Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Laila Ali Laila Ali Ionic Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer, LADR5604

Laila Ali Laila Ali Ionic Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer, LADR5604

The Laila Ali Ionic Soft Bonnet hair dryer, LADR5604, is an ideal hair dryer. Thanks to its ionic technology, the soft bonnet dryer helps retain moisture to prevent breakage for shinier, healthier-looking hair. These ionic hair dryers are adjustable and feature two heat/speed settings.
Average Customer Rating:
4.298 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
33
4 stars
14
3 stars
7
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation89%51 out of 57reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 25 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
33
4 stars
14
3 stars
7
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Laila Ali Ionic Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer, LADR5604

Great product; serves its purpose

09/30/2013
By ,
Abu Dhabi, UAE
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was looking for a portable dryer or steamer that I could use to deep condition my hair. Once I found this product, it appeared to be exactly what I was looking for. For the price, I think this item was worth it. In reading the previous reviews, I do not agree with most of them. For example, the heat setting was definitely hot enough and that was on the Low setting. I have no complaints at all on the temperature of the dryer. Also, the noise level was very tolerable, as Im not sure what else would be expected from a fan-operated machine. The only issue that I had was the hose attachment. Before use, I was able to plug the hose into the bonnet with no problem. After about 3 minutes of use, the hose kept detaching from the bonnet. I thought heat caused expansion but it seemed that the heat actually caused the attachment to shrink because the hose no longer fits in the bonnet. I actually had to use tape to secure it in place, but surely that didnt take away from what the dryer actually does and that is WORKS!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Laila Ali Ionic Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer, LADR5604

ITS PERFECT !

03/13/2014
By ,
TEXAS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ITS VISUALY NICE UPDATED PURPLE AND BLACK IN COLOR,ITS GOT A FLAT BOTTOM THAT ALLOWS IT TO STAND WHEN NOT INUSE THE FLAT BOTTOM HELPS WHEN TRAVELING BECAUSE IT FITS FLESH IN SIDE THE OF YOUR LUGGAGE. IT HAS TWO SETTINGS HOT AND COOL, HOWEVER I DISCOVERED IF YOU PUSH COOL FIRST IT WILL BE COOL BUT IF YOU PUSH COOL AFTER ITS BEEN ON HOT, IT SEEMS TO SWITCH TO A MEDIUM HEAT ( NICE ). THE FAN SETTINGS ARE HI AND LOW .THE FLOW OF HEAT IS EVEN AND SUBSTANTIAL AND INFLATES THE BONNETT FULLY. THE BONNETT IS OBLONG SHAPED BUT IT WORKS WITH PRETTY LARGE ROLLERS. THE CONNECTION FROM THE DRYER TO THE BONNETT IS NOT COMPATABLE WITH THE OLD FASHIONED DRYERS(I TRIED IT WITH AN OLD BONNETT) THE HOSE IS LONG ENOUGH TO SIT IN BED AND DRY YOUR HAIR OR SIT AT A TABLE... ON THE BACK IT HAS TWO INDENTIONS TO MOUNT ON THE WALL FOR STORAGE . I LOVE IT
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Laila Ali Ionic Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer, LADR5604

So far so good!

01/12/2014
By ,
Miami, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am under the hairdryer as I am writing this review.
Of course, to make my time go by faster, I began reading the reviews for this product here on Walmart. Here is mine.
Heat in the neck? I am not wearing mine with the hose on my neck but upward towards the front of my head. So, having the heat bother my neck is not an issue. In case that were to happen, I would simply wear a towel like I do at the salon.
Time drying? I normally last an hour on any dryer. So, I will do the same on this, at least for the first time.
Noise? Its a whole lot better than my last. My last one sounded like an airplane taking off and remained that way the whole time through.
Portability? I love it!!! I just might take it on my next travel. I travel often. '
The only place I won't take it to is to NYC. Because they do my hair for half the cost that I pay here in Florida. So why not have them do it.
Heat? So far the heat is quite potent and sufficient. I like that!
Comfort? Totally!
Hood? Holds well in place. At least with the rollers. I have not tried it for just hair treatments but I am sure that I will find a way around that in the event that the bonnet does not hold in place.
Hose? Popped in place and never came off.
Color? Nice electric purple. Very pretty and lady like.
If it would have come in turquoise, I would have been beyond excited.
Price? $40 at the store. I wish it could have been less but I made my peace with it.
Still think that it is a good buy. $40 that is one trip to the salon. So, I am not complaining.
Handsfree? yes!! I would have to hold my old one that was falling apart on me. So this is like butter.
Well, I am done with the review. But still drying my hair. I will come back and add comments about the results afterwards.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Laila Ali Ionic Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer, LADR5604

Great product!

10/30/2013
By ,
East Orange, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this bonnet dryer so I could do at home deep condition and hot oil treatments. I was happy to find it also works great to dry my hair after setting into a style. My hair was dry in about 20-30 minutes after setting in bantu knots (I'm natural). The ONLY draw back about this dryer, which is actually a PRETTY WEIGHTY ONE, is that when the speed is set to high the bonnet will lift off your head. I tried securing it with the drawstring, but that only started burning my scalp at the nape of my neck, I think if the drawstring is too tight it pushes the hot air directly onto your scalp in a more concentrated way. When on low speed I don't have this problem, but higher speed usually equals less time so I'm just going to play around with it for the best positioning. Also, a towel is needed to drape around your shoulders.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Manhattan
Thanks for your review...
Posted 12/29/2013
I've been looking for something like this for my weekly conditioning regiment (I'm natural also). Has it gotten better for you, in reference to securing it to your head on the highest setting?
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Laila Ali Ionic Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer, LADR5604

Couldn't Be Happier!

01/26/2014
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have long, thick, wavy hair. I had grown tired of standing with a hair dryer for ages, trying to dry my hair section by section -- until the portable dryer motor conks out. I decided to look into what I considered to be an old-fashiioned method of drying my hair: the bonnet. I went with this model and I have never been happier with a purchase! It is compact and easy to store, the heating element/motor works great and the bonnet fits over the largest curlers! I just pull the cords to fit it around my head (and over my ears so they don't get too hot) and hop on my laptop for 15 minutes while my hair dries. Cannot believe I did not try this years before.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Laila Ali Ionic Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer, LADR5604

Best i've ever owned

01/15/2014
By ,
batonrouge
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very nice hair dryer it so small, it works really well. I gave this dryer to my teen daughter as a Christmas gift, she is very happy with it. It does the job, and does it well. I just hope it will last for some time, because I have purchased six month hair driers in the past, this seem too good to be short lived. Perfect size bonnet is a little small with head full of roller, but other than that it’s great.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Laila Ali Ionic Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer, LADR5604

It's good for the price

04/22/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like the size of the dryer. What I don't like is the tube keeps coming apart from the bonnet. It doesn't lock. The dryer that's pictured, isn't the dryer that I actually have. It's designed a little different and the bonnet is white. I was a little bothered by that. But all in all, it's doing the job so far.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Laila Ali Ionic Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer, LADR5604

I love it the size is just right

04/18/2014
By ,
Cleveland,Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love it
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Laila Ali Ionic Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer, LADR5604

it's a relevation!

05/06/2013
By ,
Cumming, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm pretty normal, you know.....hates being under a hair dryer, but want the results. So I was kinda happy about getting this. Prior to buying, the reviews have been wonderful. The only quirks were adjusting the bonnet and the dryer getting hot on your neck. That is all true. The dryer is effortless when you have a roller set because the bonnet is big enough to cover everything. But when you are just drying your hair, the bonnet is a little hard to adjust down to size. Plus this thing gets super hot. It can completely dry my flat twist out after a wash in just a hour. And it's sooooo comfortable. It comes in such a small case that I can even pack it for a flight!!! I love it and whatever quirks it may have are so worth dealing with for these amazing results.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Laila Ali Ionic Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer, LADR5604

Loved it!

03/25/2013
By ,
GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read online reviews prior to purchasing this dryer and I noticed a lot of the reviewers had common issues with this dryer. Still I purchased it anyway and tried it for the first time yesterday. Here's MY opinion in regards to the common concerns:
- "ITS TOO HOT" or "TOO MUCH HEAT ON MY NECK": I started out using the hottest setting on this dryer and I loved the heat. As another review stated, maybe I just have a high tolerance for heat??? Personally, I've been under some hotter dryers in the salon - this was a walk in the park. I kept a towel on the back of my neck from when I was roller setting my hair so I didn't notice any heat there either. Maybe the vents on their bonnet was positioned in a way to blow heat directly on their neck??? Someone mentioned turning the bonnet around to have the hose facing upwards, it wasn't necessary for me but that's a great idea if you experience discomfort.
- "THE BONNET SLIPS OFF": I used this on my 4 year old as well (after I used myself as a Guinea pig) no issues with slipping off of our heads.
- "NOT ENOUGH TEMPERATURE SETTINGS": 1st and foremost it says 2 heat settings on the box, if that's not enough - don't buy it. Also, when you include the other settings I feel that really it has more than two settings. On the left side there is a switch for hot/cold and on the right side hi/low (which changes how fast it blows or the force of air flow). So you can use Hi-hot, Low-hot, Hi-cool, Low-cool...good enough for me!
- "ITS TOO LOUD": I read this from other sites. This is how I look at it..... ... ... it's a blow dryer a little noise is expected. I assumed they meant unusually loud, but it sounded like any other dryer to me. It didn't disturb anyone in my household (I did my hair 12am) and I was still watching tv - of course, I turned it up the volume a little, but then again I never had a dryer that was silent either.
I used the dryer with jumbo rollers (1 3/4"). I was expecting my usual 1 1/2 of drying time, but my hair was dry in an hour which is record breaking for my hair. My ears did not get hot and I tried tucking them in for a while and leaving them out for a while to see which way felt better. I loved the heat, it was cozy to me. I will say that the hose gets very hot, the way I had the dryer positioned next to me the hose was touching my bare arm, but I pulled my sleeve down and all was well. I think case is very stylish and I don't even like purple like that. It doesn't feel cheap or like it will fall apart. I'm a neat freak so I love the compartments inside the case so that everything is neatly tucked away when i'm done. It took me a while to decide if I would purchase a hard or soft bonnet dryer - I'm glad I bought this one because I can use this thing anywhere. So far, no complaints :)
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+77points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Laila Ali Ionic Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer, LADR5604

Great dryer

04/30/2013
By ,
Richmond, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to use. I like the carry case, which is suitable for travel and it dries the hair fast and well. My hair is medium length and thick but my hair dries in 30 minutes. I used it a lot recently when I had to be at the pool everyday for 3 days and had to shampoo out the chlorine from my hair those 3 days but my hair never dried out but instead it always came out soft and shiny. Excellent dryer.
Some people mentioned that the hose gets super hot and it does but I avoid it touching me by wearing a towel around my neck when drying my hair.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Laila Ali Ionic Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer, LADR5604

Works Good for first use!

02/15/2013
By ,
Cleveland OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this a week ago and used it today. After reading the reviews I was a little skeptical but I enjoyed using it. I know that past reviews said that it gets hot in the back by neck but what I did was turn the hose around and had the hot air coming on my hair from the side instead of the back. Worked great dried my hair and I love it. I would recommend this to a friend
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Laila Ali Ionic Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer, LADR5604

Great product!

11/11/2013
By ,
Kansas City, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was so excited to purchase the Laila Ali Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer. After reading the great reviews on Youtube, I had to have one! This dryer comes in a cute, compact case. The heat has a steady flow and didn't take a lot of time to dry my hair. I like the fact that it wasn't too loud and I was able to watch tv while drying my hair.
I would definitely recommend this product especially for women with natural hair. Thanks Laila for bringing a new look to a retro product (my mom use to have one way back in the day!)
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Laila Ali Ionic Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer, LADR5604

Great value!!

03/30/2014
By ,
North Jersey
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very surprised; lots of power in such a compact dryer. Love it!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Laila Ali Ionic Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer, LADR5604

Good soft bonnet dryer, great for big rollers.

06/25/2013
By ,
New York, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pretty good dryer. I like the large bonnet with the tie. Stays on and covers my entire head with all my big rollers. Seems to dry pretty evenly. Has four temperature settings (heat-hi, heat-low, cool- high, cool-low). The heat-hi does get pretty hot, so I don't keep it on that setting the entire time. Nice case to keep the dryer and hood in. Storage is always an issue for me, so I like that this one stays neat in a pretty case. I usually sit on the couch when I'm drying my hair, so the only issue I have is that the top of the case sometimes falls and tries to close, but I guess this would be alleviated if it were sitting on a hard surface. So all in all, it's a pretty nice dryer so far. I'm curious to see how the hose is going to hold up. The last dryer I had was the golden n hot ionic bonnet dryer. That was my favorite dryer by far and I had it for years but I can't seem to find it anywhere. The hood attached to a square motor and the motor had a strap that went around your neck. So could walk around with it and I didn't have any square case or anything that needed to rest on a hard surface, or any surface for that matter. The Laila Ali is a pretty nice replacement. I would recommend it. We'll see if it lasts as long as my last dryer, which I had for over 4 years.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Washington
Good soft bonnet dryer........
Posted 12/06/2013
Hi Artist4252832,
The Golden N Hot Soft Bonnet Jumbo Ionic Dryer that you're describing can be found at www.sallybeauty.com. Just look under the "bonnet hair dryers" catagory at that web site. Also, your area might have a Sally's Beauty Supply store where you can purchase it in store. Thankyou for your great review.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Laila Ali Ionic Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer, LADR5604

Best dryer

12/20/2012
By ,
Clinton, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I must say that I was a little standish about buy this dryer because I was using Corel for the pass couple of years. I thought that maybe it would only get worst if I went to another brand but I'm glad I took the chance on it. It dries my hair in half the time and fits with my big rollers. The only thing I don't like is that it's to loud.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Laila Ali Ionic Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer, LADR5604

Just okay

03/26/2014
By ,
Atlanta, GA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I really wanted to like this one. Compared to the hard hat dryers I figured you can sit anywhere and use it plus it would be easier to store. It was okay. It didn't dry my hair evenly but if you can live with that you might enjoy this.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Laila Ali Ionic Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer, LADR5604
11/27/2012
By ,
Lancaster, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It gets the job done but like others have said it does get hot on the lower back part of your next, so rather than hot to cold it should have a temperature dial instead.
The other downside is that if you dont tie the bonnet "around" your head it will slip off...I dont think this will do well for my 4 1/2 year old and she is the one that I really purchased this for so I could deep condition her hair...
I wonder if Laila Ali sat under her "OWN" product?? I think if she had she would have done something different here and there....just my opinion...
Other than that...it does the job and works well...Hope I was able to assist you...Happy Holidays ;-)
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Laila Ali Ionic Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer, LADR5604

Love this dryer

03/23/2014
By ,
Detroit
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dries quickly and efficiently use it for flexi rod curls, and twist out love it
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Laila Ali Ionic Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer, LADR5604

Works well

03/20/2014
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was skeptical when I bought this hair dryer, but it does the job very nicely. It's compact and easy to put back into the case. Once again I can dry my hair while working on the computer. :-)
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 54 total reviews
1 2 3 Next