Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Edsal Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Edsal Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Store and organize your items with this 48"W x 24"D x 72"H Edsal Steel Shelving Unit. This Black Steel Shelving Unit features a Z beam construction for added strength and rigidity, so that these shelves will be able to handle lots of weight. The five shelves are made of particle board and are specifically designed to support heavy loads. These shelves can also be adjusted every inch and a half, so you can assemble and adjust the 5-Shelf Edsal Heavy Duty Shelving to fit your needs. This shelving storage unit can hold up to 4000 lbs as long as the weight is distributed evenly over the entire unit. The 48"W x 24"D x 72"H Edsal Steel Shelving Unit is ideal for storing tools and other heavy equipment in the garage, tool shed or even your greenhouse.
Average Customer Rating:
3.834 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(476 Reviews) 466
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
208
4 stars
132
3 stars
47
2 stars
27
1 star
62
Customer Recommendation79%374 out of 476reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 126 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
208
4 stars
132
3 stars
47
2 stars
27
1 star
62
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Shelfs

08/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love these, not only are they huge but very sturdy, as you can see in the pictures they hold lots of stuff...and also excellent price on the roll backs.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Great quality except..

10/20/2014
By ,
Utah
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This rack shipped very quick and it high quality. It is easy to assemble. The reason I gave it 4 out of 5 stars is because I hate the corners of this thing. You have to have a shelf right in the middle of this rack and it ruined my plans for where I wanted to put a shelf. The corner posts come in two separate pieces so it requires beams right in the middle to hold it together, it's kind of a pain. If the corner posts were one solid piece and I could put my shelves where I wanted, I would have given it 5 stars. Overall, good quality and easy to assemble.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

VERY disappointed

10/08/2013
By ,
Cumming, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered five of these shelves. Every single one of the boxes that were delivered was damaged and open upon arrival, with parts falling out of two of them. One of the boxes was apparently so badly damaged that Federal Express did not even leave it at my house; they returned it to Walmart, of their own accord.
All the particle board shelving was damaged on the corners due to the boxes being open.
Overall, it was not a complete loss, considering the price paid, but I was most definitely very disappointed in the condition that the merchandise arrived. (see pictures)
PS.
I tried at least 8 times to upload photos, but was only able to upload successfully one photo. Keep getting a Gateway timed out error - 504. So, disappointed in this review site also. :/
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+55points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Fayetteville, TN
Site to store.
Posted 09/14/2014
Such possibilities is why I ALWAYS order delivery "site to store". They keep track of it, and, if any damages, refuse it there. I believe they head off damaged merchandise and make sure you get good conditioned items, at least I've never had any damage of any sort to anything I've ordered and picked up.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Big & Sturdy

07/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thought it was too good to be true for such a great product at such an inexpensive cost. It arrived on time - the box corners/edges a bit mangled due to the heavy weight. This concerned us and after opening, some corners on the board shelves had broken off. We considered returning it, but after assembly, the shelves still fit perfectly and we couldn't see the missing corners. All-around, this is a cosmetically and durably sound product. Very quick and easy assembly. The dimensions were spot-on and our two shelving units fit perfectly in the garage space. It’s tall, it’s deep, and it's beautiful (see photo). Definitely buying more! Way to go Walmart!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

VERY upset

11/15/2013
By ,
Fort Hood, Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered two of these as they were being advertised all over the internet for the sale they were having. BOTH boxes arrived opened and crushed. Fedex quickly left them at my front door and ran off as I was trying to call them back about it. I couldn't believe they would be delivered in such condition!!! All of the shelves were destroyed on the sides and corners. Pieces of the shelving unit (crumbles) were falling out of the sides.
I was very excited ordering these, and now am just frustrated and upset. They are VERY heavy to move, so bringing them back anytime soon... yea. TERRIBLE TERRIBLE TERRIBLE product and TERRIBLE quality control.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
CA
upset
Posted 10/05/2014
why do you have to schlep them any place?? FedEx delivered them improperly they should pick them up
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Can't believe the bang for the buck!

04/05/2014
By ,
Amarillo, TX.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1st of all, I agree to it being heavy, but if the shipper/handler treats it well (like they did mine), it arrives fine and in a manageable way. I put it together by myself in about an hour or less. It was simple and can't believe how well this thing is made! The wood sits flat and snug. No tools required except to tap the ends down (way easy). I still don't understand how they ship it for free. It says 102lbs shipping weight, but mine said 82lbs. Anyways, buy these non stop until they run out! You will not regret it! PS, the photo provided was done today after I put my motorcycle stuff on it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Easy to setup & sturdy!

06/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exactly as described! Great for garage organization! Would recommend and buy again!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Poor Quality :Very Disappointed!

09/20/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DO NOT PURCHASE! This is of POOR quality made with bagasse board. It came damage with the bagasse board shelling apart.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Recommend Item but Not Shipping It To Home

05/12/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I already have one of these shelves and wanted two more for my garage so I order them to be shipped directly to my home. The 1st delivery was aborted by the shipper due to package damage. They attempted the 2nd delivery but the shelves were crushed and framing sticking out of box so I refused the delivery. I contacted Walmart CS and they kindly expedited out a new delivery. I informed the CS Associate that the corrugate was inadequate for direct shipping that advising the warehouse of that might prevent further loss but when the replacement was received, it was the original packaging with the framing sticking out of both boxes and both ends of each box was open and crushed. I refused the delivery and Walmart suggested we cancel the order. IF you can handle 103 pounds per box, I recommend trying the Store to Store delivery (Assuming it would be in better shape however, I have no way to transport that weight so won’t be ordering this product further through Walmart).
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Great Product, Good Price, Poor Packaging

03/24/2014
By ,
Tucson, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Like almost everyone else who reviewed this item the product itself is awesome but the packaging could definately use some improvement. Item was delivered in a damaged box. A few of the shelf corners were crunched. None of the metal pieces had any type of paper or plastic protecting them. resulting in some minor scrapes and scratches in the paint from the pieces shifting during shipping. (There is no internal packing materials at all, just pieces in a box) Some metal pieces were sandwiched inbetween two of the shelves and left impressions in the shelf that was sitting on top of them. On a good note, the shelves themselves are very easy to assemble. The shelf with the indentations was flipped over for use, and the minor scrapes in the paint were in areas that were not noticable when unit was assembled. Bottom line, great shelves at a great price and easy to assemble...as long as you don't plan on using them for anything other that storage and don't mind the few bumps and scratches it aquires from the poor packaging.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Ok I guess, but not what I wanted.

12/17/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was expecting these to have one long rail for each corner. Each corner is actually two separate pieces and they are supposed to be held together by one of the shelf sections. It is not secure and extremely difficult to assemble.
After buying 4 for under $50 on cyber Monday I am disappointed. The boxes arrived by Fedex with damaged boxes and left out in the rain rather than under a covered porch. I realize these were cheap, but with a regular price of $110 I expected more. I didn't even finish assembling one and left the other three in the boxes. I will be returning them today and going back to building my own shelves.
I figured I would try these since they were cheaper than the materials to build shelves, but they are not the same. I can build a 18"x96" unit with 5 shelves for around $60 and an hour or so of my time. They aren't pretty and painted, but they get the job done and will hold a lot more weight.
I guess one cool thing about these is you could use them at half height as work benches or something.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Recommendation--With Reseravations

07/20/2014
By ,
Newport News, VA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have purchased several heavy duty shelf sets over the past year; most have been quality units at quite a discount. Relative to these shelves, the others are far superior. With these units, you almost need three hands in order to get the second tier installed, and the entire unit remains unstable until all of the shelf boards are installed.
My two units arrived missing four of the framing rails and four of the end pieces were missing the brads necessary to install the these rails. I called the company and they were quite accommodating and promptly shipped out the missing pieces.
The bottom line is you get what you pay for: if you want a quality, heavy duty shelf set, this is not the one to buy-- spend the extra $$$$s and buy quality brand. If you are looking for some 2'X4'X6' shelving and your budget can't afford the first tier shelving pricing, then these units will probably meet your needs.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Great shelf, great price.

01/07/2015
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spent about an hour researching shelves on line before I made this purchase. 3 other stores carry this exact shelf for $20 to $30 more plus higher costs to ship to home. This is the best deal I could find. I bought 1 shelf to check it out before buying more. It's sturdy with a lot of storage space and decent vertical clearance for big items. It's not the best quality shelf on the market, but it does the job I needed it to do...hold my stuff. It'll do fine for most anything, unless you're storing gold bars. In that case, sell a bar, and buy a heavier-duty shelf.
The shelf arrived in a very heavy box. The box had some big dents, but that didn't affect the parts inside. Assembly is required, but nothing hard to understand. It'll be much easier if you have someone help you assemble and move the shelf into position. The completed shelf is difficult to move due to its size and weight.
I plan to buy 2 more of these shelves for my garage.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Edsal shelves

02/22/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is not as described and a bad purchase for me. I bought 2 for my garage.
Unless you are putting lightweight items on the shelves these will not work. First the box is so heavy that when I got them the ends were crushed and the brackets were exposed. I took a picture before I opened the box. The crushed ends resulted in 4 of the 6 particle board shelves being broken. I looked at the reviews, these shelves will not hold more than 50 pounds. Also the instructions were non-existent and you have to figure out how to put up the last 4 shelves. After 2 hours we gave up. I now have to lug 2- 300 pound boxes to Walmart to get a refund. I will look for better shelves for the garage. My advice Do not buy and waste your money. If you do buy be careful with the box you will need it if you have to make a return, and take pictures if your box is crushed.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

NO REPONSE

03/02/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I ordered two of these shelving units. One came with a wrong size BRACE. On February 23, 2015 I used Edsal's email contact for customer service. To date March3, 2015, I have not received any response. I've tried their customer service telephone number, several times, good luck contacting them by phone. Because all the parts of the shelving unit interlock to stabilize the shelving unit. I'm reluctant to use the one unit for fear it will collapse without the BRACE that it is missing. So, as of today I have a shelving unit I'm unable to utilize because the manufacturer EDSAL has not responded to my attempts to contact them. There are other manufacturer's who offer similar shelving units and should I have a need for other shelves, I will probably try another manufacturer other than EDSAL.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

You get what you pay for

03/13/2014
By ,
Minnesota
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
While the shelf isn't the super-durable, it is a pretty good value for the size and price one pays, and depending on the application should work just fine. It could probably hold the stated 4000 lbs if the weight were pretty evenly spaced. The frame seems pretty good, but as in many shelves of this type, particle board is used. So don't use this in an application where shelves will get wet.
I'm using the shelf for a seedling starting shelf with shop lights hanging from the frame, so I may cover the shelves with plastic to avoid getting them wet. Painted particle board white to protect boards a little more (and reflect more light). So far, shelf is working quite well for this application.
Note: Using the shelves as two separate shelves (side by side), so I can't comment on the stability of the shelf at full height. (There are 8 corner pieces, so to extend the shelf upwards, four of the corner pieces are stacked on the lower four and fitted into the frame.)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Horrible design

12/19/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The design of this rack is terrible. And no way this thing can support 4k lbs. I don't know how the reviews on this are so positive. It takes at least 2 people to put this thing together. The upper half of the slotted posts won't stand by themselves during assembly. The slotted posts are flimsy and can be easily twisted by hand. The particle boards are 1/2" thick and bend easily lengthwise. Don't believe the pictures cause these boards would easily snap. I regrettably am keeping mine cause I don't feel like lugging 100 lbs back to the store. So I'll be spending more money to shore this thing up. My suggestion for others is spend the 100+ dollars on an all medal unit if you want it to support any kind of reasonable weight.
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Good, inexpensive, LARGE shelf. Easy assembly.

09/03/2013
By ,
NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got 2 of these recently to help organize my garage. Put it together solo, easier with 2 people but not neccessary. If you've ever put one of these types of things together there is a much easier way to assemble it than what is listed in the instructions. Anyway, they go up fast, have a huge amount of surface space and it is easy to customize your shelf size.
I saw a few complaints here about weight capacity. While I do not intend to stick 800lbs on each shelf and see if it holds, the unit is very strong and stable. I do have at least one shelf holding about 350lbs of plate weights, with no signs of bowing or stress. For people who complain about strength, of the lack of center support, they probably assembled it wrong. Each arm that holds the shelf up HAS A TOP AND A BOTTOM. This is not specified in the instructions. If you accidentally install one of them upside down, the shelf strength is decreased. If you accidentally install all of them upside down, the shelf will sag under 50lbs. It is VERY easy to install them upside down by accident if you aren't paying attention. Once everything is put together correctly: solid as a rock.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

The wood used is weak and "crumbly"

10/26/2013
By ,
South Jordan, UT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First of all, I used the "ship to store" feature to order this shelving unit....It was delivered to the wrong store! Second, the box it came in was completely beat up, torn up, and had several openings in it.....Most of the metal posts fall out of one hole as I took it to my car. Once I got it home to build, I found that the wood (around the edges of each shelf) had left particles all over my car and the box it came in. As we built the shelves, we were happy to see all the parts were still in the box. But, as we built it, the wood continued to shred around the edges and break off in our hands as we installed each wood shelf.....Needless to say, I am very disappointing in this product and the lack of care taken during shipping.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Product was Destroyed in Shipping

11/19/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I received my order on 10/14/13... The comment I have is the way the product was packaged. First the box weighs close to 100 lbs. each, there was no strapping or hand holes for anyone to grab to lift it. I don't know how the UPS driver ever got to my front door. I know I struggled to get the boxes into my house. Secondly the box itself did not have any corner protection and consequently the corners on all the MDF shelves were broken. I don't know how this could be resolved because if I returned the units for replacement, I am certain the new units would show up in the same condition. I guess I will have to go to Home Depot to replace the (10)2'x4' MDF shelves, (3) 4'x8' sheets cut into quarters . The cost is approximately $60.00.
Again, I can not blame UPS, either Edsal or Walmart should have made sure the packaging was adequate for shipping and lifting.
Sign me very disappointed ...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 467 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  24 Next