Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sunbeam Sunbeam Electric Tower Quartz Heater, Sun-Like Radiant Heat, SQH310-WM1-115

Sunbeam Sunbeam Electric Tower Quartz Heater, Sun-Like Radiant Heat, SQH310-WM1-115

Keep warm and comfortable when it is cold outside with this Sunbeam Tower Quartz Heater, SQH310-WM1-115. With sun-like radiant heat, this Sunbeam Quartz Heater has a MaxFlow fan that pushes heat further into a room. This Sunbeam Electric Heater features a comfort control climate, as well as an easy-to-read display that lets you adjust the heat to your preference.
Average Customer Rating:
3.387 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(62 Reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
25
4 stars
10
3 stars
5
2 stars
8
1 star
14
Customer Recommendation66%41 out of 62reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 36 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
25
4 stars
10
3 stars
5
2 stars
8
1 star
14
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sunbeam Electric Tower Quartz Heater, Sun-Like Radiant Heat, SQH310-WM1-115

Lasted for 3 years

03/16/2014
By ,
Colorado Springs
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reading most other reviews, I guess I'm lucky in that my heater lasted for 3 years and 1 month. When I initially got it, I think it did run pretty well on High heat, but within a short period of time, it would automatically shut off after a minute or so if I tried to run it on High. I assumed this was a safety feature, but after reading reviews, it sounds more like a flaw. It ran well on Low heat (on the maximum thermostat setting# the entire time I had it, and kept my small 10'x12' bedroom warm.
About a week ago, my 50 lb. dog fell off the bed, right into the heater #thank goodness it was off at the time!#, putting a huge dent in the face plate. It didn't appear to damage anything behind the face plate, and continued to work afterwards. Until today. It will not come on at all now.
The price of this heater is the most I've ever spent on a "space" or room heater. I've purchased others for less that are smaller but still have a great heat output, and I think I'll go back to one of those for my next purchase.
All in all, my opinion of this heater is "meh"
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sunbeam Electric Tower Quartz Heater, Sun-Like Radiant Heat, SQH310-WM1-115

Thermostat issues

10/17/2013
By ,
WV
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
These heaters put off a great amount of heat so for that I gave it 2 stars. The problem that I have found with these heaters is the thermostat. I purchased 3 of these heaters from 2 different Walmart stores. I needed the heaters for a hunting camp, gets cold in the back bedrooms so I figured these heaters would help. They definetly help keep a room warm for sure. There are a total of 10 dot settings from low to high on the thermostat, if set above 4 dots the heater never shuts off. 4 dots and lower the thermostat acts properly and the heaters shut off and turn on as it should. That leaves 6 settings higher that will not work properly. That kind of makes this heater not useable in the sense that my hunting cabin can get quite cold and I cannot set this heater any higher, if I do set it higher it will never shut off which means there is a possible chance of causing a fire. As I said earlier these heaters do put off a great amount of heat so would be good for someone who just wants to kick it on and warm up and then either shut it off or turn the thermostat down low, but for my needs these heaters just do not work.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Texas
Heater may be too small for your application
Posted 11/24/2013
It sounds like your room is too big or the heat loos is too high. This heater is only 1500 watts that equates to 5000 btus output. I know they state on their package it is for a big room but that is marketing. It is still limited by the amount of power and out put of 5K Btus. The infrared makes it feel warmer to you body because of the radiation effect. But to expect it to heat a cold room may be expecting too much.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Sunbeam Electric Tower Quartz Heater, Sun-Like Radiant Heat, SQH310-WM1-115

Works Great!

12/24/2012
By ,
New Castle, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this when my furnace quit working and had an issue getting in contact with my landlord. It kept one room warm, and the next room was not as chilly. :) I was able to get a peaceful nights sleep.
It has two controls, one for the amount of heat it puts out and the other is 2 settings for the fan. I used the high setting on the fan as my livingroom is average size. The heat control has many different *dots* for heat settings so it is easily adjusted as to how much heat it will produce.
Set it on the highest one and when room temp is where you like it, slowly turn it down (twards the smaller dots) till it turns off. Then it will do its best to maintain that temp.
Warning: the front grill and metal bar near the top DO get hot. Small children or pets who MAY touch that could get a burn.....just saying, take safety precautions as u would with any such equipment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sunbeam Electric Tower Quartz Heater, Sun-Like Radiant Heat, SQH310-WM1-115

Amazing Little Heater

10/30/2013
By ,
Bentonville, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased my heater about 5 years ago and it still works amazingly today. When I initially bought it I was living in a studio apartment that only had gas heat. I couldn't afford the gas deposit so instead of messing with it I bought this heater. I immediately fell in love with it when it only took about a half hour to get the entire apartment to the temp that I was comfortable with and then all I had to do was turn it down to where it would keep the apartment at that temperature. My electric bill barely fluctuated from the constant use and the automatic shut off is a priceless safety feature. Since it's purchase I have moved several times and I have not always needed it but I will never get rid of it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sunbeam Electric Tower Quartz Heater, Sun-Like Radiant Heat, SQH310-WM1-115

Warm and Toasty

11/24/2012
By ,
WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband loves this heater. He uses it daily to warm the family room while he relaxes in his recliner, actually uses it like his own little fireplace. It has two fan speeds plus you can choose your level of heat from low to high. Also, it will turn itself off if tipped over. Very good product for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sunbeam Electric Tower Quartz Heater, Sun-Like Radiant Heat, SQH310-WM1-115

Works great

11/29/2012
By ,
maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a large room and it does well. Keeps the chill off. Worth the money spent. Thinking on another one for the dining room. Both living and dining rooms are together, so it's a bit too large of rooms to have one heater.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sunbeam Electric Tower Quartz Heater, Sun-Like Radiant Heat, SQH310-WM1-115

Uses a lot of power to only turn off.

12/18/2013
By ,
Dallas, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Right off the bat I got this heater for the price. I ended up getting one more since our central heating unit broke in our home and thought they worked great. Then as the weeks went by we learned how fragile and/or weak these things really are. I have a walking problem and stumble or lose my balance often. But, I bumped into mine and it hit the floor. Not even hard at all either, it was hit no harder then you would sit in a chair and it fell onto the carpet in my room. Now, it never stays on. It unplug it and leave it unplugged for 5+ hours and plug it in and it turns on, heats up for maybe half an hour, then shuts off and won't come back on.
I was highly disappointed with Sunbeam on these as now BOTH of these things are broken in my home.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TX
I run 3 & 4 during the cold in different rooms
Posted 03/28/2014
As I said I run 3 or 4 when real cold in different rooms. I have a mobile home & my 4 ton Ac messed up along with the relay switch. My electric bill was not one bit higher. If ANYTHING it was cheaper! Must be something wrong with your insulation or something. They are great!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Sunbeam Electric Tower Quartz Heater, Sun-Like Radiant Heat, SQH310-WM1-115

You will get better with Lasko for the same price

12/31/2013
By ,
Banson Hills, Branson MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The Lasko med does the same job as the Sunbeam large. I bought a Lasko for a medium room. It was not big enough to warm the room I was trying to heat and the box did not give better room size but other than that it was a great heater for the same money as Sunbeam's large room. It had digital and could be set to shut off by itself. I bought a Sunbeam by mistake but since it was for large room, I decided to keep it. What a let down. It does heat but as others have said it is hot to the touch. The settings are just dots in a circle and it is trial and error to get the right setting. You can only set it at four small dots as the higher settings will make the heater run continuously. The instructions say to turn the heater all of the way up and when the room gets warm enough, turn it back until it shuts off. When I did that it would shut off too soon and the room was not warm enough. Finally the large room did not heat my room which is a small living room so I ended up using both heaters turned low to heat the room. I did not read the reviews first and could kick myself so I have nobody to blame but myself. I am not saying the Sunbeam is not good but it certainly does not do a large room and is not as nice as the same priced Lasko.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sunbeam Electric Tower Quartz Heater, Sun-Like Radiant Heat, SQH310-WM1-115

junk

12/24/2013
By ,
ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am on the second unit in just a little over 45 days. The first didn't last a week before it's reset started to die. It would stop working and you would have to unplug it wait a while then plug it back in. It would not make it through one heat cycle before you had to do it again. We returned it for a new one thinking it was just a one unit problem. Well it's not the replacement unit is now doing the same thing. So today it's going back to the store and I am not even going to go with a sunbeam this time.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sunbeam Electric Tower Quartz Heater, Sun-Like Radiant Heat, SQH310-WM1-115

High Heat Output

02/26/2013
By ,
Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: This heater puts out a beastly amount of heat, much more than any ceramic or other type of electric portable heater (all examples set at 1500W). It has far exceeded expectations with regards to heat output. Fan is loud, which may be something to consider depending upon which room it's used. Grill area is very hot to the touch, so might not be ideal for usage around children and pets.
Cons: There are a lot of reviews all over the 'Net that this heater is basically a throw away item, no replacement parts are available and does not last long. Time will tell, but so far this appears to be an excellent item and would definitely buy again even if it only lasted a couple of years. Build quality looks to be OK.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sunbeam Electric Tower Quartz Heater, Sun-Like Radiant Heat, SQH310-WM1-115

Worked fine for a week

10/28/2013
By ,
Wyoming
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Several reviewers mentioned a bad thermostat. I'm not sure that was the problem with mine, but it seems pretty likely. It was working fine earlier this morning and then it just quit. No noises, no smoke, just went dead. I sure wouldn't be in a hurry to get another one.
I will say that for the week that it worked it worked well and as advertised.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sunbeam Electric Tower Quartz Heater, Sun-Like Radiant Heat, SQH310-WM1-115

Sunbeam: Keeping Floridians Warm in Nebraska!!!

11/08/2013
By ,
NE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This unit puts out a ton of very warm air. I tried a Lasko tower heater and it never got very warm, plus the digital display didn't work on several of those units (had to keep returning them#. Sunbeam's heater is nothing special--no fancy digital display to tell you the temp. etc., but all I want is a heater that gets super hot so I can sit in front of it and work on the computer/watch tv/etc. I am a Floridian unhappily living in a cold climate and this is the only thing that keeps me sufficiently warm. It heats up large rooms quickly and has a "thermostat" so that you can set it to turn off when it reaches a temp. you are comfortable with and turns itself back on when it gets too cold. I keep it on full blast all the time, though. This unit is noisier than the Lasko heaters, but it isn't unreasonable, especially considering it does the job quicker. I don't know how energy efficient it is compared to other heaters. I am guessing that since it gets so hot and heats up rooms so quickly it probably isn't super energy efficient, but I've never had high electric bills when I use mine on a daily basis for about 7 months out of the year. Plus, it is much more efficient than keeping my whole house at 85 degrees using the central air system. I think these are durable, well-made heaters. I had one for about 6 years #heavy use# and had to replace it recently because the electrical cord got damaged. I highly recommend this brand and this model.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
at home
Awesome heater
Posted 01/05/2014
love this heater have a large space to heat and only took a few minutes to heat, turned setting down to keep it at the same temp and still warm....
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Sunbeam Electric Tower Quartz Heater, Sun-Like Radiant Heat, SQH310-WM1-115

Great heater for the price!

10/23/2013
By ,
Freeehold, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This heater works greats! Really heats up the room nicely and I love the auto shut off especially needed for the senior parents!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sunbeam Electric Tower Quartz Heater, Sun-Like Radiant Heat, SQH310-WM1-115

Heater

11/12/2013
By ,
Gerber, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I owned a heater just like it made by Holmes still under Sunbeam, but I haven't even had this 2 weeks and both heater coils are not working right. I lost 6" of coil on both sides. I'm now returning it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sunbeam Electric Tower Quartz Heater, Sun-Like Radiant Heat, SQH310-WM1-115

QUARTZ HEATER

12/13/2013
By ,
LYNCHBURG, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LOVE THIS ITEM, HAVE OWNED 3 OVER PAST YEARS AND HELD UP GREAT. I WORE THEM OUT IS WHY HAD TO REPLACE BUT THIS ONE IS A GIFT FOR A FRIEND FOR CHRISTMAS
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sunbeam Electric Tower Quartz Heater, Sun-Like Radiant Heat, SQH310-WM1-115

great when it works

11/15/2013
By ,
Wyoming
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cannot run for more than 2 minutes without it turning itself off. Must turn off switch for about a minute before turning on again. would not recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Banson Hills, Branson MO
Settings
Posted 12/31/2013
It sounds like you have it set on the lowest setting. The larger the dot the higher the setting but beforwarned that it will run continually higher than 4 dots.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Sunbeam Electric Tower Quartz Heater, Sun-Like Radiant Heat, SQH310-WM1-115

Didn't work out of the box.

12/30/2012
By ,
olthe, ks
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is the second heater purchased. Purchased first from Ace Hardware. This one although identical to the first did not work. Believe the thermostat was defective as initially it would try to heat on lower (750) setting and quit and would not heat at all on higher setting (1500W). Will try to exchange see what 2 out of three is like.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sunbeam Electric Tower Quartz Heater, Sun-Like Radiant Heat, SQH310-WM1-115

Works good Temporarily

02/17/2013
By ,
WVC, UT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had 4 of these and they all stop working after a couple of months. Very poorly made.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Cuba, NY
"Until they get these perfected"???
Posted 11/24/2013
ChinaTaste-we had a quartz heater when I was growing up. I am 54. I had one at work in 1980. They have indeed been around long enough to have been perfected!
0points
Customer Avatar
Ocala, FL
works good temporarily
Posted 10/31/2013
The one we bought lasted about 3 weeks. We live in FL, so don't use it much. I tested all switches and thermostat. Decided it is the bulbs. Looking for replacement bulbs with no luck. Probably just as cheap to buy a regular heater until they get these perfected.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 19 for Sunbeam Electric Tower Quartz Heater, Sun-Like Radiant Heat, SQH310-WM1-115

Not a good value for the money.

01/07/2014
By ,
Smyrna,GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unless you're seating right in front of this heater you will not feel the heat. It does not heat a room even if you run it for hours. I cannot recommend this product. If the box was not discarded I would return it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sunbeam Electric Tower Quartz Heater, Sun-Like Radiant Heat, SQH310-WM1-115

Does the job!

04/17/2013
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This heater works great, but the fan is a little on the loud side.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 57 total reviews
1 2 3 Next