Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for LG LG 42LM3700 42" 1080p 60Hz Cinema 3D LED (3.0" ultra-slim) Soundbar/HDTV Bundle

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

LG LG 42LM3700 42" 1080p 60Hz Cinema 3D LED (3.0" ultra-slim) Soundbar/HDTV Bundle

When you have 3D at home, entertainment takes on a whole new dimension. Get all the depth and excitement of the 3D you experience in the theater with LG Cinema 3D and with the included LG Sound Bar System, you'll take your movies, music, and entertainment to a whole new level. Hear a wide spacious sound from just one slim speaker system on the LG 42" 1080p 60hz LED HDTV, 42LM3700. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the LG 42" 1080p 60hz LED HDTV, 42LM3700. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.697 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(89 Reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
70
4 stars
16
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation97%86 out of 89reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
70
4 stars
16
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for LG 42LM3700 42" 1080p 60Hz Cinema 3D LED (3.0" ultra-slim) Soundbar/HDTV Bundle

Excellent quality all-round TV

01/10/2013
By ,
Shoreline, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent quality all-round TV. AND good value to boot! Bought it for a Christmas present in 2012.
I paid $548 for the TV from WalMart and had it delivered locally. I thought I was getting a relatively good TV, but then my expectations were exceeded greatly after hooking it up. I am also upgrading from a 32" LCD, so take this with a grain of salt...but so far this is the best TV i've owned.
(1) 2D-->3D conversion is great once you figure out proper settings for each application (photos and movies require different manual settings -- TV is user friendly though so easy to figure out)
(2) Sound quality on TV is just okay...but the Soundbar makes up for this.
(3) Picture is crystal clear --> the clarity and color of this tv exceeds more expensive ones I was looking at.
Why I rated features 4/5 as opposed to Perfect Score--
(1) I wish this was a Smart TV so I could connect to WIFI directly from the TV. I compared with some VIZIO's that were Smart, but the premium in price was not worth having a smart TV.
SOLUTION: Hook up a Blu-Ray player that has WIFI through HDMI and you have a "Smart TV" for $$$ less than similar products.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+24points
Review 2 for LG 42LM3700 42" 1080p 60Hz Cinema 3D LED (3.0" ultra-slim) Soundbar/HDTV Bundle

Excellent purchase for the price.

11/24/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tv was easy to setup. The picture looks great and it has a lot of options to mess with. A couple things to clarify are that it does come with 4 pair of glasses, it is 60 hz, it has the 2d-3d conversion function, and it does not connect to the internet. I got a blu ray player that does hook up to the internet so the online capabilities of the tv can be overlooked in this situation. The soundbar is fairly loud and most rooms should easily be able to hear it without maxing the volume out.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+70points
Review 3 for LG 42LM3700 42" 1080p 60Hz Cinema 3D LED (3.0" ultra-slim) Soundbar/HDTV Bundle

Beautiful picture, 3D is cooler than expected

12/20/2012
By ,
San Diego
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gorgeous picture quality. Doesn't get much better in this price range. 3D is extremely cool and 2D to 3D conversion is better than expected. I'm not using the soundbar, but I've heard it in action and it's pretty decent. No blurring noted in sports and such even though it's 60hz.
LG has a firmware update which is easy to do. Go to their website, download the update to your computer, copy it to a folder on a USB jump drive, plug the USB jump drive into the USB port, turn the TV on and it will update itself. Only complaint is that I wish it had more than 2 HDMI ports, but I can make do and might buy a splitter switch.
Probably the best 3D HDTV available in this price range, imo. Highly recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 4 for LG 42LM3700 42" 1080p 60Hz Cinema 3D LED (3.0" ultra-slim) Soundbar/HDTV Bundle
11/21/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far so good.... The picture and sound is good. The 3d ranges from nonexistent to theater quality, depending on the color contrast and depth. It is very easy to set up. The wall mount included does not seem strong or sturdy enough so I am buying a different one. Overall it is a great purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+35points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 11/22/2012
Do you get 3d glasses?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for LG 42LM3700 42" 1080p 60Hz Cinema 3D LED (3.0" ultra-slim) Soundbar/HDTV Bundle

we just got it, so far so good

11/22/2012
By ,
Grimsley, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I find that using the sound bar and TV sound gives it an "echo" effect. so I either have to have the tv sound up or the sound bar up to get rid of the echo'ing. kids love the 3D esp when they play their Wii games. you can sit pretty much anywhere and the picture quality is the same.. very vivid love the many options it gives you in viewing the shows.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 6 for LG 42LM3700 42" 1080p 60Hz Cinema 3D LED (3.0" ultra-slim) Soundbar/HDTV Bundle

Buy It!

01/30/2013
By ,
Gainesville, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this tv for a little over a week now and I'm very impressed. I was in a bit of a bind when my 4 year old JVC died one day while watching it. I needed a replacement fast, but didn't want to just buy something and then hate it later. I did a lot of research and comparison shopping and this was by far the best deal I could find.
Set Up:
The set up couldn't be any easier. You'll spend more time putting the base together than you will actually programming the tv. The menus are clear and intuitive and there are plenty of options should you want to customize your setting even further. There are several viewing options and a picture wizard that will set up the picture just as you'd like. Really, it couldn't get any easier.
Picture Quality:
All the reviews mention how great the picture is, but I dismissed it thinking they were new to flat screens or new to HD television. I was wrong the picture is AMAZING! I've been impressed since the first time I turned it on. The picture is bright, crisp and very clear. You will be amazed.
3D Settings:
Super easy to use. 2D to 3D is a neat option and it works. Simply put on the classes (4 pair come with the tv) and click the button and you're watching your favorite show in 3D. Pretty cool. Hook it up to a 3D capable device and your 3D movie never looked better, especially on this amazing super clear screen.
Sound:
Lots of people have commented on our poor the sounds. It's not movie theater quality but it's fine and what you would expect from a tv. You have a few options. You can use the tv speakers, the sound bar, or both side bar and speakers. The tv comes with the option to turn off the tv speakers, allowing you to just use the sound bar. I recommend just using the sound bar. The tv speakers can be customized to your listening preferences but you'll get a better fuller sound from the sound bar itself.
The sound bar comes with it's own remote, which does control the tv too as well as it's own mounting brackets. It hooks too the tv using the supplied Digital Optical Audio Cable.
The tv comes with two remotes. One for the tv itself, which can control the sound bar as well. Or a small remote for the sound bar and does have basic tv functions as well. It's a nice perk having two remotes.
There are some other great features, but this review is getting long. The important thing is the tv is awesome and for the price you can't beat it. It works great and has an amazing picture. Don't hesitate at all to buy this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 7 for LG 42LM3700 42" 1080p 60Hz Cinema 3D LED (3.0" ultra-slim) Soundbar/HDTV Bundle

Very nice TV.

12/08/2012
By ,
Woodstock, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Met my expectations. Very good 3D TV. I like the passive glasses. Arrived on time with Walmart, good price at just over $500. Was easy to set up.
The soundbar only functions with this TV requiring a special cable that was included, but can't be used with a standard TV (was going to use with a different TV...). Other than that little unexpected twist, we are really enjoying the TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 8 for LG 42LM3700 42" 1080p 60Hz Cinema 3D LED (3.0" ultra-slim) Soundbar/HDTV Bundle

A qualified favorable review...

01/24/2013
By ,
Maine
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good picture quality. Controls and features are fairly intuitive which is good because the user's manuals are minimalist and lacking in detail. Very quick and easy set up. The TV's internal speakers were better than I expected. I used those for a few days before connecting the soundbar. However, the soundbar is quite disappointing. Unlike with the TV's internal speakers there is no way to adjust sound settings (base, treble, clear voice, etc.) on the soundbar. When I bought my TV, the feature list included the mention of surround sound. That is either not true or if there is a way to set this feature it is neither intuitively obvious nor is it mentioned anywhere in either the TV manual or the separate manual for the soundbar. I'm not sure if this particular television is available for purchase (for less money) without the soundbar. There is an LM3400 model without soundbar. I do not know if it is the same television though perhaps it is just as good. If so, I would not recommend spending the extra money for the soundbar bundle. Better to buy a higher quality separate sound system. When looking to purchase a large flat screen TV, I was concerned with finding one that produced a very high quality picture with sharp resolution and deep blacks. This TV delivers in spades. I was not looking specifically for a TV with 3D features, but figured that could be a bonus. I'm underwhelmed with the 3D feature, but maybe that's just me. Anyway, I'm thrilled with the regular 2D picture quality and generally like the TV, but again, I feel the extra dollars for the soundbar package could be put to better use by applying them to a separate audio system which I expect I will end up buying at some point. One last issue: on two occasions so far, both the TV's on board controls (on/off, channel, volume, etc.) and the controls on the remote simply failed to function at all. In order to even turn the TV off, I had to unplug it. When plugged back in everything functioned again, but I am going to keep close tabs on this problem to see if it recurs or gets worse (I have had the set for 8 days). If so, I will consider it unacceptable and insist on a lasting repair or replacement during the warranty period.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 9 for LG 42LM3700 42" 1080p 60Hz Cinema 3D LED (3.0" ultra-slim) Soundbar/HDTV Bundle

Great value for 3D technology.

12/01/2012
By ,
Utah
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This TV is a great value for 3D technology, with amazing picture quality. Even the picture quality in regular channels is pretty good when watched in 3D. The sound bar is a plus, and would cost substantially more if purchased separately. We would definitely recommend this particular set to a friend.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 10 for LG 42LM3700 42" 1080p 60Hz Cinema 3D LED (3.0" ultra-slim) Soundbar/HDTV Bundle

Great entry level 3d tv

12/13/2012
By ,
Paris, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The picture quality is superb on this set. I went from a 32" sanyo 720p to this and the difference is huge. Every looks way better. I cant really comment on the speakers built into the device, or the soundbar that comes with it as i don't use either of those. I have it hooked up to a 3D bluray 5.1 surround sound system. I will say that the sanyo had an issue where certain explosions where crackly, even when having the aduio put out to my surround sound, where as since I've used this tv the issue has stopped completely even though nothing else has changed. All in all if you're looking for a good picture, at an affordable price get this tv.
Only downside s that its 60hz and isn't a smart t.v.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 11 for LG 42LM3700 42" 1080p 60Hz Cinema 3D LED (3.0" ultra-slim) Soundbar/HDTV Bundle

Nice TV for less

12/01/2012
By ,
Greeneville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Knowing that I was not willing to pay a high price for a television, I did not have high expectations. I have been pleased with it's performance. It really has a nice picture. The sound bar was a nice extra. I have no complaints.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Review 12 for LG 42LM3700 42" 1080p 60Hz Cinema 3D LED (3.0" ultra-slim) Soundbar/HDTV Bundle

Amazing bang for your buck

12/17/2012
By ,
orlando, fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This LG 3D tv comes with a soundbar AND four pairs of 3D glasses! The picture is awesome on regular (2D), 3D-conversion from 2D, and 3D blu-rays. It came about a week before I was expecting it. It was easy to set-up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 13 for LG 42LM3700 42" 1080p 60Hz Cinema 3D LED (3.0" ultra-slim) Soundbar/HDTV Bundle

Absolutely Amazing - OMG

04/13/2013
By ,
Hartford, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recently updated from an old 2001 32" Panasonic TV. This 42" LG Flatscreen/3D TV is absolutely amazing. It came with a sound bar that's not needed but is still awesome. Came with 4 - 3D glasses. TV can be switched from 2D to 3D at anytime. Can watch regular programming in 3D which is pretty cool. Was easy to set up out the box. Didn't even need the book to figure it out! HA - LOL This is my first flatscreen TV ever. It is lighter, brighter, bigger, yet thinner and has more options than I could ever ask for. The picture is just amazing especially on HD and movies are like wow. I was very skeptical buying something like this online but have been very pleased and would buy it all over again. It arrived just a few days after purchased, a lot sooner than I had anticipated.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 14 for LG 42LM3700 42" 1080p 60Hz Cinema 3D LED (3.0" ultra-slim) Soundbar/HDTV Bundle
12/15/2012
By ,
Green River, WY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Set-up was easy, shame it only has 2 HDMI ports. I had to buy a splitter to hook up every thing that I had, 3D player,computer,direct tv, picture is good. 3D movies are good. 2D to 3D isn't that great. over-all for the money it is a good deal, like it better than the vizio 3D it replaced.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 15 for LG 42LM3700 42" 1080p 60Hz Cinema 3D LED (3.0" ultra-slim) Soundbar/HDTV Bundle

A Very Good 3D HDTV

01/02/2013
By ,
Falls Church, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm very happy with my purchase of this LG 3D HDTV. I can't yet comment on the clarity of this particular model because at the time of this writing I'm still awaiting true 1080 signal services from Verizon, but I've seen similar (non-3D) models with FIOS signal and the picture is freakishly sharp, so I'm looking forward to that. In the meantime, the 3D feature *rocks!* We get a 3D content channel from our current cable TV provider and watching 3D iMAX content and other 3D content on this television is a very enjoyable experience. The 3D glasses are passive, light, inexpensive, and not too fatiguing to wear/watch shows with for an hour or so at a time. Pair this TV with surround sound and you truly will have a cinematic experience at home.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 16 for LG 42LM3700 42" 1080p 60Hz Cinema 3D LED (3.0" ultra-slim) Soundbar/HDTV Bundle

very nice TV!!!!

12/01/2012
By ,
GA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This unit meets all my expectations, a beautiful pic. and with the sound bar great sound. Hope to get many years of service from this TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 17 for LG 42LM3700 42" 1080p 60Hz Cinema 3D LED (3.0" ultra-slim) Soundbar/HDTV Bundle

Great entry level 3D TV

12/15/2012
By ,
Azle, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Has all the features I wanted except WiFi. Easy to install. Great picture. Sound was good with the attached speaker bar, but not what I wanted. This was not a factor, as I use a surround sound receiver. Overall, I'm very pleased with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 18 for LG 42LM3700 42" 1080p 60Hz Cinema 3D LED (3.0" ultra-slim) Soundbar/HDTV Bundle

Great TV!

12/03/2012
By ,
Louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would definitely recommend this to someone looking for a TV. The picture quality is excellent, the sound is very clear/loud. Anyone who says that a 42" TV isn't big enough obviously has not experienced what this TV has to offer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 19 for LG 42LM3700 42" 1080p 60Hz Cinema 3D LED (3.0" ultra-slim) Soundbar/HDTV Bundle

AWESOME!!!

01/15/2013
By ,
Sarasota, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a reaally great TV. I have contemplated getting a 3D TV for a few years but had never had the money or ability to watch 3D. I have what is called Amblyopia or Lazy Eye and my one eye does most of my seeing (sight is corrected to 20/200 in the lazy eye) so the old 3D with the red and blue lenses was NOT an option for me but this is great!!!
I was also lucky enough to find a pair of clip on LG 3D glasses to clip on to my prescription glasses so I don't have to have 2 pair of glasses on!!!
Also got the LG 3D Blu-ray player to go with this TV. Also the sound bar is great and adds really great sound.
I even had to upgrade my cable receiver to HD just to watch the great programs!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 20 for LG 42LM3700 42" 1080p 60Hz Cinema 3D LED (3.0" ultra-slim) Soundbar/HDTV Bundle

It was the best gift for my husband!!

12/06/2012
By ,
Austin,TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We really loved it! you can see all your favorite programs is 3D!!! it is just AMAZING!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
1-20 of 38 total reviews
1 2 Next