Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Prepaid Cell Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Prepaid Cell Phone

The Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Cell Phone features a 4.3" WVGA Super AMOLED display, virtual keyboard with Swype and Android 2.3 (Gingerbread) operating system for quick and easy navigation of all of your applications and messaging. This Samsung Prepaid Cell Phone features dual cameras that let you document your life and video chat with your friends and family while you're on the go! Additional features of this Samsung Galaxy S II Prepaid Cell Phone include HSPDA+/WiFi connectivity, 1.2GHz dual core processor, advanced GPS capabilities, music player and ThinkFree Office Mobile. Your Samsung Prepaid Cell Phone also includes threaded text messaging, multimedia messaging, personal email and IM, Speech-to-Text and a social and media hub. 12GB storage memory and battery talk time of up to 8 hours round out this Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Cell Phone.
Average Customer Rating:
4.209 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(656 Reviews) 507
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
396
4 stars
141
3 stars
32
2 stars
34
1 star
53
Customer Recommendation86%565 out of 656reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
396
4 stars
141
3 stars
32
2 stars
34
1 star
53
Customer Reviews
Review 61 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Prepaid Cell Phone

The phone only works on speaker phone brand new.

11/05/2012
By ,
Myrtle Beach, SC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was extremely disappointed with this phone. Brand new straight out of the box it was defective. No one can hear you talk to them on the phone unless you use speaker phone. It is extremely inconvenient. I paid nearly $400 for this phone and it doesn't work. When I called straight talk to try and find a solution and they were extremely unhelpful. They offered zero help or advice on how to fix the situation. Overall I am extremely unsatisfied both with this phone and with straight talk.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+48points
Review 62 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone for anyone!!

08/12/2013
By ,
Macomb, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would never have a contract phone again. People might not know that the carriers of these phones are the same ones that you need to sign yearly contracts for. One of the greatest features for me is the text to speech. Most other brands in this price range don't offer this feature. I hate touching the buttons to text but with this one you can use the keyboard or talk and it types your message. Great camera with flash. Very fast and holds up to a 32gb card. Straight Talk has a good support system if you need it. Everything is included for the monthly fee. No more worrying about hidden charges. Would highly recommend this phone!! You either pay for a phone up front and have lower monthly fees or less for the phone and are obligated by contract for many months. Like this concept and the Samsung Galaxy 11. A lot of phone for the money. Would have liked the Samsung Galaxy 3 but had to stay within budget.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 63 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Prepaid Cell Phone
10/26/2012
By ,
Sheboygan, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Whats great about is its fast and smooth performance, good screen size at 4.27inches, plenty of storage, decent battery life, and good phone quality using AT&T's network.
What's not so great is the phone comes with the outdated Gingerbread, the phone feels a little too plastic, the phones apn setting is locked through Trafone, and little pricey at $350.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+32points
Review 64 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone, but deceptive service

02/18/2013
By ,
State College, PA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The phone is excellent! Top notch and only the best quality you can expect from Samsung. From there, it's all about the service.
DO NOT BE FOOLED BY "Unlimited Data"! Straight Talk has limits. If you like like to watch Netflix, stream music, or enjoy YouTube (like I do), be warned...do it too much and you'll be in violation of Straight Talk's Terms of Service. This is a soft cap of 2GB for Data...so your "unlimited data" does, indeed, have limits. Go over the amount just a slight bit, and they'll flag you for possible disconnection. Here's me story...
After having the phone for only two weeks, I received a recorded message telling me that my data usage was unusually high (I assume for their standards, because I didn't have that kind of problem with my old phone). I made sure to close out of programs and limit my usage as much as possible. Then, a few weeks later, my data was disconnected. I made four calls to customer service...the first time I was told to call back later, the second I waited over an hour before hanging up. The third time I was told repeatedly to remove the battery and to turn the phone off and on. Finally, after 25 minutes, my data was restored...only to be disconnected again an hour later. After a 30 minute wait, I was asked again to remove the battery, and my data was restored. When I asked why this was happening, the rep simply said (after fumbling for an answer) that an adjustment needed to be made to my account and that everything should be fine...which was what the rep I spoke with an hour before had said to me.
Bottom line is, read the fine print of the terms of service before getting into this. Overall, excellent phone, deceptive "unlimited" service plan, and poor (and obviously outsourced) customer service (apparently the best way to fix a problem is to turn your phone off or remove the battery, wait a minute, and it'll fix itself. If only ALL of life's problems were that easy). Otherwise, you can get the same phone with 4G at a cheaper price with Android 4.0 from a competing company.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 65 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Prepaid Cell Phone

Disappointed.

04/10/2013
By ,
Oklahoma
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
LOVE the phone! HATE the plan! How disappointing....I did LOTS of research before switching from AT&T to save $$. The data range is so small it's ridiculous. The battery life is 3 hrs tops. I'm moving on and not even going to finish out the first month!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 66 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone!!!

09/07/2013
By ,
vermont
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this phone for about a month. The Battery life is amazing. i only charge once a day at night and i use it a ton and i don't really have to charge it, i just do because i'm sleeping, why not. the screen is perfect size for games. the camera is excellent. Led Light is nothing short of perfect. The only problem i have is when you txt, you have to hit return and then send because the button is cut off from the keyboard. but i got used to it, and don't really mind it. But the phone is stable, fast, and functional. i frequently use it to take notes, calculator, calender, facebook, camera, flashlight, play order and chaos online, email, netflix, pinetrest, youtube, netflix, sometimes for gps, and the oh so handy voice search. Now that the price is only 280. it was well worth every penny. love samsung and love this phone
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 67 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Prepaid Cell Phone

4 stars for price and features...

08/30/2013
By ,
Knoxville, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Out of the box very nice phone with a nice grey color. This is my second android phone and I was really impressed with the speed vs the $99 - $149 phone. The performance is where you see the biggest difference. The screen is larger as well so I don't have to backspace as often when using the keypad. The only negs that I can give is that it does not include any ear buds, the phone needs to be charged daily even if you are a medium user, and if you like using Ebay for accessories you might have a hard time finding a case for it. The first one I ordered was wrong so I ordered one for an i777 which appeared to fit but caused an echo on every call so I had to take it back off. The model number of the phone is under the battery and a search for accessories returned very few results.
Given the pros and cons I would still give this phone a solid 4 stars! btw it works on the AT&T Network.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 68 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Prepaid Cell Phone

2 Weeks In . . . .

03/12/2013
By ,
Ozark, AL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've had the phone approximately two weeks and I have had to call Technical support already!!! It won't get internet service and text messages stopped going through.
The next day after it got "reconfigured" by tech support, started having SAME issues!!!!
Bout ready to chunk it!!!! :!)
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 69 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Prepaid Cell Phone

Phone is ok, service is lacking

05/29/2013
By ,
Statesville, NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Purchased the phone and once it was set up with my number from the old provider the problems started. There is a problem getting the voicemail to work and getting tech support to help has so far been a failure. Still trying to to break through and will not give up. I'm sure it's something simple that the provider can correct once they email or call me. Was able to reach customer service through email but they told me to call the tech support that I can't reach. I emailed them back and asked for help and no response. It appears they are just clearing their logs to say everything was responded to. I'm very disappointed, but, sometimes you run into these challenges when trying to handle things on line. I'm sure once it is corrected the service will be fine. I have asked a lot of other people before making the switch and they were pleased and said it was great so this is just a bump in the road, I hope.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 70 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Prepaid Cell Phone
11/23/2012
By ,
Sw Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII prepaid cell phone from Walmart.. I've played Words With Friends, surfed the net, looked at the road map and of course talked and texted with no problems at all. What a great fun cell phone. Thanks Walmart.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 71 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Prepaid Cell Phone

Good phone service but rest not so good

12/20/2012
By ,
Hull , GA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
If you use navigation alot , you may want to stay with verizon or att , this phone comes with google maps , sometimes works before it looses gps coverage. I recommend staying with a verizon phone if you do go with straight talk . I cant take this phone back now , I wished I could.the phone service is good , the phone is good , but navigation terrible. I depend on that too .
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 72 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Prepaid Cell Phone

Nothing but problems with straight talk!

07/10/2013
By ,
Southern Illinois
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I like the phone but i have had contacted straight talk to work on my phone. I was able to text and make calls but i was unable to receive them even though i had a signal. I contacted them and they said that towers were down in my area and that's what the problem was. I told that lady that i was going on vacation and asked if if would work in Florida and she said that my area was the only place it was down. I went to Florida and i was still unable to receive calls. So the woman had me totally reboot my phone and still unable to receive calls. I have had my phone for two weeks and have yet been able to get phone calls. I have contacted straight talk 14 times since this issue. DONT GET STRAIGHT TALK IN LESS YOU LIKE WASTING YOUR TIME.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 73 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Prepaid Cell Phone

its a very nice cell phone

10/27/2013
By ,
28470
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very nice phone!!!!! it works very good , run off att towers, and its speed is nice , dont have to worry about loosing any calls with att towers around here, we got 2 and will buy 1 more for xmas over all you cant beat the phone for the price ,speed and all it has , for 199 it was 299, and it works great!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 74 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Prepaid Cell Phone

No battery life!

05/23/2013
By ,
AR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Only had the phone 2 weeks, battery would only last 4 hours without any use, with power saver mode enabled and nothing running. I called Samsung, Straight talk and they said take it back to Walmart. Since it was an order online and not in store I don't think I'll try another one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 75 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Prepaid Cell Phone

Not a "real" S2

03/02/2013
By ,
Colorado
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The phone does it's job well enough but it is not a "real" Samsung Galaxy S2. By that I mean it is not the same as the phones that other cell phone companies sell. The operating system cannot be upgraded and the Samsung website called KIES will not recognize the phone for any other new information. It is limited by agreement between Samsung and Straightalk/Walmart.
Other than that it is pretty good and does have all the features of the other companies phones as far as I call tell though I'm not a gadget guy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 76 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Prepaid Cell Phone

Great smart phone for anyone

07/16/2013
By ,
Ravenna, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone is great for a beginner or expert smart phone user. There is a learning curve if you aren't familiar with smart phones, but it doesn't take long to learn your way around. It takes better pictures than some cameras do with very high resolution. Comes preloaded with lots of apps. The only downside is the price at Walmart of $299. At the present time Boost and Virgin Mobile have a Galaxy S2 with 4G for $199. The phones are the same except the ones at Boost and Virgin are upgraded with newer software. However, you need to check the coverage to make sure you get the best plan for your area. I chose Straight Talk because of the better coverage area. The most important thing in buying a cell phone is checking out the coverage in your area since you will not be happy with any phone if the coverage is poor.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 77 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Prepaid Cell Phone

I was due for a new phone......Great value

10/26/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone and plan blows the socks off my Verizon plan!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+22points
Review 78 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Prepaid Cell Phone

Pain in the neck....

11/22/2013
By ,
Bethlehem, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is more of a review on the Straight Talk service then the phone itself. I took me a week to activate this phone. I wanted to carry over my number from Virgin Mobile, which they replied "no problem". I started on Saturday and they said it would take anywhere from a few hours to 2 business days. Ok, no problem. I waited until Monday and thought to call for a progress report. All of a sudden, everything changed. We have to send you a new SIM card and then your phone will be good to go. Ok, waited until Thursday...got the new SIM card...and called them per the instructions. Then I got the same story....could take a few hours or 2 business days....again. That would have put me until maybe next week so I decided to just get a new number. The phone is now working and seems OK, but......seemed like more of a pain then it needed to be......
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 79 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Prepaid Cell Phone

Good phone that performs exactly as I expected.

08/28/2013
By ,
Denver, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My old phone was a Motorola Droid X on the Verizon Network, was several years old and was almost $90 a month. I loved the phone, but it started to get really slow and buggy and it was time to replace.
I had straighttalk a few years back before they had smart phones, and was impressed with how good the network was, so i did my research, and decided that this phone was the best chouice for me in my price range.
It is the exact same size as my old phone, and has the exact same operating system so i was able to pick it up and use it with ease.
The screen resolution and contrast are very good, such as areas that are black actually look "black" and not that greyish color you get on some phones. The Camera on it is excellent too, and actually takes pretty decent video.
Only complaint i have so far is it does seem to drain the battery faster than i expected, and it seems it charges very slow compared to other electronics. I may look into a higher capacity battery, but other than that, it has performed without a hitch in the time i have had it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 80 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy SII Prepaid Cell Phone

Replacement for a junk phone

10/26/2012
By ,
Clinton, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this phone for my wife. She loves it. The picture and sound quality are amazing, very easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
61-80 of 508 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6  ...  26 Next