Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung S390G Prepaid Cell Phone

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung S390G Prepaid Cell Phone

The Straight Talk Samsung S390G Phone provides all the advanced features of a smartphone without activation fees, contracts, monthly bills or credit checks! This Straight Talk Samsung Phone features a 2.4" QVGA color display, full QWERTY keyboard, mobile web and 2MP camera with zoom/video recorder so you can take pictures and send to friends and family in an instant! This Samsung Prepaid Cell Phone also features Bluetooth wireless technology, WiFi, enhanced messaging and an MP3 player so you can play all your favorite tunes wherever you go. Additional benefits of the Straight Talk Samsung Phone include Voicemail, Call Waiting and Caller ID, Hands-free speaker, Voice commands and MicroSD card slot for up to 32GB memory cards. Store up to 2,000 contact entries in your Straight Talk Samsung S390G Phone. Service plan options: $30 All You Need Plan, $45 Unlimited Talk Text and Data or $60 Unlimited Nationwide and International Plan.
Average Customer Rating:
3.02 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(51 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
9
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 star
15
Customer Recommendation53%27 out of 51reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
68 Questions | 150 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
9
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 star
15
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk Samsung S390G Prepaid Cell Phone

I don't like Tracphone services.

02/14/2013
By ,
KNOXVILLE, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Tracphone websites is too slow, I could not activate my phones. The people that I talked too were not helpful with my phone being locked up and I couldn't use it. I was not given a telephone. They hung up on me; I was not helped at all by them. I will be returning these phones to the today in Knoxville, TN and informing my bank to get my money back from Tracphone for the activation that I could not use from them.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Straight talk phone on tracphone services?
Posted 06/02/2013
Wonder why they don't work together, hihihi.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Straight Talk Samsung S390G Prepaid Cell Phone
06/21/2013
By ,
Mancelona, MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone turned itself on in my husband's pocket and pocket dialed 911. We had problems with being able to hear each other.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Straight Talk Samsung S390G Prepaid Cell Phone

Terrible

01/17/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this phone cause i needed one for a couple of months till i can get a new one. Soon as i got the phone it froze a half hour into using it. The texting format is terrible and the service is terrible. The spacebar sticks when you use it clicking it twice and putting a period. The phone also runs on AT&T towers and it is not very good where i live. I haven't had the phone for a day and i am most likely gonna return it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Straight Talk Samsung S390G Prepaid Cell Phone

Don't buy this phone

07/24/2013
By ,
Dallas, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had nothing but problems with this phone. It freezes up all the time. It drops calls and randomly shuts itself on and off. Unless it's possessed with a poltergeist there is no reason for why it does what it does. It puts a period after each word when I send a text. That happens when you hit the space bar. You get a space, but also a period. My texts look crazy. Yes, it looks nice and the MP3 player is great, but don't buy this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Straight Talk Samsung S390G Prepaid Cell Phone
09/04/2013
By ,
Bridgewater, CT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone may be ok in general, but the particular one I received is a dud. Keyboard malfunctions and touch navigation is oversensitive, returning immediately.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Straight Talk Samsung S390G Prepaid Cell Phone

Overall, big disappointment!

05/18/2014
By ,
Midlothian, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor sound quality. Speaker doesn't work. Plan to return it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Straight Talk Samsung S390G Prepaid Cell Phone
02/11/2013
By ,
Abilene, KS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not buy this phone!!!! It is constantly calling the emergency number to the point that they know my number and are very irritated with it. frequently when you try to call someone, it will start to dial and then hang up. i have to shut my phone off at least 5 times a day in order for it to work correctly. When I purchased the phone, they had to send a new sim card because the one in the phone did not work in our area when it asked what zip code the phone would be used in. I then needed 2 more sim cards because the phone kept losing service. And whenever the phone is on, i have no service and therefore can't use anything...text, internet, calls...nothing. I would never recommend this phone to anyone
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Straight Talk Samsung S390G Prepaid Cell Phone

I do not like my phone...

05/01/2013
By ,
Panama City Beach, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I really didn't think I was that picky about my cell phone, but I really do not like this phone. It would probably be fine if I just needed it for basic calling. For texting, the only indicator you receive that you have a new message is a little envelope icon that silently appears. There is no sound or screen to let you know that someone has texted you. Also, if you text a long message, it does not let you continue typing until completion so that it can send the entire message automatically as more than one text like most phones. You have to either fit it all into one message, or you have to type the first part of the message, send it, and then type the rest, and send it. This causes a delay between when the recipient receives each part of your message.
This is the first time I've had internet access on a phone and I was excited. I really don't need it, but it would be nice to have occasionally. However, the screen functions for the internet are so "user unfriendly", that it is more of a hassle to use the browser than helpful, so I really don't use it at all.
Also, the screen lock is very annoying. It's necessary so that you don't make accidental calls, but you have to push "unlock" then spacebar to unlock it. It makes sense to have a two-button unlock function, but most times that I push "unlock", it doesn't give me a chance to push the spacebar before flashing a message again that the screen is locked. This results in me having to push "unlock" many times before it works, which gets very frustrating.
Long story short...
I'm really considering ditching this phone and finding a better one.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Panama City Beach, FL
wrong phone
Posted 05/29/2013
My phone is actually a Samsung S380C, so my comments do not apply to the S390G. Sorry!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Straight Talk Samsung S390G Prepaid Cell Phone

Didn't work

05/31/2013
By ,
tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I contacted straight talk to transfer my "old" phone to this phone. After two weeks, calling straight talk every day, The phone never did work. I had to send it back and reconnect my "old" phone.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Straight Talk Samsung S390G Prepaid Cell Phone

The phone was defective and I had to return it.

06/18/2013
By ,
MS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I never got a change to use it because it would come on at all.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Straight Talk Samsung S390G Prepaid Cell Phone

A poor choice for a cellphone.

02/12/2013
By ,
Bella Vista, AR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone has several problems that stem from what it looks like and what tries to do. It looks a bit like a Blackberry, a Palm Treo, or a hybrid smartphone with a keyboard. Having a color screen suggests that you can browse the web... but it's so small, that it's actually useless to try to read anything on it. The keyboard looks like it came from a classic PDA... but interaction between the keyboard and the tiny screen is very slow and awkward.
A task as simple as trying to enter contacts was very frustrating. I've had simple, old-fashioned cellphones that worked fine with simple menus and controls, but this hybrid tries to combine so many different features that nothing actually works well. It makes phone calls fine, but a simple, cheaper cellphone would be easier to use.
I suggest you skip it. If you simply need a cellphone to make calls, just buy a plain cellphone. If you need to check email or browse the web, then step up to a real smartphone. That's what I finally did, buying a Samsung Galaxy Proclaim through Walmart's StraightTalk plan after returning the Samsung S390G.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Straight Talk Samsung S390G Prepaid Cell Phone

Sorry piece of trash

03/16/2014
By ,
Paducah, Kentucky
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this phone because Walmart.com showed that it would work in my area code. I suspected that I would have problems when it initialized to ATT instead of Verizon. About the time the date of no return approached it started locking up and then turning itself off. Now in the second month of ownership I get really spotty service. When I try to dial any number I get the message "Emergency calls only". When I try to text it asks if I want to try again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Straight Talk Samsung S390G Prepaid Cell Phone

could not get it to work

05/08/2013
By ,
LiveOak Fl.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Itried for 2days with straight talk to get my phone to work!! no good,,its going back to straight talk this morning..I guess you get what you pay for....
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Straight Talk Samsung S390G Prepaid Cell Phone

poor phone, not as advertised

12/07/2013
By ,
naples fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
phone would not text or allow data in any area code except the one phone was registered in. Straight Talk Tech said it was because phone was registered in Illinois. Phone would make calls anywhere but not send text or data except in zip code where I live. How weird is this? Got rid of this phone after a few hours. Not at all what the phone specs said.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Straight Talk Samsung S390G Prepaid Cell Phone

Works when it want to S390G Samsung

06/26/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The phone worked okay until the one month mark, at two months it was totally dead. Problems I have had with the phone... Shuts off mid conversation, people cannot hear me, refuses to charge on occasion, screen goes blank, will not forward text, pictures. I became frustrated when I called someone and the phone would die even when fully charged then refused to turn back on. Worst phone I have ever had and I am normally a Samsung fan.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Straight Talk Samsung S390G Prepaid Cell Phone

Wouldn't buy

12/02/2013
By ,
Ky
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The ophone scroll bar is way to sensitive. Also the browser button is easily started when you aren't trying to. There is no lock button so again if you aren't carefully handling the phone you will accidentally dial the web. So it's like you have to treat this phone with extra care or you will use all time buy dialing or getting on the web when you didn't know it!
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Straight Talk Samsung S390G Prepaid Cell Phone

not all that its talked up to be

02/21/2013
By ,
ny
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this phone because I was upset with verizon forcing us to give up our unlimited plan if we upgrade our phone. I have always been able to upgrade and keep my unlimited plan even after they got rid of it. SO i decided to switch to this plan after hearing people talk about how great it is. Well the reception is fine but the phone is junk. I tried downloading ring tones when I tried to use them they kept saying file to big and i even downloaded the small fine ring tones. It is difficult to navigate. It keeps calling the emergency number when no one is touching it. I am eturning it tomorrow and getting a new one.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Straight Talk Samsung S390G Prepaid Cell Phone

Do not buy not worth the money!

04/24/2013
By ,
Bedford, PA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
At first, I was thrilled with this phone which I purchased through Tracfone. I was happy with the wifi and the Facebook app that was available. But, after a week of using it, it became clear that the phone has issues. After it made 3 calls in a week to 911 on it's own, I did some research and came to find that Samsung is aware of the issue. Apparently the key pad lock doesn't work when the keys are bumped too rapidly (say in your purse or diaper bag etc.) the phone will automatically call Emergency. Now, my local 911 center knows my number and is becoming irritated, so I guess I will be getting a new phone. In addition, while I have good signal and should have no problem sending or receiving text messages, there is a long delay and by long I mean I have had it take 6 hours to receive a text.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Straight Talk Samsung S390G Prepaid Cell Phone

not for me

07/04/2013
By ,
florence alabama
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ive owned 3 other s390g Samsung phones & they were great,but they were on verizon network,this ones on at&t & that don't work very well where I live. I returned the phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Straight Talk Samsung S390G Prepaid Cell Phone

Features are over rated

11/29/2013
By ,
Leesville SC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Its annoying to have to lock the phone because the phone has a mind
of its own, I find that when I put it away in my bag and take it out my
internet browser is connecting without hitting the key. Sharp looking item
but not all that great in terms of the over rated features, there is not many
selections of ring-tones, wallpaper display etc.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 46 total reviews
1 2 3 Next