Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Kurio Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Kurio Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

Kurio Android Marketplace to download more hit apps carefully curated by the Kurio team to ensure all apps are family-friendly and kid safe. The full-featured Kurio 7" WiFi Tablet has a high-resolution, ultra-responsive 7" touchscreen, a built-in microphone, WiFi and Flash 11 support, an HD video player, a music player, an e-reader, front- and rear-facing cameras, HDMI and USB connections (HDMI cable not included) and 4 GB of internal memory extendable up to 36GB with a MicroSD card (sold separately. The Kurio 7" WiFi Tablet comes packed with preloaded kids' content, including popular apps, e-books, educational material and interactive activities, and offers access to the Android marketplace. Advanced Web filtering, block and safe lists and the easy-to-use, password-protected Parental Area ensure content is appropriate for the whole family, and the included drop-safe bumper keeps the Kurio safe even in kids' hands.
Average Customer Rating:
3.701 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(321 Reviews) 236
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
142
4 stars
76
3 stars
26
2 stars
19
1 star
58
Customer Recommendation75%240 out of 321reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
142
4 stars
76
3 stars
26
2 stars
19
1 star
58
Customer Reviews
Review 81 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

Don't buy it!

07/16/2013
By ,
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't buy it, I bought one 3 months ago and now it doesn't turn on! When you try to call the company KURIO they don't have a real person to talk by phone. They just have a chat place on their page. What a horrible company, I have to send the tablet to their company and I have to pay for shipping. So I get to waste money and time try to resolve the situation. If you wan to buy a tablet just make sure they have a real person to talk with. That's why they lowered the price, a red flag. Hope this can help you guys!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 82 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

Horrible Tablet! Don't waste your money!!!!

03/16/2013
By ,
Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This tablet was absolutely horrible! My mother bought it for my daughter for christmas, despite the poor reviews we read from other websites. It worked for all of a day before it started glitching out. The touch screen was unresponsive, we had problems with applications freezing and even force closing. We reset it to factory setting several times hoping that this would fix the problem and nothing. We finally broke down and called in for the warranty service. It didn't take more than 5 minutes and no arguing at all with the wal-mart insurance. All we had to do was ship the product back with the pre-paid shipping label they sent us and within 24 hours of sending it, we recieved a gift card for the full purchase price plus tax. Oh and even though it says it comes with the google play store, it wasn't, it was the Kurio store that had hardly any apps at all! For the money, I would purchase a tablet from a company you can trust. We have a nook color that we purchased for the same price a year earlier and the only time we have had to use the warranty on that was after our son had dropped it several times and broke the charging port to it from ripping the cord out! Needless to say, we will not be purchasing this product again! If you do decided to buy this product, MAKE SURE YOU BUY THE PROTECTION PLAN!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 83 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

Great for beginner.

09/07/2013
By ,
Marion, AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like the Kurio! I bought it for my 3 yo and he loves it. My only negative is that it does not have google play and it can be picky sometimes when typing.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 84 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids
09/04/2013
By ,
west point,ms
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
we just love this tablet it is just right for 9 year old. we change setting so it can have several users so more than one person can have fun with it. no problems as of yet we have had it 2 weeks.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 85 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

Great tablet for a four year old!

01/07/2013
By ,
Pikeville,KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a grandmother to two four year olds who love to play games on my iPad! The fight over who gets to play the ipad first begins as soon as they both walk through the back door so we had to think of a remedy to stop the fighting! I couldn't afford two iPads so these were the perfect substitute! After our purchase we decided they were better for their small hand and the blue cover protects against drops and bumps! They love them! When they opened them at Christmas they both screamed "We got our own iPads". I couldn't bust their bubble so I laughed and said " Well kind of, but not really. You can play games and have lots of fun and they are YOURS!" They were so excited. These tablets are a major hit!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 86 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

Perfect kids tablet!

02/06/2013
By ,
Fort Bragg, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this tablet for our 7 year old son back in December for Christmas. He was always on my phone or on the computer before. I was expecting some lag since it isnt the newest opperating system however this tablet is very fast and responsive. We have been able to download a lot of games for free from the Kurio store and i also have the Amazon store loaded on it. We love that he can access netflix and play popular games like angry birds and wheres my water. Also we love that there are a lot of educational games for children ages 2-3 and up. Our youngest is 3 and is able to use the apps with ease. We have had no problems with it at all. The rubber case is very sturdy and has already saved the tablet from some crashes. I would recommend this tablet to anyone with a child between 3-10.. i wouldnt recommend high due to the browser being somewhat slow. We have tried to access PBSkid.org and it is not quite quick enough for some of the games. Over all though thats the only negative i have other than i wish walmart would start carrying the car charger and carrying case soon. This has been a life saver on the 2 car trips we've taken since Christmas. We purchased a pair of safekids head phones that work great with it. We really want to get a second one for my 3 year old. Great product for the money!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 87 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

Good out of the gate but died in the first turn!

05/07/2013
By ,
Dissapointed in Southern Minnesota
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Christmas 2012 we purchased two of these for our children's gifts. they seemed good from the start. By Feburary 2013 on of them seemd to freeze up and drop apps for no appearant reason. Now in May both have died. No matter what we do they simply stay on the boot screen with the "thinking" circle spinning. We loved the features and the "IDEA" of a protected/controled environment for our children to play and learn on the web but that idea has fallen short in the reliability department. If i had it to do over again i would not choose Kurio's. now we are out $200 and have nothing to show for it. Very dissapointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 88 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

the internet connection was impossible to complete

09/04/2013
By ,
New york
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This product is very nice size easy to use but the internet connection its impossible to complete.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 89 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

Great item

09/07/2013
By ,
Bronx,NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this for a 3 yo and he absolutely loves it!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 90 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

really like it but...........

01/03/2013
By ,
Boston, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
dont get me wrong at all this is a good product i havent had any peoblems with it at all HOWEVER when i bought it the ad says that you can go on the android market which was the former name of the google play store so me along with many other customers thought you could get on the play store with this product which YOU CANNOT. (well it actually is possible but you have to root the tablet which would void any warranty and i wouldnt suggest doing unless u know what ur doing.) it does however have access to the amazon market. i have found though that some of the games that you would be able to get for free on even the amazon market you cant find on the amazon market on this tablet. like angry birds space. i went on the amazon market typed it in the search box and it doesnt come up but i have it for free on my kindle fire hd through the amazon market.(you also cant get the google play store on the kindle hd either but thats a whole 'nother story lol)
all and all my son does like it and its really great quality. the parental options on it are awesome. you can control everything!!! i had gotten the leapfrod leadpad 2 but for 50 more bucks i got this and took that back that thing doesnt even have wifi at all and the apps are expensive!!! so this is good but now u know what to expect when u get it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 91 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

great for beginners

08/24/2013
By ,
Cleveland, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I brought this for my sons 5th birthday, he loves it. I love how I can control how long he plays and what he plays. I would definitely recommend this to other parents.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 92 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

Great first computer for a child,

08/30/2013
By ,
radcliff,ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My grand daughter is 4 and loves it easy to use and has a lot of programs to keep them entertained.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 93 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

Kurio 7 Tablet

08/28/2013
By ,
Spring Lake, Mi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really do not have a lot of things to say; This is going to be a Christmas present for my grandchild.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 94 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

Pros and Cons

03/19/2013
By ,
Eagle Mountain, UT
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall this is a good tablet. It's decently fast, decent amount of memory, decent screen resolution and it's running 4.0. The idea of a kid friendly tablet appealed to our family and Kurio made a solid effort with this machine, however the way they handled it is arduous to use at best making us simply bypass the kurio wrap for the most part.
What exactly are those problems?
1. When you add an app to the device you have to add that app to every user, you then have to go and place it on their "screens" or they can't get to it, at all. If you only have 1 kid, not a big deal... but for 5 users.
2. No user accept the parental can actually get to the android core.
3. If a user can't access the internet or wifi is disabled, the button to open the browser is still available when it shouldn't be.
4. Don't get this for the "pre-loaded apps" they're all free and few of them are worth much honestly.
5. The kurio store is pretty light, so we installed amazon store which overrides most of the parental protection anyway (apps have ads and ask for "upgrades" to full version all the time, which can only be avoided by turning off wifi for that user or in general)
it's a good starter and general tablet. For a little older kids if you can afford it, I'd get a kindle with their new kids app. It's not too much more and we would have if our little one was older.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 95 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids
08/26/2013
By ,
fayetteville, nc
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
2yr old complaint, I can't get yo gabba can I borrow your ipd please
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 96 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

Very nice Tablet for a great price!

08/18/2013
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My son LOVES this product and all it's features! It took a while to get delivered, but it's a wonderful value.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 97 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids
08/22/2013
By ,
new york
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
love it!!! my son has not put it down.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 98 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids
02/16/2013
By ,
Clinton, MO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased the Kurio Tablet for my son this past November, only 3 months ago. It's a great buy and my son absolutely loves it! However, we started having what seems to be a major problem. It started shutting itself off for no reason and in order to get it to come back on it has to be plugged into the charger. Once I thought it was all good to go (or so I thought)... it just shuts itself off again after about 15 seconds. It does this with a half to full battery. I went to the Kurio website on Facebook and found that I wasn't the only one having this problem. I urge anyone to shop around before settling on the Kurio Tablet!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 99 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

7 yr old loves it

12/27/2012
By ,
Far North, Alaska
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After a few days, this tablet has performed very well. Really liked the easy parental/child accounts setup. Comes preloaded with enough games to keep the little ones busy for weeks. We looked at all the available tablets for 3-10 yr olds and found this to have great features and is exactly as advertised. Very nice. We bought a LeapPad for our 3 yr old, but he doesn't like it and wants a Kurio like his big brother has now. Leappad requires you to purchase everything you put on it, Kurio has so many free apps through Google apps you will only need to buy if you wish. If this tablet lasts, it will be an ever greater deal for 149.99
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 100 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids
03/14/2013
By ,
Sunflower, Ms
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son love it and i do to. I just want some educational materials on here. To help with bid learning.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
81-100 of 237 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  3 4 5 6 7  ...  12 Next