Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Kent International 26" Northwoods,Tandem Bike 21-Speed Dual Drive, Green/Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Kent International 26" Northwoods,Tandem Bike 21-Speed Dual Drive, Green/Black

Enjoy a bicycle built for two without breaking the bank with the Northwoods 21-Speed Dual Drive Tandem Bike. This durable, high-quality 26" tandem bike is comfortable and stylish with a pair of soft gel saddles and extra-wide, bump-gobbling 2.1-inch tires. The components, meanwhile, are built for long-lasting use, including the 21-speed Shimano drive train, Revo twist shifters and reliable alloy linear pull V brakes. Best of all, the frame features low stand-over heights (29 inches in the front and 20 inches in back), making it easy for both riders to hop on this dual drive tandem bicycle. Also equipped with a pair of water bottle holders and a heavy-duty kickstand, the Northwoods 21-Speed Dual Drive Tandem Bike is perfect for people who want to spend a little quality time with a spouse or good friend. Please note: If you select Site to Store delivery, your bike(s) will not be assembled upon pickup.
Average Customer Rating:
4.438 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%32 out of 32reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 26" Northwoods,Tandem Bike 21-Speed Dual Drive, Green/Black

great starter

12/23/2012
By ,
tracy ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-4points
Review 2 for 26" Northwoods,Tandem Bike 21-Speed Dual Drive, Green/Black
05/11/2013
By ,
Carolinas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I got this for our four year wedding anniversary. We found something that we could do together, and get some exercise at the same time! It came in a HUGE box!! My husband put it together with little difficulty, it went together in about an hour and a half. We were a little wary at first, it looks very long, and tricky to handle.
My husband can really ride a bike, me not so much. He got on and tested it out first without me. Said it handled just like his mountain bike. I got on and we were off! He said it was a little tricky at first, getting the balancing thing down, but, we were pros in less then 15 minutes!
Riding around the neighborhood is a blast, we get alot of stares and alot of laughs, my husband and I are having a great time, riding and working together as a team!
Have recommended to our friends and family and this bike is a solid bike, great value for the money, no problems with broken, bent or missing parts!!
What are you waiting for??????
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+28points
Review 3 for 26" Northwoods,Tandem Bike 21-Speed Dual Drive, Green/Black

Extreemly average

06/08/2013
By ,
Dousman, WI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bought it on line so I did the assembly. The assembly instructions were, "refer to the picture". The picture was of a different model but close enough to figure out where things went. The rear reflector included had a bracket that was too small to attach to the intended post, and was too small to attach to any other location. Included in the parts was a metal loopy thing that wasn't on the picture anywhere so I have no idea what it is and I'm pretty confident that it wasn't intended to be attached to this bike. The picture showed that you should use front wheel retaining clips - there were none included. This bike is NOT intended for speed, just casual touring. Although it's got 21 speeds being in 21st gear is about equivalent to 6th gear on a 10 speed bike so you can't go very fast. Pedaling with a lot of force while going up hills will cause the chain to pop off so make sure you're in a low gear so pedaling is easy.
All that being said, if you want a tandem bike to just ride around with a friend, this bike will suffice.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 4 for 26" Northwoods,Tandem Bike 21-Speed Dual Drive, Green/Black

smooth!

12/14/2012
By ,
Summerville, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Site to store free shipping worked good & came within time promised. This saved me gas and time and $$$ compared to multi-store shopping. Installation instructions were good. Essentially you only install and adjust pedals, seat and handlebars. We chose the green/black model and I think it looks sharp. Shimano 21 speed shifters work smooth. We bought it for fun workouts. I think it is very well designed, and price was the on-line selling point. I have been riding bikes for 60+ years and THIS is a quality bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+27points
Review 5 for 26" Northwoods,Tandem Bike 21-Speed Dual Drive, Green/Black

Nice Bike for the Price

03/29/2013
By ,
North Richland Hills, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reading other reviews about the bike, i was not sure if we wanted to purchase. Bike had free shipping. Arrived with no carton damage. I found one spoke nipple broken. I had a old bicycle rim and was able to replace the spoke nipple. Instructions are fair, I was able to put the bicycle together in about 1hour. I have spent another hour adjusting the gears to get them working properly. Have taken several rides and the bike performs great. The low gear is very low. For the price I believe this I a great bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+19points
Review 6 for 26" Northwoods,Tandem Bike 21-Speed Dual Drive, Green/Black

Wow, what a value. Much better than expected.

03/26/2014
By ,
Lenoir, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were looking for an economical tandem and reviewed the Wal Mart offerings. They were the lowest price option we could find. We didn't expect much but have been pleasantly surprised in the quality and performance in this tandem. Two things to watch out for. The other tandem that is around $40 less has only a 200 lb weight limit this one is around 400. Keep that in mind. Also there are two sets of instructions. One is very detailed and more for making adjustments, the second set if for assembly. Make sure you find the assembly instructions. Unfortunately the instructions are not the best. Take your time. One issue may be with the front brake set up. You can use the rear brake that comes pre assembled as a guide, I did. It took less than 45 minutes to assemble the bike and we were off for a ride. The bike performs well and is much better than we expected. Have fun on yours.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 7 for 26" Northwoods,Tandem Bike 21-Speed Dual Drive, Green/Black

Family Fun

07/19/2013
By ,
Philly Burbs
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have 2 college age daughters and a wife. I bought this thinking they would love it but they all said the same thing within the first 100 yards while pedaling in the back-seat "I can't see anything, you're going too fast, watch out for the bump", etc. So much for the fun but after about a mile they all calmed down and seemed to like it.
Anyway, the bike is very nicely put together and works well except for 5th gear which seems to skip and chatter. In fact, I had the bike sent to my house but the gears all skipped and after my woeful attempts at adjusting them I gave up and contacted my local Walmart where they were nice enough to make the adjustments for free - thanx Mike at Tullytown! Anyway other than 5th gear still needing a final tweak the only disappointing thing about the bike is that the seat post clamps aren't the quick release style. A local bike shop confirmed almost all tandems are sold with non-adjustable seat posts and the men are supposed to always be in front while the women are always supposed to be in back. Is it 1954? What if my much shorter women want to ride together? So far I haven't found the quick release clamps for this bike as the seat-post diameter is on the small side (24.5 mm) and I've learned that is not a common size for quick release clamps but I will continue to search for them....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Review 8 for 26" Northwoods,Tandem Bike 21-Speed Dual Drive, Green/Black

Great bike- excellent service

08/29/2013
By ,
Oklahoma City
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The bike was delivered to my house in two business days and was perfect. I called the nearest Walmart and they said they would assemble the bike if I'd drive it up. It was an enormous box but I lugged it up there and within two hours it was finished. The bike went to college with my daughter and has given a whole house of sorority girls great entertainment! Really nice bike. Very cool color combo. Nice shifting. Comfortable seats. My daughter is 5'8" And the front seat is almost too tall for her. The back seat is a comfortable height for almost all women. We did a lot of research and this bike is an excellent value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 9 for 26" Northwoods,Tandem Bike 21-Speed Dual Drive, Green/Black

Excellent value for a great product

07/15/2013
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have a tandem old Shwinn bike and decided to buy a new tandem bike due to the age of the old one. We are delighted with the quality of the new bike along with the weight of it as compared to the old. (About half the weight). The availability of having 21 speeds is a definite advantage over the 12 speed although we probably will not use any gears lower than 8th (mid range) because we ride on a bike trail. The shifting is very smooth and the brakes are very dependable. Delivery from Walmart was extremely expeditious. We ordered it on a Sunday night and it was delivered to our house the following Tuesday.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 10 for 26" Northwoods,Tandem Bike 21-Speed Dual Drive, Green/Black
12/05/2012
By ,
Victoria, Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Arrived on time, good looking bike. Missing one fastener for the front seat. Need magnifying glass to read instructions.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+8points
Review 11 for 26" Northwoods,Tandem Bike 21-Speed Dual Drive, Green/Black

Great bike, lousy assembly directions

02/06/2014
By ,
Las Cruces, NM
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The bike is beautiful and more than meets my expectations. But the assembly directions are horrid, the tools required weren't accurate-pictures useless-directions not clear.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 12 for 26" Northwoods,Tandem Bike 21-Speed Dual Drive, Green/Black

Very Nice Bike

07/14/2013
By ,
West of Cleveland Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When the bike was shipped there was probably about an hours worth of assembly. Once we had it ready we found out that the front sprocket was bent upon shipping. I called Northwood's phone number directly and they promptly sent out the replacement part at no charge. We put that on and the kids have been riding and loving this bike. I rode it around to make sure it is shifting properly and it runs very smooth compared to some of the older ones I have rode in the past.
Very happy with this purchase especially considering the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 13 for 26" Northwoods,Tandem Bike 21-Speed Dual Drive, Green/Black

Excellent choice for husband & wife

04/10/2014
By ,
Idaho
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall we are pleased with the bike, assembly was easy if you know bikes. This is a comfortable riding bike with name brand parts. The only draw back was the 1-3 gears weren't adjusted correctly so I had to take it to a local bike store and have the adjust the levers for shifting. Besides that I would recommend this bike to all who would like to enjoy the outdoors with friends and family.....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Review 14 for 26" Northwoods,Tandem Bike 21-Speed Dual Drive, Green/Black
07/20/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great value
sturdy if heavy bike with good setup, good gear range, great price
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 15 for 26" Northwoods,Tandem Bike 21-Speed Dual Drive, Green/Black

Love it!

06/15/2013
By ,
Idaho
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We ordered this through Walmart and they assembled it for free--can't get any better than that!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Review 16 for 26" Northwoods,Tandem Bike 21-Speed Dual Drive, Green/Black

Great price and nice looking tandem bike

06/20/2013
By ,
Sequim Wa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The bike came delivered in one long box. Required assembly, the front wheel, seats, handles, front brake cable and pedals, cup holders, I rate this to medium difficulty. I did not expected the color in neon-green, I thought it's just green but still it's nice. it takes a lot of practice to get used to a long bike, it feels like driving a limo-bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 17 for 26" Northwoods,Tandem Bike 21-Speed Dual Drive, Green/Black

Great delivery time and quick and easy to assemble

07/30/2013
By ,
Montgomery PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So simple to put together - only took about 60 min for amatuers like us. The delivery time supersceded our expectations and all parts were there.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 18 for 26" Northwoods,Tandem Bike 21-Speed Dual Drive, Green/Black
06/18/2013
By ,
Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fun for our whole family, just wish the front bar wasn't so high. Hard for our youngest to ride this summer. Very easy to put together and it arrived less than week after it was order.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 19 for 26" Northwoods,Tandem Bike 21-Speed Dual Drive, Green/Black
06/28/2013
By ,
NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wonderful for the price, went together well.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 20 for 26" Northwoods,Tandem Bike 21-Speed Dual Drive, Green/Black
06/29/2013
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice tandem bike.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
1-20 of 31 total reviews
1 2 Next