Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Canon Canon Red PowerShot SX160 IS Ultra Zoom Digital Camera with 16 Megapixels and 16x Optical Zoom

Canon Canon Red PowerShot SX160 IS Ultra Zoom Digital Camera with 16 Megapixels and 16x Optical Zoom

The Canon Powershot SX160 IS Ultra Zoom Camera features a spectacular 16x optical zoom with 28mm wide-angle lens. The Optical Image Stabilizer captures clear, vivid images whether your subject is up close or far away. And with the 16.0 megapixel sensor and Canon DIGIC 4 Image Processor, every detail is precisely rendered for truly impressive image quality. The Canon 16 Megapixels Camera and 16x Optical Zoom captures breathtakingly realistic 720p HD video in stereo sound with the press of a button. You can zoom while shooting your videos and view them easily later on your HDTV through the HDMI connector. Smart AUTO makes shooting stills and video easy because the camera automatically selects the right settings for 32 predefined shooting situations. Shoot freely and naturally with the High Speed AF that dramatically increases focus speed so you'll capture every shot you want.
Average Customer Rating:
4.152 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(105 Reviews) 94
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
57
4 stars
26
3 stars
9
2 stars
7
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation87%91 out of 105reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 56 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
57
4 stars
26
3 stars
9
2 stars
7
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Canon Red PowerShot SX160 IS Ultra Zoom Digital Camera with 16 Megapixels and 16x Optical Zoom

great Canon value & quality

12/13/2012
By ,
Canon City, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Canon is my brand of choice for all electronics ; I always count on a great value and quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Canon Red PowerShot SX160 IS Ultra Zoom Digital Camera with 16 Megapixels and 16x Optical Zoom

Great Camera!

01/11/2014
By ,
florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this camera is just amazing! even someone like me with little talent in photography can take great pictures. the filters are great fun. some reviewers said the LCD was 'grainy' but i think it is crystal clear. my friend, an experienced photographer, even found it to be a great point and shoot. I personally LOVE the AA batteries. i want that convenience of running into the store and grabbing some batteries in a pinch. i do use the rechargeable ones for economy and they last nearly as long as a lithium battery. unfortunately the videos are saved in a format my older computer doesn't recognize so i've not found a way to view them, yet. the software cd that comes with the camera is not exactly user friendly for us less-computer savvy folks. and i wish it had a printed manual rather than the electronic PDF file. but the camera itself has been living up to its name as a 'point and shoot'. it does all the thinking for you, if you want it to. which leaves you to enjoy your adventures as you take pictures.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Valosta, Ga.
changing photo & video formats
Posted 02/01/2014
I believe you could download a free photo, video, ect., changer at IrfanView.com and if his picture and video software doesn't help maybe he could steer you in the right direction. Being I have reached and passed 60 a few years back I need to use "machinery" or software that is dummy friendly. Good luck.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Canon Red PowerShot SX160 IS Ultra Zoom Digital Camera with 16 Megapixels and 16x Optical Zoom

Great camera for beginner or a camera buff.

01/22/2014
By ,
Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this camera 3 weeks now. I have tired to do as much with it almost every day, as I can. I have taken photos and videos and it so far has done everything the book says it can do. It has given me very crisp and clear photos. The videos have turned out really good. I am having fun with this camera so far. It' takes great indoor and out door photos. I had to print out the booklet to get into the camera to figure out how to use the black and white and sepia and blue modes with it. the getting started booklet that comes with it, does just that. It gets you started how to use the camera, but you need the whole book to know how to get into the camera to use all the things it can do. You can go online and print it out or just look it up each time you want to learn more about this nice little camera. I have tried to use it every day incase it didn't work out and so I could return it to the store. But so far I love this camera. I also love that I can use AA batteries. I spend a lot of time out in the mtns. in the summer, mostly and it's easier to take batteries than trying to recharge them. So Yes this is a great camera for the money I paid for it. A real good bargain I think.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Canon Red PowerShot SX160 IS Ultra Zoom Digital Camera with 16 Megapixels and 16x Optical Zoom

SX 160 still uses AA batteries

01/13/2014
By ,
Washington DC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been a Canon power-shot fan for years and look forward to using this camera after my current power-shot gives out. Some things to note: this is the last model of smaller point-n-shoot cameras that still uses AA batteries. If you get the newer model, you'll need to deal with Canon-proprietary battery packs. (I've always had two sets of rechargeable AA batteries, and a backup lithium battery set when I travel -- works fine). Another thing: the old-fashioned view-finder is gone: your only choice is to look at the back of the camera, instead of holding it up and taking your picture. Finally, the hand-grip side of the camera isn't as pronounced as in the earlier versions, but is still there to help stabilize your grip for one-handed pictures. This camera will still slide easily into your pocket.
My trial pictures all look great, I haven't tried out the more powerful zoom yet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Canon Red PowerShot SX160 IS Ultra Zoom Digital Camera with 16 Megapixels and 16x Optical Zoom

GREAT CAMERA TO LEARN WITH

01/19/2014
By ,
LOCKPORT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
YOU MUST READ USERS GUIDE TO KNOW WHAT DIALS AND BUTTONS TO PUSH TO SET UP CAMERA AND KNOW HOW TO GET AROUND THE DIFFERANT MODES. I SUGGEST YOU BUY A PACK OF AA ALKALINE BATTERIES, CAUSE YOU WILL NEED THEM. MAYBE RECHARGABLE IS THE WAY TO GO. CAMERA FEELS SOLID IN HAND BUT SHOULD HAVE NECK STRAP AS WRIST STRAP IS CHEAP. I FOUND TELEPHOTO LENS IS NO PROBLEM AND CAN ZOOM WITH NO EFFORT WHILE TAKING PICTURES. MY BIGGEST PET PEEVE IS USING TOO MANY BATTERIES! PICTURES ARE GREAT, HAVE NOT TAKEN ANY MOVIES YET. YOU WILL NEED TO BUY A CLASS 10 HD CARD AS THIS WILL SPEED UP PICTURE TAKING. IT WAS'NT EASY TO LEARN ALL IT CAN DO, BUT CONTROLS AER POSITIONED PRETTY MUCH LIKE OTHER CAMERAS. .IF I CAN LEARN IT YOU CAN.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Canon Red PowerShot SX160 IS Ultra Zoom Digital Camera with 16 Megapixels and 16x Optical Zoom

Big Bang for the Buck

01/07/2014
By ,
Branson, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My needs were: 16Megapixels for print layout quality and 720P video for my band, aequus1.com. This camera also had 16x optical zoom (don't even consider digital zoom) and stereo audio. And, the software loaded into my old PC running Windows XP. I only saw the black version available and when I went to checkout an ad for the red one (which I really wanted anyway) was $20 cheaper. Could not be happier with the whole deal. 32Gig memory card was $20 but gives me 8 hours of video and/or a bazillion pictures. The GoGuide was all I needed to get through the menu in the camera and the full User Manual is on the supplied disk. Pop in the batteries (someone else called it appropriately a battery vampire) and the memory card and get at it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Canon Red PowerShot SX160 IS Ultra Zoom Digital Camera with 16 Megapixels and 16x Optical Zoom
01/02/2013
By ,
West Lafayette, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted to upgrade for my daughter's camera for landscape photography; she has limited epxerience and this product provides a good bridge to more advanced digitals. After comparing I bought the SX160 because it is better recommended than most in its class by photography experts. Quick operation, fairly easy and detailed menu. The 16X zoom lens and 16MP are an upgrade from the SX150 (which actually cost more), but not quite as powerful as advertised. The included SD card and case made it a great value package. Had to order the red body online; wish it was in stock at the store, but the online expereince was pretty good for the holiday season. I would recommend the SX160 or the SX200, which has a 20X optical and more advanced features but the body is more compact and not as solid a feel or function to it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Canon Red PowerShot SX160 IS Ultra Zoom Digital Camera with 16 Megapixels and 16x Optical Zoom

Too long to charge flash

02/04/2013
By ,
Utah
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this camera as a replacement for another Canon camera I had. My experience with Canon has been good so I purposely looked for that brand. I read reviews online about how long it took to charge the flash, so I went to a store and tried it. It was fairly fast in the store, not true when I got my camera. Takes a full 6-7 seconds to charge the flash in between pictures (in the store it was only 2 seconds). I thought that since the camera was faster in the store that it must be the AA batteries that slowed it down. I read many reviews and looked for quality rechargeable batteries. I ordered some and hoped they would make my camera faster...didn't work. Also, I set the date, time, and time zone but every time I turned on the camera it wanted me to reset it. I was taking pics of 3 of my boys sports and it was frustrating that the camera screen kept asking me to set it and I missed my shot. I later learned that the date battery needed to be changed (even though I had just barely got the camera). I bought a new battery for the date/time and it worked fine after that. I ended up taking the camera back. It was so frustrating to have to wait to take the picture and didn't work well for what I needed to take pictures of. If you want to take pictures of things that are still and can wait between pics, then this will be ok. It also took a good picture in low-light (gymnasium). I was trying to take pictures of basketball and wrestling, and this was not a good camera for that. Even when the team sat and posed at the end of the game I had to make them wait for my camera...and that picture didn't turn out the greatest, but I couldn't make them wait for the flash to charge again. I read many reviews again and just ordered the Canon PowerShot ELPH 110 HS. I'm hoping it will work better for my needs.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Canon Red PowerShot SX160 IS Ultra Zoom Digital Camera with 16 Megapixels and 16x Optical Zoom

Great Camera

12/18/2013
By ,
Canal Winchester, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used my camera and I love love love it. I certainly recommend it to others. Much better then the Nikkon Coolpix that I bought last year. It took terrible pictures.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Canon Red PowerShot SX160 IS Ultra Zoom Digital Camera with 16 Megapixels and 16x Optical Zoom

Lots of features in a small package!

01/19/2014
By ,
Southcoast Mass
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a SX130 previously, it got lost. I was so mad at myself for losing a camera. Mostly because of the photos on the card, but it was a great little pocket camera. Most of the time I use my T4i. I have been looking for a replacement for a few months. I kept finding myself going back to the newer version of my original camera. So far I'm not disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Canon Red PowerShot SX160 IS Ultra Zoom Digital Camera with 16 Megapixels and 16x Optical Zoom

Takes great pictures, easy to use

01/21/2013
By ,
Eastern Shore, Maryland
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I searched online and read many reviews for many different cameras before deciding to purchase the Canon PowerShot SX160 IS. Overall I am satisfied with this camera. It is easy to use, takes regular AA batteries, the zoom is strong and pictures are crisp and true to color. Battery life is poor, but that is expected when using the flash for every shot and reviewing each picture on screen. My only real disappointment is in the speed in which the flash re-charges between shots, it is quite sluggish.
Pros: Regular AA batteries, 16 megapixels, 16 optical zoom, easy to use, crisp pictures, true to color, strong flash in low light settings, great price.
Cons: Burns through batteries, sluggish re-charge of flash between shots, does not include full manual- it must be downloaded from the disk or website.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Canon Red PowerShot SX160 IS Ultra Zoom Digital Camera with 16 Megapixels and 16x Optical Zoom

good camera to start with as a beginner

01/18/2014
By ,
New Mexico
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very satisfied with the ease in operation, the functioality of the camera, and the features of which there is plenty to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Canon Red PowerShot SX160 IS Ultra Zoom Digital Camera with 16 Megapixels and 16x Optical Zoom

Excellent long zoom. great price

01/18/2014
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Arrived fast, easy to use ,long zoom, good manual and low light.
Price was great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Southern OHIO
RobnorOH
Posted 02/12/2014
Easy to use. Sharp/clear images. Great for pro or beginner.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Canon Red PowerShot SX160 IS Ultra Zoom Digital Camera with 16 Megapixels and 16x Optical Zoom

Very easy to operate, excellent pictures and video

01/18/2014
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Still learning all the things this camera will do, very pleased so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Canon Red PowerShot SX160 IS Ultra Zoom Digital Camera with 16 Megapixels and 16x Optical Zoom

For the price you can't go wrong!

12/29/2013
By ,
Southport, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This camera gets very god reviews and for the excellant price it can't be beat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Canon Red PowerShot SX160 IS Ultra Zoom Digital Camera with 16 Megapixels and 16x Optical Zoom

Canon Red PowerShot SX160 IS

01/13/2014
By ,
Westfield, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The camera takes beautiful pictures! I had the AS1400 and the camera wouldn't automatically focus the way that I wanted to. The auto focus along with all of the other modes of taking a picture is awesome! The Panoramic views are very easy to take. The video function takes good video as along as you are in a lighted room. All in all, if you are looking for a great camera to take excellent pictures and you are new to the many functions it has, you will be pleasantly surprised and will learn quickly. Then later on down the road if you want to get a Canon SLR you will already know how to take great pictures in any kind of light!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Canon Red PowerShot SX160 IS Ultra Zoom Digital Camera with 16 Megapixels and 16x Optical Zoom
12/16/2012
By ,
JESUP, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
WELL, IT DOES TAKE GOOD PHOTOS AND IT WILL TAKE THEM PRETTY FAST IF YOU DON'T HAVE TO USE THE FLASH. IF YOU TURN ON THE FLASH, IT WILL TAKE A FEW SECONDS AFTER YOU PRESS THE BUTTON, FOR THE CAMERA TO TAKE THE PICTURE. I AM STILL TRYING TO GET USED TO IT.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Canon Red PowerShot SX160 IS Ultra Zoom Digital Camera with 16 Megapixels and 16x Optical Zoom

great camera for the price

12/30/2012
By ,
24348
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i got this as a gift for my wife, have only used it a few tines seems to take good pics. only fault ican find is the flash doesn't pop up manually. if you use the flash you hyave to raise it and lower it your self. if that's the only problem we have with this camera than i would highly recommen this one to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Canon Red PowerShot SX160 IS Ultra Zoom Digital Camera with 16 Megapixels and 16x Optical Zoom

Canon SX 160 does a lot for a small camera

03/04/2014
By ,
Payson, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am delighted with my new camera. The 16X zoom, ease of taking videos, and other features make it a winner. Some have complained about using batteries up. Using rechargeable AA batteries solves this problem. I charge 4 of them, put 2 in the camera, and carry the other 2 as spares, so I'm always prepared and don't have to buy replacements. You only have to push a red button to start and stop a video take. Although the pop-up flash is slow to kick in, I have found I very rarely need to use a flash and get better shots without the flash. My old camera automatically flashed which caused problems. I also am pleased with all this camera does for the lower price I paid.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Canon Red PowerShot SX160 IS Ultra Zoom Digital Camera with 16 Megapixels and 16x Optical Zoom

This was a beautiful camera...

03/24/2014
By ,
Utica, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This camera was so nice that it was stolen the very first day of my vacation in the Grand Canyon. It took wonderful photos of our first night (trapped in San Francisco airport after our flight from NJ to Phoenix was missed) Go United!!! But seriously, the photos I was able to take were wonderful and the camera was easy to use. Unfortunately I lost all of those photos when my traveling companion left our rental car unlocked and it was stolen. Think I'm going to have to get another. Hope that I can get the same great deal Walmart gave me the first time!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 61 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next