Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Kurio Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Kurio Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

Kurio Android Marketplace to download more hit apps carefully curated by the Kurio team to ensure all apps are family-friendly and kid safe. The full-featured Kurio 7" WiFi Tablet has a high-resolution, ultra-responsive 7" touchscreen, a built-in microphone, WiFi and Flash 11 support, an HD video player, a music player, an e-reader, front- and rear-facing cameras, HDMI and USB connections (HDMI cable not included) and 4 GB of internal memory extendable up to 36GB with a MicroSD card (sold separately. The Kurio 7" WiFi Tablet comes packed with preloaded kids' content, including popular apps, e-books, educational material and interactive activities, and offers access to the Android marketplace. Advanced Web filtering, block and safe lists and the easy-to-use, password-protected Parental Area ensure content is appropriate for the whole family, and the included drop-safe bumper keeps the Kurio safe even in kids' hands.
Average Customer Rating:
3.701 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(321 Reviews) 236
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
142
4 stars
76
3 stars
26
2 stars
19
1 star
58
Customer Recommendation75%240 out of 321reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
142
4 stars
76
3 stars
26
2 stars
19
1 star
58
Customer Reviews
Review 81 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

Perfect kids tablet!

02/06/2013
By ,
Fort Bragg, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this tablet for our 7 year old son back in December for Christmas. He was always on my phone or on the computer before. I was expecting some lag since it isnt the newest opperating system however this tablet is very fast and responsive. We have been able to download a lot of games for free from the Kurio store and i also have the Amazon store loaded on it. We love that he can access netflix and play popular games like angry birds and wheres my water. Also we love that there are a lot of educational games for children ages 2-3 and up. Our youngest is 3 and is able to use the apps with ease. We have had no problems with it at all. The rubber case is very sturdy and has already saved the tablet from some crashes. I would recommend this tablet to anyone with a child between 3-10.. i wouldnt recommend high due to the browser being somewhat slow. We have tried to access PBSkid.org and it is not quite quick enough for some of the games. Over all though thats the only negative i have other than i wish walmart would start carrying the car charger and carrying case soon. This has been a life saver on the 2 car trips we've taken since Christmas. We purchased a pair of safekids head phones that work great with it. We really want to get a second one for my 3 year old. Great product for the money!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 82 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

Pros and Cons

03/19/2013
By ,
Eagle Mountain, UT
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall this is a good tablet. It's decently fast, decent amount of memory, decent screen resolution and it's running 4.0. The idea of a kid friendly tablet appealed to our family and Kurio made a solid effort with this machine, however the way they handled it is arduous to use at best making us simply bypass the kurio wrap for the most part.
What exactly are those problems?
1. When you add an app to the device you have to add that app to every user, you then have to go and place it on their "screens" or they can't get to it, at all. If you only have 1 kid, not a big deal... but for 5 users.
2. No user accept the parental can actually get to the android core.
3. If a user can't access the internet or wifi is disabled, the button to open the browser is still available when it shouldn't be.
4. Don't get this for the "pre-loaded apps" they're all free and few of them are worth much honestly.
5. The kurio store is pretty light, so we installed amazon store which overrides most of the parental protection anyway (apps have ads and ask for "upgrades" to full version all the time, which can only be avoided by turning off wifi for that user or in general)
it's a good starter and general tablet. For a little older kids if you can afford it, I'd get a kindle with their new kids app. It's not too much more and we would have if our little one was older.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 83 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

Garbage!!

12/14/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This tablet is great for a paper weight. The tablet freezes up consistantly and the USB plug that was provided didn't work. The camera quality is garbage and it's not worth what they are charging for it. I am returning it to the store tomorrow. This was my son's Xmas gift and I wanted to put pics and videos on it for him and couldn't even get what I wanted to get done because it kept freezing. Customer service rep couldn't even help me get through it.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
-1point
Review 84 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids
02/16/2013
By ,
Clinton, MO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased the Kurio Tablet for my son this past November, only 3 months ago. It's a great buy and my son absolutely loves it! However, we started having what seems to be a major problem. It started shutting itself off for no reason and in order to get it to come back on it has to be plugged into the charger. Once I thought it was all good to go (or so I thought)... it just shuts itself off again after about 15 seconds. It does this with a half to full battery. I went to the Kurio website on Facebook and found that I wasn't the only one having this problem. I urge anyone to shop around before settling on the Kurio Tablet!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 85 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

7 yr old loves it

12/27/2012
By ,
Far North, Alaska
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After a few days, this tablet has performed very well. Really liked the easy parental/child accounts setup. Comes preloaded with enough games to keep the little ones busy for weeks. We looked at all the available tablets for 3-10 yr olds and found this to have great features and is exactly as advertised. Very nice. We bought a LeapPad for our 3 yr old, but he doesn't like it and wants a Kurio like his big brother has now. Leappad requires you to purchase everything you put on it, Kurio has so many free apps through Google apps you will only need to buy if you wish. If this tablet lasts, it will be an ever greater deal for 149.99
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 86 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

Good out of the gate but died in the first turn!

05/07/2013
By ,
Dissapointed in Southern Minnesota
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Christmas 2012 we purchased two of these for our children's gifts. they seemed good from the start. By Feburary 2013 on of them seemd to freeze up and drop apps for no appearant reason. Now in May both have died. No matter what we do they simply stay on the boot screen with the "thinking" circle spinning. We loved the features and the "IDEA" of a protected/controled environment for our children to play and learn on the web but that idea has fallen short in the reliability department. If i had it to do over again i would not choose Kurio's. now we are out $200 and have nothing to show for it. Very dissapointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 87 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

2 Happy Little Girls

12/26/2012
By ,
INDIANA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got 2 of these for Christmas for my girls, 10 and 8. They were so excited by it. It was very simple for them to use. GREAT TABLET. This tablet grows with them. When they get older you can change it into a normal android tablet. The PARENTAL controls are AMAZING! love being able to set time limits and restrict what they can and cant look at. It has tons of great apps ! IT DOES PLAY NETFLIX which was a plus! you just have to download it, as its not pre programed in it. There was no lag in the video. It played great! Would Definantly recommend this product. I hae even had fun playing on it :)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 88 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids
03/14/2013
By ,
Sunflower, Ms
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son love it and i do to. I just want some educational materials on here. To help with bid learning.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 89 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

Great tablet for kids

01/06/2013
By ,
Gaithersburg, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have an iPad and an Azus tablet but we are always afraid of the kids breaking it by accident or getting into web places not for their age. The Kurio table resolves that problem. The parental controls for websites, apps, play time management are great to set limits and keep the kids entertained for the appropiate amount of time. The fact that the package also includes the bumper protection is a surprise bonus. A table thought and made for kids for a reasonable price. Not so great is the battery life and the screen could be bigger, something comparable to the 10" iPad screen.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 90 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

Do not buy ! Price to high !

09/29/2013
By ,
Cabot Arkansas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Something no one is telling you on this tablet ! They make you buy there apps where Google play is free !!!! The Nextbook 7 has the same things with free Google play more memory and cost is only $79 not $149
If you buying for a child and know nothing about a tablet I would never put my credit card number on a tablet EVER ! I don't think the Nextbook has parent control but with out a credit card number they want get much......... : ) Please compare before you buy !
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 91 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids
12/07/2012
By ,
Tulsa ok
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ITS WAS QUICK AND EASY TO GET AND I KNOW MY BABY GIRL IS GOIN TO LOVE HER NEW XMAS GIFT..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 92 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

Avoid like the plague. Didn't last a single month!

01/26/2013
By ,
Palmetto, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
While this seemed like a great idea, the tablet's screen developed dead spots less than a month after purchase. My daughter was very careful playing with it, but it soon became obvious that things were wrong. I initially attributed it to the fact that, as a kids tablet, it was underpowered when compared to alternate offerings like the Nexus 7, Nook HD and Kindle Fire. As time progressed, the situation worsened. I now deeply regret having selected this product, and would not recommend it to anyone. While the concept is great, the execution leaves a lot to be desired.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 93 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

Would have been great!

01/04/2013
By ,
Beevill, Texas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My son got this for Christmas. He loved it. He was so happy that he had his very own tablet made for a child his age. At first it was wonderful. After the first day, it would say that it had 80% charge and just turn off. You'd put it on the charger and it'd come back on. We took it off the charger for him to play it and it turned off. We put it back on the charger and it got really hot and would never come back on. Walmart did refund my money and we bought him something else. I just feel bad that he had to deal with this. I got him the Nabi 2 and it is SO much better!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
 
My Product Recommendations
 
0points
Review 94 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

Didn't even work!

12/20/2012
By ,
IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was so excited when I received my Kurio and then it only worked for about 20 mins. It locked up while I was playing around on it and when I shut it off it wouldn't turn back on. It was loading like it would but never did. Thankfully Wal-Mart has an amazing return policy and I got my money back and bought something else. Not to mention when it WAS working it was so cheap looking that I could not believe I spent 200 dollars on it. I read so many reviews and I just pushed the negative ones to the side so I hope someone see's this and changes their mind!! NOT WORTH IT!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 95 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

Don't buy it!

07/16/2013
By ,
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't buy it, I bought one 3 months ago and now it doesn't turn on! When you try to call the company KURIO they don't have a real person to talk by phone. They just have a chat place on their page. What a horrible company, I have to send the tablet to their company and I have to pay for shipping. So I get to waste money and time try to resolve the situation. If you wan to buy a tablet just make sure they have a real person to talk with. That's why they lowered the price, a red flag. Hope this can help you guys!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 96 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids
01/18/2013
By ,
Passaic
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very educative !
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 97 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

ZERO TECHNICAL SUPPORT

08/17/2013
By ,
Cadwell, Ga
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The ROM is bad & if you can't figure out how to download the new one onto your PC & then go through a complicated 20 step back and forth between your PC & the Kurio tablet, then you are out of luck. Kurio has no technical support. So whatever problems might arise after the you get the ROM issue resolved, you are on your own. Kurio's customer service's only response was for me to use my Walmart warranty to replace the tablet. And this was while the manufacture's warranty was still good.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 98 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

Gift

10/26/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This was a gift for my grandson and he is disappointed
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-6points
Review 99 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

it's cute

01/01/2013
By ,
Arlington Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am very disappointed in this tablet. 1st off I was told I could download Skype so I could see my daughter but everyone I tried to install it it failed from both sources the Kurio store and Amazon. the apps she did download we couldn't find a way to put it on the main screen or even find it to play it again after it was downloaded. on Christmas day an hour after she opened it the tablet froze up on her and I had to power it down in order for her to play it again. I took it back to Wal-Mart the very next day and got my money back.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 100 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

Not worth your money.

01/01/2013
By ,
Mississippi
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My 3 year old received this as a Christmas present. Of course, she enjoyed it because she is a child and doesn't know very much about technology. I thought it was pretty ok to start as well. The Kurio app store worked fine, but I tried downloading Amazon store and it wouldn't open. It took a little while for it to come on when powered up. All those things I could live with, but it stopped working 7 days after Christmas. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone. I will be returning this to Walmart and purchasing her something better.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
81-100 of 237 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  3 4 5 6 7  ...  12 Next