Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for HP HP 17.3" Envy dv7-7227cl Laptop PC with AMD A10-4600M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8

HP HP 17.3" Envy dv7-7227cl Laptop PC with AMD A10-4600M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8

The HP 17.3" Envy dv7 Laptop PC is more than good looks. The brushed aluminum along with chrome accents and a soft-touch grip make it a laptop you want to take everywhere. Get Beats Audio sound with quad speakers and a subwoofer, outstanding performance and graphics and cool features like a fingerprint reader and an HD webcam that makes you look your best. Update your Windows 8 PC to Windows 8.1 for free through the Windows Store
Average Customer Rating:
4.332 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(271 Reviews) 265
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
171
4 stars
59
3 stars
17
2 stars
8
1 star
16
Customer Recommendation85%231 out of 271reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
18 Questions | 44 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
171
4 stars
59
3 stars
17
2 stars
8
1 star
16
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for HP 17.3" Envy dv7-7227cl Laptop PC with AMD A10-4600M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8
02/01/2013
By ,
Kokomo, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I build computers, graphic designer, web page designer, video editor, and a college student. This computer will handle anything I throw at it. I've ran 3 programs at once without any problems... Mind you they were a powerful video editor software, photoshop, and a sound editor. All at one without no problems... I also had my music playing, plus the Internet with many tabs open.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for HP 17.3" Envy dv7-7227cl Laptop PC with AMD A10-4600M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8

Great Product Overall

10/29/2012
By ,
Justice, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everything works great and the speed online is amazing and faster than my windows 7 computer, but as of yet, I cannot get the fingerprint reader to work on any websites.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for HP 17.3" Envy dv7-7227cl Laptop PC with AMD A10-4600M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8
01/03/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A really good computer easy to use and great for entertainment purposes. Not a fan of Windows 8 though, I think it would be even better if it had Windows 7.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for HP 17.3" Envy dv7-7227cl Laptop PC with AMD A10-4600M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8

Beware this model hp 17.3" Envy dv7-7227cl

02/02/2013
By ,
Michigan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased 3 of these - 2 from Sam's Club and then this one from Walmart. Each computer had a motherboard problem - the power indictator showed 'plugged in, not charging'. Working with tech services, we tried a number of fixes, including hard resets, total drainage of the battery, and reinstallation of the operating system, including all original software. Any and all of these procedures provided a temporary fix lasting anywhere from a few hours to a few weeks. But the problem always returned. Luckily for me, each time it occurred, it occurred within the return policy and I was able to get my money back. First time, I thought it was a fluke. Second time, I thought maybe a bad production run. Third time, something inherent in the motherboard. I know this because the 'plugged in, not charging' indicator occurred without the battery in and without the ac adapter hooked up.
If you google HP and 'plugged in, not charging', you will see a plethora of users having the same issue - an issue that HP has not fixed. And think about this - HP is getting out of the computer business within a few months. This was announced in August of 2011 (something else you can find by googling). How interested are they in solving inherent issues with technology that they will not be improving upon? Users in the HP forum expressed maddening frustration at their inability to get answers after the return or warranty period had elapsed.
On the positive side, both Sam's Club and Walmart services were terrific. Great places to buy a computer but I would steer you away from HP.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for HP 17.3" Envy dv7-7227cl Laptop PC with AMD A10-4600M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8

Returned within a week kept freezing up!

05/26/2013
By ,
PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this laptop as a gift for my daughter. Thankfully I did not show it to her before I checked out. It completely frooze up within 5 or ten minutes of starting up and would have to be turned off with the power button. I tried several different mouses and tried it with and without the wireless, still no luck. I only tried using it on 3 separate days and each time the same issue.
I spent almost 2 hours on the phone with HP and we couldn't even get it to work long enough to download the latest updates from HP. They kept telling me "we will resolve this". Well a brand new laptop should not behave this way so I returned it. When I was at the store returning it another man came in returning his HP. He said he had the exact same problem. No more HPs for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for HP 17.3" Envy dv7-7227cl Laptop PC with AMD A10-4600M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8

Two Strikes and It's Out

06/17/2013
By ,
Malone, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I upgraded a very old Dell Vostro, thinking the Envy's fast processor and spacious video and hard drive space would handle high-end games. The problem: after a few minutes on even the least-demanding applications, such as Solitaire, the screen minimizse to the Desktop, forcing the user to re-click the application icon in the tray to proceed. This occurs randomly but normally within the first fifteen minutes. After that, the screen may switch to the Desktop every few minutes, sometimes three or four times a minute. I was running Sims3, so I tried less demaninding applications but had the same result: the screen would switch to the Desktop often and unpredictably. I thought I had a defective Envy, so I returned it and bought another one. Same problem. It seems this model has a systemic defect, or at least the two out of two Envys that I bought both had the identical defect. What are the odds? I'm returning this second machine for a refund, and I'll then be shopping from a local merchant who can tell me how well his machine handles heat. I wouldn't recommend this Envy to anyone for even the simplest applications.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for HP 17.3" Envy dv7-7227cl Laptop PC with AMD A10-4600M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8
11/29/2012
By ,
Missouri
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Windows 8 is very difficult to operate. If you can avoid it, do not buy a computer with Windows 8. Also I don't really like the keyboard. The keys feel different than what I am used to and it makes it hard to type correctly. I think they are just not tall enough. I did find it cool that this computer came with a separate keypad.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for HP 17.3" Envy dv7-7227cl Laptop PC with AMD A10-4600M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8

not to happy with it

11/06/2012
By ,
Wyoming
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I needed a laptop for school but also wanted something that could hold my music and watch movies.Windows 8 is difficult to navigate and find any files. Would be better if it was a touch screen but a far a using it for school its extremely frustrating. While the 17" screen is great for watching a movie, you must never be far from a power source, Battery life is less than the length of a movie. Because of its large size the board is very comfortable.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for HP 17.3" Envy dv7-7227cl Laptop PC with AMD A10-4600M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8

Its a nice machine

01/25/2013
By ,
Austin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Its a nice machine. It is not touch screen so you should not expect that. The only thing I was not happy with was it took Walmart 3-4 days longer to ship it then what it said it would on the shipping webpage.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for HP 17.3" Envy dv7-7227cl Laptop PC with AMD A10-4600M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8
07/01/2013
By ,
Garland, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice laptop for the price, but the fact that it is designed for Windows 8 is a drawback. There are NO drivers available for earlier versions of Windows. HP only has drivers for Win8.
I normally run Linux and I was finally able to get that installed, but doing so wasn't easy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for HP 17.3" Envy dv7-7227cl Laptop PC with AMD A10-4600M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8
07/07/2013
By ,
MYRTLE BEACH, S.C.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
IT WILL ALL BE GOOD WHEN I FIGURE OUT WINDOWS 8.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for HP 17.3" Envy dv7-7227cl Laptop PC with AMD A10-4600M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8
01/24/2013
By ,
Sheboygan, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
FedEx left this product at my front door without ringing my doorbell
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for HP 17.3" Envy dv7-7227cl Laptop PC with AMD A10-4600M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8
Based on the average of (259) ratings-only reviews
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5