Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Kent International 26" Northwoods,Tandem Bike 21-Speed Dual Drive

Kent International 26" Northwoods,Tandem Bike 21-Speed Dual Drive

Enjoy a bicycle built for two without breaking the bank with the Northwoods 21-Speed Dual Drive Tandem Bike. The durable, high-quality bike is comfortable and stylish with a pair of soft gel saddles and extra-wide, bump-gobbling 2.1-inch tires. The components, meanwhile, are built for long-lasting use, including the 21-speed Shimano drive train, Revo twist shifters and reliable alloy linear pull V brakes. Best of all, the frame features low stand-over heights (29 inches in the front and 20 inches in back), making it easy for both riders to hop on. Also equipped with a pair of water bottle holders and a heavy-duty kickstand, the 26" Tandem Bike is perfect for people who want to spend a little quality time with a spouse or good friend. Please note: If you select Site to Store delivery, your bike(s) will not be assembled upon pickup.
Average Customer Rating:
4.565 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation96%22 out of 23reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 47 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 26" Northwoods,Tandem Bike 21-Speed Dual Drive

Damaged in shipping

12/24/2012
By ,
Columbus, GA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This bike seems to be of good quality, however I didn't get the chance to experience it as it got damaged in shipping... the back wheel was not round anymore... one section of the wheel was flat. I returned it and I will buy another one.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 26" Northwoods,Tandem Bike 21-Speed Dual Drive
11/03/2012
By ,
San Diego
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The bike was a gift and she loves it so now we can ride at all the Cycle Armory Discover San Diego's Mission Bay bike rides together .... Bike On
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 26" Northwoods,Tandem Bike 21-Speed Dual Drive

Great Tandem for the Price

04/19/2014
By ,
Northern Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ordered it for home delivery. Arrived a day before expected. It was mostly assembled so it only took me about an hour to complete the assembly. There was no shipping damage. We've taken several rides on it with no issues. The 21 speeds provide a very wide range of pedaling torque which makes it very easy to take hills and fast on the flat lands. The brakes work fine, seats are comfortable, easy to ride and it's fun!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 26" Northwoods,Tandem Bike 21-Speed Dual Drive

Good Bike for the price, fun to ride.

12/31/2013
By ,
Venice FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this Bike for my Wife and I, She is blind and this is the only option to ride for her. Overall I'm pleased with the bike, It's a good value for the price (some Tandems go for $2500), seems sturdy enough for local Road and paved trails. It was easily assembled. If you are "Husky" riders inflate the tires to 65 lbs or it will feel "wobbly" and if haven't ridden tandem it will take a little practice, the long wheelbase takes some getting used to, ride it a few times solo to get accustomed to it, all that being said it's fun to ride with a little practice. The only negative thing I can say is, you will probably want to replace the seats, my butt got sore long before my legs got tired. I bought 2 big comfortable Schwinn seats for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 26" Northwoods,Tandem Bike 21-Speed Dual Drive

Incredible value!

04/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
exceeded my expectations.assembled quickly..although front brake a bit triky if u r not schooled a bit in bike mechanics.Great family fun which enables quality time together.no phones no gadgets..jyst the headwind and great endorpgin induced conversation.buy a bell metal basket for the front and get milk eggs etc while you are out.Quality and engineering which i would expect in a more exoensive bike.fill the tires to at least 50 Psi for best ride.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 26" Northwoods,Tandem Bike 21-Speed Dual Drive

Great Deal, great quality and super fun to ride

11/02/2013
By ,
Santa Cruz, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted to get a bike where I could put my blind father on the back and this was the perfect bike. I rated it "Good" instead of "Excellent" in the "Ease of Setup" rating because I have been raised with bikes and taking them apart and reassembling them and I thought that if someone were not raised with this, that they may not be able to put this together and may need to take it to a bike shop to finish the assembly. Even if that were the case, it would not cost much to do so, and the price of the bike and the quality is great. The seats are Super comfortable, and the tires are good for any road conditions. It is stable and fun to ride.
The bike comes in a box and you need to:
* put on the pedals - all four since there are two cranks
* attach the two water bottle racks
* put on the reflectors (optional)
* put on the metal guard over the back gears
* pump up the tires
* attach the front tire to the bike
* put in the front and rear handle bars - tightening them each properly) The front handle bar must be tightened properly as this also controls the front tire staying in line with the handlebars.
* adjust the front brakes- I also adjusted the placement of the brake pads so that they hit directly onto the side of the rim.
* put on the seats - put in the seat posts and tighten
Then test it out and go for a ride.
I added a back bike rack and attached a horn on the front handle bars - not included.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 26" Northwoods,Tandem Bike 21-Speed Dual Drive

works fine rides nice,,

04/23/2014
By ,
belding, mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the instructions leave a little to be desired, but just looking at the way others things are put together it isn't a problem. all works fine
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 26" Northwoods,Tandem Bike 21-Speed Dual Drive

Fun for 2 riders&only 1 if no passengers available

11/02/2013
By ,
Gulf Shores, Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We love the bike...it is lightweight and a breeze to ride whether there are two riders or if you just want to ride when no one else is available. Great fun....beautiful bike!! Wal-Mart assembled it so it was ready to go that night!! Takes a little practice for new riders to learn to synchronize the pedals as with all tandems and then you are on your way to tour your surroundings on the nearby bike paths.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 26" Northwoods,Tandem Bike 21-Speed Dual Drive

So-So bike and poor Kent Bikes customer service

03/17/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Well, this bike did arrive promptly from Walmart. After that the comedy or errors began.
1. The assembly instructions included were for a completely different bike...not even a tandem.
2. There were missing parts (missing retaining washers for the front tire and a missing washer for the rear handlebar clamp.
3. The front brake adjustment was off.
4. The bike is heavy....just know that...it is a steel frame but heavy.
5. The front reflector cracked off easily.
6. After the first ride, the front tire tube deflated.
7. Emails to Kent Bike customer service netted me a phone number to a rep who I could never get on the phone or return my calls. I filled out their form, gave them my model number, and uploaded my Waltmart receipt/invoice. They did send out a new reflector (wrong style), two retaining washers (didn't fit - for wrong bike), a new head washer, and a new tube (wrong size and style with long stem for diff bike).
8. Using this bike, the default gear setting caused poor and stiff shifting. Not good at all.
9. With two people peddling hard and using gears, this bike is exhausting when climbing any sort of hill. Don't expect to put mom or grandma on the back and cruise around where there are any hills. You wont have fun.
10. After my first week, my new tube on the front wheel flattened AGAIN. Don't know why. Rim or tire issue? Unknown. We have several other regular one-seater bikes, have ridden them all over for years, and have never had a flat. This bike? Two flat front tubes in a week.
While tandems are fun, you get what you pay for (a cheap and heavy tandem with poor customer service). If you want to have a good experience, don't buy this bike and spend a little more for something nicer.
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for 26" Northwoods,Tandem Bike 21-Speed Dual Drive

Love it!

08/30/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first tandem bicycle. It came in a long box, partially assembled. It took me about an hour to assemble the bike. It was not hard at all considering this is my first time to assemble a bike. The most tricky part was the front brake.
The riding was great, The riding is a bit different from riding a normal single bike. But the transition was easy. It took me a few minutes to get used to it to ride in a normal safe speed.
The turning is a bit different, as well as the paddling.
We love the bike! It is a nice and fun bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for 26" Northwoods,Tandem Bike 21-Speed Dual Drive

Great for the price

04/04/2013
By ,
Arizona
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The bike is nice, good quality, sturdy and loads of fun! There are a few features that would really take this bike to the next level, but for the price, it was an excellent buy!
I generally ride a $3000 road bike. There is a huge difference in the bikes, but this bike allows me to ride with my girlfriend. We take leisure rides with the children and more aggressive rides together.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for 26" Northwoods,Tandem Bike 21-Speed Dual Drive

Great

07/01/2013
By ,
Pittsburgh pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike the store built it for free for us. The bike over all is so much fun and easy to ride.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for 26" Northwoods,Tandem Bike 21-Speed Dual Drive

Love It!

09/23/2013
By ,
DFW
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The bike is so cute and practical! It is so much fun. My husband and I really like it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for 26" Northwoods,Tandem Bike 21-Speed Dual Drive

great to enjoy with your partner

06/19/2013
By ,
florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chinese to English instructions were not for this bicycle, but we worked it out. You need to have Allen keys to assemble.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for 26" Northwoods,Tandem Bike 21-Speed Dual Drive

Nice Tandem for the price

08/23/2013
By ,
Belgrade, MT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The box arrived fairly quickly via FedEx. Box was not damaged and contents were not damaged either. It took a couple hours to put bicycle together. It mainly involved attaching front tire, pedals, seats, water bottle holders and handlebars. I pumped up the tires and lubricated a few items. Have ridden a few times and seems stable. Shifting is fairly smooth. Probably need to adjust brakes a bit yet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for 26" Northwoods,Tandem Bike 21-Speed Dual Drive

Great bike for the price!

08/23/2013
By ,
Goshen, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was apprehensive to buy an inexpensive bike. This bike exceeded my expectations. This is not a light-weight road bike. Yet it performs well and provides lots of fun for casual riding. It is a great entry-level tandem.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for 26" Northwoods,Tandem Bike 21-Speed Dual Drive

Best as expected with Problem

07/25/2013
By ,
Tracy, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I received my Tandem via FedEx. Big box but not heavy. Easy to assemble and we really enjoy the ride. We use it everyday. The back feel weird because the handle is steady and have natural instinct to move it.
The problem is the chain because not good quality. After 7 days I need to buy a new one. Buy this you will enjoy. "Why separate if you can go in same direction."
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for 26" Northwoods,Tandem Bike 21-Speed Dual Drive

Better than expected

08/16/2013
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is great! Exactly what my wife and I wanted. Put it together easily and is great together. Needs some gear adjustment after use. The only real problem: I forgot how hard it was to bike!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for 26" Northwoods,Tandem Bike 21-Speed Dual Drive

great tandem bike for the money !

08/01/2013
By ,
eastern oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
shipped right to the door and in about an hour we were riding along with ease .for the money well worth the experince of tandem riding. we are in our 60's and love it
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for 26" Northwoods,Tandem Bike 21-Speed Dual Drive
12/29/2012
By ,
Washington, Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a Christmas gift for my daughter and she couldn't wait to take it out for a ride. The best Christmas gift ever, now just waiting for warmer weather.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 22 total reviews
1 2 Next