Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung S390G Prepaid Cell Phone

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung S390G Prepaid Cell Phone

The Straight Talk Samsung S390G Phone provides all the advanced features of a smartphone without activation fees, contracts, monthly bills or credit checks! This Straight Talk Samsung Phone features a 2.4" QVGA color display, full QWERTY keyboard, mobile web and 2MP camera with zoom/video recorder so you can take pictures and send to friends and family in an instant! This Samsung Prepaid Cell Phone also features Bluetooth wireless technology, WiFi, enhanced messaging and an MP3 player so you can play all your favorite tunes wherever you go. Additional benefits of the Straight Talk Samsung Phone include Voicemail, Call Waiting and Caller ID, Hands-free speaker, Voice commands and MicroSD card slot for up to 32GB memory cards. Store up to 2,000 contact entries in your Straight Talk Samsung S390G Phone. Service plan options: $30 All You Need Plan, $45 Unlimited Talk Text and Data or $60 Unlimited Nationwide and International Plan.
Average Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(53 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
10
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 star
16
Customer Recommendation53%28 out of 53reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
69 Questions | 152 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
10
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 star
16
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk Samsung S390G Prepaid Cell Phone

Think of this phone as a hybrid

10/10/2013
By ,
Calabash, NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this phone from Straight Talk's site and it had free s&h to my home. I bought the All You Need Plan. I'm in my 50s so I probably won't use all 1,000 minutes of talk time or 1,000 texts that I get with this plan. It's what I consider a hybrid type of phone. It has some smart phone features and some features that are like the most basic cell phones out there. I was excited to find that it uses AT&T and Tmobile towers in my area. Thinking I would be with the AT&T towers most of the time would give me great coverage. No, they assigned my home address the TMobile towers. I was previously on T Mobile 5 years ago when I moved to this state. I had lousy coverage then. It may be the phone or they might have upgraded slightly but I have 2 bars and sometimes 3 in my house compared to 5 years ago when the whole house was 1 bar and I had to go outside and up the street to get a decent signal. All in all, it's OK, I use my house phone when home so I may not be needing the 3 bars I'd like to have all the time when home.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Straight Talk Samsung S390G Prepaid Cell Phone

Pretty cool basic phone

12/17/2012
By ,
Dallas, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I don"t normally write reviews..but my experience may help others. When considering a Straight Talk Phone plan ..go to their website FIRST...you HAVE to enter your ZIP CODE...THEN the phones that work BEST in your zip code will only be offered. DO NOT rely on Wal Mart store inventory..This phone was awesome (was...) It was a step up from my BlackBerry Curve that had the track ball but no browser capability. That said, it is BASIC..and the browser function is NOT very user friendly...had awesome sound during calls..better than my BlackBerry Torch..BUT the internal memory chip failed on day 6!!! I had NOTHING downloaded or entered..i.e. music/contacts, etc. If you want a BASIC phone to talk/text...and maybe a browser in an emergency, this will work..it is one of the few that are offered on the $30/month plan...the more sophisticated "smart" phones will HAVE to have the $45/month plan....FYI...cases are easily found use. the Samsung "chat 527" as a search option...many on Ebay or amazon..but the go under the chat 527 name, which is the SAME phone...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Straight Talk Samsung S390G Prepaid Cell Phone

Excellant phone

05/19/2013
By ,
Rupert Idaho
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter and I researched phones for several weeks before we narrowed our search to two phones. Both of the phones were Samsung phones. We settled on the Samsung S390G because it gave us the perks we were looking for. We needed a phone that was similar to a smart phone, we wanted a QWERTY key pad, a phone that we could download ringtones, pictures and other content that is important to us such as music. The S390G does all of this and more! and it does it well. We have downloaded ringtones and wall papers for our phones; have assigned ringtones to friends numbers and a ring tone for text messages. We aren't sure if you can assign individual ringtones to an individual text sender but that would be nice if you could. The skins we purchased for our phones gave us access to all the ports the phone has plus the protection we want for our phones. Call quality is great! It is a little different from the former system we were on but the sound is just as good. We are getting used to the fact that we get a running total on minutes and minutes used but we are liking it. As a whole, my wife, daughter, and I are glad we bought the S390G it is a good phone for anyone that doesn't want or need a smart phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Straight Talk Samsung S390G Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone

04/09/2013
By ,
Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Straight Talk never suggested that the s390g was a smart phone, so I don't know why people are complaining that it doesn't have all the features of smart phones do. It's a simple messaging which happens to have wifi. For a messaging phone, I think it has more to offer than most. It's also very easy to set up, and I can get to everything I use regularly with the shortcut key on the bottom right of the keyboard. Speaking of, the keyboard is very easy to type on, spacious, and tactile. I don't have to fight with the phone for every word I'm trying to text. The only slight problem is if I press the right side of the space key it tends to enter a period where I didn't want one. Minor flaw compared to all the frustration I get by trying to text on a touch phone. It's a phone with buttons, so if you don't keep the keyboard locked of course your going butt dial the local police department, but that's also not much of an issue. To unlock, you press the right hand key, then the left. Difficult? Not at all. You can also set it to lock by holding down the Alt key.
I think the phone gets a fair few of those bells and whistles every body wants for half the price. I still listen to music, check my email, scroll through Facebook, check the weather, and read the news. I even stream youtube on there if I'm that bord. The video quality is excellent for a simpler and inexpensive phone. I can do all of this for free using wifi.
If you really feel you need more than that then waste your money on an expensive smart phone, but for the average user I think this phone is great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+58points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Straight Talk Samsung S390G Prepaid Cell Phone

The phone is difficult to use.

08/27/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The phone is difficult to use. Adds periods inappropriately.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Straight Talk Samsung S390G Prepaid Cell Phone

Good nearly-smart phone

06/20/2013
By ,
Rogers, AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this phone because I wanted a smartphone, but didn't want to pay for one. You can view most web pages, download some apps, play music, take photos and video, as well as call and text. My only complaints are that sometimes the wi-fi or touch-pad decide not to work properly (turning the phone off and back on has fixed it every time so far), and the battery doesn't last as long as I'd like (probably due to my addiction to games on my phone). In my opinion, this is probably the best phone you can get with StraightTalk's $30/month plan, which is a great price for phone service. Overall I love the phone and would recommend it to anyone who wants a smartphone, but not the bill that comes with one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Straight Talk Samsung S390G Prepaid Cell Phone

great phone

08/16/2014
By ,
PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this for my husband. He likes it and it seems to be a good buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Straight Talk Samsung S390G Prepaid Cell Phone

A poor choice for a cellphone.

02/12/2013
By ,
Bella Vista, AR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone has several problems that stem from what it looks like and what tries to do. It looks a bit like a Blackberry, a Palm Treo, or a hybrid smartphone with a keyboard. Having a color screen suggests that you can browse the web... but it's so small, that it's actually useless to try to read anything on it. The keyboard looks like it came from a classic PDA... but interaction between the keyboard and the tiny screen is very slow and awkward.
A task as simple as trying to enter contacts was very frustrating. I've had simple, old-fashioned cellphones that worked fine with simple menus and controls, but this hybrid tries to combine so many different features that nothing actually works well. It makes phone calls fine, but a simple, cheaper cellphone would be easier to use.
I suggest you skip it. If you simply need a cellphone to make calls, just buy a plain cellphone. If you need to check email or browse the web, then step up to a real smartphone. That's what I finally did, buying a Samsung Galaxy Proclaim through Walmart's StraightTalk plan after returning the Samsung S390G.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Straight Talk Samsung S390G Prepaid Cell Phone

Very pleased, works with the $30 plan

12/09/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love Samsung quality and S390G did not disappoint. The case is non-metallic but feels cool to the touch like metal. The form is slender and wide making it easy to hold and text with one hand. 3G and WiFi work flawlessly, can surf without burning your minutes on the $30 plan. S3905G has enhanced security to password each or all applications and contacts, however security does not block Internet access. Youtube videos look good, can upload from the phone. The 2.4 (diagonal) display is beautiful, bright, with dark blue background for soothing contrast, love that the clock and battery meter are easy to see at a glance. QWERTY keypad is wide, with a message key, calendar key, shortcut menu key stores up to 12 favorites from main menu and submenus. The scrollpad is feathery and lightening quick on menu options. Microsoft Exchange, Yahoo and Gmail are easy to setup (Gmail has a security setting you have to change online first), including several intervals for downloading. I've downloaded and used several apps from getjar.com including Google Maps, Platinum Mahjongg, Opera Mini, Accuweather, Microsoft Messenger. Bluetooth works great with FIAT's Blue&Me, let's me transfer my contacts to it and make calls, plays music thru the TomTom media center. I purchased a Samsung brand bluetooth ear piece and quality is good. Speaker phone is easy to activate, the microsd slot is conveniently located on the outside left and takes up to a 32 GB card. Phone books holds 2000 entries with many options including 4 types of phones, memo, email, default #, speed dial, groups, URLs, company, title, street address, picture, ringtone. Battery life is very good, comes with a 1000 mAh battery and wall-charger. One drawback is it easily pocket dials and browses the web...I advise anyone to use the keypad lock at all times. This is not a smartphone, nor a touch screen, not for the simple mind, the spoiled teen, nor the bored genius. $49 is a good price and I give this phone five-stars for doing everything it's supposed to do. Recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+117points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Straight Talk Samsung S390G Prepaid Cell Phone

Wonderful for a beginner, relatively simple to use

03/14/2014
By ,
Greeley, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just ventured into the world of texting and am not a big fan of technology. I did have some assistance from my kids getting everything set up but have been able to use it quite successfully for the most part. I still have many things to learn I am sure but the phone has all of the features I will need. The screen is not easy to see outdoors though so that may become an issue at some point.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Straight Talk Samsung S390G Prepaid Cell Phone

Good "dumb" phone

07/13/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am satisfied with my new cell phone. I have gotten mostly Samsung products the past few years because they work longer and have an excellent battery life. I also picked thid particular phone because it can be used on the 30 or 45 dollar plan, which allows my flexibility in m budget.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Straight Talk Samsung S390G Prepaid Cell Phone

great phone

06/21/2014
By ,
jackson tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my new phone easy to use and the price great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Straight Talk Samsung S390G Prepaid Cell Phone

REVIEW

11/11/2012
By ,
Akron,Oh
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Better then I expected for just a good old regular text messaging phone. Good Sound and connectivity. Runs on AT&T Towers, nice. Bigger and easier to handle. My favorite phone for a $30 account.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+52points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Straight Talk Samsung S390G Prepaid Cell Phone
11/18/2012
By ,
Nashville, TN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this phone for my smarttalk account. However, I really didn't check out all of the reviews, but wished I had. This phone and maybe it because I bought the $30.00 phone plan, but the features are 'killing' me. Too many steps to get to what you need, but hey, this plan is saving me 1100.00 per year since I've left SPRINT. I was with SPRINT for over 12 years and they never gave me any credit or anything...just the upgrade to a better phone, which I never used all of those features anyway. Well now, I don't have a family plan, just an individual and this is going to save me money. Eventually, I may upgrade to a better phone and a different plan, but for right now, this works and saves me $$$$$.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Straight Talk Samsung S390G Prepaid Cell Phone
05/14/2013
By ,
Rogers Ar
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
this phone does what i need it to do, I would recommend it, the only thing about is the company it works with which is straighttalk. I have been with them for a while but customer service can be a hassle!. the phone works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Straight Talk Samsung S390G Prepaid Cell Phone

Works when it want to S390G Samsung

06/26/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The phone worked okay until the one month mark, at two months it was totally dead. Problems I have had with the phone... Shuts off mid conversation, people cannot hear me, refuses to charge on occasion, screen goes blank, will not forward text, pictures. I became frustrated when I called someone and the phone would die even when fully charged then refused to turn back on. Worst phone I have ever had and I am normally a Samsung fan.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Straight Talk Samsung S390G Prepaid Cell Phone

Buy it.

06/14/2013
By ,
Springfield, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Set-up was a breeze. My Bluetooth headset paired perfectly. I found that this phone in my area uses Verizon. Accesses Gmail perfectly. Fairly intuitive to use. Buy it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Straight Talk Samsung S390G Prepaid Cell Phone

Do not buy not worth the money!

04/24/2013
By ,
Bedford, PA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
At first, I was thrilled with this phone which I purchased through Tracfone. I was happy with the wifi and the Facebook app that was available. But, after a week of using it, it became clear that the phone has issues. After it made 3 calls in a week to 911 on it's own, I did some research and came to find that Samsung is aware of the issue. Apparently the key pad lock doesn't work when the keys are bumped too rapidly (say in your purse or diaper bag etc.) the phone will automatically call Emergency. Now, my local 911 center knows my number and is becoming irritated, so I guess I will be getting a new phone. In addition, while I have good signal and should have no problem sending or receiving text messages, there is a long delay and by long I mean I have had it take 6 hours to receive a text.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Straight Talk Samsung S390G Prepaid Cell Phone

great phone

04/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was tired of having smart phones that could do everything but place a call. Nice to get back to basics
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Straight Talk Samsung S390G Prepaid Cell Phone

I do not like my phone...

05/01/2013
By ,
Panama City Beach, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I really didn't think I was that picky about my cell phone, but I really do not like this phone. It would probably be fine if I just needed it for basic calling. For texting, the only indicator you receive that you have a new message is a little envelope icon that silently appears. There is no sound or screen to let you know that someone has texted you. Also, if you text a long message, it does not let you continue typing until completion so that it can send the entire message automatically as more than one text like most phones. You have to either fit it all into one message, or you have to type the first part of the message, send it, and then type the rest, and send it. This causes a delay between when the recipient receives each part of your message.
This is the first time I've had internet access on a phone and I was excited. I really don't need it, but it would be nice to have occasionally. However, the screen functions for the internet are so "user unfriendly", that it is more of a hassle to use the browser than helpful, so I really don't use it at all.
Also, the screen lock is very annoying. It's necessary so that you don't make accidental calls, but you have to push "unlock" then spacebar to unlock it. It makes sense to have a two-button unlock function, but most times that I push "unlock", it doesn't give me a chance to push the spacebar before flashing a message again that the screen is locked. This results in me having to push "unlock" many times before it works, which gets very frustrating.
Long story short...
I'm really considering ditching this phone and finding a better one.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Panama City Beach, FL
wrong phone
Posted 05/29/2013
My phone is actually a Samsung S380C, so my comments do not apply to the S390G. Sorry!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 48 total reviews
1 2 3 Next