Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Edsal Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Edsal Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Store and organize your items with this 48"W x 24"D x 72"H Edsal Steel Shelving Unit. This Black Steel Shelving Unit features a Z beam construction for added strength and rigidity, so that these shelves will be able to handle lots of weight. The five shelves are made of particle board and are specifically designed to support heavy loads. These shelves can also be adjusted every inch and a half, so you can assemble and adjust the 5-Shelf Edsal Heavy Duty Shelving to fit your needs. This shelving storage unit can hold up to 4000 lbs as long as the weight is distributed evenly over the entire unit. The 48"W x 24"D x 72"H Edsal Steel Shelving Unit is ideal for storing tools and other heavy equipment in the garage, tool shed or even your greenhouse.
Average Customer Rating:
3.84 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(381 Reviews) 371
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
164
4 stars
110
3 stars
38
2 stars
20
1 star
49
Customer Recommendation79%302 out of 381reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 123 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
164
4 stars
110
3 stars
38
2 stars
20
1 star
49
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Shelfs

08/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love these, not only are they huge but very sturdy, as you can see in the pictures they hold lots of stuff...and also excellent price on the roll backs.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Great quality except..

10/20/2014
By ,
Utah
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This rack shipped very quick and it high quality. It is easy to assemble. The reason I gave it 4 out of 5 stars is because I hate the corners of this thing. You have to have a shelf right in the middle of this rack and it ruined my plans for where I wanted to put a shelf. The corner posts come in two separate pieces so it requires beams right in the middle to hold it together, it's kind of a pain. If the corner posts were one solid piece and I could put my shelves where I wanted, I would have given it 5 stars. Overall, good quality and easy to assemble.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Big & Sturdy

07/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thought it was too good to be true for such a great product at such an inexpensive cost. It arrived on time - the box corners/edges a bit mangled due to the heavy weight. This concerned us and after opening, some corners on the board shelves had broken off. We considered returning it, but after assembly, the shelves still fit perfectly and we couldn't see the missing corners. All-around, this is a cosmetically and durably sound product. Very quick and easy assembly. The dimensions were spot-on and our two shelving units fit perfectly in the garage space. It’s tall, it’s deep, and it's beautiful (see photo). Definitely buying more! Way to go Walmart!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

VERY disappointed

10/08/2013
By ,
Cumming, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered five of these shelves. Every single one of the boxes that were delivered was damaged and open upon arrival, with parts falling out of two of them. One of the boxes was apparently so badly damaged that Federal Express did not even leave it at my house; they returned it to Walmart, of their own accord.
All the particle board shelving was damaged on the corners due to the boxes being open.
Overall, it was not a complete loss, considering the price paid, but I was most definitely very disappointed in the condition that the merchandise arrived. (see pictures)
PS.
I tried at least 8 times to upload photos, but was only able to upload successfully one photo. Keep getting a Gateway timed out error - 504. So, disappointed in this review site also. :/
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Fayetteville, TN
Site to store.
Posted 09/14/2014
Such possibilities is why I ALWAYS order delivery "site to store". They keep track of it, and, if any damages, refuse it there. I believe they head off damaged merchandise and make sure you get good conditioned items, at least I've never had any damage of any sort to anything I've ordered and picked up.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Poor Quality :Very Disappointed!

09/20/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DO NOT PURCHASE! This is of POOR quality made with bagasse board. It came damage with the bagasse board shelling apart.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Can't believe the bang for the buck!

04/05/2014
By ,
Amarillo, TX.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1st of all, I agree to it being heavy, but if the shipper/handler treats it well (like they did mine), it arrives fine and in a manageable way. I put it together by myself in about an hour or less. It was simple and can't believe how well this thing is made! The wood sits flat and snug. No tools required except to tap the ends down (way easy). I still don't understand how they ship it for free. It says 102lbs shipping weight, but mine said 82lbs. Anyways, buy these non stop until they run out! You will not regret it! PS, the photo provided was done today after I put my motorcycle stuff on it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

VERY upset

11/15/2013
By ,
Fort Hood, Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered two of these as they were being advertised all over the internet for the sale they were having. BOTH boxes arrived opened and crushed. Fedex quickly left them at my front door and ran off as I was trying to call them back about it. I couldn't believe they would be delivered in such condition!!! All of the shelves were destroyed on the sides and corners. Pieces of the shelving unit (crumbles) were falling out of the sides.
I was very excited ordering these, and now am just frustrated and upset. They are VERY heavy to move, so bringing them back anytime soon... yea. TERRIBLE TERRIBLE TERRIBLE product and TERRIBLE quality control.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
CA
upset
Posted 10/05/2014
why do you have to schlep them any place?? FedEx delivered them improperly they should pick them up
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Easy to setup & sturdy!

06/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exactly as described! Great for garage organization! Would recommend and buy again!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Ok I guess, but not what I wanted.

12/17/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was expecting these to have one long rail for each corner. Each corner is actually two separate pieces and they are supposed to be held together by one of the shelf sections. It is not secure and extremely difficult to assemble.
After buying 4 for under $50 on cyber Monday I am disappointed. The boxes arrived by Fedex with damaged boxes and left out in the rain rather than under a covered porch. I realize these were cheap, but with a regular price of $110 I expected more. I didn't even finish assembling one and left the other three in the boxes. I will be returning them today and going back to building my own shelves.
I figured I would try these since they were cheaper than the materials to build shelves, but they are not the same. I can build a 18"x96" unit with 5 shelves for around $60 and an hour or so of my time. They aren't pretty and painted, but they get the job done and will hold a lot more weight.
I guess one cool thing about these is you could use them at half height as work benches or something.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Recommend Item but Not Shipping It To Home

05/12/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I already have one of these shelves and wanted two more for my garage so I order them to be shipped directly to my home. The 1st delivery was aborted by the shipper due to package damage. They attempted the 2nd delivery but the shelves were crushed and framing sticking out of box so I refused the delivery. I contacted Walmart CS and they kindly expedited out a new delivery. I informed the CS Associate that the corrugate was inadequate for direct shipping that advising the warehouse of that might prevent further loss but when the replacement was received, it was the original packaging with the framing sticking out of both boxes and both ends of each box was open and crushed. I refused the delivery and Walmart suggested we cancel the order. IF you can handle 103 pounds per box, I recommend trying the Store to Store delivery (Assuming it would be in better shape however, I have no way to transport that weight so won’t be ordering this product further through Walmart).
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Great value ***IF*** they survive delivery

12/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"FREE SHIPPING? Are you kidding me?" That's what I said when I saw the offer AND the great online price. I immediately ordered 4 as I previously already had 2 that had been purchased at my local WalMart. I knew how heavy they were so this was a no-brainer. FedEx left them OUTSIDE my garage as it was snowing. Good thing I received an e-mail notice when they were left otherwise they would have probably been out there all day and most likely been ruined. One box was partially compromised but the contents were in tip-top condition and the other three boxes had no damage at all. None of the shelves had any damage either (not even to the corners). Needless to say I love these, they are terrific and will hold a bunch of stuff. Super easy to assemble once you get rolling. I think I did the 4th one in about 15-20 minutes (seriously). As the title says - ***IF*** they survive delivery!!!!!!! Too bad you can't buy JUST the frames :)
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Great Product, Good Price, Poor Packaging

03/24/2014
By ,
Tucson, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Like almost everyone else who reviewed this item the product itself is awesome but the packaging could definately use some improvement. Item was delivered in a damaged box. A few of the shelf corners were crunched. None of the metal pieces had any type of paper or plastic protecting them. resulting in some minor scrapes and scratches in the paint from the pieces shifting during shipping. (There is no internal packing materials at all, just pieces in a box) Some metal pieces were sandwiched inbetween two of the shelves and left impressions in the shelf that was sitting on top of them. On a good note, the shelves themselves are very easy to assemble. The shelf with the indentations was flipped over for use, and the minor scrapes in the paint were in areas that were not noticable when unit was assembled. Bottom line, great shelves at a great price and easy to assemble...as long as you don't plan on using them for anything other that storage and don't mind the few bumps and scratches it aquires from the poor packaging.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Recommendation--With Reseravations

07/20/2014
By ,
Newport News, VA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have purchased several heavy duty shelf sets over the past year; most have been quality units at quite a discount. Relative to these shelves, the others are far superior. With these units, you almost need three hands in order to get the second tier installed, and the entire unit remains unstable until all of the shelf boards are installed.
My two units arrived missing four of the framing rails and four of the end pieces were missing the brads necessary to install the these rails. I called the company and they were quite accommodating and promptly shipped out the missing pieces.
The bottom line is you get what you pay for: if you want a quality, heavy duty shelf set, this is not the one to buy-- spend the extra $$$$s and buy quality brand. If you are looking for some 2'X4'X6' shelving and your budget can't afford the first tier shelving pricing, then these units will probably meet your needs.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Not heavy duty

12/03/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Lets start with the packaging. Bought 3 (black friday deal) online. Had to return 1 to the store immediately. Can't blame FedEx about it. There was hardly any packaging inside to protect the particle board shelves. The metal brackets inside the box move around and destroy the cheap boards.
And the product itself. The shelves are thin and flimsy. I guess it can technically handle 800lbs but I sure won't be putting that to the test. The brackets are thinner than the older gorilla style units. During installation I had a great time keeping the already installed brackets from coming off while I was working on a different bracket.
Overall, I'm gonna keep the 2 I have left only because its a pain to repackage it and return it to the store. Besides I got it for dirt cheap on black Friday. My expectations should be lower.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Welding needed

11/29/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The shelving units have eight 3 foot uprights instead of four 6 foot uprights. This makes it difficult to assemble and I beleive less safe. I had the uprights welded and now the shelf units are great.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

A catchy title

11/25/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is still a good buy in my opinion. However:since I am a repeat buyer (three of similar units so far) I notice that little by little the manufacturer is trying to shave costs.
>The first unit I bought, a larger one, included bottom and top plastic covers for the vertical sections, to protect the floor and hands and arms. They are needed on the top also because the ends are sharp and jut above the uppermost shelf. On the second, unit I bought the top plastic attachments were gone. On the present unit both the top and bottom covers are gone.
>The first and second units had a simple way to connect the shorter vertical sections into a taller one: the units are 72' tall, the vertical sections are 36" with a short piece of metal with indentations to connect the ends of the connecting pieces. There are no connectors here; instead I was instructed to use one of the shelves as a link between the two. That and the weight of the unit keeps the connecting ends in place.
Packaging was in bad shape. May be the pieces I am missing fell off during transport. Probably not, because the instruction sheet does not mention them.
In any case it is still a good buy, sturdy and easy to set up.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Great storage shelfs.

11/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a 54 year old secretary and I put the shelfs together on my own. No tools required. Prefect for putting storage totes on. Just watch the price because I paid 60 something for mine and 2 weeks later they have them online for 47.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Adequate Shelving - So Far

12/02/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The shelving unit was easy to assembly. I could almost assemble it myself.
The shelves are rather thin, but I suppose that could be remedied by supplying my own thicker boards.
I am a little concerned that the vertical supports are two pieces on each corner instead of one piece. This requires the third shelf to be placed at the joint between the top and bottom halves of the unit. This was the hardest part of the assembly, and I needed my wife to hold the top vertical supports in place while I snapped the horizontal supports of the third shelve in place.
The shelf hasn't fallen down yet. I would be less concerned if the shelves were a bit thicker, and if the vertical supports were one piece instead of two.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Decent

09/21/2014
By ,
Iowa, USA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a decent shelf, and if you factor in the price this was actually an excellent shelf. I was able to put it together myself without aid of a husband and I'm a short gal with arthritis in my fingers - so that means that pretty much anyone can put this together even if they don't know what they are doing.
I have other shelving units and this one isn't quite as "heavy duty" as they are (but it was much cheaper), but I have no problem stacking this up with jugs of juice and heavy 24 packs of soda. It's stood up well.
I use mine in the garage to hold overflow groceries that I also bought from Walmart. Seems somehow fitting. Perhaps Walmart should have provided me with this shelf on the house, as it is mostly stocked with their merchandise anyway.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Product was Destroyed in Shipping

11/19/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I received my order on 10/14/13... The comment I have is the way the product was packaged. First the box weighs close to 100 lbs. each, there was no strapping or hand holes for anyone to grab to lift it. I don't know how the UPS driver ever got to my front door. I know I struggled to get the boxes into my house. Secondly the box itself did not have any corner protection and consequently the corners on all the MDF shelves were broken. I don't know how this could be resolved because if I returned the units for replacement, I am certain the new units would show up in the same condition. I guess I will have to go to Home Depot to replace the (10)2'x4' MDF shelves, (3) 4'x8' sheets cut into quarters . The cost is approximately $60.00.
Again, I can not blame UPS, either Edsal or Walmart should have made sure the packaging was adequate for shipping and lifting.
Sign me very disappointed ...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 372 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  19 Next