Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Kurio Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Kurio Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

Kurio Android Marketplace to download more hit apps carefully curated by the Kurio team to ensure all apps are family-friendly and kid safe. The full-featured Kurio 7" WiFi Tablet has a high-resolution, ultra-responsive 7" touchscreen, a built-in microphone, WiFi and Flash 11 support, an HD video player, a music player, an e-reader, front- and rear-facing cameras, HDMI and USB connections (HDMI cable not included) and 4 GB of internal memory extendable up to 36GB with a MicroSD card (sold separately. The Kurio 7" WiFi Tablet comes packed with preloaded kids' content, including popular apps, e-books, educational material and interactive activities, and offers access to the Android marketplace. Advanced Web filtering, block and safe lists and the easy-to-use, password-protected Parental Area ensure content is appropriate for the whole family, and the included drop-safe bumper keeps the Kurio safe even in kids' hands.
Average Customer Rating:
3.701 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(321 Reviews) 236
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
142
4 stars
76
3 stars
26
2 stars
19
1 star
58
Customer Recommendation75%240 out of 321reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
142
4 stars
76
3 stars
26
2 stars
19
1 star
58
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids
11/07/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my son's 9th birthday - he loves it. I only gave it 4 stars because the parental controls (filter) do not work when you child is on the internet. Inappropriate material already showed up when he was playing a math game.
Otherwise a great tablet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Review 22 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

Great tablet for kids

02/13/2013
By ,
Kevil, Ky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought one of these for each of my boys, ages 11 and 5. It has been wonderful, they no longer bother me to play on my phone, much..
It is very user friendly and not too childish for an older child. You can customize the profiles, put internet limits on it, and age limits for games, etc. It comes with full versions of a couple of games that I can't even get for free on my phone!
The only things I have seen I do not like are:
1. Age level restrictions can be placed on each profile, but there is a "cartoon tube" app that somehow gets past the limits, I guess because it's geared toward children, but it also brings up no so child-friendly videos that can be clicked on and watched. I just deleted it from the profiles so they can't access it at all.
2. It is supposed to be an android operating system, which it is. But it has it's own "store" and I have yet to figure out how to get apps from the play store. I'm pretty sure there is a way, but I'm not sure what it is.
All-in-all, I love this tablet! I would (and have) refer it to my friends.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 23 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids
11/09/2012
By ,
GALLIPOLIS,OHIO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this for my 8 year old daughter,and I am not pleased. The WIFI doesnt work,the set up is awful. DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+15points
Review 24 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

Stopped working in 48hrs

03/29/2013
By ,
St. Louis, MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased two of these tablets for my two boys. We have only had the tablets 2 days and already one of the tablets will not take charge or come on at all. On the other hand I my other son tablet is working just fine........ the Ematic FunTab that I purchased for my daugther is awesome!!! Makes me want one!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 25 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

great value, great play

10/21/2012
By ,
honolulu, hi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is a simple, easy to use product without the complexity of other kid tablets. perfect for my 6 and 7 year olds. love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 26 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

Took it back to the store for refund .....

11/01/2012
By ,
Somerset < KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very slow , to difficult for children . I returned it to the store and bought a Nabi $50 more but well worth it .
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+13points
Review 27 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

Don't buy!

04/18/2013
By ,
Indianapolis, In
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this for the parental settings. I like the idea of being able to limit their access to the Internet and the times they can be on the tablet. Unfortunately the settings don't always stay the way you put them. And they still have access to things they shouldn't. It does come with some great apps and learning material but, the app store is awful. It is filled with a bunch of junk. And the battery is the worst!!!! It just shuts down with no warning when the battery reaches about 45%. I have tried and tried to find a way to fix this in the settings....without success. And the battery lasts for less and less time. We have only owned it for about 3 months and we now have to charge it almost everyday for the same amount of use as when we first purchased it and only had to charge it every other day. Also it is not very easy to navigate the parents area to set everything. Don't waste your time buying this Tablet!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 28 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

great it tablet for the entire family

12/14/2012
By ,
New Orleans, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did research on this tablet before purchasing it. I found that for the price this is a great tablet for the entire family. I purchased it for my grandson but it will be nice for my son and his wife to use also since they only have one computer in their home.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+5points
Review 29 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

Good for kids for play

12/08/2012
By ,
Colorado Springs CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All my grandkids enjoy it. Haven't really dealt with the website to know how well the downloads work. The games are fun and challenging. I would recommend it for anyone with a child needing to improve their math as the parental controls let you decide which games are available or it they can get online and you can restrict the sites they can access. The limits you can place on time and having eight profiles that only the parent can setup/modify is great and easy. The price was pretty good and being able to expand the memory is a bonus. My 3yr old grandson enjoys having Kurio read the stories preloaded on the system out loud to him.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 30 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids
03/18/2013
By ,
Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought 2 Kurio tablets for my 5 and 6 year old boys.
We were able to turn them on right out of the box. You will have to put the bumper on the tablet, which is fairly easy to do.
The set-up can take a while if you want to set up all the parental controls. I was okay with letting them play on the Android interface till I had the time to set up Kurio mode.
One of the tablets gave us trouble from the beginning. If I pressed a button, it would type in 2 or 3 random characters. Even when pressing backspace, it would type in numbers instead. There was no way to adjust the screen sensitivity.
The quality of the screen is pretty bad. Everything is pretty small and fuzzy.
It does come with a rear-camera and a front-camera but they are pretty useless because the picture quality is so bad.
We had the tablets for about 10 days, then one of them had black spots in the screen when we turned it on. I ended up getting a refund on them and spent the extra 30.00 each to buy nabi's (we are loving them, so far!). I am glad to be done with the Kurio. I would not recommend them.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
 
-1point
Review 31 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

Almost perfect for my 4 yr old

12/10/2012
By ,
Kansas City ,Mo
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works great and the wifi works as it should , good for the whole family really, Parental controls are easy to use and my son loves angry birds and coloring.My only problem is that its less durable than i thought it should be for kids, i let him use it only under my supervision so he dont break the thing.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 32 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

Waste of Money

08/05/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased the Kurio under the belief that along with protecting my kids from unwanted content from the internet, I could download additional learning apps from GooglePlay or educational app stores. The parental blocks are so tight that I cannot download any learning apps outside of the Kurio store. Even though I am the admin, I am blocked from downloading any apps that the tablet feels aren’t kid friendly- which includes “Alphabet School” or just fun silly games like “Candy Crush. The apps provided by the Kurio store are junk- and only half of them really work but they are cheap and not well done.
Also, the touch screen doesn’t always work and in general the tablet is very slow. You would do better just buying a regular tablet where you can decide what is ok to download and install your own parental blocks and you don't have to deal with such poor quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Review 33 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

Not a happy camper

12/27/2012
By ,
IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We purchased 3 Kurio Tablets and they are going back to the store! It is not very user friendly and is extremely slow. It always says that it is unable to connect to the server and a pop up box frequently comes up saying a new update is available. Why are there so many updates available for such a new device? They should have had the updates loaded prior to putting them in stores. It is very irritating. I am unable to download temple run and other popular apps/games. The play store should be on this tablet. Afterall, THIS IS android right? I am very disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 34 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

Forget this thing

05/30/2013
By ,
Upper Darby, PA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I opened it and charged it for 3hrs like it said. Only problem I have is connection to internet. It does not connect. says its connected but cannot go to the kurio store or the web. Hopefully I can figure it out. What a shame because this is so cute and I do love it other than that. oh and btw ive been trying to connect for 2 hours now with no success so good luck to anyone that buys these and tries. steer clear.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Review 35 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

Excellent!!!

02/25/2013
By ,
Md
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this for my granddaughter's birthday and she will love it because I do. Kids are so smart on electronics these days! I like the fact that her mother can monitor everything she does on it plus password block where she can and can't go on it! The Best feature is the extra coverage plan for a little bit of extra $$... So worth it because it covers dropping and screen cracking!
I bought her a cheaper version for Christmas and it was good for a very short time. She loved it! But as you see I am purchasing another one because she got a small crack in the screen that stopped it from working. You could of purchased extra coverage when I purchased it, however, it did not include cracking on screen or dropping.
I would recommend paying a little extra money for a better quality tablet to have that extra peace of mind knowing that kids will drop it and the extra protection for a few extra $$ is awesome!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 36 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

avoid this tablet

01/11/2013
By ,
St Louis MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pretty much the exact same problems most other negative reviews have. Barely connected to WiFi in house first use, WiFi icon in settings says it is connected, it obtains a network address with the wireless router but cannot communicate with it at all ever since the 1 time it did. Also experiencing the virtual keyboard going completely insane and spouting out 7 or 8 random characters for every keypress. some games that play smooth as slik on other android devices (like smartphones) can sometimes lag on this device. Bottom line - Apparently when they work they are nice but I see too many reviews with the exact same fatal WiFi flaw. Avoid it unless you like to gamble.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 37 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

WASTE OF MONEY!!!!

07/19/2013
By ,
MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DO NOT BUY!!! WENT THROUGH 3 IN A MONTH!!!! JUNK!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 38 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

Freeze's Up

08/25/2013
By ,
TEXAS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is great tablet for kids WHEN IT ACTUALLY WORKS, my mom bought my son one for his 6th birthday and that one kept punching letters and numbers all by itself and would not stop so we returned it, and got another. The second one we got would allow us to be on for five minutes and kept freezing up on us. We did everything possible to try and fix it but would not work at all. So I do not recommed this product to anyone, I rather stick with the Nabi 2 that has worked great for my 5 year old so far! So for Christmas I will get my 6 year old a Nabi 2!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 39 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

Think twice....

03/28/2013
By ,
st. james, mo
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this for my 10 year old son and I to share and it is a huge disapointment! Very slow to start and touch screen doesnt respond half the time. When typing on the touch pad....it will put in letters and/or numbers that you arent even typing or even replace letters with numbers. Had this for about 2 weeks and barely used it, returning it for a nabi 2 this weekend.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 40 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

Very bad customer sevice and device

01/06/2013
By ,
Noblesville, IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Never could get Amazon app to load. contacted customer service 3-4 times w/ no answer. Sound is very POOR.... Most Ebooks you can't even hear at full blast. Internet browsing is super slow even w/ the security turned off. Also, you will not be able to download the Amazon app in the tablet mode no matter what they claim. Do yourself a favor and DON'T BUY THIS
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
21-40 of 237 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  12 Next