Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Onn Compact Stereo System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Onn Compact Stereo System

The Compact Stereo System is a vertical-load CD and CD-R/RW player. It also has an AM/FM stereo with digital tuning, five preset EQ settings and stereo RCA and 3.5mm inputs.
Average Customer Rating:
2.6 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation40%10 out of 25reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Compact Stereo System

CD player skips constantly

10/14/2012
By ,
Louisville, KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The above reviewer makes good points: The door is very loud, and the buttons are small and hard to read.
My problem is that the disc player skips constantly. I set the unit up, put in a CD, and 40 seconds into the first song the unit just cut out. I had to turn it off completely to get it to reset. It skipped a total of 6 times during that first disc.
Thinking that the problem might be the disc itself, I switched to another. That one skipped about 14 times.
I cannot recommend a product that doesn't work as intended.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+53points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Creston, OH
Posted 08/18/2013
We bought the CD player for our nursing home ministry. Played the disc with our first song, it stopped, started up and skipped several times, finally had to shut it off and finish the song with no music. Thought it was the CD, so we put another disc in the player and it did the same thing. So it wasn't the CD. Thought it might be standing upright, so we tried laying it down, and it did the same thing.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Compact Stereo System

Very nice!

11/18/2012
By ,
Atlanta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was looking for a CD player to play my favorite Christmas CD last year and it exceeding my expectations. Landed a full time job and took it to my office. I enjoy radio everyday. Love the remote control. Very convenient to turn it up or down. No problems except sketchy reception at rare times, but I attribute that to weather and all the electronics in my office. You really can't beat it for the price. Looks contemporary and modern.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+28points
Review 3 for Compact Stereo System
12/19/2012
By ,
mansfield ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this as a gift. Very nice unit at a great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 4 for Compact Stereo System

CD door very loud when it opens

10/06/2012
By ,
Calif.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
operating buttons are small, hard to read
sound not to loud, about a medium range
it is wall mountable, if you can figure out how the base comes off
and this is the first day trying to use it
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 5 for Compact Stereo System

cd player does not work

12/26/2012
By ,
Reseda. CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was so excited to get this system for X-Mas, I set it up right away. The directions were easy to follow, the sound was good on the radio, but the CD player skipped all over the place. I tried a brand new CD and it was the same I was very disappointed to have to return this system because it was perfect in size for where I wanted it to be placed
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 6 for Compact Stereo System

Not even a full day of ownership

12/22/2012
By ,
katy, tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this radio system absolutely stinks per my experience. i set it up and the next day it would turn on then off by itself. attempted to fix it but nothing would give. returned it and ill wait for a better buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+7points
Review 7 for Compact Stereo System
01/02/2013
By ,
Forsyth
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It worked for two hours, went off and never came back on again. Taking it back to store.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+6points
Review 8 for Compact Stereo System
12/12/2012
By ,
Ft Hood TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
CD player would not operate at all. Returned it immediately.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+4points
Review 9 for Compact Stereo System

Began to self-destruct

02/08/2013
By ,
Texas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bought it to use with my PC. After a few weeks the sound level began to drop. Then the left speaker began to go out/kick in at random and the LED lighting began to fade.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 10 for Compact Stereo System

Suprised they're still being sold

04/21/2013
By ,
Michigan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this for myself this past Christmas 2012. Worked fine and sounded pretty good for about five weeks, then it just up and died. Totally stopped working, and wouldn't turn on at all. Threw it away.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 11 for Compact Stereo System

Not worth my time

09/02/2013
By ,
TEXAS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We purchased this to replace a very old bookshelf system. First, the CD door is very loud when opening and closing. The buttons on both the remote, and the front of the unit are small and hard to read. The radio is not very good, and you must continually move the antenna around to get a good signal. Sound is boring, and the EQ presets are still not what we would prefer (there is no custom selection). However, the biggest complaint of all is that the display is VERY bright, and, if you have this in a bedroom, as we do, it is like leaving a room lamp on. There is no adjustments for this. Another point is that it is very hard to use, as the controls are VERY hard to understand! Not sure what ever happened to making things so that they just work, and, are easy to understand how to use. We will be returning ours, and looking for a different product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 12 for Compact Stereo System

LCD display not working just out of the box

02/19/2013
By ,
Durham, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Hard to play what you want or set your favorite radio stations when you have a BLANK LCD display strait out of the box-will be returning for a refund!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Review 13 for Compact Stereo System

Excellent

12/30/2012
By ,
Cleveland, Oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the money, this is a great buy. Bought it to listen to the local sports radio station, and for CD's, and my IPod. I live in a high rise so a big radio is not the best idea. This little radio sounds great, gets great reception, and plays CD's as well as bigger stereo systems I have owned. I use it 2 hours a day during the week, and probably 8 hours a day on the weekends. The remote control is nice. The buttons are a bit small, but for the money it's really not worth complaining about. I would not hesitate to buy another one or recommend it to someone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 14 for Compact Stereo System

Don't buy this product.

05/06/2013
By ,
Orlando, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this for my son's bedroom. It worked great for about 3 weeks then died. Would not turn on. Sometimes it would work again if I unpluged it for a while. After doing this for a few days, it stopped working completely. I returned it and exchanged it for another one. The second one lasted a lot longer, about 4 months. And then the same thing happened. I will never buy another product made buy this company(Onn). I new it was cheap when I bought it but I only expected it to work.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 15 for Compact Stereo System

JUNK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

08/30/2013
By ,
San Marcos
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cheap is what you pay and what you get. AM/FM doesn't work at all. Dimmer doesn't work. Only plays 1 CD once and stops. JUNK
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 16 for Compact Stereo System

Terrible

08/02/2013
By ,
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this radio with the money I had and when I bought it the door is just very loud when it is opened the radio will die at times and in the middle of listening to CD it will just pause for more than 10 seconds and then resume. I would recommend to buy a different radio
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 17 for Compact Stereo System

DO NOT BUY

08/22/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Looks nice, But after 1 month started to turn off and on randomly, Aux plug stopped working, door was loud when opening and closing. System would turn off in the middle of listening to a CD. I guess you get what you pay for. Very cheap and poorly made. Would not recommend this product to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+1point
Review 18 for Compact Stereo System

Nice Stereo

05/02/2013
By ,
Toledo,OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The CD Door is a little loud when opening and closing the door but of course there is nothing playing on the stereo so that could be why you can hear it but it has really good sounding speakers its a small stereo. So it fits in nice in small apartments or a small room I specially like the full functioning remote and its small its about the size of a credit card I wear reading glasses and I can see the buttons fine on it. The product guide doesn't give no information on how to hang it on the wall but it does show what the buttons are on the remote and what's on the stereo it's only 11pages long but it has only 2 pages that are worth reading that covers what each button does on the stereo and the remote the guide is why I couldn't give it a five star rating but will update if there are any problems with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Compact Stereo System

Excellent value!

03/11/2013
By ,
York, NE
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this stereo for my daughter. The CD player works wonderful, as expected. The only drawback is there doesn't seem to be a repeat button. But very good for the price. No problems with skipping, etc. The radio comes in pretty good as well. The automatic door is pretty cool too! Excellent value for the price. :-)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Compact Stereo System

Really nice sound

02/22/2013
By ,
Boca Ratom, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for use in my garage for listening to the radio CDs. I wanted something that wasn't too bulky but with acceptable sound. I was surprisingly pleased with the sound quality playing both the radio and CD. I like that the unit as well as the speakers can be hung. Both the speakers and main unit are not too deep which was important to me. (I didn't want a typical boombox style unit.) There is also a remote control which is a nice option to have.
I had bought a Memorex radio/cd player for the same price at another retailer and was really disappointed with the sound - the speakers were contained in the unit which is very slim but greatly sacrifices the sound quality - plus the CD player was skipping a lot.
For the price and the sound this purchase exceeded my expectations. Walmart has impressed me again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
-1point
1-20 of 23 total reviews
1 2 Next