Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Ematic Ematic FunTab Pro 7" Kids Tablet with 8GB Memory

Ematic Ematic FunTab Pro 7" Kids Tablet with 8GB Memory

The Ematic Tablet PC, Kid's FunTab Pro With WiFi 7" Touchscreen Tablet PC featuring preloaded, award winning Zoodles Kids Mode, gives your child access to a variety of educational games and content. The custom, kids safe interface of the Ematic tablet PC adapts to your child's age and skill level and provides progress reports for parents to review. Equipped with video mail, the Ematic tablet PC helps your child stay in touch with family members far away. The rubberized texture and ergonomic design provides increased durability and a secure grip. This Ematic tablet PC (Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich) Operating System) also comes with Kid Safe Mode.
Average Customer Rating:
3.674 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(98 Reviews) 88
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
47
4 stars
21
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
23
Customer Recommendation73%72 out of 98reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
68 Questions | 135 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
47
4 stars
21
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
23
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Ematic FunTab Pro 7" Kids Tablet with 8GB Memory

Junk

12/25/2012
By ,
Micigan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased four of these as Christmas gifts for my kids. They are junk, do not purchase, these are all going back. They are slow, if you touch a letter the letter next to it lights up. Can't do much of anything on them my kids hate them. They are 6 to 9 years old.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Ematic FunTab Pro 7" Kids Tablet with 8GB Memory

I ABSOLUTELY LOVE IT

12/27/2012
By ,
LAKE CHARLES, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BOUGHT THIS PRODUCT FOR MY BABY GIRL WHOSE 9 YEARS OLD AND LOVE ELECTRONICS LIKE ME. SHE LOVES IT AND WONT PUT IT DOWN AND WHEN SHE DONT HAVE IT I DO, IM GOING TO BUY TWO MORE CAUSE HER OLDER BROTHER AND YOUNGER SISTER LOVE IT! WE WERE HAVING TROUBLE WITH DOWNLOADING THE SOCIO MALL BUT I SEE THAT THE SYSTEM CRASHED SO WHEN I GET HOME I WILL CHECK THE ALTERNATIVE! THANKS SO MUCH FOR DEVELOPING A TERRIFIC ANDROID DEVICE FOR THE KIDS!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Ematic FunTab Pro 7" Kids Tablet with 8GB Memory

Not what i was expected

12/27/2012
By ,
Bay area
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It does not have access to Google Play for app download and it's own app mall did not work during 24 hrs that i had it.
Touch functionality is horrible.
It is a great idea! but they need to work on their hardware.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Ematic FunTab Pro 7" Kids Tablet with 8GB Memory

So far so good!

04/22/2013
By ,
Sorrento, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ordered this to replace another tablet that went kaput after less than 2 months (fortunately also purchased from Wal-Mart & thus I was able to return w/o a hassle). My grandson just loves it; it works fine. His mother likes that she was able to set it up easily with parental controls; she esp likes that when he tries to access a game not on kid's mode, Ematic sends her an advisory email. She hasn't set up the rewards program yet, but as far as the tablet goes, he is loving it, even the educational games. Angry Birds is his favorite of all, though, and having it preloaded was a plus for this little guy. Sturdy product, easy for small hands to hold onto, unlike other ones with slippery backs. He liked that it came with other faceplates, also, a great idea. It is early to tell how well it will hold up...thus, the purchase of the extended warranty. I would never buy another without it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Ematic FunTab Pro 7" Kids Tablet with 8GB Memory

Run, don't walk.

11/14/2012
By ,
Crossville, Tn
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought 2 of these last year for 2 of my children. You will find that after a day or so of using this product it is TERRIBLE. One of the tablets just quit all together after about an hour. The other would not hold a charge for more than 5 mins, would not stay connected to the Internet, slow, slow, slow. (And I have the fastest Internet available). Last year they were also $99.00. I would not take one of these if they gave me one. Luckily Santa kept the receipts and as always with Wal-Mart's excellent customer service, I got a full refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
New Orleans,La.
Posted 11/15/2012
I think you may have the wrong tablet!!!!!!! This is the new Ematic pro funtab and the people that introduce new toys announced that this tablet would be coming out last month (October 2012). So maybe it was an old tablet that needed improvement your talking about.
+7points
Customer Avatar
CT
I think you might be wrong
Posted 11/15/2012
This tablet just came out so I'm not sure how you bought this last year.....
+9points
Customer Avatar
Los Angeles
Wrong Tablet
Posted 11/15/2012
The FunTab Pro is a brand new model that was just released this past month. This review does not refer to the FunTab Pro but the original model which is not currently being sold.
Please refer to the other reviews to get a more accurate account of the FunTab Pro.
+13points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 26 for Ematic FunTab Pro 7" Kids Tablet with 8GB Memory

Not worth it, Keep looking!

12/19/2012
By ,
Missouri
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this tablet for my 8 year old and he dislikes it and won't play with it. He keeps coming back to my smartphone. This is more for children 3-6 yrs old. I think the LeapFrog LeapPad is just about the same thing and cheaper. The apps are for toddlers and kids just starting to read.
The worst part is you only get a few apps on it to start with and then they want you to PAY a monthly fee ($4.95-$7.95 a month) to get more stuff and pay for every book and extra you want on it. It is not like a regular tablet where you can download a lot of FREE apps and games and it does not have to Google Play Store. I am sending mine back and getting my son a Google Nexus 7 where it is just like my phone. It has everything this tablet has and MORE.
I do NOT recommend this product for kids over the age of 7. They will not like it
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Ematic FunTab Pro 7" Kids Tablet with 8GB Memory

would be great if worked properly

01/04/2013
By ,
eufaula,al
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
this tablet was bought for my daughter. we first bought the regular funtab but had to return it because when we were trying to charge it after recieving it would not hold a charge so we took it back could not get the same one so we ordered the funtab pro which cost $50 more. we recieved it on a thursday my daughter loved it but the following tuesday when we took it off charge it would not come on. needless to say we had to return it to. if they would work out the problem with the battery or whatever it is to make it come on or charge it would be a good tablet but i will never buy that brand again.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Ematic FunTab Pro 7" Kids Tablet with 8GB Memory

The kids love it.

12/27/2012
By ,
Lenoir, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Easy to setup and get started. Kids loved the pre-installed games. Touchscreen is fairly precise and easy to use. Even my big fingers do fairly well. Screen is very clear. The added features such as earphones and extra cords, help to make this my choice over several others. Camera works well, too. Parental controls (Zoodles) is great and makes wonderful reports on what the kids have been doing while on the Funtab.
Cons: Battery life is terrible. The kids play several hours at a time, but battery shouldn't need to be charged every night, which is the case. Zoodles parental controls, while the free version works well, they push the upgrade to premium at the tune of $40 a year (or more if you pay monthly). I don't remember reading that anywhere when I was purchasing it. However, it appears you can download that for the computer or the tablet, which is nice. One last thing, I thought the unit would be bigger. I was surprised how small it is, but it is easy to grip and the screen is clear.
Overall: My kids are happy, but I only bought one unit. May have to buy another to keep the peace. Playing it more than their DS XL units.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Ematic FunTab Pro 7" Kids Tablet with 8GB Memory
11/25/2012
By ,
Iowa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The touch screen doesn't work very well and all the apps are slow.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Los Angeles
Tablet
Posted 11/27/2012
Hi,
Sorry to hear about the problems you are having with the FunTab Pro. The touch usually works great and the response from the apps is also generally pretty quick. You might have a defective device and we would be willing to replace it under our warranty.
Please contact our Customer Support page at: http://ematic.us/support-ticket
Hopefully we can solve your issues or get you a working device as soon as possible.
We appreciate the feedback as we are constantly trying to improve our customer's experience.
+4points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 30 for Ematic FunTab Pro 7" Kids Tablet with 8GB Memory

Grandson loves it !

04/01/2013
By ,
Appleton, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had to replace a Kurio pad that my grandson cracked the screen on, which he really liked. So in doing comparisons I opted to give the Ematic Fun Tab Pro a try. We are even more impressed with
its longer battery life, faster response time, age level updating programs for learning and ease of use. The parental and web controls are good also since his parents use it also. I would recommend
this to anyone with youngones as my Grandson is about to turn five and it will adapt to his learning levels. EXCELLANT Buy at a resonable price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Ematic FunTab Pro 7" Kids Tablet with 8GB Memory
03/12/2013
By ,
Cleveland
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this product for our two kids for Chirstmas. They had it 2 months when my son dropped it, literally 2 feet off the ground, he is 5. The internal screen broke and when we contacted the company, ematic, regarding the 3 month warranty, they said the screen was not under warranty and we would have to pay $120.00 to replace it. The recommended ages on the box are 5-10. I think if that is the case, it should be a heck of a lot sturdier!! I would not recommend this $150.00 square of junk to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Los Angeles, CA
Sorry your screen broke
Posted 03/13/2013
I'm sorry that your screen broke, but I have dropped a lot of these tablets to test them and have never seen a result like you are describing. We sell a silicone case, and Walmart sells a very affordable protection plan that would have helped in this instance.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 32 for Ematic FunTab Pro 7" Kids Tablet with 8GB Memory

Applicatios

12/27/2012
By ,
Coral Springs, FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It is unacceptable to sold a tablet with an application that does not work, the application mall, after a lot of research I installed the io mall which was also a very poor application (recommended by the technical support), just before to returned back I found that the amazon app store works giving similar functionalities as Google play which by the way does not work!
Battery life it not the best, if it wasn't for the application store the tablet would be acceptable related to the price....
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Ematic FunTab Pro 7" Kids Tablet with 8GB Memory

Totally worth it

12/18/2012
By ,
Columbus, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my granddaughter for christmas. She hasn't played with it yet but my daughter set it up r her to make sure everything worked correctly. The camera is a bit grainy but good for what it's supposed to be used for. The sound quality is pretty good. We enjoy the parent control features on this item. It will stop her from accessing things se shouldn't. The kid fridly web browser is amazing and has all of our favorite children's sites bookmarked already for her. It connected to our wifi great. It lags just a bit though. I runs on the Android system which is a faorite among the family so it has all of her favorite games; such as Cut the Rope, AngryBirds and other games on it. I will warn you about the hidden books fee cost. If you want your child able to read books on it they require you to subscribe. Also the free vesion of the zoodles app they have you sign up for doesn't allow you to change the settings unless you upgrade but overall that's not bad. They also will reccomend age appropriate apps. You can set up multiple children on there and add the parents profiles on the 'Parent Dashboard'. You can set up a password to keep children from getting out of the 'Kid Mode' and it's wonderful. The only other issue I have is that I can' find the app store icon...which we'll have to work on finding after my granddaughter recieves the item since it is already rapped for christmas.
Overall despite the few cons of the progam I believe this will be an amazing gift and that she will love it
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Ematic FunTab Pro 7" Kids Tablet with 8GB Memory

Awesome tablet for my 4yr old grand daughter..

12/20/2012
By ,
SOUTHAVEN MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this tablet for my grand daughter in texas. I love being able to get on the site and record books and she can read them. I also like sending her video messages. She can do just about everything on the tablet. So the next step is bumping her age up so she will have new stuff to learn and play. I have bought another one for my grandson for his birthday. I was able to share the zoodles account I paid for between both tablets. Thank you ematic.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Ematic FunTab Pro 7" Kids Tablet with 8GB Memory
11/07/2012
By ,
Philadelphia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This might be fine for a child that hasn't played with an iPad. Unfortunately, my child played with my iPad and wants no part of this.
This gadget also is slow and takes 5-10 touches for it to respond. Kids mode is also a nag.
I've had it for a week and I can tell why my 3 and 5 year old don't want anything to do with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
-25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Los Angeles
Ematic Support
Posted 11/09/2012
We are sorry that you are having problems with our product. The FunTab Pro has a capacitive touch screen so we are very surprised to hear this.
Feel free to contact our support team through our website to correct the issue, as your particular unit may be defective. They can be reached at ematic.us under Support. Please include the issues you are having with Kid Mode.
+8points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 36 for Ematic FunTab Pro 7" Kids Tablet with 8GB Memory

surpassed my expectations!

06/04/2013
By ,
Tampa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
loved the ease and accessibility of all of the options. my 4 year old grandson was able to get on wifi and even sent me a video mail the first night. i have read him 3 books so far, and he has responded with video email each time.
i love this..for a grandparent who lives away from his grandson-- this is PERFECT!
i get to see him and he gets to hear and see me...and we share our lives!
thank you!
Alan
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Ematic FunTab Pro 7" Kids Tablet with 8GB Memory

Never got the chance to use it

01/05/2013
By ,
Bolivia, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this to replace the original Funtab that had a broken screen because my son dropped it. When I recieved the pro, I went to set it up and turned it on for the first time and when the screen turned on there were lines of multiple colors and would not show NOTHING else. Will be returning this tomorrow and then I will play the waiting game to try and get the original one again, as I have two more of those and they work GREAT!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Ematic FunTab Pro 7" Kids Tablet with 8GB Memory
08/07/2013
By ,
Nineveh, IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We didn't like this item due to it's poor ability to stay connected to the WiFi. We were also very disappointed with the apps. We tried to put third party apps on the system they wouldn't work right or open. Zoodles is a joke, it may work for a preschooler, but not a child that has experience with a regular tablet.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Ematic FunTab Pro 7" Kids Tablet with 8GB Memory

NEEDS MORE IN STOCK

05/02/2013
By ,
birmingham, alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this tablet for my 3yr old son who absolutely loved it. I also purchased the 2yr warranty. My son spilled something on it recently and I had to file a claim with walmart to get it replaced. Now the question is when will this item be back in stock. Because other wise how would I be able to replace it with a giftcard that i am waiting to recieve.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Ematic FunTab Pro 7" Kids Tablet with 8GB Memory

Great price; very slooowwww running

12/30/2012
By ,
Jackson, MO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We purchased this for our 7 yr old for Christmas. Live the features except the app mall doesn't work on it (says server is down). You have to purchase the Socio mall for android and it's a very slow process getting it done. Went on Ematic website and can't find a number to contact for any support! Very frustrating. New app mall downloaded and so far so good.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 89 total reviews