Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Marquis Matsunichi 9.7" Tablet with 8GB Memory

Marquis Matsunichi 9.7" Tablet with 8GB Memory

The Matsunichi Marquis MP977 Android 4.0 WiFi Tablet lets you get more done on the go with built-in WiFi and Bluetooth for cable-free connectivity. The Matsunichi Marquis MP977 Android 4.0 WiFi Tablet runs on the fast and intuitive Android 4.0 operating system for quick and easy navigation of the 9.7" high resolution multi-touch display. A front-facing webcam lets you video chat with your friends and family using the 9.7-inch tablet.
Average Customer Rating:
3.461 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation69%18 out of 26reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 40 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Matsunichi 9.7" Tablet with 8GB Memory

BEWARE!!!

01/24/2014
By ,
Austin, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I went through three of these until it was out of warranty and they would not fix or replace it anymore. The first one I had developed a few dead pixel after about a week of use. I replaced it at the store and it was fine for about six months when it developed a dark spot about the size of a nickle. I sent it under warranty back to the manufacturer and they replaced it. About a month after the warranty expired and only five months after it had been replaced it will not charge or turn on. The companies response was that its out of warranty and so it is my problem. As a matter of law they are correct, it was passed thirteen months since I bought it but come on, three major manufacturer defects and within a year. That's a lemon of a tablet if ever there was one. Buy it at your own risk!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Matsunichi 9.7" Tablet with 8GB Memory

1st tablet

01/14/2013
By ,
Denton, tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did a lot of research before purchasing this tablet. From what I gathered on techy websites and blogs from those who have tried this tablet out.. it seems that it's very competative and similar to an ipad in it's size and majority of capabilities. However, it's an android device and the inside components work as an android. Its runs on the Ice Cream Sandwich operating system instead of the newer JellyBean operating system but it's still super fast. I purchased an extra memory card for more storage but it comes with enough space for the average user, i think. Over all, I would recommend this product BUT I also recommend that you get the $19 2 year extended warranty through walmart - it's actually cheaper than most 2yr warranties like say at places suchs as Best Buy. It's worth the money and I'm 100% happy with this tablet. It also fits most all cases that ipads fit into.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Matsunichi 9.7" Tablet with 8GB Memory

Beware of Battery Problems

01/23/2013
By ,
Spokane, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought two of these tablets, one for me and the other for my son. Right when we got them we charged them and checked for any firmware updates. Both were updated. Unfortunately, the tablet would shut down anywhere between 15-30% battery charge without warning. Then in order to turn it back on I had to do a hard reset every time. I contacted the manufacturer since they had a firmware update that specifically addressed this battery issue, but was told since it was already updated it was a manufacturer defect and to return it to the store. I returned both to Walmart and purchased another from Best Buy - same thing and the one I received from Best Buy would not stay connected to the wifi but the first two from Walmart would.
I loved this tablet. It had amazingly fast internet when connected to wifi, great graphics with clear and bright colors. But with the battery issue I had to rate it at 1 star.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Matsunichi 9.7" Tablet with 8GB Memory

Not fun to use at all.

01/20/2013
By ,
Blountville, Tn.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
PROS:
1- Decently fast processor.
2- Good color.
3- Charges fairly quickly.
4- Google play was one of the reasons I bought this. That's a nice feature.
CONS:
1- I had an issue where the on-screen keyboard was popping up sometimes when I was scrolling down a webpage.
2- At 2.5 pounds and the smooth rounded sides, it is difficult to hold with one hand while scrolling with the other. This may be the case with all 10-inch tablets, I don't know.
3- The wifi internal antenna is VERY weak. I couldn't connect to my router which was only 50 feet away (no walls or doors in the way). This isn't a problem with my router since my Wii and PS3 connect to it just fine.
4- No standard USB port on the tablet. It has a proprietary port with a USB cable that attaches to this port for USB connectivity. I knew this before buying the tablet, but still a con.
5- Low amount of memory on-board. I knew this as well. I was planning on buying a 32gig card as an additional purchase, but fortunately decided to return it for a refund before I bought the card.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Matsunichi 9.7" Tablet with 8GB Memory

Nice tablet and great company customer service

01/30/2013
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a really nice tablet, feels very solid, is pretty fast for surfing the web. It does have GPS on it. I love the size and the Google Play Store. You cannot get Flash from Google Play store any more, but there is a great browser that works that you can purchase there for $5 that will play flash. Or you can sideload the Flash player. I did that, but wonder if it may have had something to do with a problem I had with the tablet freezing up and shutting down. I do think the freezing up problem had to do with the battery though. Even though I had this problem, I rate this tablet 5 stars because the company that makes this tablet has excellent customer service and they were very helpful. They said if I could not get the problem to resolve, they would send me a new one that was tested. I believe I do have the problem fixed with a firmware update that they sent me via email. They were very prompt and thorough with their responses. I see others had battery problems and I'm wondering if they tried this update from the company.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Matsunichi 9.7" Tablet with 8GB Memory

Great tablet if you're realistic!

01/05/2013
By ,
new york
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First of all this is not a $600 iPad or Galaxy 10.1 so do not expect it to be. It is however a bright, crisp, nice display with a responsive screen and well known Texas instruments dual core processor. It has all the essentials. Front face camera for chat, good battery life, Bluetooth, GPS, expandable memory with micro SD card and friendly fast tech support. My sons have Nexus 7 tablets and just received the 4.2.1 update. This tablet is a few updates behind still being 4.0.3. My phone is 4.1.1; these operating systems all look and act basically the same so don't freak out about older firmware. The people at Matsunichi told me this unit can handle the upgrade easily but there is no time table for it. Now to some other things. No there is not a HDMI port nor micro USB but honestly when do you connect your tablet to your TV via HDMI but if you want to there is an adapter available to connect HDMI cable through the 30 pin charging port (similar but not the same as iPad set up). There is also an adaptor for an Ethernet cable if you wanted a wired connection for updates (realistically most do it wirelessly anyway). The brand is also coming out with its own line of accessories shortly. Those who had an issue may have received tablets that needed firmware updates and if they contacted the company before returning would have received fast and professional tech support. My questions were answered in less than a day. Hope this review helps. I personally am very satisfied with my Matsunichi Marquis Pad.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Matsunichi 9.7" Tablet with 8GB Memory
01/13/2013
By ,
Benton, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got it to carry with me instead of my heavy laptop. Just charged it up, and ready to use. Easy to load programs. Has a variety of apps that are free through google. A great value for the money! I'm not computer savvy, but it's easy to navigate, and I have no trouble using the keyboard.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Matsunichi 9.7" Tablet with 8GB Memory

Excellent tablet for the money

10/06/2012
By ,
drakeyw
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tablet connects to the internet quickly and is great for email, playing games & watching movies on Netfix. It is awesome that this produt already has Google Playstore built in!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+62points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Matsunichi 9.7" Tablet with 8GB Memory

LePan II upgrade to ICS

09/09/2012
By ,
04401
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Being a proud owner of LePan II, I have to say that this is Matsunichi's upgrade to ICS. I am sure the Marquis pad will be well worth its price. This is an excellent company and have really gone way beyond the call of duty supplying the public with a wonderful device at a very decent price point. I could not be happier with LePan II. It never fails to amaze me the more I get to know it and the more apps I discover on Google is mind boggling I probably will not be purchasing another tablet for awhile but if I do, I will definitely go with Matsunichi again.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Does it have rear camera?
Posted 10/26/2012
Pete744
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Matsunichi 9.7" Tablet with 8GB Memory

The Tablet that Gives the Most Bang for the Buck

04/09/2013
By ,
Massapequa, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this tablet for my teenage daughter in lieu of upgrading her new cellphone to a smartphone. Her school uses iPad's, so she already had a working knowledge of what applications she could use a tablet for. Although this is NOT the equivalent of an iPad, it does offer a similar surface area at high resolution, good speed with its dual core Texas Instruments processors, and the ability to update available RAM without bleeding your bank dry.
Bottom line : The screen is pleasing to the eye and its HD capabilities enhances that experience.
The battery doesn't seem to last very long when watching videos ( about 3.4 hours ) but that is expected.
Overall, I am extremely satisfied with my purchase and I didn't have to sell a kidney to get it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Matsunichi 9.7" Tablet with 8GB Memory
01/22/2013
By ,
fort worth,Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product,I'm impressed with the tablet it does what it was purchased for, entertainment
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Matsunichi 9.7" Tablet with 8GB Memory

Great Tablet

02/12/2013
By ,
Fullerton, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my 12 year old and so far seems to be working perfectly. It does everything he wants and then some. I have been debating on whether to get one for myself or a Kindle Fire HD Tablet, so I dowloaded the Kindle app and brought up my account. All of my books were there and works seamlessly so will probably buy another. The salesperson at Staples told me that the Kindle app doesn't work that great on non-Kindle tablets, so am glad I checked it out for myself!
The only negative I would have is that it seems to work best when my son is close to the modem. When he brings it out to the living room, it occasionally drops the signal, but comes right back.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Matsunichi 9.7" Tablet with 8GB Memory

good tablet for first time users

03/12/2013
By ,
Dunkirk, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The color is excellent, graphics are great. Easy to start up and use. A little difficult to handle, though. Features said it was 1.6 lbs but feels heavier than that, a little bit on the bulky side to hold. The operating system is great, easy to move from one screen to another. Has a really good help guide already in the program with good tips on how to use the tablet and operate it properly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Matsunichi 9.7" Tablet with 8GB Memory
05/09/2013
By ,
Il.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I am new to tablets. Not as easy as I would of liked to set up.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Matsunichi 9.7" Tablet with 8GB Memory
01/11/2013
By ,
Albuquerque, NM
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First one I received did not work at all. Called and it was defective. The 2nd on order works great, good quality and nice graphics
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Matsunichi 9.7" Tablet with 8GB Memory

Love it!

03/30/2013
By ,
Nekoosa, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is for my 83 year old mother-in-law and she just loves how big the screen is.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Matsunichi 9.7" Tablet with 8GB Memory

My son loves it!!

03/21/2013
By ,
Ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works pretty well, battery lasts long, download games pretty fast. Its a bit heavy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Matsunichi 9.7" Tablet with 8GB Memory

The worst thing ever!

12/30/2012
By ,
HIALEAH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased two of it for my two boys, since 2 weeks, I was so proud of the purchase that make when for 1 week, when I turn it on,it got black and white, I turn it off and on i million of times but nothing, the same happened with the other one that was the same brand, today i am returning both of them, I am not geting the same brand this time, not again!. What happend to me can happen to you, do not waste your time and money, I am staying with Double Power it's 9 inch and cost 100,I think is a better deal because my cousin has one and it works perfectly fine, I am not doing this review to get money or something else, I just do not want you to get involve in a waste of money and time for this tablet.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Matsunichi 9.7" Tablet with 8GB Memory

A Waste of time and Money

03/30/2013
By ,
LA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ive had three of these from different sources including Walmart and none of them have worked, Do Not waste your time and money
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Matsunichi 9.7" Tablet with 8GB Memory
01/15/2013
By ,
Illonois
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
took it out of the box, pluged it into the charger, and it would not charge
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 22 total reviews
1 2 Next