Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for HP HP 17.3" Pavilion g7-2217cl Laptop PC with AMD A6-4400M Processor and Windows 8

HP HP 17.3" Pavilion g7-2217cl Laptop PC with AMD A6-4400M Processor and Windows 8

The HP 17.3" Pavilion g7 Laptop PC gives you everything you need to keep in touch, get it done and have some fun, plus stay cool on the go. Load up your music and download pictures with room to spare and built-in protection from bumps. Watch HD movies on a brilliant widescreen display with Dolby Advanced Audio. Turn heads with the HP Pavilion g7's distinctive curvature, chrome speaker accent and textured touchpad. Update your Windows 8 PC to Windows 8.1 for free through the Windows Store
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
30
4 stars
16
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation92%46 out of 50reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 32 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
30
4 stars
16
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for HP 17.3" Pavilion g7-2217cl Laptop PC with AMD A6-4400M Processor and Windows 8

Good Entry Level Computer

12/22/2012
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As said above its a good entry level computer and just that. Personally I wouldn't have spent the $500+ (after taxes#, seeing as in terms of performance this is slightly faster than a 2006 Intel Core 2 Duo E4700 desktop processor. Now don't get me wrong I have nothing against AMD I have 2 computers with AMD's in them #including this one). A couple of things I didn't like about it at first was that the fans were always on, this is easily remedied by going in to the UEFI BIOS and setting the "Fan Always On" feature to Disabled. The second thing that bothered me was the adaptive brightness of the display it was too intrusive in my opinion, to turn that off you have to right click on the desktop and then click AMD vision engine control center and go to "Power">"Power Play"> and uncheck "Enable Vari-Bright". All in all its a decent computer but like I said wouldn't have paid for it...its a good thing my dad won this at his job in a raffle.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for HP 17.3" Pavilion g7-2217cl Laptop PC with AMD A6-4400M Processor and Windows 8
11/02/2012
By ,
Valrico, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the price you cannot beat this system. I was actually surprised that it was available at this price. So far i'm just enjoying this system. I upgraded to 8 gig of RAM. Just fantastic.
Tony
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for HP 17.3" Pavilion g7-2217cl Laptop PC with AMD A6-4400M Processor and Windows 8

Above average

11/29/2012
By ,
Silver Spring, Maryland
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had issues with it at first and Microsoft informed me that it had 80,000+ "gunks" as they called it on the laptop. It was an hour old and he had the nerve to ask me if I had surfed websites. I told him that I only had it for an hour. He told me that for a small fee they would remove the "gunks" and make sure that I didn't get anymore of those. Needless to say I nipped that in the bud. I will say that Windows 8 is NOT compatible with Google, it takes some working with it to figure out where everything is, and you can only use Internet Explorer if you want to get anything downloaded. So other than Microsoft trying some scam run on me, the laptop is pretty good. It doesn't like SIMS on Facebook, but the HD quality when watching a movie is out of this world great along with its surround sound system! I'm a writer and it does what I need it to do. I would definitely recommend the laptop. Microsoft... different story. You can see from the Mountain Dew bottle that it's pretty big. Keep in mind I do use a laptop stand so it's not "that" tall but it's not small either. Hope this helps!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for HP 17.3" Pavilion g7-2217cl Laptop PC with AMD A6-4400M Processor and Windows 8
11/12/2012
By ,
Muskogee,Ok.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is a great Computer for a great price. Windows 8 will take little time to get used to, but its a lot of fun.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for HP 17.3" Pavilion g7-2217cl Laptop PC with AMD A6-4400M Processor and Windows 8
11/05/2012
By ,
Gary, Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My computer isawesome ..I can't put it down ...Thanks HP YOU ROCK!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for HP 17.3" Pavilion g7-2217cl Laptop PC with AMD A6-4400M Processor and Windows 8

nice computer

11/15/2012
By ,
Baytown tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have owned several hp computers in the past. We ordered it on line when we received it and set it up everthing was fine . But after two days it CRASHED!!!!!!!!!! and I took it back to walmart .
We then went to another store a best buy and found the same computer for a cheeper price
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for HP 17.3" Pavilion g7-2217cl Laptop PC with AMD A6-4400M Processor and Windows 8

Love it!!

02/26/2013
By ,
Grants NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I went to Wal-Mart to buy another HP laptop but they were sold out at the store and only had two of these left. I'm so happy that I got this instead. The bigger screen is great!! And I love the graphics when I'm playing a game. I believe that HP is wonderful company and make great products. I will only used their printers. And Windows 8 is very awesome as well. Takes a minute to get use to it, but it's makes it easy to use more than program at a time which I love. Will so recommend this to a friend who is into gaming.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for HP 17.3" Pavilion g7-2217cl Laptop PC with AMD A6-4400M Processor and Windows 8
12/30/2012
By ,
Orlando
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far I have no complains besides having to deal with Windows 8 and a missing software- Is like learning a new language and the instructor doesn't speak your language. Still looking for Microsoft Office Starter 2010: If is here I can't find it. I will repost here once I know for sure. ;-)
But so far I can say this laptop is a very good product at a very good price. Took my old computer, formatted it and gave to my daughter- She is very happy. ;-)
Reg
Jose
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for HP 17.3" Pavilion g7-2217cl Laptop PC with AMD A6-4400M Processor and Windows 8
01/27/2013
By ,
Texas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Have not had it long enough for good review. So far, seems to be pretty slow, it is as slow as my old desktop. also, I am still trying to get used to windows 8, and may delete it.
old man.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for HP 17.3" Pavilion g7-2217cl Laptop PC with AMD A6-4400M Processor and Windows 8

Dollar for Dollar It Is The Best Of Breed

11/27/2012
By ,
Norwalk, Ct.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There is nothing more the average user will really need, bar none. Great Product! Great Machine! Great Price! Great Preformance! And Windows 8 is a bonus!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for HP 17.3" Pavilion g7-2217cl Laptop PC with AMD A6-4400M Processor and Windows 8

Pretty good laptop!

02/22/2013
By ,
Beaumont, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This laptop arrived in excellent condition. It is a great laptop. Runs very smoothly and play games well. I got this laptop for playing the Sims 3. It takes forever to load the game, but the gameplay seemed fine. It played DCUO and Oblivion fine. Great laptop for a great price. It is not bluetooth compatible, but has a built in mic and cam. The cam works great and is completely adjustable for dark rooms. Windows 8 isn't that bad once you get used to it, but I would recommend classic shell. In summary, this is a great laptop.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for HP 17.3" Pavilion g7-2217cl Laptop PC with AMD A6-4400M Processor and Windows 8

Great replacement laptop

02/24/2013
By ,
Lancaster, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is 5th HP or Compaq computer I've purchased, and the 4th laptop. It is a great replacement for my last, which died. Although Windows 8 stinks and crashes as bad as Windows 95, and I'll probably downgrade to Windows 7, it still works great. This is also the 2nd computer I've bought through Wal-Mart, and I've never had any problems with the sale or the delivery. I'd highly recommend purchasing items through them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for HP 17.3" Pavilion g7-2217cl Laptop PC with AMD A6-4400M Processor and Windows 8

nice laptop

02/26/2013
By ,
elkton, md
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It would have gotten higher marks if it didn't have 8 on it, I hate it. I can never find anything when I need it, confusing and I even have a smart phone. I do love HP but Windows 8 is not easy and I'm still trying to figure out how to watch a movie. Whatever happened to the day you just put the dvd in and it plays?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for HP 17.3" Pavilion g7-2217cl Laptop PC with AMD A6-4400M Processor and Windows 8

WOW!!!!!!!!

02/16/2013
By ,
Medina, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife loves this laptop. She had a six year old desktop that worked OK, but I thought it was time to upgrade. This laptop has all the features she will need for a long time. Price & value for dollars spent is great. Highly recommend this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for HP 17.3" Pavilion g7-2217cl Laptop PC with AMD A6-4400M Processor and Windows 8

working great it wasnt the 17.3 wish it were

02/25/2013
By ,
new hampshire
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i like it very much working well for me.
walmart has been very good about my return
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for HP 17.3" Pavilion g7-2217cl Laptop PC with AMD A6-4400M Processor and Windows 8
02/26/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
only problem is that other apps or products show up on screen without any prompts
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for HP 17.3" Pavilion g7-2217cl Laptop PC with AMD A6-4400M Processor and Windows 8
02/26/2013
By ,
Greensboro n c
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is great I love it .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for HP 17.3" Pavilion g7-2217cl Laptop PC with AMD A6-4400M Processor and Windows 8
Based on the average of (33) ratings-only reviews
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5