Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for DPMS DPMS Sportical Rifle 5.56/.223 Rem

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

DPMS DPMS Sportical Rifle 5.56/.223 Rem

This Sportical Rifle features a lightweight, 16-inch 4140 chrome-moly barrel and a slick-sided "lo-pro" flat-top receiver. Also features a six-position collapsible Pardus stock.
Average Customer Rating:
4.091 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation82%9 out of 11reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for DPMS Sportical Rifle 5.56/.223 Rem

This is my second Sportical purchase

10/15/2013
By ,
Nashville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
American made, great quality for a great price. Sure you give up some extras like forward assist and shell deflector, but those are not needed at the range and I doubt anybody will be carrying this weapon into a battle situation. I have a Armalite with all the bells and whistles that I would not trade for anything, but for a quality gun for plinking, the DPMS Sportical is hard to beat. In most cases, the phrase, "you get what you pay for", stands true in the world of firearms. A low price and something that looks too good to be true, usually is just that, a shinny gun that won't hold up in the long run. However, I have to say again that the DPMS Sportical is well worth the money and allows just about anybody to own an AR15 which is a must have for any serious collector. By all means, if you can afford a Colt, buy a Colt. But if you can't, the DPMS is a firearm that will provide you with a quality gun, that will preform well and give you years of return on your investment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+14points
Review 2 for DPMS Sportical Rifle 5.56/.223 Rem

DPMS .223-5.56 Sprtical

04/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my third DPMS and my second Sportical. At 600.00 bucks theres no complaints. The only time my 5.56 ever jammed was when I had cheap clips. Some rebuild kits from Magpul fixed that. I don't use sights since I put on my own so the flat top is perfect. Thought about spending a little more to get the Bushmaster but two of my friends who did buy them had to send them both in for a common problem with the receiver not returning. If it is cleaned well and the gas path is cleaned well (as specified in the owners manual) it goes through clips of just about anything. Reloads may be a different story for some but never mine. Use good brass. I just walked past the gun rack last night when the wife wanted to get some milk and what not and as always, I stopped by the case and there it sat, they just put it out. I came back early this morning and picked it up. I also have the Oracle with the forward assist and dust cover I got for 700.00. All shoot great. Spend more money if you want but these are well made firearms. Add your own fancy stuff and your down the road.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Review 3 for DPMS Sportical Rifle 5.56/.223 Rem

DPMS Sportical Rifle

06/15/2013
By ,
Salisbury, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like the fact that I can shoot 5.56 or .223 ammo. There is one caveat to this. They state emphatically not to use steel case ammo or reloads in this weapon. I spent a significant amount of time breaking this AR-15 in. I bought a set of sights after the break in and have had some nice groupings. Now for a decent scope and a sling. After the first 4 or 5 times breaking it down, it becomes easier and easier. Yeah, I would rather have had the Colt, but my family likes to eat too. Still, it reminds me of my M-16 I had when I was in the Air Force in Nam.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
+27points
Review 4 for DPMS Sportical Rifle 5.56/.223 Rem

Very nice rifle for the bucks..Can't beat it.

03/30/2013
By ,
Celina, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wish I had bought one of these DPMS AR 15 rifles a long time ago..Very good shooter at a low price..I put a Tactical red/green dot sight on it when I got home and sighted in..Now it hits one gal. jugs full of water at 135 yards with ease..If you can find one BUY IT..
I spent alot more for a Bushmaster AR 15 and it shoots no better than the DPMS, so I sold the Bushy yesterday..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+32points
Review 5 for DPMS Sportical Rifle 5.56/.223 Rem

Great AR at any price

12/28/2012
By ,
TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought mine at Cabela's just because no Walmart in my area ever had one, it shoots like a dream and have never had a miss fire no matter what ammo I use, Not bad for a $600.00 firearm.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+51points
Review 6 for DPMS Sportical Rifle 5.56/.223 Rem

Great Price

01/20/2013
By ,
Rockwall Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought one of these in September 2012 at under $600. I wish I had bought one for my son too. They are great sporting guns. My son and I spend a lot of time on the weekends at the gun range.
These guns are popular there. I was at a gun show this weekend and these exact guns were selling
for $1900 stock and up to $2500 with some extras. I sure hope Wal-Mart brings these back.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
+59points
Review 7 for DPMS Sportical Rifle 5.56/.223 Rem

Big improvement from my AK platform.

11/10/2012
By ,
Eastern KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been a steady believer in the AK series of rifles for years. I had been reluctant to buy an AR series for one reason or another. Boy, have I been missing out. I wish I would have gotten this gun a long time ago. I gave it 4 stars not because it doesnt have forward assist or a dust cover. I just wish it had some sort of iron sight on it, but for $597 I have nothing bad to say about this rifle at all. You should pick you one up, too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+92points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
millington tn
hard carry case
Posted 11/26/2012
does the 223 come with a hard carry case.i heard the 308 doesnt.
-2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for DPMS Sportical Rifle 5.56/.223 Rem

Nice

02/11/2013
By ,
Anonymous, Anon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The price was to good to pass up. When inspecting this weapon the craftsmanship and quality are something to be admired. After properly lubricating and putting optics on I sent a few downrange. The handling is average for a carbine and the accuracy is pretty standard. Overall great for the price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+35points
Review 9 for DPMS Sportical Rifle 5.56/.223 Rem

good AR for the money

08/21/2013
By ,
Missouri
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This model AR does not even include iron sights a negative but had planned to add a scope anyway.
When you get the AR you must clean it properly by the book and lightly oil it by the book.
Took it to the range fired about 60 to 70 rounds through it and it preformed as well as my Military
M16 Colt had no problems so far. Good gun for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Review 10 for DPMS Sportical Rifle 5.56/.223 Rem

this thing stinks.

06/07/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After shooting less than 20 rounds at the range, this thing jamed so bad I had to have a gunsmith fix it. He is still working on it. I would like to see the Mini 14 back in stock again. If you have to have an AR buy a colt.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-52points
Review 11 for DPMS Sportical Rifle 5.56/.223 Rem

poor quality

10/28/2013
By ,
fletcher
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I put 30 rounds through it and had to send it back to DPMS now the rifle is gone for 3-4 weeks.
Quality is poor but reflects in the price. Spend the extra hundred and get a better rifle. No dust cover, assist, or sights.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
-4points