Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Kurio Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Kurio Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

Kurio Android Marketplace to download more hit apps carefully curated by the Kurio team to ensure all apps are family-friendly and kid safe. The full-featured Kurio 7" WiFi Tablet has a high-resolution, ultra-responsive 7" touchscreen, a built-in microphone, WiFi and Flash 11 support, an HD video player, a music player, an e-reader, front- and rear-facing cameras, HDMI and USB connections (HDMI cable not included) and 4 GB of internal memory extendable up to 36GB with a MicroSD card (sold separately. The Kurio 7" WiFi Tablet comes packed with preloaded kids' content, including popular apps, e-books, educational material and interactive activities, and offers access to the Android marketplace. Advanced Web filtering, block and safe lists and the easy-to-use, password-protected Parental Area ensure content is appropriate for the whole family, and the included drop-safe bumper keeps the Kurio safe even in kids' hands.
Average Customer Rating:
3.701 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(321 Reviews) 236
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
142
4 stars
76
3 stars
26
2 stars
19
1 star
58
Customer Recommendation75%240 out of 321reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
142
4 stars
76
3 stars
26
2 stars
19
1 star
58
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

Just got these.

08/13/2013
By ,
Nocona, Tx.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We ordered 2 and so for the boys love them. They really liked that they could start playing games as soon as they got them. Great size and great color as well as sound.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 2 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

4 Happy Kids

10/08/2012
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got one of these because of the profiles since I have 4 kids and I was unable to afford 4 tablets. The tablet is fast and very responsive. I was able to setup all 4 kids with diffrent settings such as web filters and time managment. It was great. I set the timer to 1 hour with a 4 hour break so they all got the same amount of time on it. No more fights.. Also I was able to block certain games from my 7 year old but allowed my 11 year old to be able to play them. The battery life is not great but most tablets that are used non stop are not great either. And the Kurio store does not have all apps but you can install the Amazon App Store and get the rest of the Apps you need. I have Netflix, Kindle, Amazon Store, and much more that I was able to get from the Amazon store. It would be nice if all of the apps were on the Kurio store.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+230points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
florida
Very happy daughter!
Posted 10/10/2012
My 10 year daughter loves her Kurio...it is so fast and playes all our apps and my books were very easy to switch over to the tablet. I am surprised at how well made and rugged this is. I also have a nook and pandigital novel and am thinking of selling those and getting myself a Kurio. I also have two 3 year old grankids that would love one also! I would share with my dd but do not want to divide our time. I have never played with the other kid tablet (nabi), so i can not compare but the other person commenting here must have had a dud because this is the best ereader/tablet i have ever used. Great thing about walmart ...if you are not happy with the Kurio , then you can bring it back. It was worth the gamble for me as we love the new Kurio!
+4points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

Needs a lot of work

10/26/2012
By ,
Burgaw,NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Simply put, I bought 3 for my grand kids. After charging them I tried for over an hour to get it to connect to my WiFi, it never would. So I skipped that(letting it try in the background), and tried for about 15 minutes to fill in the necessary info ie: serial number , and every time I pressed one letter on the keyboard 5-6 more popped up, not repeat letters but random letters. And when I tried to delete the errant letters 10-15 would streak across the screen. This went on for about 10-15 minutes and I finally got it in the correct way. But putting in the email address was an effort in futility. So I decided that I would not waste any more time and just take them back to Walmart. I then ordered 3 more of a different brand. We will see. I will say this though, when I bypassed all of the info stuff the thing played pretty well. But it did tend to skip or lag while playing Angry Birds.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+12points
Review 4 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

Great for Kids

11/25/2012
By ,
Greenwood, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This tablet seems very well built and durable. Unfortunately, this tablet is not compatible with the Play Store; however, the Kurio Application allows you to download a 3rd Party App Store, which helps fill this flaw. The interface is very user friendly which is great for all kids and you have complete control over which apps your child has access to. I was a bit disappointed that this tablet is not compatible with the newest version of netflix; however, I found out that you can download Netflix 1.6.0 and it will work on the Kurio (I installed and it does work, later version will NOT work). Overall, I am very impressed with this tablet and it is a great tablet for kids. Games play smooth and the overall graphic quality is pretty good. I would definitely purchase again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+32points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Texas
Help with tablet!!?
Posted 07/05/2013
I just bought this tablet...i have a 2 yr old who loves it lol..but i need to make sure the messenger works and i cant seem to send messages on facebook nor it allows me to download any kind of messenger nor netflix, so if this is possible: download messengers, netflix and hopefully an app. that allows me to make calls..i will keep it..can you help with this???
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids
10/26/2012
By ,
Santa Rosa Beach, FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This unit is very slow booting and I have had issues with it locking up. I bought 2 of these for my children. When skyping onboth units the speakers crackle and you can barely here the other party. I have had these for just over 2 weeks and the plastic screens covers on both units are cracked and damaged. These units do not hold up well to any abuse a young child may inflict on them. I contacted the manufacturer and they do not cover the screen covers under warranty nor will they sell you the replacment parts. I bought a Nabi 6 months ago for all my children to share and I have not yet had the first issue. O)ver all the units performe satisfactory but I am very disapointed in the manufactures lack of concern with the issues I've had. I definatley would never purchase another Kurio item again.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+30points
Review 6 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

Great for kids, not just for games but for learnin

10/12/2012
By ,
Vancouver, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this for our 9 yr old special needs son. We love the detailed parental controls, where we can control his access to every game, etc on it. It's easy to set up and quite easy for him to use. It allows him to do his homework online, which is why we purchased it, yet it still allows for fun as well. We recently purchased a different product and HATE it, and will return it for another Kurio!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+110points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Rome, Ohio
what was the name of the returned product?
Posted 11/02/2012
what was the name of the returned product?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

horrible tech support

01/03/2013
By ,
Lauderdale Lakes
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased the Kurio 7 for my 10yr old. I was impressed with the highlights and features that it offered. However, while trying to download updates, I noticed that my device would start the download process and stop before completion. Although. my internet connection was excellent, the Wi-Fi connection on the Kurio kept disconnecting. Therefore, I tried contacting technical support for help . It was a horrible experience. I attempted several times to get online support via live chat but found that no one would come to my assistance. I tried via email with no success. It was not until I threatened to return the product that I received a response. After half a day emailing back and forth, the technician could not help me. I felt like I was communicating with a robot because no matter how thorough I explained the problem, the tech kept telling me to do the same thing. And despite the fact that their solution was not working, they kept telling me to repeat it. I decided after 6 hours to just stop the emails and return the product. When I spoke to the customer service rep at Walmart, she told me that the Kurio7 was one of the most returned product. Enough said
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 8 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids
10/07/2012
By ,
Louisiana
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It is slow at turning on, it blinks alot the battery don't hold up long. Tried to get Netflix on it but it did not work, it downloaded and installed but then just blinked and would not come on. The Nabi that I bought for my grand-daughter is 100% better than this one. I can put Netflix on hers and she watches all of her movies and the speed is so much faster and has so much more. Yeah it is alittle bit more in money but well worth it.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+185points
Review 9 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

Best tablet for kids

11/10/2012
By ,
St Thomas, VI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this tablet for my kids for Christmas 2012 but I found it to be interested so I give it to my kids (Ages 6 & 11) before then. My kids love it love it love. If your kids love to play with your phone then they will love this tablet. I have no complains and even have recommended it to my niece who bought one for each of her daughters (Ages 2 & 3). As a mother it keeps the kids busy and no fighting because each one have their own.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+111points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Philadelphia
Slow
Posted 05/02/2013
This tablet is very slow and does not compare to many other tablets I have used.
Love that it has parental controls but it is slow to switch between users and slow to browse web pages.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids
07/20/2013
By ,
Lexington, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have purchased this item twice now. The first time was last November as a Christmas gift for my 7 year old grandson, who has autism. I also purchased an extended warranty at the same time. I have been extremely pleased with the tablet. Connor has been able to surf the Internet, play games, and do all of the things that the ad said the tablet was capable of. Unfortunately, he broke the screen a few months ago and I discovered that the screen was not covered by the warranty. I still sent an email to the manufacturer asking for some guidance in replacing his Kurio. My only complaint about the tablet was that the company was so impolite that they did not even respond to my email. I did purchase a new Kurio for Connor because he was so upset at the loss of his first one. This was not easy as I am on SS, which is very low, but it was worth it for him. I want to add that the company should make clear in their ad that the screen is not covered under the warranty.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

NOT USER FRIENDLY

01/06/2013
By ,
RIchmond, VA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
As far as just playing the games that are pre-loaded, my 7 year old loved it. Accessing the internet was almost impossible and once we did, trying to download anything locked the tablet up. Forget trying to download additional apps from the Kurio Store or anywhere else. That locked up too. We attempted to contact their support team, which has no phone number. We sent a request through their support website and have yet to get a reply. My husband is returning it as we speak and looking into an alternate item as my daughter is heartbroken it doesn't work as advertised.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Review 12 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

Great idea for the kids!!!!

10/18/2012
By ,
Las Vegas, Nevada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a mom of 3 and my kids just love this Kurio Tablet. I am so glad that i get my phone back and i dont have to hear them fight anymore. The Kurio has many features and so many games, videos, books to choose from really keeps them out of my hair for awhile. It is great for travels going to recommend to all my friends and family.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+18points
Review 13 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

Do not waste your money

04/11/2013
By ,
KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought 3 of these at Christmas time for our children after reading mostly positive reviews on several different sites. We first wanted it because it was built to withstand young children and second because it seemed like it could grow with out children.
Two tablets were broke within 2 weeks. One is still working and that is our 10 year old sons. You can only access the games Kurio lets you access. All those games are too babyish for a 10 year old.
If you put it in regular tablet mode, it's too slow and I keep getting a notice for unsafe website and that is just on google.com. It won't let you venture anywhere.
My 4 year old enjoys the games, but he's already broken his. the 7 year old liked his, but he broke his also.
do not waste your money!! There are tutorials online to get google play on this tablet but you're likely not to get it on because it's so slow and because of the certificate safety warning that keeps popping up.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Never
0points
Review 14 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

Works OK, many free apps, I am yet to explore Amaz

10/25/2012
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is for my 3 year old. Works as expected, many free apps in Kurio Apps market, I am yet to explore Amazon Apps market. The blue rubber protector comes off for adult use, I don't bother taking it off when I am using it at home. I bought this after returning Ematic EGLXL102B 10 Touchscreen that I did not like.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Review 15 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids
11/06/2012
By ,
Edmond, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this for my 6 yar old grandson. It is a great product and easy to use. Camera and video fun for kids. Great tool for learning and playing. Protective case is extremely good. 2 year old bounced it off the and no damage done. 2 year old even uses color book app included. I would definately suggest this product for anyone looking for a tablet for kids.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 16 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

Just what they say it is!!!

11/07/2012
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this for my 7yr old i loved it so much im ordering one for my 3yr old.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+13points
Review 17 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

Should have read more reviews before buying.

10/30/2012
By ,
michigan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this for my 7-year-old son after reading many reviews that were very positive. The Kurio would not connect to the internet, would not charge (short in the cord) and would just shut off in the middle of the game. All of this within the first 3 days of my son playing it. I returned it and replaced it with the Nabi which is $50 more but so worth it. We have had it for 3 weeks and have not had any problems with it. I would not reccomend this tablet for any age.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+26points
Review 18 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids
10/16/2012
By ,
Bowling Green, KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was bought for my 4 year old daughter as a gift she is wonderful at using computers and we have had this item less than 24 hours and they are already wanting to send a replacement cause the camera will not work all pictures look like a negative the touch screen doesnt work i had to put it on charge to get it to power on. I was atempting to use the key pad and as i was removing letters it was adding letters i wasnt even touching not a good buy will be purchasing the nabi 2
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+30points
Review 19 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

Great buy awesome price!!!

11/11/2012
By ,
Macon, Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased two Kurio tablets for my 5 and 2 year old sons and they absolutely love it. I love the fact that it includes quite a few educational games and they think they are big boys because they have a tablet like mommy and daddy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 20 for Kurio 7" Tablet with 4GB Memory for Families and Kids

slow; touch screen not very responsive

12/27/2012
By ,
IA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My husband and I set out to buy the Leap Frog tablet to begin teaching my 3 year old to use electronics. We were side tracked by the Kurio display and loved that it had so much to offer. Items we love are the multiple profiles, age appropriation, parental limitations (esp the time limit), and the fact that it runs off of a known operating system. It came with a nice cushioned cover so we didn't have to worry about how often it will get dropped in its lifetime. When I began to play around with it, I noticed that the touch screen wasn't very responsive, it was running slow and the apps were locking up. For this being a brand new device, it didn't make since that the apps factory loaded would slow down the system. So, we will find a different device that will not frustrate us or our 3 year old and hopefully last for a few years.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
1-20 of 237 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  12 Next