Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Edsal Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Edsal Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Store and organize your items with this 48"W x 24"D x 72"H Edsal Steel Shelving Unit. This Black Steel Shelving Unit features a Z beam construction for added strength and rigidity, so that these shelves will be able to handle lots of weight. The five shelves are made of particle board and are specifically designed to support heavy loads. These shelves can also be adjusted every inch and a half, so you can assemble and adjust the 5-Shelf Edsal Heavy Duty Shelving to fit your needs. This shelving storage unit can hold up to 4000 lbs as long as the weight is distributed evenly over the entire unit. The 48"W x 24"D x 72"H Edsal Steel Shelving Unit is ideal for storing tools and other heavy equipment in the garage, tool shed or even your greenhouse.
Average Customer Rating:
3.83 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(465 Reviews) 455
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
201
4 stars
131
3 stars
47
2 stars
25
1 star
61
Customer Recommendation79%366 out of 465reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 125 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
201
4 stars
131
3 stars
47
2 stars
25
1 star
61
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Shelfs

08/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love these, not only are they huge but very sturdy, as you can see in the pictures they hold lots of stuff...and also excellent price on the roll backs.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Great quality except..

10/20/2014
By ,
Utah
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This rack shipped very quick and it high quality. It is easy to assemble. The reason I gave it 4 out of 5 stars is because I hate the corners of this thing. You have to have a shelf right in the middle of this rack and it ruined my plans for where I wanted to put a shelf. The corner posts come in two separate pieces so it requires beams right in the middle to hold it together, it's kind of a pain. If the corner posts were one solid piece and I could put my shelves where I wanted, I would have given it 5 stars. Overall, good quality and easy to assemble.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

VERY disappointed

10/08/2013
By ,
Cumming, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered five of these shelves. Every single one of the boxes that were delivered was damaged and open upon arrival, with parts falling out of two of them. One of the boxes was apparently so badly damaged that Federal Express did not even leave it at my house; they returned it to Walmart, of their own accord.
All the particle board shelving was damaged on the corners due to the boxes being open.
Overall, it was not a complete loss, considering the price paid, but I was most definitely very disappointed in the condition that the merchandise arrived. (see pictures)
PS.
I tried at least 8 times to upload photos, but was only able to upload successfully one photo. Keep getting a Gateway timed out error - 504. So, disappointed in this review site also. :/
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+54points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Fayetteville, TN
Site to store.
Posted 09/14/2014
Such possibilities is why I ALWAYS order delivery "site to store". They keep track of it, and, if any damages, refuse it there. I believe they head off damaged merchandise and make sure you get good conditioned items, at least I've never had any damage of any sort to anything I've ordered and picked up.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Big & Sturdy

07/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thought it was too good to be true for such a great product at such an inexpensive cost. It arrived on time - the box corners/edges a bit mangled due to the heavy weight. This concerned us and after opening, some corners on the board shelves had broken off. We considered returning it, but after assembly, the shelves still fit perfectly and we couldn't see the missing corners. All-around, this is a cosmetically and durably sound product. Very quick and easy assembly. The dimensions were spot-on and our two shelving units fit perfectly in the garage space. It’s tall, it’s deep, and it's beautiful (see photo). Definitely buying more! Way to go Walmart!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

VERY upset

11/15/2013
By ,
Fort Hood, Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered two of these as they were being advertised all over the internet for the sale they were having. BOTH boxes arrived opened and crushed. Fedex quickly left them at my front door and ran off as I was trying to call them back about it. I couldn't believe they would be delivered in such condition!!! All of the shelves were destroyed on the sides and corners. Pieces of the shelving unit (crumbles) were falling out of the sides.
I was very excited ordering these, and now am just frustrated and upset. They are VERY heavy to move, so bringing them back anytime soon... yea. TERRIBLE TERRIBLE TERRIBLE product and TERRIBLE quality control.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
CA
upset
Posted 10/05/2014
why do you have to schlep them any place?? FedEx delivered them improperly they should pick them up
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Can't believe the bang for the buck!

04/05/2014
By ,
Amarillo, TX.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1st of all, I agree to it being heavy, but if the shipper/handler treats it well (like they did mine), it arrives fine and in a manageable way. I put it together by myself in about an hour or less. It was simple and can't believe how well this thing is made! The wood sits flat and snug. No tools required except to tap the ends down (way easy). I still don't understand how they ship it for free. It says 102lbs shipping weight, but mine said 82lbs. Anyways, buy these non stop until they run out! You will not regret it! PS, the photo provided was done today after I put my motorcycle stuff on it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Poor Quality :Very Disappointed!

09/20/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DO NOT PURCHASE! This is of POOR quality made with bagasse board. It came damage with the bagasse board shelling apart.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Easy to setup & sturdy!

06/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exactly as described! Great for garage organization! Would recommend and buy again!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Recommend Item but Not Shipping It To Home

05/12/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I already have one of these shelves and wanted two more for my garage so I order them to be shipped directly to my home. The 1st delivery was aborted by the shipper due to package damage. They attempted the 2nd delivery but the shelves were crushed and framing sticking out of box so I refused the delivery. I contacted Walmart CS and they kindly expedited out a new delivery. I informed the CS Associate that the corrugate was inadequate for direct shipping that advising the warehouse of that might prevent further loss but when the replacement was received, it was the original packaging with the framing sticking out of both boxes and both ends of each box was open and crushed. I refused the delivery and Walmart suggested we cancel the order. IF you can handle 103 pounds per box, I recommend trying the Store to Store delivery (Assuming it would be in better shape however, I have no way to transport that weight so won’t be ordering this product further through Walmart).
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Great Product, Good Price, Poor Packaging

03/24/2014
By ,
Tucson, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Like almost everyone else who reviewed this item the product itself is awesome but the packaging could definately use some improvement. Item was delivered in a damaged box. A few of the shelf corners were crunched. None of the metal pieces had any type of paper or plastic protecting them. resulting in some minor scrapes and scratches in the paint from the pieces shifting during shipping. (There is no internal packing materials at all, just pieces in a box) Some metal pieces were sandwiched inbetween two of the shelves and left impressions in the shelf that was sitting on top of them. On a good note, the shelves themselves are very easy to assemble. The shelf with the indentations was flipped over for use, and the minor scrapes in the paint were in areas that were not noticable when unit was assembled. Bottom line, great shelves at a great price and easy to assemble...as long as you don't plan on using them for anything other that storage and don't mind the few bumps and scratches it aquires from the poor packaging.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Edsal shelves

02/22/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is not as described and a bad purchase for me. I bought 2 for my garage.
Unless you are putting lightweight items on the shelves these will not work. First the box is so heavy that when I got them the ends were crushed and the brackets were exposed. I took a picture before I opened the box. The crushed ends resulted in 4 of the 6 particle board shelves being broken. I looked at the reviews, these shelves will not hold more than 50 pounds. Also the instructions were non-existent and you have to figure out how to put up the last 4 shelves. After 2 hours we gave up. I now have to lug 2- 300 pound boxes to Walmart to get a refund. I will look for better shelves for the garage. My advice Do not buy and waste your money. If you do buy be careful with the box you will need it if you have to make a return, and take pictures if your box is crushed.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Ok I guess, but not what I wanted.

12/17/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was expecting these to have one long rail for each corner. Each corner is actually two separate pieces and they are supposed to be held together by one of the shelf sections. It is not secure and extremely difficult to assemble.
After buying 4 for under $50 on cyber Monday I am disappointed. The boxes arrived by Fedex with damaged boxes and left out in the rain rather than under a covered porch. I realize these were cheap, but with a regular price of $110 I expected more. I didn't even finish assembling one and left the other three in the boxes. I will be returning them today and going back to building my own shelves.
I figured I would try these since they were cheaper than the materials to build shelves, but they are not the same. I can build a 18"x96" unit with 5 shelves for around $60 and an hour or so of my time. They aren't pretty and painted, but they get the job done and will hold a lot more weight.
I guess one cool thing about these is you could use them at half height as work benches or something.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Great shelf, great price.

01/07/2015
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spent about an hour researching shelves on line before I made this purchase. 3 other stores carry this exact shelf for $20 to $30 more plus higher costs to ship to home. This is the best deal I could find. I bought 1 shelf to check it out before buying more. It's sturdy with a lot of storage space and decent vertical clearance for big items. It's not the best quality shelf on the market, but it does the job I needed it to do...hold my stuff. It'll do fine for most anything, unless you're storing gold bars. In that case, sell a bar, and buy a heavier-duty shelf.
The shelf arrived in a very heavy box. The box had some big dents, but that didn't affect the parts inside. Assembly is required, but nothing hard to understand. It'll be much easier if you have someone help you assemble and move the shelf into position. The completed shelf is difficult to move due to its size and weight.
I plan to buy 2 more of these shelves for my garage.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Recommendation--With Reseravations

07/20/2014
By ,
Newport News, VA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have purchased several heavy duty shelf sets over the past year; most have been quality units at quite a discount. Relative to these shelves, the others are far superior. With these units, you almost need three hands in order to get the second tier installed, and the entire unit remains unstable until all of the shelf boards are installed.
My two units arrived missing four of the framing rails and four of the end pieces were missing the brads necessary to install the these rails. I called the company and they were quite accommodating and promptly shipped out the missing pieces.
The bottom line is you get what you pay for: if you want a quality, heavy duty shelf set, this is not the one to buy-- spend the extra $$$$s and buy quality brand. If you are looking for some 2'X4'X6' shelving and your budget can't afford the first tier shelving pricing, then these units will probably meet your needs.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Perfect for Organizing and Storing!

02/02/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is good quality, sturdy (though I am not a fan of the "stack the metal posts" concept for the "legs" of the stand). The only difficulty I had putting it together by myself was getting the legs posts stacked and the braces in place without the legs slipping from the stacked position. Once together I was (and am) completely happy with the end product. And the price was excellent! I would definitely recommend for organization/storage purposes.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Sturdy, Strong, and very Inexpensive

02/13/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These units are very similar to the commercial grade Edsal shelving units that I usually buy. The commercial units have single piece risers, have fully adjustable shelving, and the particle board shelving is a bit thicker at 5/8". They also cost $200. At $60. These shelving units are amazing. Yes, the shelves are a bit thin and sit slightly below the metal brackets. Of course the risers are a 2 piece design, otherwise they could not be box packed. The metal is also slightly thinner than the commercial line. In practical purposes, no homeowner needs any more strength than these shelves can offer. I do have one suggestion though. Particleboard loves water. So nothing wet on shelves ever. Replacing the shelves with thicker 3/4" particleboard makes a big improvement as boxes slide in and out without scraping on metal frame. This is an inexpensive fix and makes the shelves even sturdier. Replacing them with BC plywood would allow them to get wet without swelling.
Don't worry about the quality of the enclosed shelves. They will work for most people, including me. Upgrade to plywood if it really bothers you.
The frame is well worth the price charged. It will last a lifetime. Just don't hammer directly on the metal. Use a wooden block in between.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Decent for the money

02/28/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not bad for what I paid for it on sale. I don't think I would even consider putting the maximum load on a shelf, as the 1/2" particle board shelving is too weak. Easy to set up with no tools required, just be sure to have the top upright sitting directly on the bottom one when assembling. This will take a little work if you are doing it by yourself, as the uprights are only 1/16" thick . Even with this, I wish I had ordered a couple more units, as they do hold a lot and organize my shop well.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Edsal 24 x 48 Steel Storage Rack Rating

02/02/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The packaging for this particular rack is well designed and assures that all the parts remain in the package during transit. Assembly is easy; the only tricky part is holding all the parts in position when connecting the top post to to the bottom post to achieve a 72" high unit. I am pleased with this product and will purchase another one if and when I need it.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

not what I expected

02/07/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Not too sure these well hold up to holding the weight they claim they will.. very wobbley and not sturdy at all...
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Edsal 48"W x 24"D x 72"H 5-Shelf Steel Shelving, Black

Will work for our needs but probably not for all

01/30/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Packaging not adequate for shipping. Some pieces came in damaged but usable. The whole assembly is cheaply made, very light duty and structurally questionable for any considerable weight. Doesn't stay together very well, especially when trying to move the shelf into final place. The price was right but you definitely get what you pay for. I would not recommend this product to anyone else. Spend a few bucks more on a better shelf.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 456 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  23 Next