Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Edsal Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Edsal Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Store and organize your items with this 48"W x 24"D x 72"H Edsal Steel Shelving Unit. This Black Steel Shelving Unit features a Z beam construction for added strength and rigidity, so that these shelves will be able to handle lots of weight. The five shelves are made of particle board and are specifically designed to support heavy loads. These shelves can also be adjusted every inch and a half, so you can assemble and adjust the 5-Shelf Edsal Heavy Duty Shelving to fit your needs. This shelving storage unit can hold up to 4000 lbs as long as the weight is distributed evenly over the entire unit. The 48"W x 24"D x 72"H Edsal Steel Shelving Unit is ideal for storing tools and other heavy equipment in the garage, tool shed or even your greenhouse.
Average Customer Rating:
3.743 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(152 Reviews) 142
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
60
4 stars
47
3 stars
15
2 stars
6
1 star
24
Customer Recommendation80%121 out of 152reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 56 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
60
4 stars
47
3 stars
15
2 stars
6
1 star
24
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Can't believe the bang for the buck!

04/05/2014
By ,
Amarillo, TX.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1st of all, I agree to it being heavy, but if the shipper/handler treats it well (like they did mine), it arrives fine and in a manageable way. I put it together by myself in about an hour or less. It was simple and can't believe how well this thing is made! The wood sits flat and snug. No tools required except to tap the ends down (way easy). I still don't understand how they ship it for free. It says 102lbs shipping weight, but mine said 82lbs. Anyways, buy these non stop until they run out! You will not regret it! PS, the photo provided was done today after I put my motorcycle stuff on it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

VERY disappointed

10/08/2013
By ,
Cumming, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered five of these shelves. Every single one of the boxes that were delivered was damaged and open upon arrival, with parts falling out of two of them. One of the boxes was apparently so badly damaged that Federal Express did not even leave it at my house; they returned it to Walmart, of their own accord.
All the particle board shelving was damaged on the corners due to the boxes being open.
Overall, it was not a complete loss, considering the price paid, but I was most definitely very disappointed in the condition that the merchandise arrived. (see pictures)
PS.
I tried at least 8 times to upload photos, but was only able to upload successfully one photo. Keep getting a Gateway timed out error - 504. So, disappointed in this review site also. :/
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

VERY upset

11/15/2013
By ,
Fort Hood, Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered two of these as they were being advertised all over the internet for the sale they were having. BOTH boxes arrived opened and crushed. Fedex quickly left them at my front door and ran off as I was trying to call them back about it. I couldn't believe they would be delivered in such condition!!! All of the shelves were destroyed on the sides and corners. Pieces of the shelving unit (crumbles) were falling out of the sides.
I was very excited ordering these, and now am just frustrated and upset. They are VERY heavy to move, so bringing them back anytime soon... yea. TERRIBLE TERRIBLE TERRIBLE product and TERRIBLE quality control.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Great Product, Good Price, Poor Packaging

03/24/2014
By ,
Tucson, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Like almost everyone else who reviewed this item the product itself is awesome but the packaging could definately use some improvement. Item was delivered in a damaged box. A few of the shelf corners were crunched. None of the metal pieces had any type of paper or plastic protecting them. resulting in some minor scrapes and scratches in the paint from the pieces shifting during shipping. (There is no internal packing materials at all, just pieces in a box) Some metal pieces were sandwiched inbetween two of the shelves and left impressions in the shelf that was sitting on top of them. On a good note, the shelves themselves are very easy to assemble. The shelf with the indentations was flipped over for use, and the minor scrapes in the paint were in areas that were not noticable when unit was assembled. Bottom line, great shelves at a great price and easy to assemble...as long as you don't plan on using them for anything other that storage and don't mind the few bumps and scratches it aquires from the poor packaging.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

You get what you pay for

03/13/2014
By ,
Minnesota
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
While the shelf isn't the super-durable, it is a pretty good value for the size and price one pays, and depending on the application should work just fine. It could probably hold the stated 4000 lbs if the weight were pretty evenly spaced. The frame seems pretty good, but as in many shelves of this type, particle board is used. So don't use this in an application where shelves will get wet.
I'm using the shelf for a seedling starting shelf with shop lights hanging from the frame, so I may cover the shelves with plastic to avoid getting them wet. Painted particle board white to protect boards a little more (and reflect more light). So far, shelf is working quite well for this application.
Note: Using the shelves as two separate shelves (side by side), so I can't comment on the stability of the shelf at full height. (There are 8 corner pieces, so to extend the shelf upwards, four of the corner pieces are stacked on the lower four and fitted into the frame.)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Best Shelving!

02/08/2014
By ,
Adelanto, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Price for how big this come, way bigger than expected about 6 feet tall with a good width. I put together myself no tools needed, I am 4'11" female and it can be challenging doing by yourself, better if you had another hand to help. The most difficult part for me is the placing of the wood shelf, it had to come from above to be placed down and with a bit of weight. I used a step stool ladder so it helped and worked out for me. The quality is not the greatest on the wood it came some chipped on the corners but for the price you get what you pay for. The metal also on two out of 8 I guess was slightly bent although I didn't need to use any tools to re-shape it, it gave me a bit of a hard time lining it up properly. This comes heavy weight with all the metal bars so when getting ready to open I suggest slowly place down to avoid chipping the wood because there is no support or foam to separate metal with the wood. Also I suggest install closer to where you plan to place it because there is no plastic "thing" that you can place at the bottom of each post so when I had to move it against the wall, metal screech on the floor and may scratch as well depending on what floor you have. This is my second purchase and much cheaper than the first time with it on sale for $59.00 you can't beat that. I highly recommend it great for garage use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Product was Destroyed in Shipping

11/19/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I received my order on 10/14/13... The comment I have is the way the product was packaged. First the box weighs close to 100 lbs. each, there was no strapping or hand holes for anyone to grab to lift it. I don't know how the UPS driver ever got to my front door. I know I struggled to get the boxes into my house. Secondly the box itself did not have any corner protection and consequently the corners on all the MDF shelves were broken. I don't know how this could be resolved because if I returned the units for replacement, I am certain the new units would show up in the same condition. I guess I will have to go to Home Depot to replace the (10)2'x4' MDF shelves, (3) 4'x8' sheets cut into quarters . The cost is approximately $60.00.
Again, I can not blame UPS, either Edsal or Walmart should have made sure the packaging was adequate for shipping and lifting.
Sign me very disappointed ...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Good value for the money and easy to assemble

03/22/2014
By ,
bucks county, PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The unit is very heavy and I had it shipped to my house and when it was delivered the box was all tapped on both ends. A corner piece of the shelf unit was jutting out of the packing tape. I took pictures of the box and proceeded to open and check the contents to make sure all was there. Everything was accounted for but the shelving corners were damaged.
The unit itself is great for the price and holds my tubs for storage in the garage. Because it was so heavy I DID NOT TAKE BACK but will manage with nicked corners. The ends of the box should be better protected to avoid this from happening. Fed Ex Guy was great bringing into the house for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Great storage value

03/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great shelving for garage or basement storage. Quick build fastener system is unique and surprisingly sturdy, and as a former mechanical engineer I am not easily impressed. Only complaint is damaged shelving in a few instances. Unit is in a sealed cardboard box so damage is not visible...consisted of broken corners on the particle board shelves and cracks along one edge. Packaging could use some improvement to prevent this. Out of 9 units (45 shelves), about 7 shelves had damage. No doubt the heavy contents surprised a few handlers along the way and resulted in dropped boxes. I still recommend it, though.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

The wood used is weak and "crumbly"

10/26/2013
By ,
South Jordan, UT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First of all, I used the "ship to store" feature to order this shelving unit....It was delivered to the wrong store! Second, the box it came in was completely beat up, torn up, and had several openings in it.....Most of the metal posts fall out of one hole as I took it to my car. Once I got it home to build, I found that the wood (around the edges of each shelf) had left particles all over my car and the box it came in. As we built the shelves, we were happy to see all the parts were still in the box. But, as we built it, the wood continued to shred around the edges and break off in our hands as we installed each wood shelf.....Needless to say, I am very disappointing in this product and the lack of care taken during shipping.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Does the job

04/09/2014
By ,
Cottage Grove, OR
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
In the end this 4000lb, $69 storage rack does what it is meant to do and does it well. Assembly is somewhat of a pain considering that the verticals are two pieces and the mid shelf has to crudely join them together. This can complicate the assembly unless one has three hands or a helper. The good news is that this gets easier with practice. After putting the first shelf unit together and figuring out how to manage 4 support pieces at the same time the task gets easier. If doing this alone, wear a hat. It's easy to get bonked in the head while paying attention to other pieces.
Once completed the only down side to this particular unit, the one that will support 4000 lbs is that the particle wood shelves are not flush with rails that they lie in. Not much, maybe 1/4 inch or so. However, this means that pushing say plastic bins onto the shelf or removing said bin is not smooth. The bin is block by the rail on the way out and rides on the rail on the way in. Not a huge inconvenience but definitely noticeable.
Note that the same manufacture has a 5000 lb unit that is identical from the steel support aspect but has thicker particle board shelves do not have this problem. This heavier (shelf) unit is currently $15 more. Had I known about the problem with the lighter unit I would have purchased the stronger one.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Good, inexpensive, LARGE shelf. Easy assembly.

09/03/2013
By ,
NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got 2 of these recently to help organize my garage. Put it together solo, easier with 2 people but not neccessary. If you've ever put one of these types of things together there is a much easier way to assemble it than what is listed in the instructions. Anyway, they go up fast, have a huge amount of surface space and it is easy to customize your shelf size.
I saw a few complaints here about weight capacity. While I do not intend to stick 800lbs on each shelf and see if it holds, the unit is very strong and stable. I do have at least one shelf holding about 350lbs of plate weights, with no signs of bowing or stress. For people who complain about strength, of the lack of center support, they probably assembled it wrong. Each arm that holds the shelf up HAS A TOP AND A BOTTOM. This is not specified in the instructions. If you accidentally install one of them upside down, the shelf strength is decreased. If you accidentally install all of them upside down, the shelf will sag under 50lbs. It is VERY easy to install them upside down by accident if you aren't paying attention. Once everything is put together correctly: solid as a rock.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

The shelves are Great

03/24/2014
By ,
Payson, UT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The shelving unit itself is a really good product but when they get shipped to you they get beat up and we had a lot of broken wood shelves when we received the delivery.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Great value

04/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Considering how much one could pay for shelves, these are good for the price
. Very heavy boxes to ship but despite ragged looking box the shipments (8 sets) arrived with no damage. Easy to assemble but beware you are limited on the height of some shelves due to the way they have to connect vertically.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Expect a great product, not a great shipping box.

04/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered two of these and some of the steel was poking through the box. The FedEx guy asked me if I wanted to refuse delivery and I replied "It's steel, it should be fine...if not, or if anything is missing, I'm sure Walmart will honor my return."
I say this because I've seen reviews where people are mad about the condition of the BOX the product arrived in, but that says nothing about the quality of the product inside. It's pretty easy to damage a cardboard box; as for steel and wood, that's another story.
These shelves, for the money, are awesome. About 8 years ago I purchased some of this type of shelving from Lowes (not sure if it was the same manufacturer or not) and these new ones are much improved. Both the posts and the brackets that support the shelves are considerably heavier and even the particle board seems to be higher quality. That said, if you want really good support for extra heavy items, I recommend swapping out the 2' x 4' sheets of particle board for some 2' x 4' sheets of 1/2-inch plywood. Or, you can do like I did (use 1/2-plywood for a couple shelves and "double up" the particle boards on the others.)
Bottom line: These are great shelves for a good price. The shipping box is bound to get messed up due to the weight and nature of the contents...but as long as all the parts are still present, it's unlikely that they'll be damaged. Put the thing together and I think you'll be very happy with your purchase. I won't hesitate to order again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Just What I Needed for My Garage

04/14/2014
By ,
Los Angeles
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to assemble (middle joints take a little coordination) and time to assemble was under 20 minutes. Very sturdy. Shipping packaging could have been stronger to stabilize the pieces more. A couple of the wood shelves were damaged. Contacted the manufacturer and had a hassle free replacement. Buying 2 more
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

great heavy duty shelf

04/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great sale price for an industrial quality shelf
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Heavy

04/17/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is very good quality, very easy to put together.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Storage

04/17/2014
By ,
Schoolcraft, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Sturdy Shelving Unit
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Sturdy supports. Okay walue for price.

04/03/2014
By ,
Oregon
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I ordered this shelf to fill a need in a hobby room. It had very good ratings. When the shelf arrived the box was damaged but taped back together. The shelf was not damaged and all parts were present. The metal supports are very strong and the shelf was easy to assemble. However, after 30+ years in the particleboard industry, we were very disappointed with the board used for the shelves. It is unsealed, crumbly and has a strong raw particleboard odor. I would give this a 5-star rating if the particleboard were a better quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 143 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next