Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Philips Philips CSS2123/F7B Sound Bar Audio System, Refurbished

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Philips Philips CSS2123/F7B Sound Bar Audio System, Refurbished

Average Customer Rating:
3.632 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
7
3 stars
7
2 stars
5
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation71%27 out of 38reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
7
3 stars
7
2 stars
5
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Philips CSS2123/F7B Sound Bar Audio System, Refurbished

Excellent value soundbar

06/09/2013
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent value for a soundbar with a subwoofer! The sound quality isn't as high end as some of the other models i've heard but for being less than $100, you certainly get a HUGE improvement over the stock speaker sound that comes with your TV.
I connected it through my TV's optical out without any need to mess around with the settings at all ( I have a Vizio). It was also connected through the Music iLink connection (which is just a regular 3.5mm connection) and it played flawlessly. I also have it on RCA in through a bluetooth receiver, which turned my sound bar into a bluetooth compatible soundbar! I love this fact because both the receiver and the sound bar together cost less than $100 and most dedicated bluetooth sound bars start upwards of $200!!
The bass can be a little boomy but its easy enough to adjust through the remote which allows you to control bass and treble and master volume. Its easy to connect, simple, and works great.
Be sure to check out this deal, its fantastic for the price and sounds just as good as those twice its price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 2 for Philips CSS2123/F7B Sound Bar Audio System, Refurbished

Isn't the Dolby Digital model

06/20/2013
By ,
WV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
There are two very similar models of this sound bar. the CSS2123/F7 and CSS2123/F7B (the B is the only difference. This claims to be the "B" model on this website but I received the model without the B. The B model is the one that can receive Dolby Digital signal. The other model can't and so this won't work with my TV since my TV doesn't allow you to turn the Dolby Digital signal off. I knew all of this info before I purchased it which is why I purposely chose this model with the "B". I am returning it ASAP to Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 3 for Philips CSS2123/F7B Sound Bar Audio System, Refurbished
06/08/2013
By ,
Brandon ms
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's ok but didn't come with everything needed to connect it to my television other than that though it surprised me that such a small bar makes such a big sound
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 4 for Philips CSS2123/F7B Sound Bar Audio System, Refurbished

great sound

06/07/2013
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
it takes a little getting used to the remote, but the sound is awesome.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 5 for Philips CSS2123/F7B Sound Bar Audio System, Refurbished

the product (refurbished) did NOT work.

08/25/2013
By ,
Houston, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
im sure it would have been a good product. but the refurbished product did not work and had to be returned.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 6 for Philips CSS2123/F7B Sound Bar Audio System, Refurbished

Good enough sound for TV for a medium sized room

06/29/2013
By ,
SW Missouri Ozarks
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good value overall. Better sound than from our 46" LED LCD TV. OK for casual music listening. Dialog is clearer. Nice bass. Cleaning up the sound profile took a while. Rated it down a star fot the irritation of having to run down a button cell battery before I could turn the thing on, because, unlike EVERY SINGLE OTHER remote bundled in an electronic purchase in the past five years or more, THIS had no battery for the remote, and NATURALLY it was a format not as common as the ordinary AA or AAA batteries in many remotes. Aggravation: unnecessary, ESPECIALLY since the remote is the ONLY means of turning the device on. Not cool.
Still, once I dug up a battery for the remote and got the balance dialed in, it's adequate for the medium-sized (13'X20') room it's in and does correct the problem of the wimpy TV speakers' poor reproduction of dialog in TV and movies.
NOTE: all our sound reproduction in this room is now funneled through this soundbar via the digital audio connection from the TV, since all other video and audio (streaming video, mp3s, CDs and DVDs) are relayed through the TV via HDMI from the connected media center PC. As I said, music reproduction is OK for casual listening, and since I have better means of reproduction for "serious" music listening, that's just fine b y me.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for Philips CSS2123/F7B Sound Bar Audio System, Refurbished

Great Product & Sound for the $$

09/23/2013
By ,
Arizona
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this unit new so can't comment on the condition or quality of a refurbished unit. It has an optical out and the sound through this connection is superb for my LG 42" Flatscreen TV located in the bedroom. Dialog is crisp and clear and the woofer bass is adequate. It is very slim so it doesn't interfere with the remote receiver on the TV. Indicator lights on this unit are on top and out of visual sight from the front but that hasn't bothered me. I adjust the sound based on my tastes and not on visual controls. However, my primary gripe was the remote control and the lack of programming the soundbar via a third party remote. I have cable and have since found many of the cable companies use similar if not identical remotes sourced through Universal Electronics. Reference their remote codes online for your specific remote model (if you have cable). I did find a recommended code for this soundbar model. The code only controls the volume up/down but that was my ultimate goal. It does not turn the sound bar on/off but I'm assuming the soundbar will go into standby mode (better than nothing) when the TV is turned off. Note: If you try this route enter the code then instead of hitting power on/off try volume up/down instead. If it works you've obtained minimum control of at least the volume from the third party remote.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Arizona
Product spec correction
Posted 09/23/2013
Typo correction: This unit has optical in
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Philips CSS2123/F7B Sound Bar Audio System, Refurbished

Great Surround Sound

09/08/2013
By ,
Sacramento, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just exactly what I expected. 2 minutes to set up and the sound is better than I expected especially for the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for Philips CSS2123/F7B Sound Bar Audio System, Refurbished
08/30/2013
By ,
Columbia, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was quite pleased with the way the dialogue
Was enhanced. Nice option for the size
area I have.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Philips CSS2123/F7B Sound Bar Audio System, Refurbished

A must Have!

08/09/2013
By ,
Carteret, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the refurbished Vizio 60" flat screen. Excellent TV except for the speakers. This product was a perfect addition. Great sound quality. I am in TV/Sound heaven!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 11 for Philips CSS2123/F7B Sound Bar Audio System, Refurbished
12/08/2012
By ,
Lower Lake, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Purchased as a gift and rated average as it has not been hooked up yet. (Christmas gift)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-23points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Philips CSS2123/F7B Sound Bar Audio System, Refurbished
Based on the average of (27) ratings-only reviews
3.6 out of 5
3.6 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5