Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for GE GE Black Power Series E1680W Digital Camera with 16 Megapixels and 8x Optical Zoom

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

GE GE Black Power Series E1680W Digital Camera with 16 Megapixels and 8x Optical Zoom

More power and more performance are just the beginning for the GE E1680W Digital Camera, 8x Optical Zoom. One of the slimmest models available in the long zoom arena, the GE 16 Megapixel Camera, Black Power Series brings you closer to the action and object of your affection in no time at all. Live in the moment and don't miss a shot with this GE digital camera. With the GE 16 Megapixel Camera, Black Power Series, you get high-quality still images and video recordings with features such as 720p HD Movie Recording, Face Detection Technology, Optical Image Stabilization and Blink Detection. Plus, GE 5.1-40.8mm zoom lens with 8x optical zoom, equivalent to a 28-224mm lens on an analog camera with Single AF, Multi-AF. Auto adjusting brightness, built-in flash with Auto, Red-Eye Reduction, Forced Flash, No Flash and Slow Synchro plus more features make this GE E1680W Digital Camera, 8x Optical Zoom the ideal camera.
Average Customer Rating:
4.386 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation86%38 out of 44reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for GE Black Power Series E1680W Digital Camera with 16 Megapixels and 8x Optical Zoom

wonderful camera

12/24/2012
By ,
KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great price
fits in pocket
great options
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Review 2 for GE Black Power Series E1680W Digital Camera with 16 Megapixels and 8x Optical Zoom

Very Poor Quality...

04/04/2013
By ,
Mesa, AZ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Although this camera sports plenty of pixels, options, and features, the overall quality is far below what I would've expected. Images aren't defined and are pretty low-quality for such a high number of megapixels, comparable to a smart-phone camera (1.5 megapixel quality), the flash is too much, and the macro is terrible! Pictures are usually too bright, or too dark, there isn't a happy medium. The brand-new battery hardly holds a charge, and after only about 15 - 20 photos, it died.
I only had it for a day before I sent it back. Definitely not worth $60. A Vivitar in the clear packages would probably perform better!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Review 3 for GE Black Power Series E1680W Digital Camera with 16 Megapixels and 8x Optical Zoom

This Camera has loads of options not listed....

10/16/2012
By ,
Billerica, MASS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You wouldn't even believe what this little camera can do, and how small it is.
It DOES take some time to learn though because it DOES come with so many extra
features that aren't even listed. If you look up the GE 500 (black and white# Pro series- This camera does everything that one does and then some.Look up the features to that, This has all those, they just aren't listed. This one even films in HD. The only difference is the zoom isn't 15, its only 8, and this camera is more compact. But it has 20 scene modes; even sketch mode which is super cool, you can see this in action on Amazon.com under the GE 500 and I will try to take some pictures with my camera #THIS MODEL) in most modes and leave them at Amazon for all to view under this model the silver model. It takes amazing pictures but the trick is to hold the trigger button for a fraction of a second and THEN take the photo. It has BLINK tech. It has a "frame" mode that you can send Happy Birthday pics in a pre birthday frame, It even has 4 different song modes for viewing your photos on slideshow. I was amazed when fiddleing with it last night how much it had. I actually dropped this camera in a river when I was walking my dogs and it dried out after 4 days and STILL takes amazing photos! You will not be sorry with this purchase! But trust me....TAKE THE TIME TO LEARN THE FEATURES IT HAS, AND 2. ALWAYS DEPRESS THE "TAKE" BUTTON FOR A FRACTION OF A SECOND TO LET THE CAMERA "CLARIFY" AND.....THEN....TAKE THE PICTURE FOR IT to come out clear.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+71points
Review 4 for GE Black Power Series E1680W Digital Camera with 16 Megapixels and 8x Optical Zoom

Great camera..great deal

01/14/2013
By ,
small town, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After ordering this camera online, I expected it to be the usual quality of something in this price line...functional but poorly made. I am VERY pleased to announce how wrong my assumptions were. It's NOT a flimsy plastic camera...it's a soundly made metal camera with serious power (16 megapixels and 8x zoom). PLUS they gave me the carrying case and memory card. The pictures are crisp and clear. Seriously, you CANNOT go wrong with this camera.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+29points
Review 5 for GE Black Power Series E1680W Digital Camera with 16 Megapixels and 8x Optical Zoom

Great for everyday or even special events

01/26/2013
By ,
WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This camera takes great pics! I was very leery when I saw all the stuff this camera has to offer for the price, however the reviews are great! The zoom is awsome on this thing! Compared to some of the other brands that are $100 or more and they have the same options, I could not see spending the extra money. I have a 12yr old kodak easyshare 5.0 megapixel that still works and takes great pics and paid $300 for it. It was just time to update and for the price I couldn't pass it by. The only reason I gave it a 4 star (would have given it a 4.5 it possible) is the that buttons are really small, however the smaller cameras all seem to be like that now.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Review 6 for GE Black Power Series E1680W Digital Camera with 16 Megapixels and 8x Optical Zoom

Great camera

01/13/2013
By ,
Earth's core
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comes with rechargeable lithium battery. More functions than most people would ever use, inexpensive, but not cheap. Quality camera. I like it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+22points
Review 7 for GE Black Power Series E1680W Digital Camera with 16 Megapixels and 8x Optical Zoom

Cheapened to an unconscionable Level

02/16/2013
By ,
Madison, WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Here is the gist of my experience. The battery only holds a charge for 10 pictures. When you open the compartment to take the battery out, the storage chip that is stored next to it shifts and erases all the photos. I drove back to Wal-Mart and got a new chip, and I though at first, maybe it was a faulty chip which is what the woman on the 1-800 line at GE suggested (Same thing a 2nd time). Then I thought maybe, I didn't charge it right, so I charged it for 12 hours. Then took 10 pictures and it was dead, open the battery cover and chip pops out.
Wal-Mart took it back and gave me my money back.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+10points
Review 8 for GE Black Power Series E1680W Digital Camera with 16 Megapixels and 8x Optical Zoom

GE E1680W pictures are blurry but value good value

03/15/2013
By ,
Albuquerque, NM
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have owned several digital cameras. The pictures lack definition for 16 megapixels. They remind me of cameras of about 5 MP. The long zoom adds to the image loss as does low light levels like indoor pictures. The battery runs down very fast, expect to charge it frequently. I get about 20 exposures per charge with no flash.
The best feature is the pencil sketch mode. I am keeping this camera because of its small size and ability to set manual exposures ( I can't do manual exposures with the Nikon S series cameras, It also has spot and center weighted metering which the Nikons do not.). It is a good value but expect it to be the quality of a lesser camera. I paid $59 usd. for the black model and got free site to store shipping. It is the best camera for the low budget buyer like me.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 9 for GE Black Power Series E1680W Digital Camera with 16 Megapixels and 8x Optical Zoom

Great quality for the price

04/29/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This camera is great! It has all sorts of settings, like outdoor and indoor picture taking modes, panoramic option, and many other things I am still getting used to. The zoom is awesome, I have been taking pictures of birds and getting really great quality photos. The only thing I have a hard time with is the battery life, which I was already aware of before I bought the camera based on other reviews. What I've been doing when I take my camera with me is I'll take a couple photos, turn the camera off, then turn it back on to take another photo or two later on. It works better than to leave it on in between shots. I've taken about 20 pictures on this current charge and I've only lost one bar, compared to taking continuous shots you'll only get about 10 pictures per charge.
I definitely recommend this camera to any casual photo takers because of the quality of photos, durability of the camera and the wide array of settings.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 10 for GE Black Power Series E1680W Digital Camera with 16 Megapixels and 8x Optical Zoom

Takes good pics. Very compact.

01/24/2013
By ,
Concord, VT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've used this camera to get some very good pics of my kids and their animals. Also taken it on a couple of hikes which is why I bought it to begin with so I could get better pics than my cell phone. The photos are good but it seems that the battery does not like the cold. Temps in the minus single digits, battery discharged sooner than expected for a lithium ion. However it does charge back up quickly. Overall I am very pleased with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Review 11 for GE Black Power Series E1680W Digital Camera with 16 Megapixels and 8x Optical Zoom

Superb little camera

03/31/2013
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This camera is about the same size as one of the older cell phones. NOT big, so it fits in a small pocket someplace, or a small purse but and it is loaded with features. The size is critical. Somehow you need to pick up a handle that you can screw into the bottom of the camera which will let your big hands control all that power.
At some point, you realize you have to stop and read the instructions slowly, but that is fine.. the instructions are clear. Again.. loaded with features although they are not mandatory so you can use it right of the bat doing point and shoots. Excellent optical zoom and clear photographs. It is an excellent size if you get the handle, and the features will give you just about anything you want. Very good camera at any price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 12 for GE Black Power Series E1680W Digital Camera with 16 Megapixels and 8x Optical Zoom

A very convient size

03/25/2013
By ,
travelers rest, south carolina
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Camera has an 8x zoom but it does not take clear pic if u zoom in on a flower bloom vs the whole plant. I have to trick it to upload pic to facebook as being a album vs a single photo. I like that it is a rechargeable battery.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 13 for GE Black Power Series E1680W Digital Camera with 16 Megapixels and 8x Optical Zoom
02/24/2013
By ,
Tucson AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unsure about the battery. After about 6 pictures it is starting to indicate partial discharge. Otherwise everything seems to work and is more intuitive than a Cannon.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Review 14 for GE Black Power Series E1680W Digital Camera with 16 Megapixels and 8x Optical Zoom

Great and enjoying

03/24/2013
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reading some review's about this camera was a little scary but getting my camera a couple of weeks ago the bad review's were certainly proven wrong.
The 8x optical zoom work's out amazing and the picture still come's out looking amazing.
The battery was very exceptional I saw a few review's saying that the battery lasted a couple of picture's and then died. I have had the camera going on 3 weeks now and have not charged it since I took it out of the box and take at least a couple of pictures everyday.
All in all I am hugely happy with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 15 for GE Black Power Series E1680W Digital Camera with 16 Megapixels and 8x Optical Zoom

Awesome camera for the price

04/15/2013
By ,
Sparks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Takes great daytime photos, 8x optical zoom is amazing, low light photos tend to be a bit washed out of color when using flash as the main light source but raising other lighting if available, fixes this. Overall it's a great camera and the red eye reduction works 100% effectively. Some great technology in this camera, I really like it. Controls/menus are also easy to use and figure out.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 16 for GE Black Power Series E1680W Digital Camera with 16 Megapixels and 8x Optical Zoom

Worth every penny.

03/08/2013
By ,
Southern Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this camera. This is the 3rd I have gotten from GE. Every time I purchase one I always upgrade. I will be the first one to admit I am tough on this camera. I try to treat it well, but when you can be in a dusty attic in the morning and in a damp crawl space in the afternoon, and everywhere in between, that is the life of my cameras. I have yet to have one I haven't dropped. None the less, they hold up. I am the type of guy that can break an anvil with a feather duster.
My customers are amazed at the picture quality. This camera in particular is really good. The only drawback I can see is GE needs to upgrade the battery. With all that the camera will do, its a power hungry animal. If you are thinking about a point and shoot camera, I highly recommend this camera. If you can, take one for a test drive as it were. Unless you are a pro and like spending hundreds and thousands of dollars, this camera has many features they do. HDMI is a real plus. Videos look fantastic. No its not a camcorder, but it still does a nice job. This would make a great camera for taking on vacation. With the panoramic photo feature its perfect for those BIG moments. The Micro is great for when you need specific detail. I have used it many times to have a copy of serial numbers on tools, and other things. Dollar for dollar I dont think you can beat this camera. I suggest going on Ebay or Amazon and look for the video and HDMI cables so you can see how good the pictures look on a big screen. I have to give Walmart credit. they offered the best all around deal. If you do get one, be sure to read the instructions. For such a small package, it has a LOT of features.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 17 for GE Black Power Series E1680W Digital Camera with 16 Megapixels and 8x Optical Zoom

great general purpose camera

02/11/2013
By ,
Springfield Ma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for pics of some new additions to the family.Now use it for all issues and opportunities. Great quality photos and ability to correct easily. Simple to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 18 for GE Black Power Series E1680W Digital Camera with 16 Megapixels and 8x Optical Zoom

Simply Put - an Outstanding Buy

02/24/2013
By ,
Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The summary says it all. Next to my Canon, it shines spectacularly. Wonderfully crisp, high quality, well done.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 19 for GE Black Power Series E1680W Digital Camera with 16 Megapixels and 8x Optical Zoom

Falling in love slowly...

02/19/2013
By ,
Vienna GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just got it in the mail today... it came way earlier than it was suppose to which made me happy because I had a horrible day so it made the ending to my day much better. =) I'll start out with saying it takes great pictures. Took me a sec to figure some of it out but I watched a video on YouTube of qvc showing it off so that definitely helped. Love all the features, I paid 49.99 for it you can't beat what this camera has to offer. All that being said I do have to point out the battery life could have been better but all in all a great camera for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for GE Black Power Series E1680W Digital Camera with 16 Megapixels and 8x Optical Zoom

Complaints

03/02/2013
By ,
Miami, Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I returned this camera on account of slow shutter speed and after you push the button to capture the photo the screen turns black even before it actually captures the image. I am not the easist person to please when it comes to finding a camera with great shutter speed. Tried the Nikon Coolpix which I returned and now this one. I guess you can expect that on this camera because its only $50 but on a Nikon? No way...
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 36 total reviews
1 2 Next