Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Edsal Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Edsal Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Store and organize your items with this 48"W x 24"D x 72"H Edsal Steel Shelving Unit. This Black Steel Shelving Unit features a Z beam construction for added strength and rigidity, so that these shelves will be able to handle lots of weight. The five shelves are made of particle board and are specifically designed to support heavy loads. These shelves can also be adjusted every inch and a half, so you can assemble and adjust the 5-Shelf Edsal Heavy Duty Shelving to fit your needs. This shelving storage unit can hold up to 4000 lbs as long as the weight is distributed evenly over the entire unit. The 48"W x 24"D x 72"H Edsal Steel Shelving Unit is ideal for storing tools and other heavy equipment in the garage, tool shed or even your greenhouse.
Average Customer Rating:
3.821 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(502 Reviews) 492
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
219
4 stars
139
3 stars
48
2 stars
27
1 star
69
Customer Recommendation78%393 out of 502reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 127 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
219
4 stars
139
3 stars
48
2 stars
27
1 star
69
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Shelfs

08/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love these, not only are they huge but very sturdy, as you can see in the pictures they hold lots of stuff...and also excellent price on the roll backs.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Great quality except..

10/20/2014
By ,
Utah
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This rack shipped very quick and it high quality. It is easy to assemble. The reason I gave it 4 out of 5 stars is because I hate the corners of this thing. You have to have a shelf right in the middle of this rack and it ruined my plans for where I wanted to put a shelf. The corner posts come in two separate pieces so it requires beams right in the middle to hold it together, it's kind of a pain. If the corner posts were one solid piece and I could put my shelves where I wanted, I would have given it 5 stars. Overall, good quality and easy to assemble.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

VERY disappointed

10/08/2013
By ,
Cumming, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered five of these shelves. Every single one of the boxes that were delivered was damaged and open upon arrival, with parts falling out of two of them. One of the boxes was apparently so badly damaged that Federal Express did not even leave it at my house; they returned it to Walmart, of their own accord.
All the particle board shelving was damaged on the corners due to the boxes being open.
Overall, it was not a complete loss, considering the price paid, but I was most definitely very disappointed in the condition that the merchandise arrived. (see pictures)
PS.
I tried at least 8 times to upload photos, but was only able to upload successfully one photo. Keep getting a Gateway timed out error - 504. So, disappointed in this review site also. :/
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+67points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Fayetteville, TN
Site to store.
Posted 09/14/2014
Such possibilities is why I ALWAYS order delivery "site to store". They keep track of it, and, if any damages, refuse it there. I believe they head off damaged merchandise and make sure you get good conditioned items, at least I've never had any damage of any sort to anything I've ordered and picked up.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Big & Sturdy

07/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thought it was too good to be true for such a great product at such an inexpensive cost. It arrived on time - the box corners/edges a bit mangled due to the heavy weight. This concerned us and after opening, some corners on the board shelves had broken off. We considered returning it, but after assembly, the shelves still fit perfectly and we couldn't see the missing corners. All-around, this is a cosmetically and durably sound product. Very quick and easy assembly. The dimensions were spot-on and our two shelving units fit perfectly in the garage space. It’s tall, it’s deep, and it's beautiful (see photo). Definitely buying more! Way to go Walmart!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

VERY upset

11/15/2013
By ,
Fort Hood, Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered two of these as they were being advertised all over the internet for the sale they were having. BOTH boxes arrived opened and crushed. Fedex quickly left them at my front door and ran off as I was trying to call them back about it. I couldn't believe they would be delivered in such condition!!! All of the shelves were destroyed on the sides and corners. Pieces of the shelving unit (crumbles) were falling out of the sides.
I was very excited ordering these, and now am just frustrated and upset. They are VERY heavy to move, so bringing them back anytime soon... yea. TERRIBLE TERRIBLE TERRIBLE product and TERRIBLE quality control.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
CA
upset
Posted 10/05/2014
why do you have to schlep them any place?? FedEx delivered them improperly they should pick them up
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Can't believe the bang for the buck!

04/05/2014
By ,
Amarillo, TX.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1st of all, I agree to it being heavy, but if the shipper/handler treats it well (like they did mine), it arrives fine and in a manageable way. I put it together by myself in about an hour or less. It was simple and can't believe how well this thing is made! The wood sits flat and snug. No tools required except to tap the ends down (way easy). I still don't understand how they ship it for free. It says 102lbs shipping weight, but mine said 82lbs. Anyways, buy these non stop until they run out! You will not regret it! PS, the photo provided was done today after I put my motorcycle stuff on it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Easy to setup & sturdy!

06/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exactly as described! Great for garage organization! Would recommend and buy again!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Poor Quality :Very Disappointed!

09/20/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DO NOT PURCHASE! This is of POOR quality made with bagasse board. It came damage with the bagasse board shelling apart.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Great, sturdy shelving - easy to assemble.

05/28/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are very pleased with these shelves for storage in our basement. We put these together (two people) in about 15 minutes for the first one, and 10 minutes for each of the remainder. We initially bought three and decided to buy another because we had more stuff we wanted to organize. They feel very sturdy and have an enormous capacity.
I like that where you place the shelves is for the most part according to your preference however once the unit is fully assembled, you can't move any of the shelves. Additionally, the middle shelf has a fixed spot it must be in because it is what holds the seam of the vertical legs together.
A word of caution - make note of the shipping weight! These boxes were very heavy and awkward to move into our basement (almost 100lbs each!). Measure your space carefully and be sure these will fit and work for you because you don't want to have to return them!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Recommend Item but Not Shipping It To Home

05/12/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I already have one of these shelves and wanted two more for my garage so I order them to be shipped directly to my home. The 1st delivery was aborted by the shipper due to package damage. They attempted the 2nd delivery but the shelves were crushed and framing sticking out of box so I refused the delivery. I contacted Walmart CS and they kindly expedited out a new delivery. I informed the CS Associate that the corrugate was inadequate for direct shipping that advising the warehouse of that might prevent further loss but when the replacement was received, it was the original packaging with the framing sticking out of both boxes and both ends of each box was open and crushed. I refused the delivery and Walmart suggested we cancel the order. IF you can handle 103 pounds per box, I recommend trying the Store to Store delivery (Assuming it would be in better shape however, I have no way to transport that weight so won’t be ordering this product further through Walmart).
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Great Product, Good Price, Poor Packaging

03/24/2014
By ,
Tucson, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Like almost everyone else who reviewed this item the product itself is awesome but the packaging could definately use some improvement. Item was delivered in a damaged box. A few of the shelf corners were crunched. None of the metal pieces had any type of paper or plastic protecting them. resulting in some minor scrapes and scratches in the paint from the pieces shifting during shipping. (There is no internal packing materials at all, just pieces in a box) Some metal pieces were sandwiched inbetween two of the shelves and left impressions in the shelf that was sitting on top of them. On a good note, the shelves themselves are very easy to assemble. The shelf with the indentations was flipped over for use, and the minor scrapes in the paint were in areas that were not noticable when unit was assembled. Bottom line, great shelves at a great price and easy to assemble...as long as you don't plan on using them for anything other that storage and don't mind the few bumps and scratches it aquires from the poor packaging.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Recommendation--With Reseravations

07/20/2014
By ,
Newport News, VA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have purchased several heavy duty shelf sets over the past year; most have been quality units at quite a discount. Relative to these shelves, the others are far superior. With these units, you almost need three hands in order to get the second tier installed, and the entire unit remains unstable until all of the shelf boards are installed.
My two units arrived missing four of the framing rails and four of the end pieces were missing the brads necessary to install the these rails. I called the company and they were quite accommodating and promptly shipped out the missing pieces.
The bottom line is you get what you pay for: if you want a quality, heavy duty shelf set, this is not the one to buy-- spend the extra $$$$s and buy quality brand. If you are looking for some 2'X4'X6' shelving and your budget can't afford the first tier shelving pricing, then these units will probably meet your needs.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

CAN'T BEAT THE VALUE.............

05/15/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read the reviews and almost didn't purchase these shelves. Thank goodness I went with my gut and ordered them anyway. These shelves are great. The only negative would be the particle board. It's not the worst stuff I have ever been given with a shelf but when you read that this unit can hold up to 4000 lbs. ( evenly distributed), you just expect more. The truth is that these shelves are really great, they are sturdy and go together without any tools. They look good and are also adjustable for the most part. I paid $50 for these delivered to my door. I bought 2 units. You cannot beat that anywhere. One box was a little worse for wear but you have to understand that these boxes are very, very heavy. I can't believe Fedex delivers these with one man. The box that was worse for wear had the metal shelve pieces in between the pieces of particle board and chipped away at one of the boards. It still is quite functional, it just looks beat up. The bottom line is that for the money you won't find a better shelving unit. Worst case scenario, you go out a get some scrap plywood or buy some from the discount pile of lumber at Lowes or Home Depot. If you are considering heavy duty shelves.....buy these while they are at this price.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

You get what you pay for

03/13/2014
By ,
Minnesota
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
While the shelf isn't the super-durable, it is a pretty good value for the size and price one pays, and depending on the application should work just fine. It could probably hold the stated 4000 lbs if the weight were pretty evenly spaced. The frame seems pretty good, but as in many shelves of this type, particle board is used. So don't use this in an application where shelves will get wet.
I'm using the shelf for a seedling starting shelf with shop lights hanging from the frame, so I may cover the shelves with plastic to avoid getting them wet. Painted particle board white to protect boards a little more (and reflect more light). So far, shelf is working quite well for this application.
Note: Using the shelves as two separate shelves (side by side), so I can't comment on the stability of the shelf at full height. (There are 8 corner pieces, so to extend the shelf upwards, four of the corner pieces are stacked on the lower four and fitted into the frame.)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Easy, versatile and sturdy !

05/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We ordered 4 sets for our garage.. Once I realize I could creat two half selves we made a bench. And use the extra shelves as a extra kitchen counter space under my informal dinning room windows for plants and large kitchen appliances.. I attached the largest full height shelves to the wLl for earth quack safty.. The whole concept of how the top connected made me nervous ! I only store paper products up high, but have many cases of water and sodas on lower shelves .. The work bench worked great for dmall projects and storing small electric hand tools and paint cans!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Walmart.com is no Amazon. or even a Walmart store.

05/20/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
All boxes were damaged. One shelving unit had a chunk removed from the side of the box which took the particle board shelving along with it. I buy from Amazon all the time and never experience the issues I had after my first Walmart.com purchase.
The manufacturer should review their instructions. They illustrate the beams in the wrong direction and do not clearly specify the orientation, which could be resolved with a quick section view or isometric view. One guy created a video to help others.
The particle board is cheap, but you get what you pay for.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Bad product

05/28/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had 2 order. One the original and then a replacement sent and both of them came damage. This is what it advertise on here. i have brought the same Name brand and size from home depot and honestly their came even with more parts and that is heavy duty all around the rack.. Very very disappointed
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

It's shelves

05/27/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The shelves and construction makes it easy to put together and can support reasonable amount of weight. The shelves is made of compressed wood so Over time the would warp from the weight of tools and other heavy items. Once you set this up you can't move it the rails serve as legs and will bend. So set it up in place n forget it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

required improvements

05/27/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
the package should have also drivewall screws (anchor drivewall screws) 2 each and washers , 2 each for each section 36" high.
this way the assembly will be more secure when mountes in place and the stored items plus the shelf will not fall on the customer when heavy items are unloaded from the racks.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

OK

05/27/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not the best shelving I have purchased but it is functional. Some of the shelves were were damaged on arrival bet were serviceable. It is OK but I have bought better.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 493 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  25 Next