Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Edsal Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Edsal Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Store and organize your items with this 48"W x 24"D x 72"H Edsal Steel Shelving Unit. This Black Steel Shelving Unit features a Z beam construction for added strength and rigidity, so that these shelves will be able to handle lots of weight. The five shelves are made of particle board and are specifically designed to support heavy loads. These shelves can also be adjusted every inch and a half, so you can assemble and adjust the 5-Shelf Edsal Heavy Duty Shelving to fit your needs. This shelving storage unit can hold up to 4000 lbs as long as the weight is distributed evenly over the entire unit. The 48"W x 24"D x 72"H Edsal Steel Shelving Unit is ideal for storing tools and other heavy equipment in the garage, tool shed or even your greenhouse.
Average Customer Rating:
3.839 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(223 Reviews) 213
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
95
4 stars
67
3 stars
21
2 stars
10
1 star
30
Customer Recommendation80%178 out of 223reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 87 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
95
4 stars
67
3 stars
21
2 stars
10
1 star
30
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Big & Sturdy

07/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thought it was too good to be true for such a great product at such an inexpensive cost. It arrived on time - the box corners/edges a bit mangled due to the heavy weight. This concerned us and after opening, some corners on the board shelves had broken off. We considered returning it, but after assembly, the shelves still fit perfectly and we couldn't see the missing corners. All-around, this is a cosmetically and durably sound product. Very quick and easy assembly. The dimensions were spot-on and our two shelving units fit perfectly in the garage space. It’s tall, it’s deep, and it's beautiful (see photo). Definitely buying more! Way to go Walmart!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

VERY disappointed

10/08/2013
By ,
Cumming, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered five of these shelves. Every single one of the boxes that were delivered was damaged and open upon arrival, with parts falling out of two of them. One of the boxes was apparently so badly damaged that Federal Express did not even leave it at my house; they returned it to Walmart, of their own accord.
All the particle board shelving was damaged on the corners due to the boxes being open.
Overall, it was not a complete loss, considering the price paid, but I was most definitely very disappointed in the condition that the merchandise arrived. (see pictures)
PS.
I tried at least 8 times to upload photos, but was only able to upload successfully one photo. Keep getting a Gateway timed out error - 504. So, disappointed in this review site also. :/
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Can't believe the bang for the buck!

04/05/2014
By ,
Amarillo, TX.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1st of all, I agree to it being heavy, but if the shipper/handler treats it well (like they did mine), it arrives fine and in a manageable way. I put it together by myself in about an hour or less. It was simple and can't believe how well this thing is made! The wood sits flat and snug. No tools required except to tap the ends down (way easy). I still don't understand how they ship it for free. It says 102lbs shipping weight, but mine said 82lbs. Anyways, buy these non stop until they run out! You will not regret it! PS, the photo provided was done today after I put my motorcycle stuff on it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Easy to setup & sturdy!

06/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exactly as described! Great for garage organization! Would recommend and buy again!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

VERY upset

11/15/2013
By ,
Fort Hood, Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered two of these as they were being advertised all over the internet for the sale they were having. BOTH boxes arrived opened and crushed. Fedex quickly left them at my front door and ran off as I was trying to call them back about it. I couldn't believe they would be delivered in such condition!!! All of the shelves were destroyed on the sides and corners. Pieces of the shelving unit (crumbles) were falling out of the sides.
I was very excited ordering these, and now am just frustrated and upset. They are VERY heavy to move, so bringing them back anytime soon... yea. TERRIBLE TERRIBLE TERRIBLE product and TERRIBLE quality control.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Recommend Item but Not Shipping It To Home

05/12/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I already have one of these shelves and wanted two more for my garage so I order them to be shipped directly to my home. The 1st delivery was aborted by the shipper due to package damage. They attempted the 2nd delivery but the shelves were crushed and framing sticking out of box so I refused the delivery. I contacted Walmart CS and they kindly expedited out a new delivery. I informed the CS Associate that the corrugate was inadequate for direct shipping that advising the warehouse of that might prevent further loss but when the replacement was received, it was the original packaging with the framing sticking out of both boxes and both ends of each box was open and crushed. I refused the delivery and Walmart suggested we cancel the order. IF you can handle 103 pounds per box, I recommend trying the Store to Store delivery (Assuming it would be in better shape however, I have no way to transport that weight so won’t be ordering this product further through Walmart).
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Great Product, Good Price, Poor Packaging

03/24/2014
By ,
Tucson, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Like almost everyone else who reviewed this item the product itself is awesome but the packaging could definately use some improvement. Item was delivered in a damaged box. A few of the shelf corners were crunched. None of the metal pieces had any type of paper or plastic protecting them. resulting in some minor scrapes and scratches in the paint from the pieces shifting during shipping. (There is no internal packing materials at all, just pieces in a box) Some metal pieces were sandwiched inbetween two of the shelves and left impressions in the shelf that was sitting on top of them. On a good note, the shelves themselves are very easy to assemble. The shelf with the indentations was flipped over for use, and the minor scrapes in the paint were in areas that were not noticable when unit was assembled. Bottom line, great shelves at a great price and easy to assemble...as long as you don't plan on using them for anything other that storage and don't mind the few bumps and scratches it aquires from the poor packaging.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Recommendation--With Reseravations

07/20/2014
By ,
Newport News, VA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have purchased several heavy duty shelf sets over the past year; most have been quality units at quite a discount. Relative to these shelves, the others are far superior. With these units, you almost need three hands in order to get the second tier installed, and the entire unit remains unstable until all of the shelf boards are installed.
My two units arrived missing four of the framing rails and four of the end pieces were missing the brads necessary to install the these rails. I called the company and they were quite accommodating and promptly shipped out the missing pieces.
The bottom line is you get what you pay for: if you want a quality, heavy duty shelf set, this is not the one to buy-- spend the extra $$$$s and buy quality brand. If you are looking for some 2'X4'X6' shelving and your budget can't afford the first tier shelving pricing, then these units will probably meet your needs.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Thin Metal = Not Rigid nor Strong

07/22/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
When the package arrived from FEDEX, I was surprised to see the delivery person easily pickup the box without assistance of a dolly/hand truck. I thought he was really strong or the package is somewhat lightweight. In the past, when I have purchased heavy duty metal shelves, it take some assistance to carry it.
When I first opened the box I saw that the ply wood was very thin (approx 1/4") and that connecting corners were very thin compared to other heavy duty shelves that we have inside of our shop.
Assembly was easy and straight-forward. The connecting corners are a two piece construction and do not provide strength.
The box claims 4000lbs capacity, but I would not use it for any heavy duty items - even if evenly distributed.
I will not purchase this item in the future nor recommend it to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Product was Destroyed in Shipping

11/19/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I received my order on 10/14/13... The comment I have is the way the product was packaged. First the box weighs close to 100 lbs. each, there was no strapping or hand holes for anyone to grab to lift it. I don't know how the UPS driver ever got to my front door. I know I struggled to get the boxes into my house. Secondly the box itself did not have any corner protection and consequently the corners on all the MDF shelves were broken. I don't know how this could be resolved because if I returned the units for replacement, I am certain the new units would show up in the same condition. I guess I will have to go to Home Depot to replace the (10)2'x4' MDF shelves, (3) 4'x8' sheets cut into quarters . The cost is approximately $60.00.
Again, I can not blame UPS, either Edsal or Walmart should have made sure the packaging was adequate for shipping and lifting.
Sign me very disappointed ...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

You get what you pay for

03/13/2014
By ,
Minnesota
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
While the shelf isn't the super-durable, it is a pretty good value for the size and price one pays, and depending on the application should work just fine. It could probably hold the stated 4000 lbs if the weight were pretty evenly spaced. The frame seems pretty good, but as in many shelves of this type, particle board is used. So don't use this in an application where shelves will get wet.
I'm using the shelf for a seedling starting shelf with shop lights hanging from the frame, so I may cover the shelves with plastic to avoid getting them wet. Painted particle board white to protect boards a little more (and reflect more light). So far, shelf is working quite well for this application.
Note: Using the shelves as two separate shelves (side by side), so I can't comment on the stability of the shelf at full height. (There are 8 corner pieces, so to extend the shelf upwards, four of the corner pieces are stacked on the lower four and fitted into the frame.)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Nice large strong shelf unit

07/20/2014
By ,
Lakeland, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Once I put it together it is a large heavy strong unit. I was surprised that the shelves were pressed wood, but they are very solid. The only problem is in the assembly and the directions. The corner post are two pieces stacked one on top of the other connected by a side and an end rail. When installing them they will not stand until you have all of them connected and the next shelf solidifies the unit. The directions say nothing about this. I thought I was assembling it wrong and wasted a lot of time and energy trying to do it correctly. The pictures aren't very good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Decent Shelving

07/21/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
These are really sturdy shelves. Great for my garage storage, which is why I bought them. I only have two comments that could be considered "negative"?
First, I expected metal shelving versus pressed wood. Secondly, installation instructions lack in full directions. You will need more than one person to install this shelving.
Other than those 2 comments, the shelves are quite sturdy and fit the job that we needed. I just expected a better quality of "shelves" in lieu of cheap pressboard.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Holds a lot of storage in my new shed.

07/24/2014
By ,
Sugar Land, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered 6 of these and have only received 5. 2 pieces of another are missing. Not sure what is going on with that but will contact Walmart for resolution. Otherwise the shelves are great. Just what I was looking for at an affordable price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Poor shelving material

07/25/2014
By ,
So. Illinois
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
While the frame of these units is sturdy, the cheap shelf material bows under even the slightest weight. Be prepared to replace the shelves with cement board or plywood.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Packing destroyed it

07/23/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Got 5 of them, all of them came damaged, wood is broken, rods are out of shape, so difficult to put this together. Good price if it works.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Great price.Easy to put together.Very functional.

07/23/2014
By ,
USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great price. Easy to put together. Very functional. Good condition out of box.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Good, inexpensive, LARGE shelf. Easy assembly.

09/03/2013
By ,
NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got 2 of these recently to help organize my garage. Put it together solo, easier with 2 people but not neccessary. If you've ever put one of these types of things together there is a much easier way to assemble it than what is listed in the instructions. Anyway, they go up fast, have a huge amount of surface space and it is easy to customize your shelf size.
I saw a few complaints here about weight capacity. While I do not intend to stick 800lbs on each shelf and see if it holds, the unit is very strong and stable. I do have at least one shelf holding about 350lbs of plate weights, with no signs of bowing or stress. For people who complain about strength, of the lack of center support, they probably assembled it wrong. Each arm that holds the shelf up HAS A TOP AND A BOTTOM. This is not specified in the instructions. If you accidentally install one of them upside down, the shelf strength is decreased. If you accidentally install all of them upside down, the shelf will sag under 50lbs. It is VERY easy to install them upside down by accident if you aren't paying attention. Once everything is put together correctly: solid as a rock.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Functional and Spacious

07/22/2014
By ,
Morrisville, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best rack I've owned. All of my garage stuff was easily assembled in 2 of these shelves. Easy to assemble too !
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

The wood used is weak and "crumbly"

10/26/2013
By ,
South Jordan, UT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First of all, I used the "ship to store" feature to order this shelving unit....It was delivered to the wrong store! Second, the box it came in was completely beat up, torn up, and had several openings in it.....Most of the metal posts fall out of one hole as I took it to my car. Once I got it home to build, I found that the wood (around the edges of each shelf) had left particles all over my car and the box it came in. As we built the shelves, we were happy to see all the parts were still in the box. But, as we built it, the wood continued to shred around the edges and break off in our hands as we installed each wood shelf.....Needless to say, I am very disappointing in this product and the lack of care taken during shipping.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 214 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  11 Next