Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Prepaid Cell Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Prepaid Cell Phone

The Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Cell Phone features a 4.3" WVGA Super AMOLED display, virtual keyboard with Swype and Android 2.3 (Gingerbread) operating system for quick and easy navigation of all of your applications and messaging. This Samsung Prepaid Cell Phone features dual cameras that let you document your life and video chat with your friends and family while you're on the go! Additional features of this Samsung Galaxy S II Prepaid Cell Phone include HSPDA+/WiFi connectivity, 1.2GHz dual core processor, advanced GPS capabilities, music player and ThinkFree Office Mobile. Your Samsung Prepaid Cell Phone also includes threaded text messaging, multimedia messaging, personal email and IM, Speech-to-Text and a social and media hub. 12GB storage memory and battery talk time of up to 8 hours round out this Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Cell Phone.
Average Customer Rating:
4.209 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(656 Reviews) 507
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
396
4 stars
141
3 stars
32
2 stars
34
1 star
53
Customer Recommendation86%565 out of 656reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
396
4 stars
141
3 stars
32
2 stars
34
1 star
53
Customer Reviews
Review 81 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Prepaid Cell Phone

Love it!

02/21/2013
By ,
Rogers,AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first smartphone. I love what this phone does and how easy it was for me to figure out how to do everything. Any questions that I have had were easily answered by going online and reading the tutorial. I have had my phone for only 1 month but am very pleased. I don't know what all this phone will do but for me it has been great. I love the talk to text function and the Google Search access by voice.(Only problem is that I have a southern accent so sometimes words like "ten" come out as "tin" so confuses it sometimes, LOl). Anyway, for someone like me who uses the phone mostly for talk, text, internet seaches, checking Facebook and e-mail it is awesome. Not sure how it would be for gaming since I don't really know how to do that anyway!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Dallas, Texas
What tutorial?
Posted 03/26/2013
I still use my dinosaur flip phone on AT&T and am trying to use this super current smartphone. To get this up and running, this phone took me several calls to customer service (like another commentator said: email FIRST to get service and they will give you a REAL number that will help). My dinosaur gets 5 bands of reception, while my "smart" and expensive Samsung Galaxy S II gets 1-2 most times and 3 at the most. You said that you got great AT&T reception with this phone. I'd like to know how or I will be returning it. Thanks!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 82 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Prepaid Cell Phone

Perfect

11/12/2012
By ,
Yuma, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first smartphone and it is the real deal! Very light phone with a great display, the quality of images is unreal. Running on the AT&T network the best in my area.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 83 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Prepaid Cell Phone
11/04/2012
By ,
Cheyenne Wyoming
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I got a defective phone,then spent 2 hours argueing with straight talk to keep my number.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+25points
Review 84 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Prepaid Cell Phone

Good phone that performs exactly as I expected.

08/28/2013
By ,
Denver, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My old phone was a Motorola Droid X on the Verizon Network, was several years old and was almost $90 a month. I loved the phone, but it started to get really slow and buggy and it was time to replace.
I had straighttalk a few years back before they had smart phones, and was impressed with how good the network was, so i did my research, and decided that this phone was the best chouice for me in my price range.
It is the exact same size as my old phone, and has the exact same operating system so i was able to pick it up and use it with ease.
The screen resolution and contrast are very good, such as areas that are black actually look "black" and not that greyish color you get on some phones. The Camera on it is excellent too, and actually takes pretty decent video.
Only complaint i have so far is it does seem to drain the battery faster than i expected, and it seems it charges very slow compared to other electronics. I may look into a higher capacity battery, but other than that, it has performed without a hitch in the time i have had it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 85 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Prepaid Cell Phone

Straight Talk is Anything But!!!

10/14/2012
By ,
Kalamazoo, MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unlike other providers, Straight Talk will not provide the phone unlock key for their phones, effectively attempting to hold customers hostage through their hardware purchase. Customer service is virtually unreachable when working through their phone tree for technical support -- and my email took more than a week before any response was received. And when I did get to customer service folks, the runaround was ridiculous. Ironically, the reason I wanted to unlock the phone was not to change services but rather to sell it and upgrade to a larger memory phone. Walmart should reconsider its partnership with this company, but in the meantime, customers should look elsewhere for their pay-as-you-go provider.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
PA
Re: Straight Talk is Anything But!!!
Posted 10/24/2012
This review is supposed to be about the phone, meaning quality, ease of use, features, etc. Your review is not about the phone. It is ridiculous to so lowly rate something based on issues you have with the carrier, not the product itself.
+4points
Customer Avatar
Sarasota, Fla
You are not giving the straight talk.
Posted 10/19/2012
This phone only came out the last week of September and you stated that you own your phone for 4 months. That is impossible! Straight Talk has being working on this deal to put the phone out on the market through Walmart. So you could not have bought it in May 2012. Check out Phonescoop.com for the facts before writing poor statement about a phone or a carrier like Straight Talk. Straight Talk are exclusive with Walmart and or course the APN is locked with Straight Talk! Remember this is AT&T 4G Towers that are being used. So the phone is fast. Also, you paid $349. for the phone which is cheaper than any other pre-paid carrier. If you bought an unlocked version of the phone it would cost you over $500. If your not being truly critical on writing the facts then don't anything at all...Or go some where else for your service.
+12points
Customer Avatar
Relocating back to AR
RE --- Straight Talk is Anything But!!!
Posted 10/18/2012
Well on Straight Talk --- I've been with this company for 5 yrs & NEVER yet had any issues with CS or the phones they have nor the service --- u must of had a bad phone or something cuz i'm NEVER had any issues or problems with this company & i'd NEVER go anywhere else -- the others r too spendy & i've been there done that & WOULDN'T EVER change --- I'm VERY happy with this company --- SORRY u had/having issues with it --- but NO WAY would i ever go anywhere else
+3points
Customer Avatar
Follansbee, WV
not a worthy reason of 1-star
Posted 10/15/2012
Not trying to undermine your reasoning for giving this product a 1-star review, but your reason has nothing to do with the phone or the service. Companies lock phones to prevent a buyer from using the discounted price of a phone to profit on the companies behalf. A regular carrier "may" give you an unlock code if you have been a customer for a set time period, but only because they charge huge fees if you drop their service, thus preventing you from just taking your new phone to another provider. In this case, there is no contract preventing you from leaving, so they shouldn't give out unlock codes for phones bought from them. If they did everybody on the internet would just buy the phones, unlock them, and then sell them for a profit. Not saying that is what you were trying to do, but that is what many would do. Please be understanding of the companies need to prevent this from happening. I know most people are happy that they don't pay over $500 for their straight talk phones when they are new, and this practice is the only way that can be a possibility.
+11points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 86 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Prepaid Cell Phone

Great Phone!

03/05/2013
By ,
Lyburn, WV.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Straight Talk cell phone is worth the money. It is like having a computer with me anywhere I go. It has so many excellent features (Netflix streaming is one of my favorite) and the cost $45 per month is a great price. I have loved straight talk even when I had a non smart phone but this phone is amazing. I Love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 87 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Prepaid Cell Phone

The best phone for Smart Talk!

02/22/2013
By ,
Elizabethtown, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I bought this I was using Virgin Mobile which uses Sprint Towers. Where I live (in the country) I received no reception on that phone. After 2 years of not being able to answer my call phone at home, I had enough. This phone immediately caught my eye. $300 is expensive, but this phone is well worth it.
This phone gets 4g reception and works off the AT&T Towers, I get 4/5 bars when I am sitting at home way out in the country and I also get 4g here as well.
Pros
-----
4g
4.3'' Jumbo Screen
1.2 Ghz Dual Core Processor
1 GB Ram
8 MP Camera
1080p HD Recording
16 GB Internal Storage
TV-Out 1080p
2 MP Video Call Camera
Swype Capable
Full Flash Support
During calls you can use the keypad, take a note, mute, hold a call or even add another call to your current conversation.
Can create and delete new and custom menu pages instead of being stuck with only 3/5/7.
Cons
------
In landscape mode, the keyboard takes up almost 60% of the screen.
Some applications will not open when the battery reaches 20%.
Audio recording is Mono
Memory card is underneath the battery so you have to shut down your phone to remove it safely.
Gmail app is horrible, doesn't like to refresh. Takes 5-10 refreshes to load.
Mic button on the keyboard is in a horrible place, easy to hit.
The 8MP camera when recording likes to change focus when you are recording, causing a lot of blur
Can't set text ringtones for individual people
Verdict
---------
Overall, I really enjoy this phone. All phones have their pros and cons, but this one has better pros than most phones with straight talk and less cons than most phones. All in all, this is a smart choice as long as AT&T is good where you live!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 88 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Prepaid Cell Phone

daughter loves this phone

10/19/2012
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this for my teenage daughter and she loves it! great service and great phone!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 89 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Prepaid Cell Phone
04/15/2013
By ,
new york
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered this product abd it was supposed to come with the car charger, headphones and screen protectors... None of these were with it when it came
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 90 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Prepaid Cell Phone

pleasantly suprised!

06/08/2013
By ,
Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had a Samsung Charge with Verizon that continually had problems. Had heard good things about the Galaxy SII and decided to give it a try. Very pleasantly suprised. The battery that came with it lasts all day and sometimes 2 days. It is quick to charge. Very easy to set up with Straight Talk. Loving the lower bills and unlimited coverage. Was paying $180 a month for Verizon for 2 phones with unlimited data and txt but with Straight Talk cost is less than half that....Saving $1200 per year!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 91 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Prepaid Cell Phone

its a very nice cell phone

10/27/2013
By ,
28470
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very nice phone!!!!! it works very good , run off att towers, and its speed is nice , dont have to worry about loosing any calls with att towers around here, we got 2 and will buy 1 more for xmas over all you cant beat the phone for the price ,speed and all it has , for 199 it was 299, and it works great!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 92 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Prepaid Cell Phone
04/02/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
phone will not work in my coverage area so i had to return it
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Review 93 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Prepaid Cell Phone

bad bad bad service

12/10/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone drops service like crazy, it gets unbearably slow, When I use the internet it tells me the web page can't be found (websites I know and use daily# I have to load it 3 or 4 times to finally get it to load its drops service all the time even in spots my other straight talk #att service) had great service. I don't think att's service works well with this phone or the phone is a overpriced, cheap quality phone. When talking on the phone, the phone breaks up, I originally thought I bought a defective phone until I switched it out for another and unfortunately its just a poorly made phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 94 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Prepaid Cell Phone
01/28/2013
By ,
SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy with this phone. It is light and the battery lasts a while if it isn't loaded down with a bunch of battery hogging apps. I do wish the there was a blinking light when there is a notification. I have that on my work phone and it comes in handy. The Straight Talk service has been good so far, I haven't had any issues connecting or being disconnected.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 95 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Prepaid Cell Phone

Wireless reception

10/06/2012
By ,
Pace,fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The voice and text worked fine but data was only available on wifi never could get it on 3G or whatever,after an hour or so on the phone with someone with very broken English and a bad connection I think she said to mail it back,I did so and asked for a new phone but they refunded my money but that may be due to my understanding of the lady on the phone.anyway I never did get the Internet on the phone except on wifi. My location was suppose to work on it. very frustrating dealing with the people with straight talk. Area code 32571
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Pittsfield Ma
Posted 10/27/2012
I love this phone!!! It allowed me to switch carriers and keep my old number with no problems at all!! I was up and running within 1 hour of signing up. $45 a month is a steal!
+1point
Customer Avatar
TN
Wi-fi is preferred, at home, for Internet
Posted 10/24/2012
At home, at least, the advantages are that you can get the same speed on Wifi as 4G, but you don't burn any of your minutes. You can surf the Internet on Wifi for DAYS and it doesn't affect your minutes but, at the same time, there will be times & places where you can't get wifi. Several companies try to FORCE you to use Cell (3G/4G) and refuse to turn on/allow data or calls over Wifi, because they want to hold you hostage and FORCE you to use "cell minutes," so they get more of your money. Bottom line: If I have Wifi at my house (and I do), I get much better data use through my wifi than trying to use a cell tower - I live in a valley, with horrible reception, but excellent Internet speed and reliability. Plus, by using wifi, I don't burn any cell minutes - it's a win-win situation. So, yes, you likely had a bad setting or broken phone, because you always should be able to use data over cell (3G/4G).
0points
Customer Avatar
Sarasota, Fla
R U Serious?
Posted 10/09/2012
In the pensacola florida area there is 4G everywhere. Did you turn on the data button? If not you will have problem downloading data. If you don't llike the phone then return it to walmart. You have 14 days from purchase. I'm not saying that there maybe a bad phone in the bunch but you did get your money back. This phone is outstanding and so is the service. Maybe you have never had Straight Talk before and don't know how to communicate with people. If you do your research on the phone you will see that all carriers have this phone and that is for a reason. Maybe this was just an unfortuniate purchase. Hope you find something you like that works for you.
+3points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 96 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Prepaid Cell Phone

love so much, bought one for my sister

02/18/2013
By ,
ocala, fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
a prepaid phone that seems to have all the pluses of a contract phone!!! have been through several prepaid phones in the last couple of years. this one didn't have good service in my area, that one dropped the network that gave me better service, the latest made all kinds of promises about specs on the phone, but didn't deliver. and the way i figured it, paying for the phone outright is still cheaper than a contract phone that charges twice the monthly service fee.
so very happy with all that this phone does, and with the straight talk service, that i got one for my sister as well. cannot even begin to go into detail, but will mention this: the storage on this phone is amazing. installed 30 apps the first weekend and didn't even dent the storage. after all the pre-installed apps, there is still 12gb out of 16.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 97 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Prepaid Cell Phone

Great Phone and Service!

02/03/2014
By ,
Yuma, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I truly love this phone. I was sceptical at first about purchasing a smart phone. However, this phone and the $45/mo plan truly work great. I have had other pay as you go plans and phones in the past. The fact that it is only $45/mo and truly unlimited really captured my interest. I have been on long trips and driven through unfamliar cities; the navigation and excellent reception make this a great package. I would definitely recommend this phone and plan to anyone looking to get a great product at a reasonable price. All the features work great, especially the speech to text and Pandora/Netflix.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 98 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Prepaid Cell Phone

I am enjoying this phone

06/05/2013
By ,
Southern Nevada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The thing I love most about the Samsung Galaxy II is the large capacity storage so that I can enjoy all the apps I desire on it, and be able to use them. My previous phone had so little storage, I was constrained in my use of apps, or I had to constantly delete and install apps as I needed them. The thin profile is quite nice, and it fits well into pockets and my small purse. The predictive text is sometimes frustrating, as it functions differently than what I am used to, but I am starting to figure out how to work with it, rather than against it. And the part I enjoy MOST is that I am on Straight Talk service with out contracts. My straight talk connections are wonderful- I next to never lose calls, and seem to be able to connect anywhere.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 99 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Prepaid Cell Phone

World Class Cell Phone

04/14/2013
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cheaper phones may also be a good value but if you want a top grade phone The Samsung Galaxy SII is a great choice. We used an earlier Galaxy S phone (Epic 4G from Sprint) and were happy with the performance. But we wanted to switch to Straight Talk. This was a good choice. First we tested the ATT network using a $15 prepaid phone... when that tested well we knew the network was good. We bought two of the SII phones. My wife is happy; I am happy. Good call quality, decent battery life, 4G data connections. We're happy with the phones, with the service, and especially with the lower monthly rates. Once I've paid for the phones (11 months) we'll be saving $65 a month, or about $845 under what we would have paid Sprint over two years. And we'll just keep saving. I think WalMart is going to change the cell phone industry, and we consumers are the winners.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 100 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Prepaid Cell Phone

All Good So Far

10/11/2013
By ,
Waco, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This replaced my wife's iPhone 3gs. She said it is much faster than her old phone. If she's happy, I'm happy. And the price is right with Straight Talk.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
81-100 of 508 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  3 4 5 6 7  ...  26 Next