Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Edsal Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Edsal Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Store and organize your items with this 48"W x 24"D x 72"H Edsal Steel Shelving Unit. This Black Steel Shelving Unit features a Z beam construction for added strength and rigidity, so that these shelves will be able to handle lots of weight. The five shelves are made of particle board and are specifically designed to support heavy loads. These shelves can also be adjusted every inch and a half, so you can assemble and adjust the 5-Shelf Edsal Heavy Duty Shelving to fit your needs. This shelving storage unit can hold up to 4000 lbs as long as the weight is distributed evenly over the entire unit. The 48"W x 24"D x 72"H Edsal Steel Shelving Unit is ideal for storing tools and other heavy equipment in the garage, tool shed or even your greenhouse.
Average Customer Rating:
3.856 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(340 Reviews) 330
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
145
4 stars
101
3 stars
36
2 stars
16
1 star
42
Customer Recommendation80%273 out of 340reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 123 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
145
4 stars
101
3 stars
36
2 stars
16
1 star
42
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Shelfs

08/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love these, not only are they huge but very sturdy, as you can see in the pictures they hold lots of stuff...and also excellent price on the roll backs.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Great quality except..

10/20/2014
By ,
Utah
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This rack shipped very quick and it high quality. It is easy to assemble. The reason I gave it 4 out of 5 stars is because I hate the corners of this thing. You have to have a shelf right in the middle of this rack and it ruined my plans for where I wanted to put a shelf. The corner posts come in two separate pieces so it requires beams right in the middle to hold it together, it's kind of a pain. If the corner posts were one solid piece and I could put my shelves where I wanted, I would have given it 5 stars. Overall, good quality and easy to assemble.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Big & Sturdy

07/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thought it was too good to be true for such a great product at such an inexpensive cost. It arrived on time - the box corners/edges a bit mangled due to the heavy weight. This concerned us and after opening, some corners on the board shelves had broken off. We considered returning it, but after assembly, the shelves still fit perfectly and we couldn't see the missing corners. All-around, this is a cosmetically and durably sound product. Very quick and easy assembly. The dimensions were spot-on and our two shelving units fit perfectly in the garage space. It’s tall, it’s deep, and it's beautiful (see photo). Definitely buying more! Way to go Walmart!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

VERY disappointed

10/08/2013
By ,
Cumming, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered five of these shelves. Every single one of the boxes that were delivered was damaged and open upon arrival, with parts falling out of two of them. One of the boxes was apparently so badly damaged that Federal Express did not even leave it at my house; they returned it to Walmart, of their own accord.
All the particle board shelving was damaged on the corners due to the boxes being open.
Overall, it was not a complete loss, considering the price paid, but I was most definitely very disappointed in the condition that the merchandise arrived. (see pictures)
PS.
I tried at least 8 times to upload photos, but was only able to upload successfully one photo. Keep getting a Gateway timed out error - 504. So, disappointed in this review site also. :/
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Fayetteville, TN
Site to store.
Posted 09/14/2014
Such possibilities is why I ALWAYS order delivery "site to store". They keep track of it, and, if any damages, refuse it there. I believe they head off damaged merchandise and make sure you get good conditioned items, at least I've never had any damage of any sort to anything I've ordered and picked up.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Poor Quality :Very Disappointed!

09/20/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DO NOT PURCHASE! This is of POOR quality made with bagasse board. It came damage with the bagasse board shelling apart.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Can't believe the bang for the buck!

04/05/2014
By ,
Amarillo, TX.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1st of all, I agree to it being heavy, but if the shipper/handler treats it well (like they did mine), it arrives fine and in a manageable way. I put it together by myself in about an hour or less. It was simple and can't believe how well this thing is made! The wood sits flat and snug. No tools required except to tap the ends down (way easy). I still don't understand how they ship it for free. It says 102lbs shipping weight, but mine said 82lbs. Anyways, buy these non stop until they run out! You will not regret it! PS, the photo provided was done today after I put my motorcycle stuff on it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

VERY upset

11/15/2013
By ,
Fort Hood, Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered two of these as they were being advertised all over the internet for the sale they were having. BOTH boxes arrived opened and crushed. Fedex quickly left them at my front door and ran off as I was trying to call them back about it. I couldn't believe they would be delivered in such condition!!! All of the shelves were destroyed on the sides and corners. Pieces of the shelving unit (crumbles) were falling out of the sides.
I was very excited ordering these, and now am just frustrated and upset. They are VERY heavy to move, so bringing them back anytime soon... yea. TERRIBLE TERRIBLE TERRIBLE product and TERRIBLE quality control.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
CA
upset
Posted 10/05/2014
why do you have to schlep them any place?? FedEx delivered them improperly they should pick them up
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Easy to setup & sturdy!

06/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exactly as described! Great for garage organization! Would recommend and buy again!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Recommend Item but Not Shipping It To Home

05/12/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I already have one of these shelves and wanted two more for my garage so I order them to be shipped directly to my home. The 1st delivery was aborted by the shipper due to package damage. They attempted the 2nd delivery but the shelves were crushed and framing sticking out of box so I refused the delivery. I contacted Walmart CS and they kindly expedited out a new delivery. I informed the CS Associate that the corrugate was inadequate for direct shipping that advising the warehouse of that might prevent further loss but when the replacement was received, it was the original packaging with the framing sticking out of both boxes and both ends of each box was open and crushed. I refused the delivery and Walmart suggested we cancel the order. IF you can handle 103 pounds per box, I recommend trying the Store to Store delivery (Assuming it would be in better shape however, I have no way to transport that weight so won’t be ordering this product further through Walmart).
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Great Product, Good Price, Poor Packaging

03/24/2014
By ,
Tucson, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Like almost everyone else who reviewed this item the product itself is awesome but the packaging could definately use some improvement. Item was delivered in a damaged box. A few of the shelf corners were crunched. None of the metal pieces had any type of paper or plastic protecting them. resulting in some minor scrapes and scratches in the paint from the pieces shifting during shipping. (There is no internal packing materials at all, just pieces in a box) Some metal pieces were sandwiched inbetween two of the shelves and left impressions in the shelf that was sitting on top of them. On a good note, the shelves themselves are very easy to assemble. The shelf with the indentations was flipped over for use, and the minor scrapes in the paint were in areas that were not noticable when unit was assembled. Bottom line, great shelves at a great price and easy to assemble...as long as you don't plan on using them for anything other that storage and don't mind the few bumps and scratches it aquires from the poor packaging.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Recommendation--With Reseravations

07/20/2014
By ,
Newport News, VA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have purchased several heavy duty shelf sets over the past year; most have been quality units at quite a discount. Relative to these shelves, the others are far superior. With these units, you almost need three hands in order to get the second tier installed, and the entire unit remains unstable until all of the shelf boards are installed.
My two units arrived missing four of the framing rails and four of the end pieces were missing the brads necessary to install the these rails. I called the company and they were quite accommodating and promptly shipped out the missing pieces.
The bottom line is you get what you pay for: if you want a quality, heavy duty shelf set, this is not the one to buy-- spend the extra $$$$s and buy quality brand. If you are looking for some 2'X4'X6' shelving and your budget can't afford the first tier shelving pricing, then these units will probably meet your needs.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Decent

09/21/2014
By ,
Iowa, USA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a decent shelf, and if you factor in the price this was actually an excellent shelf. I was able to put it together myself without aid of a husband and I'm a short gal with arthritis in my fingers - so that means that pretty much anyone can put this together even if they don't know what they are doing.
I have other shelving units and this one isn't quite as "heavy duty" as they are (but it was much cheaper), but I have no problem stacking this up with jugs of juice and heavy 24 packs of soda. It's stood up well.
I use mine in the garage to hold overflow groceries that I also bought from Walmart. Seems somehow fitting. Perhaps Walmart should have provided me with this shelf on the house, as it is mostly stocked with their merchandise anyway.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

More "shaky" than I expected but should still work

07/31/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This shelving unit will really have to live up to its promise of 1000 lbs. capacity! I am a school teacher who needed a lot of storage space for younger grade level books and supplies that I won't be using this year. The shelves were in great condition except for 1 long beam piece. It was bent on the corner and only 1 of the 2 screws could be popped into place on the side piece. I saved it for the top shelf and did not put the heaviest items on that one. All other parts were fine. It assembled quickly once I got started correctly on the bottom shelf. When I began placing items on each shelf, it was a little wobbly, but it is braced against a wooden cabinet and wall, so I think it will work. The plywood shelves made a little bit of a mess--the corners "shed" when putting them in place. I'm anxious to see how they handle the weight of all those books.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Good shelves but major design flaw

11/16/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my sixth shelving unit. Assembly of the lower half is easy to do, even by myself. It's the attaching the upper rails that's the problem. It's difficult to get the shelf brackets to stay in the "closed" position when building the upper section. That part actually takes three people to keep the posts upright, straight and in position. There's got to be a better way!
The shelves are particle board, which is OK as long as you limit the total weight on each shelf. On my "heavy" units, I went to the lumber yard and had them cut exterior grade half inch plywood to use as shelves. Works great!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Product was Destroyed in Shipping

11/19/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I received my order on 10/14/13... The comment I have is the way the product was packaged. First the box weighs close to 100 lbs. each, there was no strapping or hand holes for anyone to grab to lift it. I don't know how the UPS driver ever got to my front door. I know I struggled to get the boxes into my house. Secondly the box itself did not have any corner protection and consequently the corners on all the MDF shelves were broken. I don't know how this could be resolved because if I returned the units for replacement, I am certain the new units would show up in the same condition. I guess I will have to go to Home Depot to replace the (10)2'x4' MDF shelves, (3) 4'x8' sheets cut into quarters . The cost is approximately $60.00.
Again, I can not blame UPS, either Edsal or Walmart should have made sure the packaging was adequate for shipping and lifting.
Sign me very disappointed ...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

You get what you pay for

03/13/2014
By ,
Minnesota
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
While the shelf isn't the super-durable, it is a pretty good value for the size and price one pays, and depending on the application should work just fine. It could probably hold the stated 4000 lbs if the weight were pretty evenly spaced. The frame seems pretty good, but as in many shelves of this type, particle board is used. So don't use this in an application where shelves will get wet.
I'm using the shelf for a seedling starting shelf with shop lights hanging from the frame, so I may cover the shelves with plastic to avoid getting them wet. Painted particle board white to protect boards a little more (and reflect more light). So far, shelf is working quite well for this application.
Note: Using the shelves as two separate shelves (side by side), so I can't comment on the stability of the shelf at full height. (There are 8 corner pieces, so to extend the shelf upwards, four of the corner pieces are stacked on the lower four and fitted into the frame.)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Edsel Shelves

10/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best price anywhere for these nice sturdy shelves. Perfect for storing totes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Best Storage Shelves Ever

09/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Over the years we have had lots of shelving units for garages and storage rooms. The Edsals are the best ever because of the engineered wood shelves which are stabilizing and avoid sagging. They are only 3/8" thick, so if plan to have extreme weight you may wish to add thicker shelves. The adjustable shelves have three positions that are pretty much set because it is suggested the bottom shelf be in a specific location to keep items up off the ground, there is one shelf midway that holds the two sections of the tall four corners together, and then the top shelf - so in reality there are only two other shelves to position as you choose. That is not a difficulty because it all makes the best use of the unit. One person can assemble, but two make it go very quickly. No tools were needed other than a knife to cut the box open. I highly recommend them and know we will be buying more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Great product

11/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The world is awash in various shelving systems for the home. In my view, this is one of the best set of shelves available when comparing quality and price. They are simple to assemble, very sturdy and hold lots of stuff. I have four of them that I have purchased over time.
Hope they really are made in America and not simply packaged up here.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Catch All Shelves

11/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was easy to put together. Larger than it looked in the pictures. Will hold lots of stuff.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 331 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  17 Next