Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Prepaid Cell Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Prepaid Cell Phone

The Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Cell Phone features a 4.3" WVGA Super AMOLED display, virtual keyboard with Swype and Android 2.3 (Gingerbread) operating system for quick and easy navigation of all of your applications and messaging. This Samsung Prepaid Cell Phone features dual cameras that let you document your life and video chat with your friends and family while you're on the go! Additional features of this Samsung Galaxy S II Prepaid Cell Phone include HSPDA+/WiFi connectivity, 1.2GHz dual core processor, advanced GPS capabilities, music player and ThinkFree Office Mobile. Your Samsung Prepaid Cell Phone also includes threaded text messaging, multimedia messaging, personal email and IM, Speech-to-Text and a social and media hub. 12GB storage memory and battery talk time of up to 8 hours round out this Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Cell Phone.
Average Customer Rating:
4.209 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(656 Reviews) 507
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
396
4 stars
141
3 stars
32
2 stars
34
1 star
53
Customer Recommendation86%565 out of 656reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
396
4 stars
141
3 stars
32
2 stars
34
1 star
53
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Prepaid Cell Phone

You won't be disappointed!

11/16/2012
By ,
St. Paul, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've been an iPhone user for about 5 years. Also had a Blackberry. Blackberry is completely out of the ball game - forget I mentioned Blackberry. The iPhone is a great phone but Apple lacks freedom like the Android operating system offers. The hardware in this particular SII blows away most of what Apple has to offer. It just seems that everything in this phone from the interface, smooth operation, ease of use, and freedom to root/crack the phone is just appealing to me. Android is an open source operating system, meaning anyone out there can create software for it without having to answer to king Apple (Apple pun intended). I really like the fact that I can simply take one of the apps for Android (.APK file) and install it through the SD card, internet browser, or simply email the file to myself and open it and install it. Just like the iPhone, there is an application to browse for apps. And you will most likely find your popular iPhone app available for Android.
I want to go over the hardware a bit. When the dual-core processor for the PC was released we were stunned by how powerful it was! But a dual-core processor on a phone?! Put it this way, it pretty much has enough power for anything I expect to do on a phone. The internal storage I believe is 12GB on this particular model. I won't be using 12GB of storage anytime soon, even after taking hundreds of photos. There's also an SD Card slot which supports up to 32GB of additional memory. The camera is a huge 8 mega-pixel, which is more than enough as far as image quality for what the average person is going to need. For shooting live action video footage I am very surprised at the clarity, response, resolution, and frame rate. I can also submit my videos to Facebook or email in the push of a button. The flash is a tiny LED which is actually very bright when snapping images. You will get somewhere between 4-6 hours of battery use when consistently playing a graphically demanding game. With casual use and web browsing the battery should last you a whole day. As with any smart phone, I would expect to plug it in in the morning and once again at night. I am excited to have the ability to physically remove my battery and replace it with another while the other is charging (external charger not included).
Another upside vs. the iPhone is that you have the option to close applications from memory with much ease. At the main screen you can easily move your icons and main feature bars. This screen also contains battery-saving options including turning off Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, GPS, and changing brightness settings. The phone multi-tasks applications like a high-end PC does. The screen is actually very large but it very comfortably fits in my palm. The phone is also very thin. The screen is the famous Gorilla glass just like the iPhone.
Reception/Network: With StraightTalk, this phone is a "GSM" phone. Meaning you will either receive a SIM card for T-Mobile or AT&T. StraightTalk is contracted to both providers. So expect one or the other if you are looking at your coverage area. This is a huge advantage over all service providers. As far as reception, I have a typical signal, not bad nor great. It supports the new high-speed GSM network which I won't go into much detail about. I will just say that it utilizes the "4G" network. Depending on your area, your speeds will be limited to your areas network. This is not a limitation of the phone but rather the cell service providers equipment and how much data is being transferred on the network during that time.
The downsides: There are very few that I have noticed. The first I would have to say is the microphone speaker. In the 2 weeks I have owned this phone only a few people have had difficulty hearing me. Battery life isn't so great on this phone. But don't fret, there are several aftermarket batteries that boost your phones battery capacity up to nearly 4x the current capacity. The battery cover, which covers the whole backside of the phone, is a cheap flimsy thing which is more flimsy than I imagined than when I purchased it. Not that it's a bad thing but more of a mental note if you haven't had a chance to examine this phone. The operating system is an older version of Android but that doesn't bother me and most likely won't bother the average phone user either.
Overall: This phone is the best of both worlds, SII + StraightTalk. That means cheap plan, great coverage, and an excellent phone. This phone is now my lifeline - I make calls, text, check email, browse the internet, Facebook, etc. I really don't use my home PC as much because of this. I give the phone 4 stars! Why? 4 stars is pretty darn good but 5 stars would be a perfect phone. If I was reviewing a StraightTalk Samsung Galaxy SIII it might just receive 5 stars!
Tips: If you plan on ordering any accessories keep in mind that there are 2 different models that differ in physical appearance. One model which is this unit, has a horizontal camera. The other has a vertical camera and a few other different features. If ordering a case for this SII look for the case that has the horizontal slot on the back for the camera opening.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1,486points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Salem,Va
Which Cell Tower
Posted 09/03/2013
What cell tower is this phone off of?? I wish they would have more nicer phones off of the Verizon towers!!!!
0points
Customer Avatar
wagoner
does it work in wagoner ok
Posted 03/30/2013
I was toled it did not work in wagoner
-3points
Customer Avatar
Long Island
not 4G
Posted 11/21/2012
the S2 may be 4g capable but not on straight talk, only 3G and only on ATT towers. diff phones from this co. run on diff towers. ie. straight talk Galaxy Proclaim runs on verizon. I had the tmobile s2 which was 4g sometimes and used 1.5 dual chips and ics but wasn't a reliable connection. I would like to update the os to ics which customer serv. said can be done but no luck yet.
+4points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 2 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Prepaid Cell Phone

S959G Straight Talk

10/03/2012
By ,
Sarasota, Fla
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I finally found a phone that is worth writing about. I upgraded my phone from a LG Optimus Q to this lovely Samsung Gallaxy SII. It has a large 4.27 inch screen with 1.2 dual core processor. It is very fast and In the Sarasota/ Tampabay area it runs off AT&T towers at 4G. I get 8-10 hours talk time before it needs charging. 2.3.7 gingerbread OS, I can read everything easily with the larger screen. Netflix, youtube, do not lag one bit. Straight talk switched it over from one phone to the other and I kept the same phone number, all within an hour. $45 A MONTH YOU GET EVERYTHING UNLIMITED. Thank you walmart and straight talk..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+822points
Read Comments (8)
Read Comments (8)
Customer Avatar
Sarasota, Fla
S959G Straight Talk
Posted 10/18/2013
1 year follow up comment. As you can see this is my second up date on this phone. This phone runs off of AT&T Towers. I get great signal strength in the Sarasota / Tampa Bay Area Florida. I still give it 5 Stars. Great phone, even though has 2.3.7 android, it works great... Large screen, I have never had a dropped call. Still unlimited everything. Yes, it is 4G, H+, Now this phone is only $200, Wow, what a bargin! I use an Outter Box to protect the phone, and I have must have dropped it 50 times but I have never had a problem, no scratches with Gorilla Glass. Nothing, It look like it did when it came out of the box. The camera is outstanding, 8 Mega-pixil, and I just post my pictures to facebook on the spot... Don't let people fake you out and tell you that Straight Talk has poor towers or you will get kicked off the tower. THIS IS JUST FALSE STATEMENTS! Straight Talk buys usage off the same towers that the BIG BOYs use. You can never be dropped! Now at $200 I will buy one for my daughter for Christmas, Also, still on $45 a month and it provide unlimited everything. Talk, text and data!!! And you asked why I left Verizon after 10 years?? Half the Cost for the same towers, now that is a bargin. Thank you Walmart for a great phone and Straight Talk for great service..
+1point
Customer Avatar
Cazenovia, NY
Network
Posted 09/20/2013
What network does this phone work on?
0points
Customer Avatar
Portland, OR
Charging the phone
Posted 07/07/2013
Gotta ask. Does the LG Optimus Q charger cord fit the Samsung Galaxy?
-1point
Customer Avatar
Long Island
4g?
Posted 03/15/2013
straight talk does not offer 4g anywhere that is why the discount.
0points
Customer Avatar
Long Island
not 4g
Posted 11/20/2012
Straight talk does not offer 4g anywhere. It is 3g on att towers for S11 some models use verizon or sprint.
0points
Customer Avatar
akron ohio
me too
Posted 11/18/2012
i also have the Optimus Q now and i do love it, and now since christmas is coming up i want the Samsung Galaxy SII now i am soo happy u guys posted your post, it will helps me out, i was very unsure about it but know i just got to put it on my list lol
+3points
Customer Avatar
Tulsa,Oklahoma
Awesome but have a question for ya?
Posted 10/09/2012
is there a firmware/software 4.0 update available through your phone via settings etc just curious because that could make or break my decision to buy that phone...
+6points
Customer Avatar
Dawsonville Ga
Samsung Gallaxy
Posted 10/05/2012
My Wife got this phone and she loves it Straight Talk is the service provider and its working great very happy we can even text international as we are from Ireland which was a must without having to buy straight talks pricey international plan OH the camera is amazing too thanks walmart
+5points
Read Comments (8)
Read Comments (8)
Review 3 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Prepaid Cell Phone

Phone is okay, but Straight Talk is not

02/10/2013
By ,
Beverly Hills, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I don't understand why Straight Talk would want to promote sale of this phone, since it's use would automatically violate their Terms of Service section 6 and 7.
Been a Straight Talk customer for about 8 months now, and this will be my last month with this carrier. What initially made Straight Talk attractive to me was their promise of unlimited talk, text and web for only $45/month, and being able to use my AT&T branded/locked Motorola Atrix HD Android powered smartphone.
The big problem with Straight Talk is that their service is NOT unlimited. If you exceed an unknown daily data/web usage limit, they will cut your Internet speed down to a crawling halt, making simple emails almost impossible. Some people claim it's 2GB/month before it happens - that's a myth. They have computers setup, that automatically calculate your usage on a daily basis, and the usage threshold is pretty low.
I have had this happen to me after one weeks use, and all I did was write emails, check Facebook, read news articles online and download a few app off the Google Play Store.
The next problem occurs when you call their support department. First you speak with a customer rep, who's accent is so thick you'll barely understand the person. They'll next tell you that you violated section 6 and 7 of the terms of service - which basically says they have the right to cut your Internet speed (throttle), or terminate your service if your data usage is 'excessive'.
Problem here being that they won't tell you exactly what 'excessive data usage' means, or at what point you reach that limit. When I asked them what the daily or monthly data usage limit is, and what amount of use would be considered 'excessive', the Straight Talk customer rep's answer was simply that the service is unlimited as long as your usage for data/Internet/text/calls is not excessive.
So there you have it folks - It's unlimited talk/text/data/Internet…Except it's not. And you'll have no idea when they'll cut you off, because they won't tell you, and it's not mentioned anywhere in their 'Terms of Service' (TOS).
For folks with dumbphones, this might be a good option for you, since you probably won't consume much data if any. However, if you have an Android, iPhone, Windows Phone, Black Berry, Nokia Symbian, or any other smartphone, you'll probably want to think twice, or trice, before going with Straight Talk, since you'll more than likely get into trouble with them sooner or later.
For the smartphone user who wants a cheap prepaid service, there are many other options than Straight Talk, and all of those alternatives will outright tell you what your data usage limit is before throttling occurs - if it occurs.
Both Boost Mobile and Virgin Mobile offer plans with 2.5GB of high-speed data before throttling, and T-Mobile just launched GoSmart Mobile, which offers a whole 5GB of data before slowing you down. With those companies, you'll at least know where you stand, and how much data you can consume before being throttled...
Recommends this product? No
+698points
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Customer Avatar
Iowa
Sorry
Posted 10/18/2013
As mentioned before it would have been nice to know what you thought about the phone. Its possibly just your area because I live in the Midwest and we have had straight talk for years and love it. We have had other companies prepaid and contracted and never got the service that we do now. Also we have traveled all over the eastern coastline as well as all the way down Florida and always had service. It does get a little touch and go in the mountains of West Virginia and Virginia. As far as this not really having unlimited data goes, I have never heard such a thing. I have always had a phone that I could get on the internet with and since the Android, wont go with out one and have never had a problem with my data plan, no slower processing or unable to access so I do not know what that is about. As far as phones and coverage area's, you do have to be careful. I make sure to only by phones that use Verizon towers because that is the best service around. AT&T and Sprint are horrible (in my area). So yes if those coverage's are not good in your area, probably best not to buy a phone with that coverage.
+1point
Customer Avatar
Connecticut
Straight talk
Posted 09/07/2013
I think straight talk is terrific. I have been with them since 2010, i had never encountered any problems with them. I had called their customer service dept. i never had any problems. I love them and would not switch for anything. as a matter of fact my husband is going to get a straight talk phone.
+2points
Customer Avatar
Posted 08/19/2013
NO OFFENSE BUT YOU WERE SUPPOSE TO WRITE A REVIEW ABOUT THE PHONE! YOU GAVE US YOUR OPINION ABOUT THE SERVICE AND ITS TERMS.
+5points
Customer Avatar
Missouri
Other companies
Posted 06/18/2013
There may be other no contract companies that have unlimited, but they have more difficulties of Dropped Calls, 3G, to 1 G and no signal. There is problems with every no contract company. Not all others are good. I'm with another VM and thinking of going with Straight Talk so that I can actually have a phone conversation for 20 minutes without 11 dropped calls in that 20 minutes.
+7points
Customer Avatar
Branford, Florida
Phone is good, but Straight talk, not so much.
Posted 04/17/2013
I agree. I got this phone while I was in Georgia. It worked great until I got to Florida. I went from having 4 bars, to none. Only thing I find useful about this phone is that I have wifi but other than it is worthless. Buyers, If you are near a city that has a lot of At&t towers, you should be fine. Now, I'm in Branford, Florida. I have to say, I have no signal at all, even after changing sim cards thinking It would help but it made no difference. In North Florida, Verizon towers are mainly there. So if you are from Near Branford, Florida or somewhere around that.. Save your money don't go with this straight talk phone, go with a verizon phone. it really is a good phone, don't get me wrong. Some things need to get worked on for example: 1. The phone overheats, and its not even running any Apps. 2. If you have all the componets on like: Wifi, Bluetooth, and etc, good luck keeping a battery. I do love the phone, but now I regret getting it because now I have no signal, and a 350 dollar phone that is worthless unless I want to drive into town or talk and try to find a spot outside to have barely enough signal. Like I said, If you are near my Area, don't get this phone. Save your money.
+9points
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Review 4 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Prepaid Cell Phone
10/08/2012
By ,
64466
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I know several people that have this phone and I am getting ready to get it my self I have played on there's and I love it! The camera is great, it works very fast on everything you do. I have Been with straight talk for 5 years know and I love it I have had no problems with them or there phones that I have had thanks Walmart and straight talk you are great!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+362points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Atlantaguy
Posted 10/11/2012
How can you write a review about it based on people you know owning it, but you haven't bought it and used it yourself (??)
+9points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Prepaid Cell Phone

Very Nice BUTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT

11/03/2012
By ,
York, PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
To Pay this much for the Outdated Android 2.3 Gingerbread is like buying a New PC with Microsoft Windows XP installed ONLY. The performance of Android 4.0 ICS is almost double the 2.3 Gingerbread but if you don't use a lot of apps you may not notice this.
Bottom line is they SHOULD PROVIDE AN UPGRADE TO ANDROID 4.0 at this price I feel.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+267points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
LEHIGH, FL
update the OS
Posted 04/05/2013
JB....you can upgrade your android OS to 4.0 ice cream sandwich, however several people I know dislike it and revert back to gingerbread. I am unsure if you can update straight from phone or if you have to root it. regardless, you phone should handle the updated OS.
0points
Customer Avatar
Long Island
S11
Posted 11/13/2012
You can get the Tmobile version for $50 less but the coverage is spotty on Long Island. it is 4G 1.5mg and 4.o ice cream. Is yours 4G ?
+4points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 6 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Prepaid Cell Phone

Great Phone!

11/15/2012
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I upgraded to this phone because my Galaxy Precedent was just terrible! There was never enough space on the phone and whenever I downloaded a new app, I had to delete another one. But the S2 is GREAT on space. I can upload as many apps as I want. I bought a 8gb micro sd card for this phone, giving me a total of 12gb because the SIM card already has 4 on it. The view on this phone is so clear, it looks like HD to me, and I love the Gorilla Glass Touch screen, it's sooo smooth. If you are new to straight talk or want to upgrade, then this is the phone you want to get! It's amazing
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+126points
Review 7 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Prepaid Cell Phone
11/15/2012
By ,
Georgia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The first Samsung Galaxy phone I purchased had a defected charger. But I love the phone so much instead of getting my money back walmart actually replaced the phone because i hadn't had it a month. The phone is expensive but you save money in the long run. The features are great and to my surprise the battery life is long considering all of the apps I have downloaded. I like that the phone actually gives you advice on how to save battery usage..... Highly recommended if you don't want to be on a contract phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+106points
Review 8 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Prepaid Cell Phone
10/17/2012
By ,
Liberty, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought 2 of these phones a couple of weeks ago and switched to Staight Talk (from AT&T). I have been very happy with the phone. I love the text messaging features such a voice to type your messages for you. It is great to be able to get your email, keep up with social media, and do Google searches and much much more. My daughter and I both love our new phones.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+166points
Review 9 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Prepaid Cell Phone

The Phone is Amazing!

10/29/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First I want to say that the phone is great. Unfortunately the customer service at Straight Talk is so bad, I cant even begin to say how horrible it is. I'm still with ST because I'm very cheap. I pay 47 dollars with my auto-fill discount(dont think that discount is still available. Without the discount, you'll pay about 50 dollars and some change with all the taxes and fees.) I'm on wifi a lot so thank goodness I don't have to deal with customer service AS MUCH. But if I could afford paying 60 dollars a month with ANYBODY else, I would pay the extra money because of the horrible customer service. It's not merely bad, they are mean, rude, unprofessional, and dont care AT ALL. I'm a very patient person, but these people drives me to the breaking point. Dont have many problems with calls dropping or call quality. The phone is more than I could ask for. The camera is excellent in my opinion. Of course, newer and better phones are coming out everyday. This phone is quick and dependable. BUT BE WARE, STRAIGHT TALK PHONE SERVICE IS GOOD, BUT THE "PEOPLE SERVICE" IS REALLY REALLY REALLY BAD!
Recommends this product? Yes
+136points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 03/01/2014
I second that straight talk customer service is REALY BAD!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Prepaid Cell Phone

Excellent Phone

11/05/2013
By ,
Hendersonville TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've researched every android phone on the market, and for the price this is the best deal available. I was already a straight talk customer and wanted to upgrade to a smartphone.
The galaxy S2 is a great phone... I was concerned about the operating system because its an older version (gingerbread 2.3.6) but no problems... It does everything the latest system does.
Its the perfect size screen 4.3, not too big but big enough. The newer models have 5 inch screens and larger... which is more like carting around a tablet. The phone is fast and has way more storage space than most the others... This one has 16gb. Camera is fantastic !! 8 mp.... and takes great photos and videos. With the price drop of 199.99 and unlimited plan on straight talk... you can not beat this deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+74points
Review 11 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Prepaid Cell Phone

Great Phone.

10/07/2012
By ,
Kansas City, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with the service. Never had call drop and great data speeds from AT&T.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+107points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
ERIE PA
Posted 11/13/2012
I TOTALLY AGREE
0points
Customer Avatar
FORT SMITH ARKANSAS
GALAXY SII WITH STRAIGHT TALK SERVICE
Posted 10/24/2012
ITS A WONDERFUL PHONE I LOVE IT VERY FAST
A VERY WISE CHOICE IN PREPAID PHONES
I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS TO ANYONE
AND I PROMISE YOU WOULDNT COMPLAIN
THE ONLY THING THATS SOMEWHAT BOTHERSOME IS
KIES DONT WORK AND IM HAVING ISSUES WITH GETTING
FILES TO THE CELLPHONE THRU THE USB CABLE CONNECTION
IT CANT BE DONE WITHOUT CORRECT DRIVERS AND THERE ISNT ANY
NOT YET.
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 12 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Prepaid Cell Phone

Great Upgrade phone

10/08/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone is great. It is much faster than my previous phone and does everything that it says it does.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+168points
Review 13 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Prepaid Cell Phone

Love It!!

02/12/2013
By ,
Ukiah, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely LOVE this phone!! I can use it practically everywhere I go and it works great!! I can even use it on the lake!! I love the front facing camera and the multi-tasking it can do as well and the pictures and videos are great. With the video recording you can't zoom, but that's fine still. I love this phone.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+99points
Review 14 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone for the money!!

10/23/2012
By ,
South Central Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purhcased my phone on line and I live in south central Pa. This is the first smart phone I've owned so I can't speak to how it compares to other high end phones of its kind. This phone is a dedicated Straight Talk phone to be used with their $45.00/30 day unlimited everything plan. The phone is an S959G so if you want to learn more about the phone other than the very limited instruction manual that comes with it, you need to Google S959G and there you'll find all the necessary info. It works on the AT&T network that has excellent coverage in south central Pa. I recently traveled to Baltimore & south Florida where it also worked very well. My phone does everyting it says it does. I have not experienced any problems with any of its functions. My main reason for purchasing this phone is to be able to watch tv, especially football games & movies while at car shows.....the watch ESPN mobile ap & the xfinity player app both work very well on this phone lol.......the battery life leaves a lot to be desired, but I purchased a portable pocket size battery charger to take care of that....There are a multitude of accessories available from various vendors...I'm very happy I purchased this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+71points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 06/23/2013
Where did you purchase your pocket charger at? Can you get a free mobile hotspot app on this phone to connect an iPad or other devise to the Internet
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Prepaid Cell Phone

Nice first Smart Phone

07/10/2013
By ,
Homosassa, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was concerned about this phone using AT&T towers and was hesitant to purchase but I actually get better reception than what I got with my old Straight Talk phone that ran off of Verizon. This phone is pretty neat for a first-time Smart Phone user.
Pro's:
Nice large gorilla glass screen
SWYPE technology
Voice to text and voice to internet search (usually pretty accurate)
Nice built in apps
Ease of use
Con's:
Built in ringtones and wallpapers are poor
No individual setting for text alerts (In other words, if you want a text alert sound, you also have to choose the same sound for email and social media alerts. You can't just choose to have a text alert alone)
Battery life is poor if you use apps and social media (Averages around 5 hours with medium usage)
Overall, I am very satisfied with this phone and hope it lasts for a few years to come. Make sure to buy a nice sturdy rubberized case for this phone. I bought mine from Cell Nerds on Amazon for about $10.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+60points
Review 16 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Prepaid Cell Phone

Awsome phone

11/03/2013
By ,
Gaylord Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great phone, great camera, all around great. I've read a bunch of reviews on this phone before I got it and was a little worried. I read the battery life isn't good, the camera freezes up, the phone overheats, it being slow. But all I have to say is that is not true. my phone works like a charm and is one of the best phones out there for straight talk. My area doesn't even pick up on the AT&T towers all that well and I still have perfect service with this phone. The OS is a little older than some but still runs just as fast believe me. If your going with straight talk, you'll want this ohine. You wont be disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+54points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Oceano,CA
Samsung Galaxy sII
Posted 01/21/2014
I have had my galaxy sII for two years and it is great! Still the best cell phone for the money!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Prepaid Cell Phone

what a phone

10/12/2012
By ,
auburn ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I picked up this phone a couple weeks ago to replace an older nokia smartphone. And I've gotta say " WOW" . This phone is incredible ! I love tinkering with it, the things I can do with this phone are amazing. The only reason I gave it only an average value is it is quite pricey for an older model, and being on the straight talk plan you have to pay full price for the phone. That being said, I love it ! The only negative thing I could say is I was playing a flying combat game and the phone heated up quite seriously. Now this is a full 3-d game with lots going on onscreen,so I shouldnt of been surprised. I turned the game off and it cooled down quickly. All in all this is a phone that can do it all and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone who wants a fun toy that also makes good phone calls.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+73points
Review 18 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Prepaid Cell Phone

Samsung 2 and Straight Talk

04/17/2013
By ,
Redlands
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I actually was hooked on Straight Talk because a friend had it and it worked great. I upgraded phones from a Proclaim to an LG to the Samsung 2 all within a month on Straight Talk, as I 'd come from Verizon on HTC Incredible and wanted something similar. The phone itself is OK, meets expectations etc, it's Straight Talk that has got me concerned. Because I switched phones all in first month, I guess I downloaded a lot of APPS and they cut off my internet!!!! Said I was overusing the band. I tried to complain, but their only resolution to "over use" and "abuse" of "UNLIMITED DATA" is to have you listen to a recording telling you how bad you are overusing their system and then cutting off your data until the beginning of your next payment cycle. So hopefully they will reconnect. I still get WIFI when at a fixed location. So be sure you don't "abuse" the system or you'll be stuck without internet. Walmart was great about exchanging phones within the 14 day return period.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+56points
Review 19 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Prepaid Cell Phone

Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Prepaid Cell Phon

10/24/2012
By ,
FORT SMITH ARKANSAS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE THIS PHONE OMG ITS THE BEST DEAL ON THE MARKET IVE HAD THE IPHONE 4
AND THIS PHONE TOWERS OVER THE IPHONE4 AND ITS WAY FAST AND EXTREMELY
RELIABLE I HOPE YOU PURCHASE THIS ITEM I PROMISE YOU ITS MONEY WELL SPENT
I WILL NEVER CHOOSE A DIFFERENT CELL PHONE OTHER THAN SAMSUNG PRODUCTS!!!
ITS A KILER PHONE!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+71points
Review 20 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Prepaid Cell Phone

Wonderful value. Replaced a few other gadgets.

11/01/2012
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Let me tell you what this phone replaced.
video camera: I have a $600 1080p video camera that I rarely use because it's a pain to charge up and tote around. My Samsung S2 has arguably better quality and it's with me all of the time. Handheld video can be pretty shaky but the quality is impressive and you can purchase a tripod mount for smartphones if you want to be more professional.
kindle: I love reading my kindle daily during lunch and I'll use it in the future. It's just much easier to put the kindle software on my phone though. The text was a little small for my 48 year old eyes but "pinch" and bam, bigger text. So far I really like kindle on this phone. Yeah, the screen is smaller but it's not limiting me that I can tell after a few weeks of reading.
still camera: This phone takes outstanding pictures. My last phone was a smart phone and the first I considered worthy of taking stills with. It was 5 mega pixel. This one is 8 mega pixel and just better.. :) The video camera mentioned above was supposed to take stills but took "muddy" looking pictures which looked terrible IMO. No problems whatsoever on the Samsung S2.
This phone is faster, snappier, decent to web surf on, etc..
They'll come out with something better I'm sure at a later date. I'm a bang for the buck kind of person though and couldn't be happier for now.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+52points
1-20 of 508 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  26 Next