Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk LG Optimus Prepaid Cell Phone, Black

Straight Talk Straight Talk LG Optimus Prepaid Cell Phone, Black

The Straight Calk LG Optimus Prepaid Phone features a 4" touchscreen scratch-resistant display, virtual keyboard and Android 2.3 (Gingerbread) operating system for quick and easy navigation of all of your applications and messaging. This black LG Optimus Cell Phone has dual cameras that let you document your life and video chat with your friends and family while you're on the go! Additional features of this Straight Talk Prepaid Cell Phone include 3G/WiFi connectivity, Bluetooth wireless technology, advanced GPS capabilities and a 1GHz processor. Plus, this black LG Optimus Cell Phone has 5 home screens, light, gravity and proximity sensors, MP3 player, hands-free speaker, voice commands and unlimited entry phonebook. Your Straight Calk LG Optimus Prepaid Phone only works with the Straight Talk $45/30-Day Unlimited Service Plan or the $60/30-Day Unlimited International Service Plan.
Average Customer Rating:
3.806 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(98 Reviews) 90
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
44
4 stars
24
3 stars
9
2 stars
9
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation71%70 out of 98reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
91 Questions | 91 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
44
4 stars
24
3 stars
9
2 stars
9
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Prepaid Cell Phone, Black

Started off great, Ended up terrible.

10/29/2013
By ,
Atlanta, GA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I've been with Straight Talk for a few years now and I got this phone about a year ago, with it being my first smartphone, I was pretty excited about what I could do with it and some of its great features! The first couple of months were great and I was really excited about it. Then after that it would randomly restart, which was annoying but I dealt with it. Now after a year of having it I have to get a new phone because of all its problems. Apps and function such as the camera crash or freeze and I have to force close them just about every time. The battery life last about 2 hours with minimal use and I have to take my charger with me everywhere I go. When I do place it on the charger it spazzes out like it has a mind of its own, sliding the screens and opening apps and closing them back out. It freezes, I don't get some messages that are sent to me, and its just a pain to deal with at this point. Which is disappointing after all that money and only a years worth of use. Save yourself time and hassle and get a different phone if you plan on keeping it for a while.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+88points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 02/24/2014
i dont know if this will help but try a different charger my phone did the same exact thing it would call people and play games and what not if I had it on the charger. I used a different charger and sure enough it solved the problem! Needless to say this shouldnt even be an issue!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Prepaid Cell Phone, Black

Very good with one problem

03/14/2014
By ,
Gilblert, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this phone for my daughter. It has more than met her needs, and she loves it. The only problem is that at least several times a week it will freeze and the only way to unfreeze it is to take the back off and take the battery out and then restart it. I don't if that's a typical problem or not. maybe we just got a bad unit. It is irritating though. Other than that it's a great phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Prepaid Cell Phone, Black

Good phone, ok reception, not so good battery life

10/25/2012
By ,
Wisconsin
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I got this phone as a graduation gift from my parents. I really wanted a smart phone but didn’t have the money to buy one or the monthly payments. I decided to go with this pre-paid smartphone and it’s more than I ever wanted! It's fast, responsive, and the screen is awesome! My friends always think its an iPhone from a distance. However, since this phone connects to Sprint towers (I believe), I would recommend using this phone if you live in larger cities or if you know your town has good reception with Sprint. It’s good where I live now, but it’s completely useless if I visit my family and friends that do live in smaller towns. Also the battery life is not that impressive. I get that it’s a smartphone and it uses a lot of battery but it’s getting to the point where even in the middle of a day I’m down to 20% battery life. I am happy with this phone, but I feel that I will probably upgrade phones after a year.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+172points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Prepaid Cell Phone, Black

Not Verizon

11/07/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Blue map on the front of the box means "AT&T" network. Ordered because a review said it was on the Verizon network. Buyer beware.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+52points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Prepaid Cell Phone, Black

Hate

03/03/2014
By ,
Blytheville, Ar
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I hate this phone I no reception at all. It is not what I expected. I want my money back on both phone. Hate, hate, hate.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Prepaid Cell Phone, Black

Resembles Iphone 4

03/14/2013
By ,
decatur,al
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far so good. The camara is AWESOME!!! the battery life is AMAZING!!!!! The memory is GREAT!!!! all of these words cannot describe this phone. Prior to me getting this phone I had the ZTE Merrit, which held no memory, no battery life. This Phone is a nice look. The weight is perfect, the size is perfect. It actually resembles an Iphone 4. The only thing I find negative is its kind of hard finding a cell phone face/cover for it. But I am pretty sure with time, and internet access that would be in the making of locating one. Wheter its on Ebay or somewhere else.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Batavia,NY
About face covers for your phone.
Posted 10/25/2013
I also am getting the LG Optimus and I was able to get a facecover for it at Cellular Outfitters. Check out the web site. www.cellularoutfitters.com.
0points
Customer Avatar
Denver
does this phone have candy crush game
Posted 10/18/2013
hi do you know if this phone has candy crush saga to download the game let me know ok thanks
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 7 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Prepaid Cell Phone, Black

eccelicate

04/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i think your service is great
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Prepaid Cell Phone, Black

not impressed with the phone at all

04/13/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
i cant get some apps the wifi is horrible phone is pretty slow loading gets hot when charging some features listed not available cant screenshot which is one feature i have a hard time being with out
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Prepaid Cell Phone, Black

Apps are slow, poor battery life

03/11/2014
By ,
Middlebury
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not a great phone if you want to load and play apps. Runs very slow (especially game apps). The battery life is terrible when running apps and I feel as though I am constantly plugging the phone in.
Phone looks nice and will do what I want it to for the most part. I would not pay to have this phone again.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Prepaid Cell Phone, Black

Battery Life!!!!

04/12/2014
By ,
Grovetown, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far so good.. Was bought for someone else no complaints except battery life...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Prepaid Cell Phone, Black

Returning it

03/29/2014
By ,
North Dakota
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My previous Straight Talk phone worked just fine until I dropped and broke it. I decided to upgrade. I do almost all my shopping online. When asked, I typed in my zip code and placed my order. Tried to activate and was told that was not possible as it needed to operate off of a Sprint tower and we have a Verizon tower. Returning is a great inconvenience as I am a shut-in. Wish I'd been told this before I ordered the phone. Cannot review the phone, just the service.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Prepaid Cell Phone, Black

Great phone.........

04/27/2013
By ,
Metter, Ga.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my son. He really wanted an Iphone, but they are just crazy expensive. This phone gives him everything he needs. He loves it and I do also.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Prepaid Cell Phone, Black

Not happy with this phone at all.

03/29/2014
By ,
Pine Bush,ny
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
does not have the memory and has a hard time running apps. I didn't realize that some straight talk phones run off different networks. are last phone was working off of Verizon tours and worked great and this one is off of sprint. . . we barely get any service now. by the time we figured this out we are passed are 15 day guarantee and are stuck with it.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Prepaid Cell Phone, Black

Great phone for entry level

04/01/2014
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my first android phone the learning has been slow but that's what you get with a 67 year old man . The more I use it and play with it the better I like it . The camera makes very nice clear pictures
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Prepaid Cell Phone, Black

last only 1 year

03/28/2014
By ,
angryshopper
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
after owning 1 year i started having all sorts of problems with it...not from abuse....screen just shuts down during phone calls...disconnects calls randomly...avoid problems don't buy this
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Prepaid Cell Phone, Black

Not an upgrade at all.

03/24/2014
By ,
Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The only good thing this phone has is it's somewhat higher quality camera. However for the rest of it.. It's one of the slowest phones I've ever used. Took forever to open anything, including messages or even make a call. Apps at first were just slow to open, and progressed into not loading at all. I actually returned the phone and used my old phone instead.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Prepaid Cell Phone, Black

This smart phone is really nice.

03/25/2013
By ,
Kingsport, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my first smart phone, so I'm not able to compare it with any others. However, as time goes by I am finding more and more that I can do with this great phone. The screen is large and easy to read. It is fairly user friendly and I am having fun with it. I can take great photos (and edit them too) and videos, then send them to my gmail account. I can check out my face book account easily and keep in touch with friends. There are plenty of other features I haven't even used yet. It is easy to find my contact and set up speed dial on the touch screen.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Kingston Ny
Support WMA & Mp3 Files
Posted 07/31/2013
Does the phone support wma & mp3 files?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Prepaid Cell Phone, Black

Great Phone!

02/19/2014
By ,
Ithaca, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my LG phone! It was inexpensive, and does it all. It has a bigger screen than the Iphone, and it is thin and light. Good storage, and awesome speed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Prepaid Cell Phone, Black

undecided

11/19/2013
By ,
ebensburg pa
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
A few weeks ago Mr and my fiancé decided I could get a new phone.
So I go on Walmart .com and I order the first phone which sprint was a Samsung precedent.
I was so excited to get it! When I got it, the phone had no service at all, I guess the phone went off a
Sprint tower (there aren't any sprint towers close enough to my area) so I took it back to Walmart. My second phone was this phone....with that being said I turned it on....no service...then I used my fiancé phone to call straight talk, I guy who "helped" me told me my number wasn't active Amy more and that the phone went off a sprint tower..... Once again there is not a sprint tower close to my are, so I went back to Walmart, got my money back...again... Then actually bought a phone from the store...the only problem is, straight talk forced me to get a new number because the one before my accend plus "lost my number" so my number was no longer a straight talk number......but now im happy with my accend plus. The other two phones were all in all cool phones I loved the features on them but from experience if never order another phone off line I'll just wait till they get one in the store.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Prepaid Cell Phone, Black

HATE

03/09/2014
By ,
Phoenix,AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The only reason I gave this phone 1 star is because I had to.. Received the phone, set it up and it got no service at my home... Thought it was because I live near mountains in north Phoenix.... Wrong. I work in central Phoenix and the phone went in and out of service there too and dropped many calls.... Just ANOTHER straight talk disappointment.. And their customer service is by far the worst I've ever dealt with, I thought it couldn't get worse than verizon.... I was proven wrong.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 46 total reviews
1 2 3 Next