Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk LG Optimus Prepaid Cell Phone, Black

Straight Talk Straight Talk LG Optimus Prepaid Cell Phone, Black

The Straight Calk LG Optimus Prepaid Phone features a 4" touchscreen scratch-resistant display, virtual keyboard and Android 2.3 (Gingerbread) operating system for quick and easy navigation of all of your applications and messaging. This black LG Optimus Cell Phone has dual cameras that let you document your life and video chat with your friends and family while you're on the go! Additional features of this Straight Talk Prepaid Cell Phone include 3G/WiFi connectivity, Bluetooth wireless technology, advanced GPS capabilities and a 1GHz processor. Plus, this black LG Optimus Cell Phone has 5 home screens, light, gravity and proximity sensors, MP3 player, hands-free speaker, voice commands and unlimited entry phonebook. Your Straight Calk LG Optimus Prepaid Phone only works with the Straight Talk $45/30-Day Unlimited Service Plan or the $60/30-Day Unlimited International Service Plan.
Average Customer Rating:
3.638 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(130 Reviews) 122
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
55
4 stars
29
3 stars
10
2 stars
16
1 star
20
Customer Recommendation65%85 out of 130reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
112 Questions | 127 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
55
4 stars
29
3 stars
10
2 stars
16
1 star
20
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Prepaid Cell Phone, Black

Frustratingly Slow

07/17/2014
By ,
Peoria, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this phone in late March - it is now mid July. I take great care of it, and I don't have a bunch of extra apps (email and facebook are really about it). I haven't had the phone for a full four months yet, and I already want to replace it. At first it was great, but it began to go downhill very quickly. It is incredibly slow. Rather than taking seconds to read a text message, it takes minutes. Forget about replying to said text unless you have some time on your hands. In recent weeks it has also begun freezing. I can't use the phone at all (not even to unlock it) unless I physically take the battery own and force it to restart, which I'm sure is not good for it. It's particularly frustrating because nothing happened to it -- no drops, no spills, nothing. It's just a bad phone. I love the monthly savings that come along with Straight Talk, but this is my second bad phone. I'm starting to wonder if I'm really saving money if I have to keep replacing phones.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Prepaid Cell Phone, Black

Good Phone

06/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had Straight Talk for a few years now and knew I needed to get upgrade my phone to a smartphone. I choose this one after wanting a querty keyboard because I hate using the phone vertically for texting.... I bought the phone around tax time and it worked like a dream. I chalked up the overheating to my over use of a phone that was well over needed. It worked great with gaming apps I wanted and even allowed me to download Pandora so I could listen to it at work with decent sound quality. Then about 2 weeks after I got the phone I ended up dropping it x3 in 1 day at work.... Of course the 3rd time cracked the screen. I still decided to preserve because I didn't want to go back to my backup phone.... Flash forward to the middle of last month (so about 2 months of using this phone with cracks on the screen) I'm working and go to turn off the music and I find that the screen is now barely visible! So now I have to send back the phone and am waiting to buy another one......
Overall I would recommend this phone... Just be careful not to over use it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Prepaid Cell Phone, Black

Good phone, ok reception, not so good battery life

10/25/2012
By ,
Wisconsin
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I got this phone as a graduation gift from my parents. I really wanted a smart phone but didn’t have the money to buy one or the monthly payments. I decided to go with this pre-paid smartphone and it’s more than I ever wanted! It's fast, responsive, and the screen is awesome! My friends always think its an iPhone from a distance. However, since this phone connects to Sprint towers (I believe), I would recommend using this phone if you live in larger cities or if you know your town has good reception with Sprint. It’s good where I live now, but it’s completely useless if I visit my family and friends that do live in smaller towns. Also the battery life is not that impressive. I get that it’s a smartphone and it uses a lot of battery but it’s getting to the point where even in the middle of a day I’m down to 20% battery life. I am happy with this phone, but I feel that I will probably upgrade phones after a year.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+195points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Prepaid Cell Phone, Black

Started off great, Ended up terrible.

10/29/2013
By ,
Atlanta, GA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I've been with Straight Talk for a few years now and I got this phone about a year ago, with it being my first smartphone, I was pretty excited about what I could do with it and some of its great features! The first couple of months were great and I was really excited about it. Then after that it would randomly restart, which was annoying but I dealt with it. Now after a year of having it I have to get a new phone because of all its problems. Apps and function such as the camera crash or freeze and I have to force close them just about every time. The battery life last about 2 hours with minimal use and I have to take my charger with me everywhere I go. When I do place it on the charger it spazzes out like it has a mind of its own, sliding the screens and opening apps and closing them back out. It freezes, I don't get some messages that are sent to me, and its just a pain to deal with at this point. Which is disappointing after all that money and only a years worth of use. Save yourself time and hassle and get a different phone if you plan on keeping it for a while.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+119points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Connecticut
hmmm
Posted 05/05/2014
You know smartphones are little computers, and just like them, they can get infected. It sounds like this was this case with your phone. Next time do a factory reset and then IMMEDIATLY put on something like comodo, white gate, zoner,and malwarebytes.
0points
Customer Avatar
Posted 02/24/2014
i dont know if this will help but try a different charger my phone did the same exact thing it would call people and play games and what not if I had it on the charger. I used a different charger and sure enough it solved the problem! Needless to say this shouldnt even be an issue!!
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 5 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Prepaid Cell Phone, Black

Had the phone for THREE YEARS!

08/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Honest to God I had the phone for that LONG! Three years with NO problems. I bought the screen plastic and dropped a million times. It never shatter! Its like same condition. The problem is that the battery is used up fast when I use Yahoo application. It could be the battery is THREE years old!
I am upgrading but I say this phone is WORTH it and its great when you need a back up or a phone you want to get first or good for older people who are afraid of these type of phones. When I get an upgrade phone an iPhone. I will use my old phone as a back up cause I can depend on it. I kid you not
And when I see people look at it. I stop and share how great the phone is. This is the BEST phone I ever had. I had a vrigin phone that survives a washer machine.. I am not gonna test my LG phone. LOL
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Prepaid Cell Phone, Black

Great Phone In My Opinion

05/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've read many bad reviews about this phone and some of them I just don't understand. I don't have any problems with the battery running low quicklyor it taking forever to charge and I have A TON of Apps and things that would be sucking it dry. Maybe they just got a defective phone I guess. I used to have the LG Optimus Logic and the upgrade to this is mind blowing. So much space! I haven't even put a dent in it yet. Finally no more dark and fuzzy pictures. The camera on this is awesome. The screen is so big a bright even with the brightness set low. It's fast and it's just great for me. It's definitely worth the money. I wish I had upgraded sooner. I'm in phone heaven right now.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+63points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Prepaid Cell Phone, Black

Resembles Iphone 4

03/14/2013
By ,
decatur,al
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far so good. The camara is AWESOME!!! the battery life is AMAZING!!!!! The memory is GREAT!!!! all of these words cannot describe this phone. Prior to me getting this phone I had the ZTE Merrit, which held no memory, no battery life. This Phone is a nice look. The weight is perfect, the size is perfect. It actually resembles an Iphone 4. The only thing I find negative is its kind of hard finding a cell phone face/cover for it. But I am pretty sure with time, and internet access that would be in the making of locating one. Wheter its on Ebay or somewhere else.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Batavia,NY
About face covers for your phone.
Posted 10/25/2013
I also am getting the LG Optimus and I was able to get a facecover for it at Cellular Outfitters. Check out the web site. www.cellularoutfitters.com.
0points
Customer Avatar
Denver
does this phone have candy crush game
Posted 10/18/2013
hi do you know if this phone has candy crush saga to download the game let me know ok thanks
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 8 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Prepaid Cell Phone, Black

Not Verizon

11/07/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Blue map on the front of the box means "AT&T" network. Ordered because a review said it was on the Verizon network. Buyer beware.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+73points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
This is a Sprint -powered phone
Posted 04/29/2014
For those of you reading this review, I just want to point out that THIS phone, the Straight Talk LG Optimus Black, L85C, uses the SPRINT native network and not AT&T.
Blue maps on the boxes denote that the phone is "not on Verizon." They could be AT&T, Sprint, or T-Mobile. The red map does signify Verizon, however.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Prepaid Cell Phone, Black

Very good with one problem

03/14/2014
By ,
Gilblert, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this phone for my daughter. It has more than met her needs, and she loves it. The only problem is that at least several times a week it will freeze and the only way to unfreeze it is to take the back off and take the battery out and then restart it. I don't if that's a typical problem or not. maybe we just got a bad unit. It is irritating though. Other than that it's a great phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Prepaid Cell Phone, Black

Poor performance compared to other Samsungs

04/29/2014
By ,
Williamsburg, VA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I previously used the Samsung Galaxy Proclaim. Though the Optimus has some extra features, the phone is a poor performer.
Often, I find that the phone has turned itself off.
Each time you turn the phone off for any reason, you must go to the 'date and time' feature and reset the time. If you do not, within a short while, it will set itself to the time zone of origen. For me, that is a five hour difference.
Many times in making a call, though I tap the phone to proceed, nothing happens. I might have to try 8 or 10 times. I have sometimes given up, only to finally hear the person answer when I'm not prepared.
There are other concerns but this should be enough for anyone looking for a decent performer. Try another model.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Prepaid Cell Phone, Black

Great phone.........

04/27/2013
By ,
Metter, Ga.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my son. He really wanted an Iphone, but they are just crazy expensive. This phone gives him everything he needs. He loves it and I do also.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Prepaid Cell Phone, Black

Never had such horrible service

11/12/2014
By ,
Birmingham Al
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I guess you get what you pay for. This phone is horrible. Internet service at home but can never get on any social media sites. This phone freeze constantly. I can have 100% wifi and all the bars but this phone doesn't respond as it should. Walmart, you have the worst phone service ever! I only purchased this phone and your service to stay within a budget. I see it's clearly not worth it. I will be going back to a contract provider. At least if you don't get the best service, they try and fix the problem or take something off your bill. What's worse is, I bought the same phone for my daughter and ,I have to listen to her complain all the time.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Prepaid Cell Phone, Black

Good Phone

07/03/2014
By ,
Tallahassee, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this phone for my daughter after buying one for myself. Great phone, good speed, functions well, and would recommend to others.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Prepaid Cell Phone, Black

This smart phone is really nice.

03/25/2013
By ,
Kingsport, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my first smart phone, so I'm not able to compare it with any others. However, as time goes by I am finding more and more that I can do with this great phone. The screen is large and easy to read. It is fairly user friendly and I am having fun with it. I can take great photos (and edit them too) and videos, then send them to my gmail account. I can check out my face book account easily and keep in touch with friends. There are plenty of other features I haven't even used yet. It is easy to find my contact and set up speed dial on the touch screen.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Kingston Ny
Support WMA & Mp3 Files
Posted 07/31/2013
Does the phone support wma & mp3 files?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Prepaid Cell Phone, Black

Nice phone, HORRIBLE battery life!

04/26/2014
By ,
Baltimore, Md
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a nice phone if you a way to charge several times throughout the day, even after shutting apps down manually. It has a nice size screen, and many apps compatible. I have T-mobile version of this phone (GSM) on family mobile, other than having to charge it A LOT. I have enjoyed this phone, I just don't let it get below 50% battery life. Takes to long to recharge it if you do. When I'm on WIFI I plug it in. It does has an sd card slot and the Instien kit I purchased worked well. I bought extra battery's on e-bay for this phone and swap them throughout the day. Wanted to try the extended life but decided to give this to my son and have moved to the moto g under Verizon.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Prepaid Cell Phone, Black
03/21/2013
By ,
Monsey, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this phone for my nineteen year old daughter with the straight talk bundle and she is loving it. Thank you for a smart and affordable product. She is loving all the amazing features. Wonderful phone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Prepaid Cell Phone, Black

Sorry I bought it.

10/15/2014
By ,
Orange County, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This was, for me, a 'big purchase' for a phone, since at the time it was sold for $199.95. There was a good deal more memory than my previous entry-level Samsung phone, which I hoped would mean faster running of more apps. I was wrong.
Using the pre-loaded Google Maps navigation function causes the phone to freeze. Every. Single. Time. If I'm lucky, I can do a hard restart, but otherwise a complete dismantle of the phone's cover and removal of the battery is required. There is NO navigation capability with this phone.
Since I've brought up the battery, I'll continue on that topic. This thing heats up, uncomfortably hot, whenever charging or during lengthy use (as when watching YouTube videos). My hunch is that I got a bad battery, but again, for two bills I expected better.
The camera is embarrassingly bad, with color correction shooting modes that give ghastly tints to any shots taken in anything lighting other than daylight. Using the flash assures that there will be flares in the photo. This is not a phone for a photography buff.
Because of my poor experience with this product, the entire LG line is now suspect. I'll hesitate before buying any LG product, and will not buy another LG phone.
Highly unsatisfactory purchase, with which I'm stuck until I can afford another Samsung.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Prepaid Cell Phone, Black

I have a love hate relationship with this phone.

08/31/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have a major love hate relationship with this phone. It constantly makes me force close apps. I get dropped calls ALL THE TIME... (please look at the coverage map, I didn't) When I originally bought this phone, I loved it.. until I activated and actually started using it. I've been using this phone less than a month.. If I had better service and if everything worked the way it should, I would be in love with this phone.
Pros: Great camera, front facing camera, flash, amazing storage capabilities compared to other straight talk phones I have had, voice to text option for texts.
Cons: I have a lot of dropped calls, sometimes I'll be getting a phone call and it won't let me answer, sometimes it won't let me text, I have to take out the battery at least 5 times a day to restart it, it dies quickly and takes forever to charge, out of no where it will make me force close out of applications, sometimes it will say I have service but won't connect to a network, sometimes i have to push the button 10 times to turn on the screen, sometimes when I'm texting auto correct won't work, when I'm on websites on my phone it will scroll all the way to the bottom of the page when I just want to scroll down a little.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Prepaid Cell Phone, Black

Definitely a smartphone!

05/19/2013
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been with Straight Talk for quite a few years and have gone through several phones. This is an awesome phone, truly a smartphone. It uses Verizon towers, so make sure you have coverage in your area. I'm thrilled with it. It's very easy to use. I highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Prepaid Cell Phone, Black

terrible phone

09/17/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Absolutely terrible in every way possible,slow is an understatement!From stupid pop up ads to viruses this phone was the worst purchase i have ever made!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 70 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next