
I have been a Brother fan for Years. They make the best sewing machines out there and are so easy to use even for the beginner. Right now I own the SE-350, CS-6000i, and the CE-5000PRW (YUP MY OWN LITTLE SWEAT SHOP AT HOME) And I'm planning on getting rid of my Singer serger and getting the brother Model.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 96 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next