Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Smith & Wesson Smith & Wesson 811030 MP1522 Rifle, .22 Long Rifle

Smith & Wesson Smith & Wesson 811030 MP1522 Rifle, .22 Long Rifle

The M&P15-22 is a dedicated M&P15-format rifle designed and built as a true .22 LR semi-auto from the ground up, with all the standard operating features and accessory specifications of a modern-version centerfire M&P15 rifle.
Average Customer Rating:
4.917 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%12 out of 12reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
34 Questions | 92 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Smith & Wesson 811030 MP1522 Rifle, .22 Long Rifle

Excellent Rifle

02/19/2013
By ,
Warrensburg, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought mine at my local store for $479 as a cost effective alternative to my AR. I had low expectations initially, but after shooting it...I love it. I keep checking the gun counter hoping they get more so I can have another. The only downside is the magazine. It feels a little clumsy, but not bad, the problem is finding more of them. I ordered 3 from S&W directly, and after 4 or 5 weeks, I emailed them and got a response saying they had run out of stock. I expect there will be aftermarket mags in the future. If you are considering a dedicated tactical .22, this is your rifle. MSRP is $500, so don't overpay, but it is definitely worth it. The colt appears to be very similar, actually made by Walther, so I expect it would be a great option also, but the mags are not interchangeable. Hope this helps...I love mine. Happy shooting!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
+84points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Smith & Wesson 811030 MP1522 Rifle, .22 Long Rifle

Great .22 Carbine

12/27/2012
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had been wanting a nice .22 semi-auto pistol for a while due to the cheap ammo, plus I wanted my son to be comfortable learning to shoot. While searching for bulk ammo, I noticed my local Walmart had this unit for $446 on sale, which was $43 less than my local gun shop. I had read some great reviews on this rifle and decide to grab the only one they had in stock. I am glad I chose the rifle over a pistol as it shoots very accurate (with stock sights, zero adjustment) and has negligible recoil. My 11 year old son was acing bulls-eye from 15 yards on his 1st shots (with any gun) and that gave him great confidence. Be sure to pick up some bulk ammo (if they have any left) and get ready for some great fun at the range.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+112points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Smith & Wesson 811030 MP1522 Rifle, .22 Long Rifle

S&W M&P15-22

02/14/2013
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great little gun. I put a Nikon P-22lr BDC scope on it. Zero'd it at 50yrds, and took the bulls eye out, using the Federal 36gr ammo. Went over to the 100 yrd target and used the compensator on the scope and it was an inch off the bullseye. No jamming, excellent magazines. Easy take down for cleaning, just 2 pins! I also have a Mossberg 715T and it is night and day difference in quality and magazines. The SW isn't as picky about ammo either. This is the best and most accurate .22lr rifle I have ever shoot. The Ruger 10/22 is a close 2nd.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Smith & Wesson 811030 MP1522 Rifle, .22 Long Rifle

Great little P shooter

01/02/2013
By ,
SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had this M&P now for a month and have put about 1000 rounds through it with only one issue. Lower grains don't have the kick to eject..anything 40grain I've shot work GREAT! Fun to shoot..
Easy to break down and clean. I've told all my friends about it and that Wally-World is the best place to find it. $50-$100 cheaper than any gun shop.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+74points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
lakehood wa
Posted 07/15/2013
I have one of these as well.... decent accuracy - great build.
Knightrider mentioned the feed issue - bullet grain isn't the issue as much as the powder load driving it... ( the bullet shape can also play into feeding - avoid flat tipped bullets if possible. )
high velocity loads work well.
as soon as you get ammo with subsonic speeds - the semi auto function jams up.
I've shot alot of standard velocity 1080fps without issue.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Smith & Wesson 811030 MP1522 Rifle, .22 Long Rifle

Buy this if you can

01/04/2013
By ,
beatrice, ne
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this gun two weeks ago at my local Walmart took about an hour n half to buy but it was worth the wait. This 22lr is an awesome gun the iron sights are dead on right out the box and I picked up a center point red dot sight for fun from wal mart to. The ammo is cheap and I've put about 500 rds through mine in one days shooting not a single problem. The red dot sight was hard to sight in because I had no paper targets just a milk jug. Anyways if your looking for a ar style rifle in a 22 cal you can not go wrong with smith and wesson on of the cheapest and most accurate weapons I own.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Smith & Wesson 811030 MP1522 Rifle, .22 Long Rifle

Great Rifle

03/24/2013
By ,
TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Saw this rifle at local Wal Mart, wasnt looking to buy a 22 but bought it on impulse Glad I did. This rifle is a lot of fun and shoot well. Charging handle works just like an AR 15. When I got it home first thing I did was cleaned off the factory oil inside and out oiled it up. Shighted it in and shot about 100 rounds through it with winchester 36 grain and not one jam or failure to eject. This rifle has been flawless so far. One of my favorite rifles to shoot!!! After my brother shot this rifle he went out and bought one.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Smith & Wesson 811030 MP1522 Rifle, .22 Long Rifle

GREAT GUN!!

01/05/2013
By ,
Saint Simons Island GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the gun just before new years and my buddy bought the Mossberg. We took both to the range today. I shot off about 200 rounds and he shot about 100 rounds. I did not have a single jam, misfire or issue. On about 50 for him he started having jams. This gun performs great and has no issues at all!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+88points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Smith & Wesson 811030 MP1522 Rifle, .22 Long Rifle

Great Firearm!

11/09/2012
By ,
ME
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a version of this firearm and it is extremely accurate, reliable, and a fun all around shooter! I would buy again! Plus has a lifetime warranty. The only downside is you need to get more magazines.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:A few times per month
+150points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Smith & Wesson 811030 MP1522 Rifle, .22 Long Rifle

Great practice rifle

01/10/2013
By ,
Tampa Bay, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this rifle as a cheaper alternative to practicing with a centerfire rifle. Shooting with Federal value packs available at Walmart, the rifle has been a real performer. There have been no rifle caused stoppages, all ammo related. (it's a .22lr, to be expected) The money I have saved practicing with this rifle have more then payed for it 5x's over. (.05 a round opposed to .50 a round) I would recommend it without any reservations. It works, it's accurate enough, it's fun and best of all, it cheap to shoot.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Smith & Wesson 811030 MP1522 Rifle, .22 Long Rifle

Great gun

01/09/2013
By ,
Coal Grove, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For a 22 LR this is a great gun. Good price. It shoots well. I put 50 rounds through it so far and everything was smooth. I am a veteran looking for an M4 or an AR 15 and can not find one right now. I settled for this and so far I am pleased. I taught my wife how to handle the gun in about 10 minutes. She learned how to clear the weapon, how to load it and how to discharge the rounds. She felt very comfortable with it. Overall I have no complaints
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Smith & Wesson 811030 MP1522 Rifle, .22 Long Rifle

Fantastic fun!

05/14/2013
By ,
Florence, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Christmas gift to myself, just didn't know there was going to be such a HUGE ammo shortage!
Great training rifle for 13 yo girl, even my 8 yo enjoys it! Eats anything I put through it! Super light, easy to breakdown & clean...good luck getting extra mags though (hint: call and order through S&W. ;) ).
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Smith & Wesson 811030 MP1522 Rifle, .22 Long Rifle

EXCELLENT S&W

04/05/2013
By ,
Liberty
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Call store and talked to Lance he was very helpful and full of knowledge of the products, went right down bought it got home shot some rounds and it is awesome. Thanks Lance it will be recommended for my friends I will send them your way...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.