Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sunbeam Sunbeam Cool Mist Tower Humidifier, SCM630WC-UM

Sunbeam Sunbeam Cool Mist Tower Humidifier, SCM630WC-UM

Average Customer Rating:
2.88 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
6
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation40%10 out of 25reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 13 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
6
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sunbeam Cool Mist Tower Humidifier, SCM630WC-UM

Does what it is suppose to do.

10/10/2012
By ,
Ky near moonshine site
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second one, my other one lasted 7 years, it was still working, just decided to upgrade, be sure to buy Humidifier Bacteriostat Model S1709 for your sunbeam, I found out by using this additive with the machine helps keep it nice and clean, it will take about and hour to and hour and a half the first time you fill the tank up for it to function properly and balance out, but it is a must have for folks like me that has a boiler system that puts out dry heat, since using one of these I no longer wake up with my sinuses all dried out, and no more nose bleeds either from the extreme dryness. I do not work for sunbeam or have any stock in the company, I bought this for actual use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+99points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
La Grange, IL
What's the capacity?
Posted 10/14/2012
It's not listed how many gallons of water this tank takes..I would really appreciate it if you could let me know:) Thanks!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Sunbeam Cool Mist Tower Humidifier, SCM630WC-UM

Love it!

11/26/2012
By ,
Warren, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the tower design and it's nice and quiet. Would buy another in a heartbeat. Might have to...family borrowed to try and I'm not sure I'll get back since they love it too. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sunbeam Cool Mist Tower Humidifier, SCM630WC-UM
12/07/2012
By ,
Chicago
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son is so happy with this product. He can now breathe through the night. He no longer wakes up coughing badly and a throat so dry that he cannot talk. He says that it is very easy to maintain. It was taller than he expected and he put it on his desk. But he is very happy with this humidifier.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sunbeam Cool Mist Tower Humidifier, SCM630WC-UM

Great Humidifier, but hard to fill tank!

01/03/2013
By ,
Noblesville, IN.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great humidifier! It's much quieter than our old one.
ONLY complaint: The water tank is a bad design. It will not stand up when filling. You have to hold it under the faucet with both hands because of the wierd shape of the tank. It will slip out of your hand if trying to hold it with one hand. There are NO handles to hold it with. You need a third hand to turn the water on and off.
Humidifier works great and makes a big difference in our house. Very quiet. We have one upstairs in the master bedroom, and I am going to pick up another one for the living room!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sunbeam Cool Mist Tower Humidifier, SCM630WC-UM
12/14/2012
By ,
Fairport, NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Nice machine, effectively controls room humidity, BUT (1) the fan is very noisy (too noisy to sleep with), (2) Water filling the evaporation pan makes a loud belching noise, (3) the tank is impossible to set down when removed from the machine and therefore very difficult to refill.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sunbeam Cool Mist Tower Humidifier, SCM630WC-UM

Great product for the price!

12/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great so far and was surprised how quiet it is.
Like the large water tank--more time between refill.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sunbeam Cool Mist Tower Humidifier, SCM630WC-UM

Love the product, but not shipped. Buy it in store

02/05/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The item works great! This is our second in the house. We bought the first one in store, liked it, and decided to buy another for another room. We ordered on the website, and when it arrived at our door, the box was completely mangled and there were many holes punched through the cardboard box. There's too much air/space in the packaging. We got lucky that the piece itself was not damaged other than a couple of scratches. Otherwise, we would have had to take it back, which defeats the purpose of having it shipped to your home. It's a great product, but buy it in the store. :)
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sunbeam Cool Mist Tower Humidifier, SCM630WC-UM

Quality/ Design Issue

02/15/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Filter performance meter on top of unit does not work - sounds good in the product description, just too cheap to be useful and not really necessary anyway. Water reservoir fit and function not mistake-proofed well - requires a significant amount of adjusting after each refill to position it correctly. I am able to operate the unit, so I will use it this winter then throw it out. Unit is not as quiet as other tower units I have owned, but not as noisy as other cheaper units on the market.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sunbeam Cool Mist Tower Humidifier, SCM630WC-UM

Cheap bearing in motor makes it too loud

01/21/2013
By ,
Wichita, KS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the second of this model I have bought. We have been running the first one for last winter and half of this, and it has done great. We also have the almost identical Holmes predecessor that has worked equally well. However, a couple weeks after buying this one, it began rattling loudly, making it impractical to use, because we can't sleep with the noise. I pulled apart the housing (difficult, don't recommend) to find the source of the noise and as best I can tell it just a loose bearing. I don't recommend Sunbeam products. I have also had a Sunbeam vaporizer and a toaster that have failed.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sunbeam Cool Mist Tower Humidifier, SCM630WC-UM

Gauges unreliable. Stops and starts continually

01/30/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The digital humidistat continually fluctuates by about three percent on the readout which causes the unit to turn on and off several times a minute in auto mode once it nears the set humidity level.
In addition the filter status needle alteranates between "good" and "replace" seemingly without logic.
On a positive note, my unit runs quietly and definitely puts out the humidity. I fill the tank once a day running it on high/auto.
Keep in mind the water jug is tall and could be an issue for those filling it in a shallow sink.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sunbeam Cool Mist Tower Humidifier, SCM630WC-UM

Weak fan motor from get go

01/06/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The very first time I turned unit on the fan motor seemed like it struggled to keep the fan turning. Each and every time I would turn it on the fan motor again and again struggled. Finally after 1 season the motor froze and just hummed. Very weak fan. Now have a Honeywell tower humidifier and so far pleased at the fan speed.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sunbeam Cool Mist Tower Humidifier, SCM630WC-UM

Great relief from Sinus Infections

02/17/2014
By ,
Sandy, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this 4 years ago and it's amazing. I used to get 3 or more sinus infections a year requiring a Z-pak at last resort. I have only had one sinus infection in the past four years. The sound is a soft purr.... I can't be without it!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sunbeam Cool Mist Tower Humidifier, SCM630WC-UM
01/11/2013
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Only for a SMALL room.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sunbeam Cool Mist Tower Humidifier, SCM630WC-UM

First unit did not give enough humidity, then quit

01/23/2014
By ,
Wisconsin
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I liked the small footprint, the clean look, the ease of reading the level of water. But the fan's performance was uneven and finally quit working altogether. And the noise level was a little high, especially as I had to run it on high all the time.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sunbeam Cool Mist Tower Humidifier, SCM630WC-UM

Piece of junk

11/29/2013
By ,
Posen,IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought two of these towers and both starting making loud noise from the motors after about a week
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sunbeam Cool Mist Tower Humidifier, SCM630WC-UM

Extremely loud

01/18/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worked well the first season, second season sounds like marbles rattling around in a tin can. Most likely motor with bad bearings. Unfortunately there is no replacement motor available through Sunbeam parts - they do not even list this model humidifier.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sunbeam Cool Mist Tower Humidifier, SCM630WC-UM

Don't waste ur money

12/08/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product arrived broken the fan hits the inside. Poorly made cheap plastic. Don't buy this
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sunbeam Cool Mist Tower Humidifier, SCM630WC-UM

Garbage

11/14/2013
By ,
Chelmsford, MA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this item on Nov 11, 2013. Set it up according to the directions (just to make sure I don't screw it up) and plugged it in. The fan on the top of this thing is so loud there is no way you can sleep in the same room as it. It rattles, a lot! So if you are looking for something that is quiet so that you can sleep at night, don't buy this! It is certainly not worth the price I paid for it. Going back to WalMart today!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sunbeam Cool Mist Tower Humidifier, SCM630WC-UM

Bearings in the fan fail early!!!

02/18/2013
By ,
Poquoson, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Had this unit about a month now. Within the second week, the bearing in the fan became very noisy. We still have the unit operating, but it makes a terrible bearing noise. The plastic fan is very unbalanced and will fail early on. I thought I was buying a quality unit for almost $70. The previous Hunter unit that I had lasted me three seasons of use. I have to physically hit the unit several times on the side to get the grinding noise to go away.
I cannot recommend this unit to anyone. Save your money and buy a better brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sunbeam Cool Mist Tower Humidifier, SCM630WC-UM

Waste of money

03/22/2014
By ,
Amsterdam, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this unit about two months ago. Filter gauge indicated that a new filter needed to be changed about once a week. (Even though the filters looked perfectly fine to me.) After cleaning and changing filter it would run perfectly for about two days. After that unit would not use the water. It was left in the tank. After cleaning this week, fan does not work. I give up!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 25 total reviews
1 2 Next